Best AirTag Dog Collar Holder: Four Listings Compared by Fit

Best AirTag Dog Collar Holder: Four Listings Compared by Fit

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, and this page links to products on Amazon.

The best airtag dog collar holder is the one that matches your collar width, keeps the AirTag in a case you can inspect, and works next to a dog ID tag instead of replacing one. This guide compares four listings by the facts they state: collar fit, weight, size, whether an AirTag is included, and what each says about water. Where a listing gives no figure, we write not stated.

Quick answer

  • Measure the collar first. Only the Cibaabo listing gives a collar range, 0.8 to 1.2 inches. The ONEONTA listing gives a 2.7 cm inner width, the CITYWAY listing says it fits any width, and the GOCII listing gives neither.
  • Check whether the AirTag comes in the box. ONEONTA, GOCII and CITYWAY say it does not. The Cibaabo listing says nothing either way.
  • Keep a tag on the collar. The ASPCA says personalized ID tags are likely the fastest way to return a pet home, and the AKC says a dog ID tag is essential but not enough on its own.
  • Treat water and durability wording as seller claims. The ONEONTA listing says its AirTag shows no leakage at 30 m (98 ft) underwater, and the sources we opened do not cover water ratings.

What an AirTag holder does and does not do

A dog AirTag holder is a small case that sits on a collar and carries an Apple AirTag. The four listings differ on how the case closes, what it is made from and whether the tag comes with it. None of them replaces an identification tag. The AKC puts the risk plainly: “Collars can fall off and tags can break, leaving your dog without ID.”

The tracking job and the identification job are separate. The AKC is clear that a microchip is not a location device: “You can’t track your dog using the microchip. It isn’t a GPS device.” The same AKC page lists an AirTag among the ways to add tracking to a collar. The sources we opened do not say how well any AirTag works on a moving dog, and the listings give no tracking figures.

Attachment is where the four designs differ. ONEONTA uses a removable metal loop and four screws, and its listing says a silicone ring seals the middle. CITYWAY uses screws that push through the collar, and its listing says the needed tools come with it. GOCII is a two-part silicone case that you pull onto the collar from both sides. Cibaabo uses a closed silicone loop that its listing says sits close to the collar.

Read the listings as seller statements. Their titles and bullets make claims about water, durability, chewing and safety. Those claims help with comparison, but they are not independent checks, so each one below is attributed to its listing.

Two listings carry a specification table on Amazon, ONEONTA and Cibaabo. GOCII and CITYWAY have none, so the details for those two come from their bullets only, and the post marks them as such.

Comparison table

Table 1 gives only what each listing states. Not stated means the listing gives no figure for that item.

Listing Collar fit (per listing) Weight (per listing) Size (per listing) AirTag included (per listing) Water claim (per listing) Spec table
ONEONTA Removable metal loop; 2.7 cm inner width; title says a 1-inch collar 1.45 ounces 0.5 by 0.1 by 1.45 inches Not included No leakage at 30 m (98 ft) underwater; IP68 rating Yes
GOCII Not stated 8.3 grams Not stated Not included “Excellent waterproofing” (bullet wording) No
Cibaabo Collar 0.8 to 1.2 inches 0.63 ounces 2.5 by 2.5 by 0.67 inches Not stated Not stated Yes
CITYWAY Fits any collar or harness width Not stated Not stated Not included IPX8 in title; waterproof ring (bullet) No

Three things stand out in Table 1. Only one listing gives a collar range. Only three give a weight, and they use two units. Only two carry a spec table, so the other two rest on their bullets.

Worked numbers from the listings

Each calculation states its formula. Values are rounded to the figure shown.

  • Cibaabo range width: 1.2 minus 0.8 is 0.4 inches. The midpoint is (0.8 plus 1.2) divided by 2, which is 1.0 inch, so a collar that measures 1.0 inch sits in the middle of the range.
  • ONEONTA inner width in inches: 2.7 centimeters divided by 2.54 centimeters per inch is about 1.06 inches. That is close to the one-inch collar in the title, but the listing gives no range beyond it.
  • Weight ratio: 1.45 ounces divided by 0.63 ounces is about 2.3, so by listing figures the ONEONTA holder weighs about 2.3 times the Cibaabo holder.
  • Unit conversion: 1.45 ounces times 28.35 grams per ounce is about 41 grams, and 8.3 grams divided by 28.35 grams per ounce is about 0.29 ounces. The 28.35 figure is the standard grams-per-ounce conversion, and it is the only number here that does not come from a listing.

How we chose

This post covers the four listings in the research file for best airtag dog collar holder. The facts come from Amazon.com listing data recorded on 22 October 2026: each title, its bullets and any specification table. We kept listings that are plainly AirTag holders for a dog collar, one per brand, so no brand appears twice.

Two other listings were set aside before this comparison, because their fit and material are stated only in bullets and no specification table backs them up. That is also true of two of the four kept here. GOCII and CITYWAY are therefore described from their bullets only, and every claim about them is marked as the listing’s own wording.

We did not rank the four. Table 1 shows what each listing states, and the picks below say who each one suits. Nothing in the sources we opened ranks holders, so this guide does not name a best one.

Product picks

Each section gives who the holder suits, one strength the listing states, one limit and a skip rule. The product card after the last section shows the listing’s specifications where a table exists, and the pros and cons come from the bullets.

ONEONTA metal-loop holder

Who it suits: owners of medium and large dogs who want a metal loop and screws. The listing says the holder is relatively slightly large and suits medium to large dogs.

Strength: the listing says a removable metal loop accommodates various collars and straps, and that four special screws close the case. The limit is that the listing gives no collar range beyond the 2.7 cm inner width and the one-inch collar in its title. The listing also says the AirTag will never fall off the holder, and the sources we opened do not cover that claim.

Skip if: your dog is small, or your collar is wider than the inner width the listing gives.

GOCII silicone two-case holder

Who it suits: owners who want a light silicone case for a first or second generation AirTag. The listing gives a weight of 8.3 grams and says the case rinses clean with water.

The limit: the listing gives no collar width and no dimensions, and it says the AirTag is not included. The title names a black product, but the installation bullet describes a white inner silicone case, and the listing does not say which part is which color.

Skip if: you need a collar width or a size before you buy.

Cibaabo closed silicone loop

Who it suits: owners of a narrow collar, around one inch, who want the holder to sit close to the collar. The listing says the loop is designed for a collar of 0.8 to 1.2 inches, and that it sits close where a traditional holder would hang and shake.

The limit: the listing does not say whether an AirTag is included, and it gives no weight limit and no dog size. The listing says the silicone causes no signal blocking, but the sources we opened do not cover signal range through any holder.

Skip if: your collar is outside the 0.8 to 1.2 inch range.

CITYWAY metal-backplate case

Who it suits: owners of medium or large dogs who change collars and want one holder that works with any width. The listing describes it as perfect for giant or medium dogs and says it fits any width of collar or harness.

Strength: the listing says spare parts come in the package, so the case can move to a new collar as the dog grows. The limit: the listing gives no dimensions, weight or spec table, and it says the AirTag and collar are not included. The listing also calls the case unbreakable and absolutely safe, and says it keeps the AirTag safe from a dog’s teeth. The sources we opened do not cover those claims.

Skip if: you need a weight or a size before you buy.

1. Airtag Dog Collar Holder | Airtag Dog Waterproof – Airtag Holder for Dog Collar with Removable (Metal-loop holder with four screws and a silicone ring)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Product Dimensions: 0.5 x 0.1 x 1.45 inches; 1.45 ounces
  • Manufacturer: ONEONTA

Pros

  • The listing says the metal loop accommodates various collars and straps
  • The listing says four special screws close the case
  • The listing says a silicone sealing ring sits in the middle

Cons

  • The listing gives 2.7 cm as the inner width and no range for other collar widths
  • The listing says the holder is relatively slightly large and suits medium to large dogs

Best for: An owner of a medium or large dog who wants a metal loop and screws
Skip if: Your dog is small, or your collar is wider than the inner width the listing gives

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. GOCII for Airtag Dog Collar Holder 2 Pack,Waterproof Dog Collar Holder for Apple AirTag(Gen 1 (Two-part silicone case, described from bullets only)

Pros

  • The listing gives a weight of 8.3 grams and calls the case super lightweight
  • The listing says it is compatible with first and second generation AirTags
  • The listing says the case rinses clean with water

Cons

  • The listing gives no collar width and no dimensions
  • The listing says the AirTag is not included

Best for: An owner who wants a light silicone case for a first or second generation AirTag
Skip if: You need a collar width or a size before you buy

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. for Airtag Holder for Dog Collar, Cibaabo Silicone Air Tag Case Cover (Closed silicone loop for a collar of 0.8 to 1.2 inches)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Product Dimensions: 2.5 x 2.5 x 0.67 inches; 0.63 ounces
  • Item model number: CB-ATH
  • Manufacturer: Cibaabo

Pros

  • The listing says it is designed for a collar of 0.8 to 1.2 inches
  • The listing gives 14 colors, four of them glow colors
  • The listing says the holder sits close to the collar instead of hanging down

Cons

  • The listing does not say whether an AirTag is included
  • The listing gives no weight limit and no dog size

Best for: An owner with a narrow collar who wants the holder close to the collar
Skip if: Your collar is outside the 0.8 to 1.2 inch range

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. IPX8 Waterproof Dog Collar Holder for Airtag [Metal Back Plate] Ultra-Durable Dog & Cat Collars (Metal-backplate case for any collar width, described from bullets only)

Pros

  • The listing says it fits any width of collar or harness
  • The listing says spare parts come in the package
  • The listing says a waterproof ring keeps out moisture and dust

Cons

  • The listing gives no dimensions, no weight and no spec table
  • The listing says the AirTag and the collar are not included

Best for: An owner of a medium or large dog who changes collars
Skip if: You need a weight or a size before you buy

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Identification comes first

A holder can keep an AirTag on the collar. It cannot put your name or phone number on the dog, so the identification job still needs a tag, a microchip or both. The sources below cover that job.

The ASPCA’s position statement says that “Personalized ID tags are likely to be the fastest way to return a pet home, as they can be read by anyone who finds the animal.” The same statement notes that “collars can come off, leaving the pet without any identification,” and that an implanted microchip can still help a pet get home after the collar and tag are lost. It also says guardians must keep their contact details current on the microchip registry.

The Animal Medical Center, a veterinary hospital in New York, gives the scale of the problem. Its page says “less than ¾ of lost dogs are returned to their owners,” and that in one study “only about 10% of dogs in this study were chipped.” It also reports that “dogs with ID tags were more quickly returned to their families because the dog did not have to be transported to a facility for the microchip to be read.” The AKC adds the reason a tag works so well: “The benefit of a dog tag is that it can be read without needing special equipment.”

The AKC makes the same split between tags and chips. A microchip “doesn’t contain any information about you or your dog,” so its number has to be linked to a registry. The page also says that if you move or change phone numbers, “it’s essential that you update your info with the registry.”

What this means for a holder: an AirTag holder adds a tracker option, not a name or number. Put a tag with your phone number on the collar, and treat the holder as an extra. The AKC says an AirTag can be attached to a collar, but the sources do not say how well one performs on a moving dog. If you want to compare tag types, our best dog ID tags guide answers that separate question. For a powered location device, see our best dog GPS tracker guide. A GPS collar is a different product, and the AKC notes that GPS smart collars need an additional fee for the monthly service plan and that battery life is a factor.

Fit and comfort

Fit applies to any holder, because the holder rides on the collar and the collar’s fit decides how it sits. The AKC gives a simple rule: you should be able to slip one finger between the dog’s skin and the collar for a small dog, or fit two fingers for a large-breed dog. It warns that if the fit is too loose, “your dog may be able to wiggle out and escape.” It also says that “dog collars aren’t the best option for all dogs.”

For weight, the lightest case in Table 1 is the Cibaabo at 0.63 ounces, and the heaviest is ONEONTA at 1.45 ounces. On a small dog, weight and collar width matter together. The sources we opened give no weight limit for holders, so the listing figure is the only one you have.

If your dog can wiggle out of a collar, the choice between collar and harness matters more than the holder. Our collar or harness guide and our collar or harness for a dog guide cover that choice.

Buying checklist

  1. Measure the collar, not the dog. Compare its width with the figures in each listing, which are 0.8 to 1.2 inches for Cibaabo, the 2.7 cm inner width for ONEONTA, any width for CITYWAY, and no figure for GOCII.
  2. Decide whether you need the AirTag in the box. ONEONTA, GOCII and CITYWAY say it is not included. The Cibaabo listing does not say, so check its product page.
  3. Check how the case closes. ONEONTA uses four screws, CITYWAY uses screws pushed through the collar, GOCII is a two-part silicone case pulled onto the collar, and Cibaabo is a closed loop.
  4. Compare the weight with your dog’s size. Three listings give a weight, from 8.3 grams to 1.45 ounces. ONEONTA and CITYWAY name dog sizes in their bullets, and the other two do not.
  5. Fit the collar with the AKC rule, one finger for a small dog or two for a large-breed dog, and check it again after a few days.
  6. Keep a tag with your phone number on the collar. The ASPCA calls personalized ID tags likely the fastest way to get a pet home.
  7. If your dog has a microchip, check that the registry holds your current details.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying before measuring. The Cibaabo range is 0.8 to 1.2 inches, and a collar outside it is outside what that listing covers.
  • Treating the holder as the ID. The AKC says a dog ID tag is essential, but not enough on its own.
  • Expecting a microchip to show where a dog is. The AKC says a chip is not a GPS device.
  • Assuming the tracker comes with the holder. Three of the four listings say the AirTag is not included.
  • Taking safety wording at face value. The CITYWAY bullets say absolutely safe and unbreakable, and the GOCII bullets say food-grade. None of the pages we opened backs that wording up.
  • Letting a loose fit do the work. The AKC warns that a loose collar can let a dog wiggle out and escape.

What we could not verify

  • The water ratings. The ONEONTA listing gives an IP68 rating and says the AirTag shows no leakage at 30 m (98 ft). The GOCII phrase “excellent waterproofing” and the CITYWAY IPX8 wording are listing words. The sources we opened do not cover IP ratings or the conditions behind any of these figures.
  • Whether an AirTag stays in its holder. ONEONTA says the AirTag “will never fall off” the holder, GOCII says it “won’t easily come off,” and CITYWAY says the case is difficult to remove. The sources we opened do not cover holder retention.
  • Safety and chewing claims. The GOCII bullets say the case is made of food-grade materials and is safe for active or chewy pets. The CITYWAY bullets say the case is unbreakable and keeps the AirTag safe from a dog’s teeth. None of the sources we opened supports those claims for any product.
  • Signal. The Cibaabo listing says its silicone does not block signal. The sources we opened do not cover AirTag signal through any holder.
  • Materials and durability. ONEONTA lists TPU, GOCII composite silicone, Cibaabo high quality silicone, and CITYWAY ABS and PC. These are listing words, and the sources we opened do not cover how long any of them lasts.
  • AirTag inclusion for Cibaabo. Its bullets do not say whether an AirTag is included. One bullet in the Cibaabo listing was cut off in the copy recorded, so it is left out, and nothing here is inferred from it.
  • Dog size and weight limits. ONEONTA’s bullets say medium to large dogs and CITYWAY’s say giant or medium dogs. Cibaabo and GOCII give no dog size, and no listing gives a weight limit.
  • GOCII’s color. The title says black, and the installation bullet describes a white inner case. The listing does not say which part is which color.
  • Specification tables. GOCII and CITYWAY have none, so their Amazon specification fields are empty, and their details come from bullets only.

FAQ

Does an AirTag holder keep my dog’s ID safe?

It keeps the AirTag on the collar, which is a different job from identification. The ASPCA says personalized ID tags are likely the fastest way to return a pet home, because anyone who finds the dog can read them. A holder adds no name or phone number, so the tag remains the first step.

Can a holder replace a dog ID tag?

No. The AKC says a dog ID tag is essential but not enough alone, and that collars can fall off and tags can break. Put a tag with your phone number on the collar, and if your dog has a microchip, keep its registry details current.

Is a microchip a tracker?

No. According to the AKC, a chip cannot track a dog because it is not a GPS device. A microchip holds a number that a scanner reads, and that number has to be registered with a pet registration service before anyone can use it.

Which holder fits a one-inch collar?

Check the figures in each listing. The ONEONTA title names a one-inch collar, and its bullets give an inner width of 2.7 cm, about 1.06 inches. The Cibaabo listing gives a range of 0.8 to 1.2 inches, which includes one inch. CITYWAY says it fits any width, and GOCII gives no width, so ask the seller before you buy.

Does the AirTag come with the holder?

ONEONTA, GOCII and CITYWAY each say the AirTag is not included. The Cibaabo listing does not say, so check its product page before you order.

Is the holder safe for a dog that chews?

The sources we opened do not answer that question. The listings make safety and chewing claims, GOCII’s about food-grade materials and CITYWAY’s about keeping the AirTag safe from teeth, and those are seller statements. Check the holder after rough play, and keep the fit rule in mind, because the AKC warns that a loose fit lets a dog wiggle out.

Bottom line

Start with the collar, then the tag, then the holder. Measure the collar, confirm whether the AirTag comes with the holder, and check the closure and fit before you order. Keep an ID tag on the collar, because the ASPCA says a personalized tag is likely the fastest way home and the AKC calls a dog ID tag essential. Read the water and safety wording as the seller’s words until a source you can open says otherwise.

Disclosure: this page contains affiliate links, and we earn from qualifying Amazon purchases made through them.

Sources

  • ASPCA, Position Statement on Pet Identification, opened 2026-10-22 with curl: https://www.aspca.org/about-us/aspca-policy-and-position-statements/position-statement-pet-identification
  • AKC, Are ID Tags Enough? The Importance of Identifying Your Dog, opened 2026-10-22 with curl: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/home-living/id-tags-enough-importance-identifying-dog/
  • AKC, Dog Harnesses and Dog Collars: Which Is Right For Your Dog?, opened 2026-10-22 with curl: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/training/dog-harness-vs-collar/
  • Animal Medical Center (New York), Microchipping Your Pet, opened 2026-10-22 with curl: https://www.amcny.org/?p=6762

Similar Posts