Best Dog Bandana for Large Dogs: Four Listings Compared

Best Dog Bandana for Large Dogs: Four Listings Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

The best dog bandana for large dogs is the one whose stated neck range matches your dog’s measured neck, and only two of the four listings in this set give one. This guide compares those four bandanas as their Amazon.com listings describe them, using the research file checked on 21 October 2026. Gofshy’s XLarge bandana fits necks up to 23 inches, and Realeaf’s X-Large fits necks up to 21 inches. The other two listings give no neck range, and one of them gives two conflicting size statements.

Quick answer

  • Measure your dog’s neck first. Gofshy’s XLarge is listed up to 23 inches and Realeaf’s X-Large up to 21 inches, so those are the only two figures to check against.
  • JpGdn gives no neck range and says to measure the neckline and leave room to tie a knot. Huhumy gives no neck range either, and its title says XL while a bullet says it fits most medium dogs.
  • No listing gives a dog weight limit, and none says its bandana is chew-proof or safe to leave on an unsupervised dog.
  • None of the four listings mentions an ID tag, so keep an ID tag on a collar.

What the listings state

Table 1 sets out what each listing states in its title, bullets or specification fields, as recorded in the research file. A cell that reads “Not stated” means the listing says nothing about that detail.

Listing Size stated Neck range stated Dimensions stated Fabric stated Washing stated
JpGdn, 50-piece fall pack Large/XL (specification) Not stated; bullets say to measure the neckline and leave room to tie a knot About 86 x 61 x 61 cm, or 34 x 24 x 24 inches 100% durable polyester Machine wash and dry available
Gofshy, Christmas XLarge XLarge (title and specification); chart lists Small, Large and XLarge Small up to 14 inches, Large up to 18 inches, XLarge up to 23 inches Small 15 x 15 inches, Large 18 x 18 inches, XLarge 21 x 21 inches 100% cotton Throw in the washer, then dry
Huhumy, 50-piece tie-dye One size (bullets); X-Large and Large (specification) Not stated About 86 x 62 x 62 cm, also given as 31.5 x 25.4 x 25.4 inches Polyester Not stated
Realeaf, pink Birthday Girl X-Large (specification); three sizes in bullets Small up to 12 inches, Large up to 16 inches, X-Large up to 21 inches Not stated Double layer premium durable fabric Not stated

The neck range is the figure you can check against your dog. The dimensions describe the cloth. A 21 by 21 inch bandana is not a neck measurement, so this guide keeps the two apart.

Step sizes between neck limits

Step size is the upper neck limit of one size minus the upper neck limit of the size below it. For Gofshy, 18 minus 14 is 4 from Small to Large, and 23 minus 18 is 5 from Large to XLarge. For Realeaf, 16 minus 12 is 4 from Small to Large, and 21 minus 16 is 5 from Large to X-Large. The two XLarge tops are close: 23 minus 21 is 2 inches.

When a neck falls between two stated limits, the listing does not say which size to pick. The AKC advice for collars is to choose the larger size when a dog falls between sizes, and the same rule is a reasonable starting point for a tied bandana. We did not find a source that covers bandanas directly.

The Huhumy size conflict in numbers

The Huhumy listing gives its size in centimeters and in inches, and the two do not match. 86 divided by 2.54 is about 33.9 inches, and 62 divided by 2.54 is about 24.4 inches. The listing gives 31.5 and 25.4 inches for the same piece. We report the conflict below and do not settle it here.

Neck fit: what the sources say

We opened four pages with curl on 21 October 2026. Two cover neck fit: AKC’s guide to measuring a dog for gear, and Purdue University Extension’s publication on choosing a collar. The ASPCA position statement covers identification, and the American Humane Society collar page covers ID tags and supervision. None of these pages covers tie-on bandanas, so we apply their advice to collars and harnesses and say so each time.

Measuring the neck. AKC says to measure around the base of the neck, where a collar sits, with the dog standing. It suggests a string marked where it overlaps and laid flat against a ruler if you have no tape. It also says a collar should let you slide two fingers between the collar and the neck, and that a dog between sizes should get the larger size. Purdue Extension describes a properly fitted flat-buckle collar as somewhat snug, with room for two fingers. Both pages use the same two-finger check, which is close to the knot allowance that two of the bandana listings name.

Harnesses use a different measurement. Purdue Extension says harness size comes from the girth, the widest part of the ribcage just behind the elbows, and that you should measure around the girth and add about two inches. It also says the harness package lists its size range in inches. Those figures are for harnesses and should not be swapped for a neck measurement.

Identification. The ASPCA says personalized ID tags are likely to be the fastest way to return a pet home, because anyone who finds the animal can read them. It also notes that collars can come off, which leaves the pet with no identification. The American Humane Society advises keeping ID tags on a properly fitted flat-buckle collar made of nylon, cotton or leather. None of the four bandana listings mentions an ID tag, so a bandana should not be your dog’s only identification.

Supervision. The American Humane Society page says some dogs may chew off body harnesses when left unattended. It does not discuss bandanas. We read that as a reason to watch a dog in any neck or body gear. We do not describe any of these four bandanas as safe to wear unsupervised, because no listing and no source we opened says so.

Product picks

Each pick below uses the listing’s own figures. None of the four gives a dog weight limit, so none of the picks states one. Each section names who the bandana suits, one strength, one limit, and a Skip if line.

JpGdn 50-piece fall bandana pack

This pack suits an owner who wants many seasonal bandanas for a large dog and does not need a stated neck range. The bullets describe autumn patterns of maple, pumpkin, harvest, leaves, forest and autumn berries. The strength is material and care: the listing says 100% durable polyester, and machine wash and dry available. The limit is fit. The specifications say Large/XL and the bullets give about 86 by 61 by 61 centimeters, but there is no neck figure, only a note to measure the neckline and leave room to tie a knot. Skip if you need a neck range printed on the listing before you order.

Gofshy Christmas XLarge cotton bandana

This bandana suits a large-dog owner who wants a cotton bandana with a neck figure for each size. The strength is the chart: the bullets list Small, Large and XLarge rows, and the XLarge row is 21 by 21 inches for necks up to 23 inches. The limit is the size line. The title and the size field say XLarge, but the chart lists three sizes, and the listing does not say which row applies to the bandana you receive. Skip if your dog’s neck is over 23 inches, or if you want a bandana without a Christmas print.

Huhumy 50-piece tie-dye bandana pack

This pack suits a gift buyer or a multi-dog household that wants bright tie-dye bandanas in bulk. The bullets list red, yellow, blue and purple tie-dye prints and say each style comes with one piece. The strength is the fastening design: the bullets describe a triangle shape with an adjustable design that they say keeps the bandana in place during play. The limit is the size. The title says XL, one bullet says it is one size that fits most medium dogs, and the size options field lists X-Large and Large. The listing states both, so we cannot say which dogs it fits. Skip if your dog is large and you need a size the listing states without conflict.

Realeaf Birthday Girl bandana, pink X-Large

This single bandana suits an owner of a large or extra-large dog who wants a birthday-themed bandana with a stated neck range. The strength is the neck figure: the bullets give X-Large up to 21 inches, Large up to 16 inches and Small up to 12 inches. The limit is what the listing leaves out. It does not state dimensions, fastening or a washing method, and it says the dual-layer design is not easy for pets to bite, a claim we did not check. Skip if you want a multi-pack, or a bandana with a stated washing method.

1. 50PCS Fall Dog Bandanas Bulk Large XL XXL XXXL Edge Hemming Scarves (Seasonal 50-piece pack with autumn prints)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Size: 50PCS Large/XL
  • Date First Available: June 22, 2023

Pros

  • The listing says the bandanas are 100% durable polyester
  • The listing says the pack is machine wash and dry available

Cons

  • The listing gives no neck range, only a note to measure the neckline
  • The listing says colors are assorted randomly, so you cannot choose one

Best for: An owner who wants many autumn-print bandanas for a large dog
Skip if: You need a neck range printed on the listing before you order

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Christmas Dog Bandana XLarge Cotton, Red Black Buffalo Plaid Scarf (Christmas XLarge cotton bandana with a three-row size chart)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Size: X-Large
  • Date First Available: July 30, 2023

Pros

  • The bullets say XLarge is 21 by 21 inches and fits necks up to 23 inches
  • The listing says the bandana is 100% cotton and can go in the washer

Cons

  • The title and size field say XLarge, while the chart lists three sizes
  • The print is a red and black Christmas buffalo plaid

Best for: A large-dog owner who wants a cotton bandana with a stated neck range
Skip if: Your dog's neck is over 23 inches, or you want a bandana without a Christmas print

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Huhumy 50 Pcs Tie Dye Dog Bandanas Bulk XL Tie Dye Bandanas for Dogs (Tie-dye 50-piece pack with a conflicting size line)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Size options: X-Large; Large
  • Product Dimensions: 13.39 x 12.6 x 1.77 inches; 2.05 pounds

Pros

  • The bullets describe a triangle shape with an adjustable design
  • The bullets say each style comes with one piece in the pack

Cons

  • The title says XL, but a bullet says it fits most medium dogs
  • The listing gives no neck range and no washing method

Best for: A gift buyer or multi-dog household that wants bright tie-dye bandanas in bulk
Skip if: Your dog is large and you need a size the listing states without conflict

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Birthday Girl Dog Bandana, Dog Birthday Party Supplies,Premium Durable Fabric, Bandana for Large (Pink birthday bandana with a stated X-Large neck range)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Size: X-Large
  • Material: double layer premium durable fabric, comfortable and breathable

Pros

  • The bullets give X-Large up to 21 inches and Large up to 16 inches
  • The bullets describe a dual-layer design that the listing says is not easy for pets to bite

Cons

  • The listing does not state dimensions, fastening or a washing method
  • The bullets describe a birthday design, and the pack contains one bandana

Best for: An owner of a large or extra-large dog who wants one birthday-themed bandana
Skip if: You want a multi-pack or a bandana with a stated washing method

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

How we chose

The four bandanas come from the research file for this keyword, which records the Amazon.com listing data as read on 21 October 2026. We did not add products to the set or drop any, and we did not rank them: the order follows the research file. Each table entry and each pick uses only that listing’s title, bullets and specification fields.

The listings were chosen before this page was written. The checks in this guide are the ones a shopper can make from the listing itself: a stated size, a stated fabric, a stated washing method, and a neck range where one exists. Two of the four listings state a neck range. That is a small set, and it does not cover the whole market for large-dog bandanas, so this page does not claim a best overall pick. For a bed, see orthopedic dog beds for extra-large dogs.

Buying checklist

  • Measure the neck at the base, where a collar would sit, with the dog standing. Keep the tape close but not tight.
  • If the measurement falls between two stated limits, choose the larger row, as AKC advises for collars.
  • Compare the figure with the neck range on the listing. If the listing gives none, check the knot note: JpGdn and Gofshy both say to leave room to tie a knot.
  • Read the size line twice. For Huhumy, the title and the bullets disagree.
  • Check washing before you buy. JpGdn and Gofshy state a method; Huhumy and Realeaf do not.
  • Keep an ID tag on a collar, because none of the four bandana listings includes one.
  • If you also buy a harness, measure the girth rather than the neck, and add about two inches, as Purdue Extension describes. For harnesses, see our page on dog harnesses for large dogs.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying by pack count. The JpGdn colors are assorted randomly and the Huhumy pack gives each style once, so the count says nothing about fit.
  • Using the cloth size as a neck size. A 21 by 21 inch bandana describes the fabric, not the neck.
  • Trusting the Huhumy title alone. The title says XL, and a bullet says it fits most medium dogs.
  • Treating an ID tag as optional. The ASPCA notes that collars can come off, and a bandana is not a substitute for a tag.
  • Taking listing adjectives as tested facts. Huhumy’s bullets call its polyester “soft and safe”, and no source we opened checks that wording for bandanas.
  • Assuming washing is the same across the set. Only JpGdn and Gofshy state a method.

What we could not verify

  • Neck fit for JpGdn and Huhumy. Neither listing gives a neck range, so we have no verified fit figure for either.
  • The Huhumy size conflict. Its title says XL, a bullet says it fits most medium dogs, and the size options field lists X-Large and Large. We have not resolved it.
  • The Huhumy measurements. The listing gives about 86 by 62 by 62 cm and 31.5 by 25.4 by 25.4 inches, and the centimeter figures convert to about 33.9 and 24.4 inches, so the two sets do not match.
  • The JpGdn size line. The title names Large, XL, XXL and XXXL, the bullets say large and extra large dogs, and the specification says Large/XL.
  • The Gofshy row that applies. The chart has three rows, and the title and size field say XLarge. We cannot tell which row the item uses.
  • Weight limits. No listing gives one, so no weight claim is made here.
  • Fabric wording. The listings say polyester, cotton and double layer fabric, and use words such as soft, comfortable and durable. We did not check those words, and the sources we opened do not cover bandana fabrics.
  • Realeaf’s claim that pets find the design not easy to bite. This is the listing’s wording, and we did not check it.
  • Fastening on Realeaf, and washing on Huhumy and Realeaf. Neither listing states them.
  • How any bandana in this set behaves with a dog that chews fabric. The listings and the sources we opened do not cover it.

FAQ

How do I measure my large dog’s neck for a bandana?

Measure around the base of the neck, where a collar would sit, with the dog standing. AKC describes using a tape measure, or a string marked where it overlaps and then laid flat against a ruler. Then set that figure against the stated range on the listing. If it falls between two sizes, choose the larger one, which AKC advises for collars. Because that advice covers collars, treat it as a starting point for a tied bandana.

Which listings give a neck range?

Two do. Gofshy lists Small up to 14 inches, Large up to 18 inches and XLarge up to 23 inches. Realeaf lists Small up to 12 inches, Large up to 16 inches and X-Large up to 21 inches. JpGdn gives only a size line and a note to measure. Huhumy gives one size with no neck figure.

Is the Huhumy bandana XL or for medium dogs?

The listing says both things, so this guide does not decide it. The title says XL, one bullet says it fits most medium dogs, and the size options field lists X-Large and Large. Check the full product page, or ask the seller, before you buy.

Can I machine wash these bandanas?

JpGdn says machine wash and dry available. Gofshy says to throw it in the washer and then dry it. Huhumy and Realeaf do not state a washing method, so check their product pages before you buy.

Should I leave a bandana on my dog when I am out?

No listing says a bandana is safe to wear unsupervised, and the sources we opened do not cover bandanas. The American Humane Society page notes that some dogs may chew off body harnesses when left unattended, which is a reason to watch any neck or body gear. Until you know how your dog handles one, take the bandana off when you cannot watch.

Does a bandana replace an ID tag?

No. The ASPCA says personalized ID tags are likely to be the fastest way to return a pet home, and it notes that collars can come off. None of the four bandana listings mentions an ID tag, so keep the tag on a collar.

Bottom line

For a large dog, measure the neck first. Use the stated neck range when a listing gives one, which Gofshy and Realeaf do, and check the size line against the title before you buy. Treat the Huhumy size as unresolved until the seller or the full page settles it. Keep an ID tag on a collar, and watch your dog in any bandana.

Affiliate note: if you buy through a link on this page, we may earn a commission.

Sources

  • AKC, How to Measure Your Dog for Clothes and Gear, opened 2026-10-21: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/lifestyle/measure-dog-gear/
  • Purdue University Cooperative Extension, Choosing the Right Type of Collar for Your Dog (AS-564-W), opened 2026-10-21: https://www.extension.purdue.edu/extmedia/as/as-564-w.pdf
  • ASPCA, Position Statement on Pet Identification, opened 2026-10-21: https://www.aspca.org/about-us/aspca-policy-and-position-statements/position-statement-pet-identification
  • American Humane Society, Choosing a Dog Collar, opened 2026-10-21: https://www.americanhumane.org/public-education/choosing-a-dog-collar/

Similar Posts