Best Dog Bike Carrier: Six Baskets Compared by Mount, Weight and Fit
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
The best dog bike carrier is the one whose mount fits your bicycle, whose listed weight figure covers your dog, and whose tether can be attached to your dog’s harness as the maker describes. This guide compares the six dog bike baskets and carriers in our research file, read from Amazon listings on 21 October 2026, and uses only the figures each listing states. It does not rank them for quality, and it does not say any basket is safe for a dog on a bike. The sources we opened describe what a basket should have; each listing says what that product has.
Quick answer
- Check the mount first. Four listings are made for the front handlebar (two BABEYER baskets, the K&H basket and the RAYMACE basket), and two are made for a rear rack (the Ramalto and YEEGO DIRECT carriers).
- Read each weight figure for what it measures. Five listings give a dog weight. The RAYMACE listing gives 11 pounds as a maximum load for the basket and does not give a dog weight.
- Look for the tether. Two BABEYER listings describe a safety tether that clips to the dog’s harness, K&H describes a dual safety leash, Ramalto describes a built-in safety leash, and RAYMACE describes a pet tether design. The YEEGO DIRECT title names a safety leash, but its bullets and specification fields do not describe one.
- Expect no test claims. None of the six listings names a crash test, a safety certification or a bike-specific test, so any safety point on this page comes from the listing wording or from the pages cited in the advice section.
How the six listings compare
Table 1 sets out what each listing states for mount, dog or load figure, item size, item weight, closure and warranty. “Not stated” means the listing’s bullets and specification fields do not give that detail.
| Basket (short name) | Mount, as stated | Dog or load figure, as stated | Item size, inches | Item weight | Closure | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BABEYER, 13.5-inch, grey | Handlebar, with a quick buckle design and shoulder straps | Bullets: “between 10-15 lbs”. Maximum weight field: 15 pounds. Color field: “Fits 10-18 Lbs” | 13.5 x 10.5 x 14 | 3.5 pounds | Drawstring | Not stated |
| K&H Travel Bike Basket, front mount | Front handlebar mount with quick-release clasps | Bullets: “up to 20 lbs”. Maximum weight field: 19.8 pounds | 16 x 12 x 10 | 5.28 pounds | Zipper | One year limited manufacturer warranty |
| BABEYER, 12.5-inch, grey | Handlebar, with a quick buckle design and shoulder straps | Bullets: “between 6-15 lbs”. Maximum weight field: 15 pounds. Color field: “Fits 6-15 Lbs” | 12.5 x 10.5 x 12.5 | 12.8 ounces | Zipper | Half Years |
| RAYMACE front basket | Front handlebar, with eight gaskets for bars from 0.9 to 1.3 inches | Bullets: “Max load bearing:11lbs”. Maximum weight field: 11 pounds. Not stated as a dog figure | 13 x 10 x 10 | 1.87 pounds | Zipper (field); retractable closure system (bullets) | “No” |
| Ramalto rear basket | Rear rack, with a universal mounting frame | Item highlight: “up to 22 lbs”. Load capacity field: 22 pounds | Not stated (size field reads “Medium”) | 8.28 pounds | Not stated | 2 Year Manufacturer |
| YEEGO DIRECT rear carrier | Rear rack, with included hardware | Bullets: “up to 20 pounds” for cats and small dogs. Maximum weight field: 20 pounds | 16 x 6.5 x 13 | 7 pounds | Zipper | Not stated |
Four of the six listings state a front handlebar mount. The two BABEYER listings share most of their bullet text, so the differences that matter are the size, the weight figure and one installation condition. The 13.5-inch listing says the bicycle head stem must adjust to at least 14 inches of space before the bag can be placed. The 12.5-inch listing does not repeat that condition in its bullets.
Weight figures, and what each one measures
A weight figure only helps once you know what it measures. Five listings give a figure for the dog. The RAYMACE listing gives a figure for the load the basket can carry, and it does not say whether the dog counts toward that load. Two listings also give figures that disagree with each other, and this guide shows both figures rather than picking one.
The 13.5-inch BABEYER listing gives three figures. Its bullets give a range of 10 to 15 pounds, its maximum weight field gives 15 pounds, and its color field reads “Fits 10-18 Lbs”. A dog between 10 and 15 pounds sits inside the bullet range and the maximum field. A dog between 15 and 18 pounds is covered only by the color field, and the listing does not say which figure is the real limit.
The K&H listing says in its bullets that its metal frame supports pets up to 20 pounds, and its maximum weight field gives 19.8 pounds. The gap is small, but the two figures do not match, and the listing does not say how either was set.
The 12.5-inch BABEYER listing gives 6 to 15 pounds in its bullets, 15 pounds in its maximum weight field and “Fits 6-15 Lbs” in its color field, and all three agree. The Ramalto listing gives “up to 22 lbs” in its item highlight and 22 pounds as its load capacity. The YEEGO DIRECT listing gives “up to 20 pounds” for cats and small dogs and 20 pounds as its maximum weight field. Both of those pairs agree, and both read as upper limits because neither gives a lower figure.
Use each figure as the maker’s starting point. A dog inside a listing’s range is inside that maker’s figure, and a dog above the top figure is outside it. The listings do not say what happens above the figure, and none of the pages we opened gives a weight limit for a bike basket.
Size and volume from the listed dimensions
Table 2 turns each listing’s item dimensions into a volume. The formula is length times width times height, using the inches each listing gives. The liter column converts cubic inches at 0.016387 liters per cubic inch and rounds to one decimal place.
| Basket | Formula from listed dimensions | Volume, liters (approx.) |
|---|---|---|
| BABEYER, 13.5-inch | 13.5 x 10.5 x 14 = 1,984.5 cubic inches | 32.5 |
| K&H, front mount | 16 x 12 x 10 = 1,920 cubic inches | 31.5 |
| BABEYER, 12.5-inch | 12.5 x 10.5 x 12.5 = 1,640.6 cubic inches | 26.9 |
| YEEGO DIRECT, rear | 16 x 6.5 x 13 = 1,352 cubic inches | 22.2 |
| RAYMACE, front | 13 x 10 x 10 = 1,300 cubic inches | 21.3 |
| Ramalto, rear | Not stated; the size field reads “Medium” | Not stated |
This is outside volume, not interior capacity. None of the six listings gives an interior size, so the figure shows how large each basket is on the outside, not how much room a dog has. The 13.5-inch BABEYER basket is the largest of the five that give dimensions, and the RAYMACE basket is the smallest.
Item weight matters because it adds to the load on the handlebar or rack. The 12.5-inch BABEYER listing gives 12.8 ounces, which is 0.8 pounds (12.8 divided by 16), the lightest in the set. The Ramalto listing gives 8.28 pounds, the heaviest. The listings do not say how much load a handlebar or rear rack can carry, so check your bike’s own rating before you add a heavy basket.
Mount, clearance and fit
The mount decides whether a basket fits your bicycle at all. The listings state different requirements:
- The 13.5-inch BABEYER bullets say the bicycle head stem must adjust to at least 14 inches of space in order to place the bag.
- The RAYMACE bullets give a handlebar diameter of 0.9 to 1.3 inches and ask for more than 9.8 inches between the handlebar and the front tire.
- The Ramalto listing says its mounting frame fits most standard rear racks, and the YEEGO DIRECT listing says it fits standard bicycle rear racks with included hardware.
Measure before you order: the handlebar diameter, the space to the front tire, the head-stem space, or the rear rack type. The listings do not explain how rack type changes fit, so compare your rack with each listing’s stated compatibility.
The listings make a case for each position, and those cases are the makers’ claims. The Ramalto bullets say its rear design keeps the center of gravity low, and the YEEGO DIRECT bullets say a rear basket keeps weight centered and low. AKC describes both handlebar and rear frame positions as options for a small dog. None of the pages we opened compares front and rear baskets directly.
Product picks
Each section below gives who the basket suits, one strength from the listing, one limit and a skip rule. The pick cards after the sections repeat the listing wording in shorter form.
BABEYER Expandable Dog Bike Basket, 13.5-inch
This basket suits a small dog that the bullets place between 10 and 15 pounds, carried on a front handlebar by a rider who has the head-stem space the listing describes. Its strongest listed feature is the tether: the bullets say an inside safety tether clips to the dog’s harness. The main limit is the weight figure, which appears in three places with two different upper numbers. Skip if your handlebar cannot give the 14 inches the listing describes, or if your dog is heavier than the 15-pound maximum field.
BABEYER Dog Bike Basket, 12.5-inch
This basket suits a small dog that the bullets place between 6 and 15 pounds, carried on a front handlebar by a rider who wants a smaller, lighter basket with a zipper. At 12.8 ounces it is the lightest in the set, and its three weight figures agree. The limit is that its bullets leave out the head-stem condition the 13.5-inch listing gives. Skip if you need a warranty term you can read clearly, since the listing gives only “Half Years”.
K&H Travel Bike Basket for Pets, Front Mount
This basket suits a small dog or cat that the bullets put at up to 20 pounds, on a front handlebar, for a rider who wants a removable, machine-washable liner. Its strongest listed feature is the one-year limited manufacturer warranty, which is longer than the 12.5-inch BABEYER’s half-year term and shorter than the Ramalto’s two years. The main limit is the weight figure, because the bullets say up to 20 pounds and the maximum field says 19.8. Skip if your dog is heavier than 19.8 pounds, or if your bike has only a rear rack.
RAYMACE Front Handlebar Bike Basket
This basket suits a rider who wants a light front basket that folds down, and who can accept that the listing gives no dog weight. Its strongest listed feature is its weight: at 1.87 pounds it is the second-lightest in the set. The main limit is the closure description, since the specification field says zipper while the bullets describe a retractable closure system. Skip if you need a dog weight from the listing, or if your handlebar falls outside the 0.9 to 1.3 inch range.
Ramalto Foldable Dog Bike Rear Basket
This basket suits a rider with a rear rack who wants a cushioned, removable pad and a carrier that can also serve as a grocery hauler or backpack, for a dog or cat the listing rates up to 22 pounds. Its strongest listed feature is the built-in safety leash, which the bullets say clips onto the dog’s harness. The main limit is missing data: the listing gives no closure type and no dimensions beyond a size of Medium. Skip if your bike has no rear rack.
YEEGO DIRECT Rear Rack Dog Carrier
This carrier suits a rider with a rear rack who wants a carrier that comes off the rack and works as a shoulder bag or a hand-carry tote, for cats and small dogs the listing rates up to 20 pounds. Its strongest listed feature is its two-part design: the bullets say the carrier can be removed to reveal a cargo basket. The main limit is the leash the title mentions, which neither the bullets nor the specification fields describe. Skip if you need a described tether, or if you want a front mount.
1. Dog Bike Basket, Expandable Soft-Sided Pet Carrier Backpack with 4 Open Doors, 4 Mesh Windows (Front handlebar basket with a 10 to 15 pound bullet range)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Maximum Weight Recommendation: 15 pounds
- Item Dimensions L x W x H: 13.5"L x 10.5"W x 14"H
- Closure Type: Drawstring
Pros
- The bullets describe a tether clip that attaches to the dog's harness
- The listing gives 13.5 by 10.5 by 14 inch outside dimensions
- The specification field gives an item weight of 3.5 pounds
Cons
- The weight figure differs by field: 15 pounds in one and 10 to 18 pounds in another
- The bullets require at least 14 inches of head-stem space to place the bag
Best for: A small dog on a front handlebar, where the rider has the clearance the bullets describe
Skip if: Your handlebar cannot take the head-stem space, or your dog weighs more than the 15 pound maximum field
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Dog Bike Basket, Expandable Soft-Sided Pet Carrier Backpack with 4 Open Doors, 4 Mesh Windows (Smaller front handlebar basket with a zipper and a 6 to 15 pound range)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Maximum Weight Recommendation: 15 pounds
- Item Weight: 12.8 ounces
- Closure Type: Zipper
- Warranty Description: Half Years
Pros
- The three weight figures on this listing agree with one another
- The item weighs 12.8 ounces, the lightest basket in the set
- The specification field gives a zipper closure
Cons
- The bullets leave out the head-stem clearance condition given in the larger BABEYER listing
- The warranty field reads Half Years, with no detail of what it covers
Best for: A small dog on a front handlebar, where a lighter basket with a zipper is the priority
Skip if: Your handlebar clearance is unchecked, or you need a clearly described warranty term
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. K&H Dog Bike Basket, Travel Bicycle Basket for Pets, Front Mount, 16x12x10 (Front mount travel basket with a one-year warranty and a washable liner)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Warranty Description: One year limited manufacturer warranty
- Maximum Weight Recommendation: 19.8 pounds
- Item Weight: 5.28 pounds
Pros
- The listing gives a one-year limited manufacturer warranty
- The bullets describe a removable, machine-washable fleece liner
- The bullets describe quick-release nylon straps for mounting and removal
Cons
- The bullets say up to 20 pounds while the maximum field says 19.8 pounds
- The specification field gives 5.28 pounds for the item and 5.29 pounds in product dimensions
Best for: A small dog or cat on a front handlebar, with a rider who wants a washable liner
Skip if: Your dog is heavier than the 19.8 pound figure, or your bike has only a rear rack
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. Bicycle Basket Dog Bike Handlebar Basket Front,Folding Detachable Quick Release Easy (Light front basket with an 11 pound load figure and no dog weight)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Maximum Weight Recommendation: 11 pounds
- Item Weight: 1.87 pounds
- Closure Type: Zipper
Pros
- The item weighs 1.87 pounds, the second-lightest basket in the set
- The bullets describe eight handlebar gaskets for bars from 0.9 to 1.3 inches
- The bullets describe a pet tether design meant to keep the pet inside
Cons
- The 11 pound figure is labeled as a maximum load, not a dog weight
- The specification field says zipper but the bullets describe a retractable closure system
Best for: A rider who wants a light front basket and accepts that the listing gives no dog weight
Skip if: You need a dog weight figure from the listing, or your handlebar is outside the 0.9 to 1.3 inch range
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. Foldable Dog Bike Rear Basket with Safety Leash & Padded Liner (Rear rack carrier with a built-in safety leash and a removable cushion)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Load Capacity: 22 pounds
- Mount Type: Rack Mount
- Warranty Description: 2 Year Manufacturer
Pros
- The bullets describe a built-in safety leash that clips to the pet's harness
- The item highlight and the load capacity field both give 22 pounds
- The bullets describe a cushion that is fully removable for machine washing
Cons
- The listing gives no closure type
- The listing gives no dimensions beyond a size of Medium, so no volume can be calculated
Best for: A rider with a rear rack who wants one basket that works as a carrier, a grocery hauler and a backpack
Skip if: Your bike has no rear rack, since the listing says the frame fits most standard racks
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. YEEGO DIRECT Dog Bike Basket for Rear Rack, 2-in-1 Pet Carrier & Cargo Basket, Detachable Dog (Rear rack carrier that separates into a cargo basket)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Maximum Weight Recommendation: 20 pounds
- Item Weight: 7 pounds
- Closure Type: Zipper
Pros
- The bullets say the carrier can be removed to reveal a cargo basket
- The maximum weight field gives 20 pounds, matching the bullet figure
- The bullets describe a washable fleece pad and a breathable mesh sunshade
Cons
- The title names a safety leash, but no bullet or field describes one
- The listing does not state a warranty term
Best for: A rider with a rear rack who wants a carrier that can also be used as a shoulder bag or tote
Skip if: You need a tether described in the listing, or you want a front mount
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
How we chose
A product was in scope if it carries a dog in a basket or carrier fixed to a bicycle’s handlebar or rear rack, which is the setting the AKC page describes for small dogs. The six products in the research file meet that test. We read their titles, bullets and specification fields as recorded on 21 October 2026, and we added no product to the set.
We left out bike trailers, because AKC describes them for medium or large dogs and they answer a different question. Our trailer guide is linked in the FAQ. We also left out one tote item that falls outside the bicycle-carrier type.
The research file has no ratings, review counts or sales ranks, so this page does not rank the products. The product sections follow the mount type first, then the order of the research file. We kept both BABEYER listings because the file includes both.
Buying checklist
- Measure the mount. For a front basket, check the handlebar diameter (RAYMACE: 0.9 to 1.3 inches), the space to the front tire (RAYMACE: more than 9.8 inches) and the head-stem space (13.5-inch BABEYER: at least 14 inches).
- For a rear basket, confirm you have a rear rack. The Ramalto and YEEGO DIRECT listings both name standard racks.
- Weigh your dog, then compare it with the figure in the bullets. If the bullets and a specification field disagree, check the lower figure first and ask the maker which one applies.
- Attach your dog’s harness the way the maker describes, and check the tether or leash the listing names. If your dog slips out of its harness, our harness for small dogs that escape guide covers the harness side.
- Check the closure. The 13.5-inch BABEYER listing says drawstring, the 12.5-inch BABEYER, K&H and YEEGO DIRECT listings say zipper, the Ramalto listing states none, and the RAYMACE listing conflicts with itself.
- If you want a washable liner, check the listing. The K&H bullets describe a removable, machine-washable liner, the Ramalto bullets describe a cushion that is fully removable for machine washing, and the BABEYER and YEEGO DIRECT bullets describe a washable fleece pad.
- Read the warranty field before you buy. The listings give one year (K&H), two years (Ramalto) and half a year (12.5-inch BABEYER). The 13.5-inch BABEYER and YEEGO DIRECT listings state no term, and the RAYMACE field reads “No”.
- Plan the first rides. The AKC page describes repeated short sessions of lifting the dog into the basket and out again, with treats and praise, before any ride.
Mistakes to avoid
- Reading the RAYMACE 11-pound figure as a dog limit. The bullets call it a maximum load, and the listing does not say whether the dog counts toward it.
- Choosing the highest number, or reading a field by its label alone. The 13.5-inch BABEYER listing gives 10 to 15 pounds in its bullets, 15 pounds in its maximum field and 10 to 18 pounds in its color field.
- Treating a tether as a restraint rating. None of the listings names a test, and the AKC page asks for appropriate safety straps and a harness attached as the maker describes, not a rating.
- Buying a rear basket for a bike that has no rear rack.
- Skipping the clearance figures: the 14-inch head-stem space for the 13.5-inch BABEYER, and the 9.8-inch handlebar-to-tire distance for the RAYMACE.
- Leaving a dog alone in a basket. Cornell and the ASPCA both say never to leave a dog alone in a parked car. Neither source covers a dog left in a bike basket, so this guide does not treat a basket as a place to leave a dog.
- Relying on mesh windows alone in the heat. The BABEYER bullets call the mesh windows a cooling air vent, while the ASPCA advises fresh water when it is hot and a shady place to get out of the sun.
What the sources say about riding with a dog
The advice in this section comes from four pages opened with curl on 21 October 2026, all listed at the end of this page. Only the AKC page covers bicycles. The Cornell page covers car and air travel, and the two ASPCA pages cover hot weather and travel, so the rest of this section applies car and heat advice to bike baskets by analogy.
AKC describes a basket on the handlebars or the back frame as an option for a small dog. It asks that the basket be made for dogs to ride in, that it have proper safety straps to keep the dog from falling or jumping out while you ride, and that the dog’s harness be attached as the basket maker instructs. These are the standards this guide uses to read each listing. The AKC page does not name a test or a certification for baskets, and none of the six listings names one.
On traffic, AKC says a trailer dog should be securely attached before the rider starts, so that it does not jump out into traffic. The ASPCA travel article makes a related point in general terms: an unrestrained pet in an unfamiliar setting can panic and run into traffic. A basket is not a trailer, but both pages describe the same risk, a dog that is not held in place.
Cornell is written for cars. It advises securing a dog in the vehicle before a drive, because loose pets distract drivers and are at risk of injury, and it names a crash-tested harness, a seat belt or a travel crate as the safest car option. No bicycle basket in our research file says it is crash-tested.
On heat, the ASPCA says to give pets plenty of fresh, clean water when it is hot or humid, and to make sure they have a shady place to get out of the sun. The same page says never to leave animals alone in a parked vehicle. The YEEGO DIRECT listing describes a breathable mesh sunshade, and the BABEYER listings describe mesh windows as a cooling air vent. Those are listing claims, and the sources we opened do not measure how a mesh basket behaves in the sun.
What we could not verify
- Whether any weight figure is a safe limit for a given dog. Our sources give no such figure for bike baskets.
- Which figure is the real limit for the 13.5-inch BABEYER listing, since its bullets, maximum field and color field give different upper numbers.
- The K&H gap between “up to 20 lbs” in the bullets and 19.8 pounds in the maximum field, and the item weight of 5.28 pounds in the specification field against 5.29 pounds in its product dimensions field.
- The RAYMACE closure, and what its warranty field means when it reads “No”. Also whether the 11-pound figure applies to a dog at all.
- The Ramalto closure type and dimensions, since the listing gives neither.
- Whether the YEEGO DIRECT leash exists as described. The title names one, but no bullet or specification field describes it. The listing calls the design patented, and we did not check any patent record.
- What the “Half Years” warranty on the 12.5-inch BABEYER covers, since the listing does not say.
- How any mesh basket behaves in the sun, and whether its mesh windows keep a dog cooler than a solid basket would. The listings make the claim, and the sources we opened do not test it.
- Whether any dog should ride in a basket at all. AKC describes it as an option for small dogs, and this guide does not add a view on whether a particular dog is suited to it.
FAQ
Can a dog ride in a bike basket?
The basket should be made for dogs, have safety straps, and attach to the harness the way the maker describes. For a medium or large dog, AKC describes a trailer instead.
How much weight does each basket hold?
The figures are each listing’s own, and they do not mean the same thing in every listing. Five listings give a dog weight: 10 to 15 pounds for the 13.5-inch BABEYER, 6 to 15 pounds for the 12.5-inch BABEYER, up to 20 pounds for the K&H basket (with a maximum field of 19.8 pounds), up to 22 pounds for the Ramalto, and up to 20 pounds for the YEEGO DIRECT carrier. The RAYMACE listing gives 11 pounds as a maximum load. The sources do not supply a weight figure for bike baskets, so each figure stays the maker’s statement.
Should the basket go on the front or the rear?
That depends on the mount your bike can take. Four listings are for the front handlebar, and two are for a rear rack. The 13.5-inch BABEYER needs at least 14 inches of head-stem space, and the RAYMACE needs more than 9.8 inches between the handlebar and the front tire. The Ramalto and YEEGO DIRECT carriers need a standard rear rack.
Does the basket need the dog’s harness clipped on?
Attach the harness the way the basket’s maker describes. AKC says to follow the manufacturer’s instructions for attaching the harness to the basket, and to use appropriate safety straps. Several listings describe a tether or leash, but none of them gives a rating for it.
What about heat on a long ride?
Give the dog fresh, clean water when it is hot or humid, and make sure there is a shady place to get out of the sun, as the ASPCA advises for pets outdoors. Mesh windows and a mesh sunshade are listing claims about airflow, and the sources we opened do not test how warm a mesh basket becomes. The ASPCA also says never to leave an animal alone in a parked vehicle, and a bike basket is not a substitute for that advice.
When should I choose a bike trailer instead?
AKC suggests a trailer for a medium or large dog, and says the dog should be securely attached before the rider starts. A trailer is a different product type, so it has its own guide: see our dog bike trailer guide. For a car trip, the Cornell advice on securing a dog applies to cars, and our dog seat belt for back of SUV guide covers that question.
Bottom line
Choose by three checks, in order: the mount your bike can take, the weight figure that covers your dog, and the tether the listing describes. Treat each weight figure as the maker’s statement. If your dog runs beside the bike rather than riding in a basket, that is a different question, and our dog leash for bike riding guide covers it.
Sources
- AKC, “Safety Tips for Biking With Dogs”, opened 2026-10-21: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/home-living/biking-with-dogs/
- Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, “Traveling safely with your dog: cars, planes and pet-friendly stays”, opened 2026-10-21: https://www.vet.cornell.edu/departments-centers-and-institutes/riney-canine-health-center/canine-health-information/traveling-safely-with-your-dog-cars-planes-and-pet-friendly-stays
- ASPCA, “Hot Weather Safety Tips”, opened 2026-10-21: https://www.aspca.org/pet-care/general-pet-care/hot-weather-safety-tips
- ASPCA, “Traveling With Pets? Follow These Expert Dos and Don’ts to Keep Them Safe”, opened 2026-10-21: https://www.aspca.org/news/traveling-pets-follow-these-expert-dos-and-donts-keep-them-safe