Best Dog Potty Tray: Six Listings Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
The best dog potty tray is a tray that fits your dog’s size and your floor space, and that holds a pad or grass mat you can keep clean. This page compares six listings from five brands, using only what each listing states about size, weight, included parts, warranty and features. It also sets out what four house-training sources say about the routine a tray supports. Two pad-only listings were excluded on their titles. Where a listing disagrees with itself, we show both figures.
Quick answer
- Choose the type first. Four listings are a grass mat on a tray: LOOBANI, both HURENTEK listings and PICK FOR LIFE. Two are a mesh tray that holds a pee pad underneath: UPIT and LYNNINME.
- Check the dog’s size against the listing’s own words. Only the small HURENTEK listing gives a weight range, 3 to 10 pounds. The others use size words such as “small dogs” or “medium or large dogs.”
- Check what is in the box. Four listings name a pad in the included list. UPIT names only the tray with its mesh grid, and LYNNINME says its pee pad is sold separately.
- Plan the routine, not only the tray. The sources tie house training to a steady schedule, supervision and cleaning without punishment, and the ASPCA says there is no timetable that works for every dog.
What the four sources say about the routine
The four sources are a puppy potty-training guide from AKC, an ASPCA house-training article, a Humane World for Animals guide and a UC Davis veterinary handout. None of them names, compares or recommends a tray, so the points below concern the routine a tray would sit inside.
They agree on the basics of consistency, supervision and rewards. AKC says “Successful housetraining starts as soon as your puppy comes home and relies on consistency, supervision, a predictable schedule, and positive reinforcement.” It adds that “Puppies learn faster when they’re rewarded for correct behavior rather than punished for mistakes.”
Timing is where the sources give the most detail. Humane World advises taking a puppy outside “at least every two hours” and after waking, play, eating or drinking. UC Davis gives a table by age, starting at “6-14 weeks 8-10 times daily” and falling to “30 weeks and older 3-4 times daily.” AKC gives a rougher guide: “puppies can generally hold their bladder for approximately the same number of hours as their age in months, up to about 9 months to 1 year of age.” Its example is that “a 6-month-old puppy may be able to hold it for around six hours.”
On how long the whole process takes, the sources are cautious. Humane World says “Housetraining a puppy typically takes 4-6 months, but it can vary depending on the puppy’s size, age and previous housetraining habits.” The ASPCA says house training is not an exact science, and that “there’s no sure-fire formula or timetable that will work for every dog.”
Pads and indoor areas get the most caution. AKC says “puppy pads may be useful for owners who cannot return home frequently during the day or for people with very small dogs living in areas with severe winter weather.” Humane World warns that “indoor potty training can make outdoor housebreaking take longer.” The ASPCA puts the choice plainly: “Whether your goal is for your dog to eliminate on pee pads indoors or to do it outside, you have to really throw a party for her when she succeeds.”
Supervision comes next. UC Davis advises that a puppy be kept “in a small, confined area (e.g. dog crate, bathroom, puppy pen)” and warns against giving it “free access to the house without direct supervision.” The ASPCA suggests limiting a dog to “the one or two rooms where you are able to see her at all times” until the training takes hold.
Accidents are where the sources agree most. The ASPCA says that “a dog will not learn anything by being scolded for a past accident, even one a few minutes old.” Humane World says “Never punish your puppy for accidents.” UC Davis calls punishment ineffective. For cleaning, UC Davis advises an enzymatic cleaner “to remove residual smells that may entice puppy to revisit the area,” and AKC describes a product that “removes lingering scents that could attract your puppy back to the same spot.” None of the four pages gives a cleaning frequency.
Expectations matter too. UC Davis says that “Incomplete housetraining is a primary cause of housesoiling as an adult dog.” It also says “DO NOT get discouraged – accidents will happen and should be expected!”
Two tray types in this set
Four listings are grass pads on a tray: LOOBANI, both HURENTEK listings and PICK FOR LIFE. Each layers artificial grass over a pad layer on a tray. The LOOBANI bullets say the grass “looks and feels just like real grass.” That is a claim about feel. The sources we opened do not say that grass helps a puppy learn to go outdoors.
Two listings are mesh trays for a pee pad: UPIT and LYNNINME. The pad sits under a mesh grate or mesh top plate. For the pads themselves, see our absorbent puppy training pads guide. The UPIT bullets say the grate “allows urine to flow directly into the training pad below,” and the LYNNINME bullets say the snap-lock clips “firmly hold pee pads in place.” The mesh listings do not include a pad in the set, as stated.
Compare the listed specs
Table 1 uses only the fields each listing gives. “Not stated” means the bullets and spec sheet give no such field. Where the title and spec sheet disagree, both figures appear in the size column.
| Listing | Brand | Size | Item weight | Pad named in the set | Warranty | Dog size stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LOOBANI grass pad with tray | LOOBANI | 35 x 23 in | 6.5 lb | Yes: two washable pee pads | 2-year | Medium or large dogs |
| HURENTEK small grass pad with tray | HURENTEK | 23 x 17 in (title); 23.6 x 17.3 in (spec) | 2.64 lb | Yes: pearl cotton pad | 1-year | 3 to 10 lb |
| HURENTEK large grass pad with tray | HURENTEK | 34 x 23 in | 4.84 lb | Yes: pearl cotton pad | Not stated | All sizes |
| UPIT mesh potty tray | UPIT | 20 x 16 in | 2 lb | Not stated: tray with mesh grid only | Not stated | Small dogs and puppies |
| LYNNINME pee pad holder tray | LYNNINME | 22.5 x 16.5 in | 3.19 lb | No: pee pad sold separately | Manufacture defect only | Small dogs |
| PICK FOR LIFE grass pad with tray | PICK FOR LIFE | 35 x 22.6 in | 6.19 lb | Yes: washable pee pads | Not stated | Large dogs |
Floor area from the listed sizes
Area is length multiplied by width, in square inches: area = length x width. The sizes come from each listing’s title, size field or bullets, as recorded in the research file.
| Listing | Length x width (in) | Area (sq in) |
|---|---|---|
| LOOBANI grass pad with tray | 35 x 23 | 805 |
| PICK FOR LIFE grass pad with tray | 35 x 22.6 | 791 |
| HURENTEK large grass pad with tray | 34 x 23 | 782 |
| HURENTEK small grass pad with tray | 23 x 17 | 391 |
| LYNNINME pee pad holder tray | 22.5 x 16.5 | 371.25 |
| UPIT mesh potty tray | 20 x 16 | 320 |
The LOOBANI tray has the largest area at 805 square inches. Dividing 805 by 320, the UPIT figure, gives about 2.5. By these listed figures, the LOOBANI tray covers about two and a half times the floor of the UPIT tray. Area does not show height or weight. Table 1 gives the weights, and the spec sheets give thickness between 1.2 and 1.5 inches, apart from the PICK FOR LIFE conflict described below.
Product picks
The six listings appear in the order the research file records. None is ranked above another. Each entry states what the listing or its spec sheet gives, and the skip line says when a different tray fits better.
LOOBANI Large Grass Pad with Tray (35 x 23 in)
- Who it suits: medium or large dogs, since the bullets say the tray is for “medium or large dogs.” The bullets also list apartments and balconies among its uses.
- Strength: the included list names two artificial grass pieces, two washable pee pads and one tray, and the spec sheet gives a 2-year warranty.
- Limit: the counts conflict. The spec sheet says “Number of Packs” is 4, while the included list describes one set. The bullets say “3-layer design,” but the size field reads “5-Layer Potty System.”
- Weight: 6.5 pounds per the spec sheet.
- Skip if: your dog is small, because the listing points to medium and large dogs.
HURENTEK Small Grass Pad with Tray (23 x 17 in)
- Who it suits: dogs weighing 3 to 10 pounds. The bullets say the tray is “Suitable for pets and dogs weighing 3 to 10 pounds,” the only weight range in this set.
- Strength: the bullets describe “heightened edges, preventing liquid spills,” and the set includes a fake grass mat, a pearl cotton pad and a tray.
- Limit: the title gives 23 by 17 inches, while the spec sheet gives 23.6 by 17.3 inches. The warranty is one year.
- Weight: 2.64 pounds per the spec sheet.
- Skip if: your dog weighs more than 10 pounds, which is outside the range the listing gives.
HURENTEK Large Grass Pad with Tray (34 x 23 in)
- Who it suits: owners who want the larger 34 by 23 inch size from the same brand. The bullets say the tray suits “pets and dogs of all sizes.”
- Strength: the spec sheet lists “High Sides” as an additional feature, and the bullets describe the same heightened edges as the small model.
- Limit: the spec sheet gives no warranty term. Its first-available date is September 11, 2026, the most recent in this set.
- Weight: 4.84 pounds per the spec sheet.
- Skip if: you need a warranty term stated in the spec sheet.
UPIT Puppy Potty Tray with Mesh (20 x 16 in)
- Who it suits: small dogs and puppies, as the title says.
- Strength: the bullets say the snap-on mesh grate “prevents clever puppies from reaching and tearing up the pee pads,” and that urine flows “directly into the training pad below.”
- Limit: the included components field names only the tray with its mesh grid, so no pad is part of the set as stated. The bullets call the PP plastic “non-toxic,” a claim the sources we opened do not cover.
- Weight: 2 pounds per the spec sheet.
- Skip if: you need a tray for a medium or large dog, since the listing gives 20 by 16 inches.
LYNNINME Pee Pad Holder Tray (22.5 x 16.5 in)
- Who it suits: small dogs, and owners who want one tray for indoor or outdoor use. The spec sheet lists uses from “Indoor Potty Training” to “Porch Use, Patio Use, Deck Use, Yard Use.”
- Strength: the bullets say the snap-lock clips “firmly hold pee pads in place,” the mesh top plate and bottom tray separate for cleaning, and six non-slip rubber feet keep the tray in place.
- Limit: the directions say the pee pad is “sold separately.” The title says “4 Colors (Gray),” but the bullets list white, pink, chocolate and green.
- Weight: 3.19 pounds per the spec sheet.
- Skip if: you want a pad included in the box.
PICK FOR LIFE Grass Pad with Tray (35 x 22.6 in)
- Who it suits: large dogs, and owners who want a grass pad and washable pads in one set. The bullets describe the set at 35 by 22.6 inches.
- Strength: the bullets say the washable puppy pads “can be washed quickly with soap water,” and that the basic tray “can be washed with a hose.”
- Limit: the dimensions conflict. The item dimensions say 35 by 23 by 1.5 inches, while the product dimensions say 22.6 by 35 by 0.04 inch. The spec sheet has no warranty field.
- Weight: 6.19 pounds per the spec sheet.
- Skip if: you need the dimensions confirmed before you buy, since the spec sheet disagrees with itself.
1. LOOBANI Large Dog Grass Pad with Tray – 35x23in for Balcony Apartment (Large grass pad with tray for medium or large dogs)
Pros
- The included list names two artificial grass pieces, two washable pee pads and one tray
- The spec sheet gives a 2-year warranty
- The bullets say the tray is for medium or large dogs
Cons
- The spec sheet says Number of Packs is 4, which does not match the included list
- The bullets say 3-layer design while the size field says 5-Layer Potty System
Best for: An owner of a medium or large dog who wants a grass pad with pads in one set
Skip if: Your dog is small, since the listing points to medium and large dogs
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Dog Grass Pad with Tray, 23''X17'' Small Artificial Turf Grass Potty, Reusable Puppy Pee Pads (Small grass pad with tray for dogs of 3 to 10 pounds)
Pros
- The bullets say the listing suits dogs weighing 3 to 10 pounds, the only weight range in this set
- The bullets describe heightened edges that prevent liquid spills
- The included list names a grass mat, a pearl cotton pad and a tray
Cons
- The title gives 23 by 17 inches while the spec sheet gives 23.6 by 17.3 inches
- The spec sheet gives a 1-year warranty
Best for: An owner of a small dog in the 3 to 10 pound range
Skip if: Your dog weighs more than 10 pounds, which is outside the listed range
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. Dog Grass Pad with Tray, 34''X23'' Large Artificial Turf Grass Potty, Reusable Puppy Pee Pads (Large grass pad with tray and high sides)
Pros
- The title gives 34 by 23 inches for the larger tray
- The spec sheet lists High Sides as an additional feature
- The bullets say the tray suits pets and dogs of all sizes
Cons
- No warranty term appears in the spec sheet
- The first-available date of September 11, 2026 is the most recent in this set
Best for: An owner who wants the larger 34 by 23 inch size from the same brand
Skip if: You need a warranty term stated in the spec sheet
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. UPIT Puppy Potty Tray with Mesh – Dog Pee Pad Holder for Small Dogs & Puppies, Indoor Dog Potty (Mesh potty tray for small dogs and puppies)
Pros
- The bullets say the snap-on mesh grate prevents clever puppies from reaching and tearing up the pee pads
- The bullets say urine flows directly into the training pad below
- The spec sheet gives a weight of 2 pounds and a small size of 20 by 16 inches
Cons
- The included components field names only the tray with its mesh grid
- The bullets call the PP plastic non-toxic, a claim the sources we opened do not cover
Best for: An owner of a puppy or small dog who wants a mesh tray for a pee pad
Skip if: You need a tray for a medium or large dog, since the listing gives 20 by 16 inches
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. Dog Pee Pad Holder Tray, Puppy Potty Training, 22.5"x16.5", PP Plastic, Snap Lock, 4 Colors (Gray) (Snap-lock pee pad holder tray for small dogs)
Pros
- The bullets say snap-lock clips firmly hold pee pads in place
- The bullets describe six non-slip rubber feet on the bottom
- The bullets say the mesh top plate and bottom tray separate for cleaning
Cons
- The directions say the pee pad is sold separately
- The title says 4 colors (Gray) while the bullets list white, pink, chocolate and green
Best for: An owner of a small dog who wants a snap-lock tray for indoor or outdoor use
Skip if: You want a pad included in the box
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. Dog Grass Pad with Tray for Dogs Puppy Potty Training to Pee & Poop Indoor (Large grass pad with tray and washable pads)
Pros
- The bullets describe a triple-layered design with artificial grass, washable pee pads and a big tray
- The bullets say the washable puppy pads can be washed quickly with soap water
- The spec sheet gives a weight of 6.19 pounds
Cons
- The item dimensions say 1.5 inches thick while the product dimensions say 0.04 inch
- The spec sheet shows no warranty field
Best for: An owner of a large dog who wants a grass pad and washable pads in one set
Skip if: You need the dimensions confirmed before buying, since the spec sheet disagrees with itself
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
How we chose
The research file records Amazon.com as its source and 22 October 2026 as the check date. It holds six listings from five brands: LOOBANI, UPIT, LYNNINME, PICK FOR LIFE, and two from HURENTEK. Two listings whose titles describe pad-only products were excluded on their titles, and they are not compared here.
Each kept listing has five bullets and a spec sheet in the research file. This post uses only those fields for product facts. Products are not scored or ranked. They are grouped by type, grass pad on a tray or mesh pee-pad tray, and listed in the research file’s order.
The house-training sources are four pages on puppy housetraining: AKC, the ASPCA, Humane World for Animals and a UC Davis veterinary handout. We opened each one with curl on 22 October 2026 and checked the quotes against the page text. The ASPCA article is dated September 25, 2014, so its advice may be older than the others.
Buying checklist
- Measure your dog, and use the listed weight range if one is given. Only the small HURENTEK listing gives one.
- Compare your floor space with the areas in the table above, and check each title against its spec sheet where they differ.
- Decide the goal before you buy. AKC says pads may be useful for owners who cannot return home often, and Humane World warns that indoor potty training can make outdoor housebreaking take longer.
- Confirm the pad. LOOBANI, both HURENTEK listings and PICK FOR LIFE name one in the set. UPIT names only the tray, and LYNNINME says the pad is sold separately. If you need pads on their own, compare them in our disposable pee pads guide.
- Check the warranty term. LOOBANI gives 2 years and the small HURENTEK gives 1 year. LYNNINME says “Manufacture Defect Only.” The other three name no warranty.
- Read the directions. The LYNNINME directions say “Do Not Place near fire,” so follow that instruction in the listing.
- Set the schedule before the tray arrives. The sources describe a routine, not a product, so use their timing points from the section above. For a confined area with a soft floor, see our puppy pen mat guide.
Mistakes to avoid
- Treating the tray as the training. UC Davis says “Incomplete housetraining is a primary cause of housesoiling as an adult dog,” so the routine has to continue after the tray is in place.
- Scolding accidents. Humane World says “Never punish your puppy for accidents,” and UC Davis warns that punishment may lead to “further and more serious behavioral problems.”
- Choosing by size words alone. LOOBANI says “medium or large dogs,” UPIT’s title says “Small Dogs & Puppies,” and the LYNNINME bullets say “for small dogs.”
- Assuming the pad is in the box. LYNNINME says its pee pad is “sold separately,” and UPIT names only the tray.
- Trusting one dimension. The PICK FOR LIFE item dimensions say 1.5 inches thick, and its product dimensions say 0.04 inch.
- Using grass to teach outdoor potty training. The sources do not say grass does this, and Humane World warns that indoor potty training “can make outdoor housebreaking take longer.”
- Leaving a puppy with free access to the house. UC Davis says “DO NOT allow puppy to have free access to the house without direct supervision.” For keeping a puppy in one room, see our puppy gates guide.
What we could not verify
- Whether any tray keeps floors dry, reduces odor or is hygienic. These are listing claims, such as the HURENTEK bullets on liquid spills and the LYNNINME bullets on keeping paws dry. The sources we opened do not cover these claims.
- Whether the “non-toxic” wording in the UPIT bullets and the “safe to use around your pet” wording in the PICK FOR LIFE bullets is accurate. The sources we opened do not cover the materials.
- How often a tray should be cleaned. The UPIT directions say to “wash regularly for hygiene,” with no interval. None of the four sources gives a cleaning frequency.
- How long any layer lasts. The listings name materials such as polyethylene, TPU, PP plastic and pearl cotton, but the sources we opened give no durability figure for them.
- The spec conflicts: the LOOBANI pack count against its included list and its layer count, the PICK FOR LIFE thickness, the small HURENTEK title against its spec size, and the LYNNINME gray title against its four listed colors. The post shows both figures in each case.
- Whether “Leak-Proof” in the titles of the large HURENTEK and UPIT listings holds in use. The sources we opened do not cover that claim.
- Anything beyond the five bullets per listing. The research file holds five bullets for each listing and no further bullets, so later bullets are not reflected here.
- The two excluded pad-only listings. They are not compared, so this post makes no claim about them.
- Whether the ASPCA article, dated September 25, 2014, still matches its current guidance.
FAQ
Does a potty tray replace house training?
No. Each of the four sources describes a routine, supervision and cleaning without punishment, and none says that a product does the training. AKC says that whichever approved area you use, frequent chances to succeed help the puppy learn where to go. The tray is a place, not a method.
How often should a puppy go outside?
UC Davis gives a schedule by age, from 8 to 10 times daily at 6 to 14 weeks down to 3 to 4 times daily at 30 weeks and older. AKC gives a rougher guide: a puppy can generally hold its bladder for about as many hours as its age in months.
Should I scold a puppy for an accident?
No. The ASPCA says a dog learns nothing from being scolded for an accident, even one a few minutes old. Humane World says scolding makes puppies fearful and slows progress, and UC Davis calls punishment ineffective.
What should I clean accidents with?
UC Davis advises an enzymatic cleaner that removes the residual smells that may draw a puppy back to the same spot. AKC describes a product that removes lingering scents from the spot. None of the four sources gives a cleaning schedule.
How long does house training take?
Humane World says it typically takes 4 to 6 months, and that the time varies with the puppy’s size, age and past habits. The ASPCA says no timetable works for every dog, so treat any single number as a rough guide.
Does a grass-surface tray help with outdoor training?
The sources do not say so. The grass listings make a claim about feel, not about outdoor training, such as the LOOBANI bullet that the grass “looks and feels just like real grass.” Humane World warns that indoor potty training can make outdoor housebreaking take longer.
Bottom line
Choose the tray by the dog’s size, the floor space you have and what is in the box, then decide the goal before you buy. The sources tie house training to a steady routine, supervision and cleaning without punishment, so the tray is only one part of the plan.
Affiliate disclosure: links on this page go to Amazon, and qualifying purchases earn us a commission.
Sources
- AKC, “How to Potty Train a Puppy”, opened 2026-10-22: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/training/how-to-potty-train-a-puppy
- ASPCA, “House Training Your Dog or Puppy” (article dated September 25, 2014), opened 2026-10-22: https://www.aspca.org/news/house-training-your-dog-or-puppy
- Humane World for Animals, “How to Potty Train a Puppy”, opened 2026-10-22: https://www.humaneworld.org/en/resources/how-potty-train-your-dog-or-puppy
- UC Davis Clinical Animal Behavior Service, “Housetraining Your Puppy” (PDF handout), opened 2026-10-22: https://www.vetmed.ucdavis.edu/sites/g/files/dgvnsk491/files/inline-files/Housetraining_Your_Puppy.pdf