Best Dog Scent Training Equipment: Six Kits Compared by Format, Scent and Count

Best Dog Scent Training Equipment: Six Kits Compared by Format, Scent and Count

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Best dog scent training equipment depends on the kind of search you want to run: anise pouches in a tin for home nosework games, magnetic tins you fill yourself, or a liquid or shed-scent kit for hunting-style tracking. This guide compares the six kits in our research file by format, named scent, count and stated size, and it separates what each listing says from what the sources we opened actually support.

Quick answer

  • Choose by format first. Race&Herd and BabieDtOyG each list six anise pouches, one set in a tin and one with a storage case. INNOYUMLIN and Generic list aluminum tins with magnetic dots, and the two DogBone products are hunting-scent items.
  • Check the scent before you buy. Only two listings name anise. The DogBone shed kit names venison as its flavor, and the BloodTrail liquid is described as mimicking the scent of a wounded deer.
  • Supervise every session. The ASPCA advises staying close to a dog during DIY scent games and removing any item the dog tries to swallow, and the Race&Herd listing says not to let dogs chew the pouches.
  • Treat calming claims as claims. Two listings use calming or anxiety wording, and none of the sources we opened shows that a scent kit calms a dog.

What scent work is

Scent work is a search game. The dog finds a hidden target by smell and signals the find. AKC describes its Scent Work sport as based on professional detection dogs, the working dogs people use to find a wide range of scents. In AKC trials, the targets are cotton swabs with essential oils, hidden out of sight in a set search area that the dog works through. The oils AKC lists are birch, anise, clove and cypress, so anise is one of the four odors AKC uses in its own trial searches.

Home games follow the same basic pattern with simpler rules. The ASPCA describes a find-it game that starts with a treat tossed close to the dog, with praise when the dog gets it. Over time the game moves toward hiding treats and making the search harder as the dog learns it. The ASPCA also says that whether you play indoors or go on a walk, it matters that the dog gets to use its nose.

Cornell’s senior-dog guide adds two practical points. Basic scent games can be done indoors when the weather is poor and the footing is safe, and scent work is easy to practice at home, with online courses available. Cornell also says that scent sports can be mentally and physically exhausting, and that dogs often nap after them. That statement is about scent sports in general, not about any kit in this guide.

AKC says the sport suits all kinds of dogs and can help build confidence in a shy dog. That describes the sport, not a result from any kit listed here, and none of the sources we opened compares home kits with one another.

AKC sets a minimum age of 6 months for its Scent Work events. That is a competition rule. It does not settle whether a pouch kit suits a younger puppy at home. The Race&Herd listing says its product is low-impact enrichment for young, older and less mobile dogs, a claim we could not confirm beyond the listing.

What the six listings contain

The table uses only the figures and fields each listing states. A blank field reads “not stated”, so a missing detail is not read as a zero or a no.

Kit (brand label) What the listing includes Scent named in the listing Item weight Water resistance and warranty
Race&Herd Six anise pouches in a metal tin, carabiner, printed guide, five games Anise 11.7 ounces Water Repellent; warranty not stated
DogBone (BloodTrail) One 2 fluid ounce liquid bottle Not named; described as mimicking a wounded deer 2 ounces Not stated
DogBone (shed kit) 2 ounce scent bottle, flexible white antler dummy, training manual Venison flavor; deer wood scent listed as an ingredient 2 ounces Not stated
INNOYUMLIN Six aluminum tins, six magnetic dots, four jars of starter scent, tweezers Not named in the bullets 7 ounces Not stated
Generic 12 aluminum tins and 12 magnetic dots Not named; bullets say to add your own treats 8.4 ounces Water resistance not stated; warranty field reads no
BabieDtOyG Six anise pouches, storage case, carabiner, five-game training book Anise 10.2 ounces Not Water Resistant; 12-month warranty stated

Two rows need a second look. The Race&Herd and BabieDtOyG listings both state six pouches, five games, a 10 x 5 x 2 inch size and the same model label in their specification tables, and their item weights differ by 1.5 ounces. The Generic listing gives two different tin sizes, one in its bullets and one in its item dimension field, so check the bullets and the field before you rely on either.

The two DogBone products are hunting items. The BloodTrail product is a 2 fluid ounce liquid that its bullets say mimics the scent of a real wounded deer, and the bullets describe laying a trail with objects such as a tennis ball or a RealHide. The shed kit is a 2 ounce bottle of scent with a flexible white antler dummy and a training manual, built for teaching a dog to find deer antler sheds and retrieve. Neither is a set of home nosework games, and this guide does not present them as one.

Calculations from the listed counts

The session formula is: sessions = pieces in the kit / pieces hidden per session. No listing says how many pieces to hide, so the examples assume three pieces per session. That number is our assumption, not a figure from any listing, and you can swap in your own.

  • Race&Herd and BabieDtOyG, six pouches each: 6 / 3 = 2 sessions per kit.
  • INNOYUMLIN, six tins: 6 / 3 = 2 sessions, plus four jars of scent whose type the bullets do not name.
  • Generic, 12 tins: 12 / 3 = 4 sessions, twice the count of a six-piece set at the same hide size.

A second formula shows why item weight is a poor guide to the number of pieces. The Race&Herd kit weighs 11.7 ounces across six pouches, so the kit weight per pouch is 11.7 / 6 = 1.95 ounces. That figure includes the tin, carabiner and guide, so it is not the weight of a pouch.

A third figure compares the two six-pouch kits. Their listed item weights differ by 11.7 – 10.2 = 1.5 ounces. That gap is small, and the two listings may describe one product, so weight should not decide between them.

Product picks

The six sections below follow the table order, which is not a ranking. Each section gives the kit’s format and named scent, who it suits, one strength, one limit and a skip condition. Claims that come from a listing are marked as the listing’s.

Race&Herd anise nose work pouches in a tin

Who it suits: owners who want a ready-made anise kit for games at home or at the park. Strength: according to the listing, the tin, six pouches, carabiner and printed guide come together, and a pouch can be clipped to a leash for park play. Limit: the listing gives Water Repellent as its water resistance, which is not the same as waterproof, and it does not say how long the pouches last. Size from the listing: the dog breed size is All, the breed recommendation is All Breed Sizes, and the listing gives no dog weight limit. Skip if: your dog chews fabric, because the listing says to keep dogs from chewing the pouches.

DogBone BloodTrail liquid scent for deer-trail tracking

Who it suits: hunters and hunting-dog owners who want a liquid scent for laying a trail. Strength: according to the listing, the 2 fluid ounce liquid mimics the scent of a wounded deer and is used with a tennis ball or a RealHide to lay a realistic trail. Limit: the listing does not say what the liquid is made from, and its claim to be the only liquid of its kind on the market is the listing’s own. Size from the listing: the listing gives no dog size, breed or weight range. Skip if: you want home nosework games with pouches or tins, since this product is for tracking.

DogBone shed hunting scent kit with antler dummy

Who it suits: hunters who train a dog to find deer antler sheds and bring back a dummy. Strength: the set has three items, a 2 ounce scent bottle, a flexible white antler dummy and a training manual, and the listing describes a progressive approach to shed training. Limit: the listing gives Small Breeds as its breed recommendation and does not explain why, and it names white deer antler among its special ingredients. AKC’s article on antler chews says hard antler chews are a common cause of broken teeth in dogs, so do not leave antler material for a dog that chews. Size from the listing: the dog breed size is Small and the breed recommendation is Small Breeds, with no dog weight limit given. Skip if: your dog is a hard chewer or you are not training for shed hunting.

INNOYUMLIN magnetic scent tins with four starter jars

Who it suits: owners who want metal tins to hide and who will supply their own treats or scent. Strength: according to the listing, the tins have magnetic dots and a barrier pad, the hollow design lets scent out, and the kit includes a tweezers. Limit: the bullets do not name the scent in the four jars, and a directions field mentions a glass vial while the bullets describe jars. Size from the listing: none. The listing gives no dog size, breed or weight range. Skip if: you need a named scent before you buy.

Generic 12-tin magnetic scent set

Who it suits: owners who want a large tin set and plan to fill the tins themselves. Strength: the set has 12 tins and 12 magnetic dots, the largest count in this group, and the bullets say to put treats in each tin. Limit: the included-components field says No while the bullets describe a full set, and the item dimension field does not match the bullets, which give about 68 x 25 mm. The brand is a listing label, not a named brand. Size from the listing: the dog breed size is Small. The listing gives no dog weight limit, and its maximum weight field reads 1 ounces, which does not look like a dog weight, so we do not use it. Skip if: you want a named scent already in the set.

BabieDtOyG anise nosework kit with five-game book

Who it suits: owners who want a named anise kit with a case, a carabiner and a training book, and a stated warranty. Strength: the listing names anise as the scent of its six pouches and states a 12-month warranty, which none of the other listings in this group gives as a figure. Limit: the listing says Not Water Resistant, and its breed recommendation field is cut off in the data we captured, so this guide does not list breeds for it. Size from the listing: the dog breed size is Small and the age range is all ages. The breed list is cut off in our capture, as noted above, and the listing gives no dog weight limit. Skip if: you need water resistance for outdoor sessions.

1. Race&Herd Dog Scent Kit — 6 Anise Nose Work Pouches in Tin (Ocean) (Anise pouch kit in a travel tin with a printed guide)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Scent Name: Anise
  • Item Weight: 11.7 ounces
  • Unit Count: 6 Count
  • Dog Breed Size: All
  • Breed Recommendation: All Breed Sizes
  • Water Resistance Level: Water Repellent
  • Indoor Outdoor Usage: Indoor, Outdoor
  • Product Dimensions: 10 x 5 x 2 inches; 11.68 ounces

Pros

  • The listing says the tin, six pouches, carabiner and guide come as one package
  • The listing says the kit is for indoor and outdoor use
  • The listing gives 11.7 ounces as the item weight

Cons

  • The listing gives Water Repellent, not waterproof, as its water resistance
  • The listing does not state a warranty or how long the pouches last

Best for: An owner who wants a ready-made anise game for indoor and outdoor sessions
Skip if: Your dog chews fabric or soft items, and the listing warns against chewing the pouches

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. BloodTrail Scent for Tracking Dog Training | Dog Training Kit | Hunting Dog Accessories | Dog Scent (Liquid scent for deer-trail tracking training)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Item Form: Liquid
  • Volume: 2 fluid ounces
  • Item Weight: 2 ounces
  • Target Species: Dog
  • Manufacturer: DogBone Hunter

Pros

  • The listing says the liquid mimics the scent of a wounded deer
  • The listing says the liquid is used with a tennis ball or a RealHide to lay a trail
  • The listing says the product is made in the USA

Cons

  • The listing does not say what the liquid is made from
  • The bullets describe tracking work and give no home game instructions
  • The listing gives no dog size, breed or weight range

Best for: A hunter who trains a dog to follow a trail
Skip if: You want home nosework games with pouches or tins instead of a tracking liquid

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. DogBone Shed Hunting Dog Training Kit – Train Your Puppy to Find Deer Antlers – Includes 2 oz Scent (Shed-antler scent bottle with flexible dummy and training manual)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Flavor: Venison
  • Special Ingredients: deer wood scent, white deer antler
  • Container Type: Bottle
  • Dog Breed Size: Small
  • Breed Recommendation: Small Breeds
  • Number of Items: 3
  • Item Weight: 2 ounces

Pros

  • The listing includes a 2 ounce scent bottle, a flexible white antler dummy and a training manual
  • The listing describes a progressive approach to training a dog to find sheds
  • The listing names venison as the flavor

Cons

  • The breed recommendation says Small Breeds, and the bullets do not explain it
  • The listing names white deer antler as an ingredient, which calls for an antler chew caution

Best for: A hunter training a dog to find deer antler sheds
Skip if: Your dog is a hard chewer, or you are not training for shed hunting

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Dog Scent Work Tins Training Kit Nose Work Containers Magnetic Dots Scent Work for Dogs Training (Six metal scent tins with magnetic dots and four starter jars)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Item Weight: 7 ounces
  • Included Components: beginner scent work kit
  • Color: silvery
  • Manufacturer: INNOYUMLIN
  • Package Dimensions: 6.34 x 5.79 x 3.15 inches; 7.05 ounces

Pros

  • The listing says the tins have magnetic dots and a barrier pad
  • The listing says the hollow tin design lets the scent come out
  • The listing includes a tweezers and four jars of starter scent

Cons

  • The bullets do not name the scent in the four jars
  • A directions field mentions a glass vial, while the bullets describe jars
  • The listing states no dog size or weight range at all

Best for: An owner who wants metal tins to hide and will supply the treats or scent
Skip if: You need a named scent before you buy

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. 12 Pack Dog Pet Scent Training Box,Magnets Dogs Cat Scent Work tins,Dog Nose Work containers, Smell (Twelve aluminum tins with magnetic dots, filled by the owner)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Number of Items: 12
  • Included Components: No
  • Item Weight: 8.4 ounces
  • Dog Breed Size: Small
  • Color: silvery
  • Product Dimensions: 2.68 x 2.68 x 0.98 inches; 8.47 ounces

Pros

  • The listing includes 12 tins and 12 magnetic dots, the largest count in this group
  • The bullets say to put your own treats in each tin
  • The listing calls the aluminum bite-resistant and non-toxic food grade

Cons

  • The included components field says No, which conflicts with the bullets
  • The item dimension field gives a different tin size from the bullets

Best for: An owner who wants a large tin set and will fill the tins with treats
Skip if: You want a named scent already in the set

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. Dog Scent Training kit, Brain Games, Hide and Seek Toys – Fun Nose Work Games, Sniff and Seek (Green anise pouch kit with a case and five-game book)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Scent Name: 6 Pcs Anise Scent Training Kit
  • Included Components: 6 Pieces Scent Pouches, Storage Case, Carabena, 5 Games Training Book
  • Dog Breed Size: Small
  • Age Range Description: All Ages
  • Water Resistance Level: Not Water Resistant
  • Warranty Description: 12 monthes
  • Product Dimensions: 10 x 5 x 2 inches; 10.23 ounces

Pros

  • The listing names anise as the scent of its six pouches
  • The listing includes a storage case, a carabiner and a five-game training book
  • The listing states a 12-month warranty

Cons

  • The listing says Not Water Resistant
  • The breed recommendation field is cut off in the data we captured

Best for: An owner who wants a named anise kit with a case and a stated warranty
Skip if: You need water resistance for outdoor sessions

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

How we chose

The six products come from the research file for this keyword. That file records Amazon.com listings captured through Chrome on 2026-10-21, with each title, its bullets and its specification table. We kept all six and did not add or remove any. The inclusion rule was the research file itself. We did not rank the six, and the order follows the table.

Two of the six are hunting-scent items rather than home games. They stay in the set because the research file includes them, and this guide describes them as hunting products. None of the six listings appears in our ASIN index, so this post does not repeat product sets from our training equipment or agility guides.

We did not check prices, stock, ratings, reviews or other sellers, and this post uses none of them. The research file does not record them. Several fields in the file are blank, conflicting or cut off, and we kept each listing’s own wording rather than fill a gap from memory.

Buying checklist

  1. Name the scent first. Race&Herd and BabieDtOyG name anise, and the DogBone shed kit names venison. Most of the other listings leave the scent unnamed.
  2. Count the pieces against your session size, using the formula above. A six-piece kit gives two sessions at three pieces each.
  3. Decide where you will play. Race&Herd and BabieDtOyG both list indoor and outdoor use, but Race&Herd gives Water Repellent and BabieDtOyG gives Not Water Resistant.
  4. Check how your dog chews. The Race&Herd listing warns owners to keep the pouches away from chewing. If your dog tears at toys, see our durable dog toys for heavy chewers guide before you leave any kit out.
  5. Match the age and breed fields to your dog. Race&Herd lists all breed sizes and all life stages, BabieDtOyG lists all ages with a small dog breed size, and the shed kit lists Small Breeds.
  6. Read the conflicting fields before you order. These are the Generic included-components and dimension fields, and the INNOYUMLIN directions text.
  7. Buy for the job. A home game needs pouches or tins, a tracking job suits the liquid, and shed training suits the shed kit. If you also want a treat-dispensing toy, our best dog food dispenser guide is a separate purchase to compare.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying for the calming claim. The BabieDtOyG listing describes a calming effect, and the Race&Herd listing names anxiety relief among its uses. The sources we opened do not show that a scent kit does either.
  • Leaving pouches or tins where a dog can chew them. The Race&Herd listing warns against it, and the ASPCA says to remove an item if the dog tries to swallow it.
  • Using a tracking liquid for home games. The BloodTrail bullets describe a hunting trail, so it is not designed for a backyard game.
  • Reading 12 tins as 12 scents. The Generic bullets describe filling the tins with treats, and no scent is named.
  • Trusting one dimension figure. The Generic listing gives two tin sizes, so measure the tin yourself if the size matters to your plan.
  • Skipping the antler caution. The shed kit names white deer antler among its ingredients, and AKC warns that hard antler chews are a common cause of broken teeth.

What we could not verify

  • Whether any listed scent is safe to swallow or safe on skin. The BabieDtOyG listing says all natural anise seed, the Generic listing says non-toxic food grade aluminum, and the shed dummy is described as safe for a soft mouthed dog. The sources we opened do not cover these claims.
  • Whether a scent kit calms a dog or eases anxiety. The BabieDtOyG bullets describe a calming effect, and the Race&Herd listing names anxiety relief among its uses. The ASPCA says sniffing can be stimulating and calming, but it does not describe any kit.
  • Whether the Race&Herd and BabieDtOyG listings are one product under two brand labels. They share a manufacturer part number, the same model label in their specification tables, a 10 x 5 x 2 inch size, six anise pouches and five games. We do not resolve this. The brand count depends on it: five brand labels appear here, and Generic is a listing label rather than a named brand.
  • Whether the Generic set’s included components and dimensions are right. The included-components field says No, and the item dimension field gives a different tin size from the bullets.
  • Which scent the four INNOYUMLIN jars contain. The bullets do not name it.
  • Whether the shed dummy is safe for a dog’s mouth or for a dog that chews. The listing says it is safe for a soft mouthed dog, and we did not check that claim.
  • How many sessions a pouch or tin lasts, and how a dog’s chewing changes that. No listing and no source we opened states it.
  • Whether the BloodTrail liquid works on any given trail or with any given dog. The bullets describe what the product is for.
  • The breed list for BabieDtOyG, which was cut off in the data we captured.
  • Water resistance for the four listings that give none, and what the Generic warranty field means when it reads no. We did not interpret that field, and we did not look beyond the fields we captured.
  • Any price, stock level, rating or review count. None is in the research file, and none is used here.

FAQ

Does scent work count as training?

Yes, for the search and the signal. AKC describes the sport as a search for hidden odors that the dog signals when it finds one, and that is the core of scent training. The listings give a printed guide or a training book rather than a full plan, so most of the planning is up to you.

Do I need a class before I start?

No. AKC says training can be done at home or in the community, with books and videos to help. Cornell says scent work is easy to practice at home. If you would rather learn in a group, AKC points to local Scent Work clubs, which are also called nosework. If you want a marker for the moment your dog finds the odor, our guide to dog training clickers is a starting point.

Can a scent kit tire my dog out?

Cornell says scent sports can be mentally and physically exhausting, and that dogs often nap afterward. That is a general statement about scent sports, and the listings do not measure how hard a session is. Keep early sessions short and watch how your dog settles afterward.

Can a scent kit calm my dog?

The sources we opened do not show that. The ASPCA says sniffing can be stimulating and calming, and it says that keeping the home stimulating will help decrease boredom and potential behavioral issues. Those are general statements about enrichment and sniffing, not about these kits. Calming wording on a listing is the listing’s own claim.

Are these kits safe for a dog that chews?

Not without supervision. The ASPCA advises staying close to the dog during DIY scent games and removing any item it tries to swallow. Race&Herd’s own bullets tell owners to keep the pouches away from chewing. None of the sources we opened says these kits hold up to chewing, and no kit here is indestructible. The Generic and INNOYUMLIN listings describe bite-resistant aluminum, a claim the sources we opened do not cover.

Are these kits for puppies or senior dogs?

The listings say different things. Race&Herd says it suits young, older and less mobile dogs, and BabieDtOyG says all ages. AKC’s Scent Work events require dogs to be 6 months old or older. For an older dog, Cornell advises a talk with your veterinarian about safe activities first, and says basic scent games can be done indoors on safe footing. If your senior dog needs a quieter indoor option, our guide to dog puzzle toys for senior dogs is a place to start.

Bottom line

Choose the anise pouch kit in a tin if you want a ready-made home game that works indoors or out, the magnetic tin set if you want to fill the tins yourself, and a hunting-style product only if you train for tracking or shed hunting. Before you buy, check the named scent, the count and any field that conflicts. Do not buy a kit for a calming claim alone.

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Sources

  • AKC, “AKC Scent Work” (sport page), opened 2026-10-22: https://www.akc.org/sports/akc-scent-work/
  • ASPCA, “Canine DIY Enrichment”, opened 2026-10-22: https://www.aspca.org/pet-care/dog-care/canine-diy-enrichment
  • Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, Riney Canine Health Center, “Senior dog enrichment”, opened 2026-10-22: https://www.vet.cornell.edu/departments-centers-and-institutes/riney-canine-health-center/canine-health-topics/senior-dog-enrichment
  • AKC, article on dog antlers as chews, opened 2026-10-22: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/health/are-antlers-safe-dogs/

Similar Posts