Best Dog Toy Box: 8 Storage Options Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
The best dog toy box is the one whose stated size fits your floor space, whose capacity figure you can confirm, and whose material suits how hard your dog chews. We compared the eight listings we recorded on October 21, 2026, using each one’s dimensions, materials, capacity and chew wording. Several listings give figures that conflict with each other, so this guide shows both figures wherever they do. It also adds background on toy safety from the American Kennel Club, the ASPCA and an Ohio State University handout.
Quick answer
- Measure the space first, then compare outer dimensions. Outer volumes from the stated figures run from about 780 to about 2,650 cubic inches, leaving out the Optish canvas listing, whose two sets of dimensions conflict.
- Do not rely on capacity alone. Four listings give both dimensions and a capacity, and in each case the two figures differ, by about 7 percent at the smallest gap and nearly twice at the largest.
- Read chew wording as the seller’s claim. The words indestructible and chew-proof appear in listing text, and none of the sources we opened covers toy boxes well enough to confirm them.
- Check toys before they go in the box. The AKC warns about toys that break into small pieces, and the ASPCA reports 121 foreign body surgeries on dogs and cats at its hospital in 2022.
Why toy safety belongs in a storage guide
A toy box holds toys, and some toys cause harm when a dog swallows their pieces. The AKC advises owners to be careful with toys that break into small pieces, because those pieces can be harmful if swallowed. For heavy chewers it recommends durable toys that will not break into small pieces. Those points apply at storage time too, because a broken toy that goes back into the box is still a broken toy.
The ASPCA’s July 2023 news article reports that its animal hospital performed 121 foreign body surgeries on dogs and cats in 2022, and 59 more through May 2023. The article describes a six-year-old dog that stopped eating and started vomiting. An X-ray showed a rubber duck in its small intestine, and surgery removed it. The ASPCA also says foreign bodies are especially common in dogs, which cannot tell tasty objects from dangerous ones, and it urges owners to keep potentially damaging objects and small toys out of reach.
The Ohio State University Veterinary Medical Center handout on enrichment for dogs makes a related point about new toys. It says the first use of a new puzzle toy should be monitored, to make sure the toy is not being destroyed and consumed. For a toy box, that means checking each new toy before it joins the others.
How we read the size and capacity figures
Capacity appears in four different units across these listings, so we converted each figure to cubic inches. The conversions are standard US values: one gallon is 231 cubic inches, one quart is 57.75 cubic inches, and one liter is 61.02 cubic inches. Outer volume is length times width times height. It is a check on the stated figures, not a measure of usable space, because walls take up room inside the outer dimensions and the listings do not say how they measured capacity.
Table 1: Stated sizes and capacities, with conversions to cubic inches
| Listing | Stated dimensions (inches) | Outer volume (cubic inches) | Stated capacity | Capacity in cubic inches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PET ARTIST collapsible basket | 15 x 11 x 9 | 1,485 | 1,650 cubic inches | 1,650 |
| BREKX copper bin | 21 x 14 x 9 | 2,646 | 6 gallons; 25 quarts | 1,386; 1,444 |
| qeerable black basket | Not stated | Not calculable | Not stated | Not stated |
| Mutiearo grey basket | 20 x 11 x 9 (specifications); 20 x 11 x 8.3 (bullets) | 1,980; 1,826 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Kaiferty black bin | 8.5 x 10.8 x 8.5 | 780 | 26.24 quarts | 1,515 |
| Optish woven basket | 19.7 x 11 x 7.9 | 1,712 | 30 liters | 1,831 |
| TRUYES bone-shaped basket | 17 x 13 x 7 | 1,547 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Optish canvas basket | 19.7 x 11 x 7.9 (title and bullets); 19.7 x 19.7 x 7.9 (specifications) | 1,712; 3,066 | Not stated | Not stated |
The formulas below show how each figure was produced. Every dimension and capacity number comes from a listing. The conversions are the only arithmetic we added.
Listing-by-listing arithmetic
- PET ARTIST: 15 x 11 x 9 = 1,485 cubic inches. The listing states 1,650 cubic inches, which is 165 cubic inches more, or about 11 percent above the outer volume.
- BREKX: 21 x 14 x 9 = 2,646 cubic inches. The bullets give 6 gallons, and 6 x 231 = 1,386 cubic inches, about 52 percent of the outer volume. The same bullets give 25 quarts, and 25 x 57.75 = 1,444 cubic inches, which is about 4 percent above the gallon figure.
- Kaiferty: 8.5 x 10.8 x 8.5 = 780 cubic inches. The listing states 26.24 quarts, and 26.24 x 57.75 = 1,515 cubic inches, nearly twice the outer volume.
- Optish woven basket: 19.7 x 11 x 7.9 = 1,712 cubic inches. The listing states 30 liters, and 30 x 61.02 = 1,831 cubic inches, about 7 percent above the outer volume.
- Mutiearo: 20 x 11 x 9 = 1,980 cubic inches from the specifications, and 20 x 11 x 8.3 = 1,826 cubic inches from the bullets. The gap is 154 cubic inches, about 8 percent of the larger figure.
- Optish canvas: 19.7 x 11 x 7.9 = 1,712 cubic inches from the title and bullets, and 19.7 x 19.7 x 7.9 = 3,066 cubic inches from the specifications. The gap is 1,354 cubic inches, too large to be explained by rounding.
- TRUYES: 17 x 13 x 7 = 1,547 cubic inches. The listing states no capacity, so this outer volume is the only figure available.
- qeerable: the listing states no outer dimensions and no capacity, so no calculation is possible.
What the gaps mean
The listings do not explain their gaps, and one figure cannot settle which number is right. Use the stated dimensions to check fit against your space, and treat capacity as a rough guide until the seller confirms it. Where a listing gives two sets of dimensions, as the Mutiearo and Optish canvas listings do, ask the seller which set is correct before you order.
Materials and the chew wording
Four listings are metal: BREKX, qeerable, Kaiferty and TRUYES. The BREKX bullets say galvanized metal, while its specifications say alloy steel. The TRUYES bullets say iron wire, while its specifications say carbon steel. Those are small conflicts, but a buyer comparing metal types has only the listing text to go on.
The fabric and rope listings are PET ARTIST, Mutiearo, Optish canvas and the Optish woven basket. The PET ARTIST bullets describe an imitation cotton EVA outer with a polyester cotton inner, while its specifications list cotton. The Mutiearo bullets describe a canvas outer layer, and the Optish canvas bullets describe a canvas exterior and an inner cardboard thickened to 2.5 mm. The Optish woven basket is made of cotton rope.
Chew wording varies a great deal. BREKX, Kaiferty and TRUYES use the word indestructible in their text. The TRUYES bullets also call the basket chew-proof and resistant, and the qeerable bullets call it chew-resistant. The Optish woven listing describes its rope as scratch and bite-resistant, and the Optish canvas listing says its canvas is wear-resistant and not easy to tear. Those are the seller’s words, and none of them is confirmed in the sources we opened.
The AKC’s durable-toy advice is about dog toys, not boxes, so it does not settle how a storage box holds up.
Product picks
Each section gives the owner it suits, one strength, one limit and a skip-if line. Strengths and limits come from the listing’s own title, bullets and specifications.
PET ARTIST collapsible toy basket
Suits an owner who wants a light fabric basket that folds flat when it is not in use. One strength: the bullets say its two cutout handles are safer than rope handles for dogs that chew. One limit: the title says Large, the size code says M and the bullets refer to medium dogs, so the listing does not settle which size it is. Skip if you want metal or wire construction, since the listing describes a cotton-look material.
BREKX copper metal bin
Suits an owner with a large toy collection who wants a metal bin with a side handle. One strength: the bullets describe galvanized metal that is lead free and rust resistant. One limit: the bullets name galvanized steel, the specifications name alloy steel, and the six-gallon figure is about half the outer volume. Skip if you need a lid, because the listing does not mention one.
qeerable black metal basket
Suits an owner who wants a metal basket that can carry a name label. One strength: the bullets say the basket is all metal and comes with labels for a name. One limit: the listing gives no outer dimensions and no capacity, so it cannot be compared on size with the others. Skip if you need a stated size before ordering.
Mutiearo grey canvas basket
Suits an owner who wants a light, collapsible canvas basket with a low front. One strength: the bullets say the low front helps a dog see and reach its toys, and the listed weight is 1.28 pounds. One limit: the bullets give 8.3 inches of height while the specifications give 9 inches, so the outer volume is either 1,826 or 1,980 cubic inches. Skip if you need one confirmed height before you buy.
Kaiferty black medium toy box
Suits an owner who wants a compact box with a rust-resistant metal body. One strength: the slanted front is described as low enough for dogs of all sizes to pick up their toys, and the listed weight is 2.86 pounds. One limit: the stated capacity of 26.24 quarts is nearly twice the outer volume of 8.5 by 10.8 by 8.5 inches. Skip if the capacity figure matters more to you than the outer size, because the two figures conflict.
Optish woven rope basket
Suits an owner who wants an open, washable basket that can also hold blankets and towels. One strength: the open top and low height let a dog see and reach toys, and the bullets say the basket is machine washable. One limit: the shape field says round, but the dimensions describe a rectangle 19.7 inches long and 11 inches wide. Skip if you want a box with a lid or hard walls, since the listing describes an open top.
TRUYES bone-shaped steel basket
Suits an owner who wants an open metal basket that needs no assembly. One strength: the bullets say the mesh openings are small enough that toys do not fall through. One limit: the bullets say iron wire, the specifications say carbon steel, and no capacity is stated. Skip if a stated capacity matters to your decision.
Optish grey canvas basket
Suits an owner who wants a folding canvas basket with side handles for moving it between rooms. One strength: the bullets describe a low front opening and reinforced side handles. One limit: the title and bullets give 19.7 by 11 by 7.9 inches, while the specifications give 19.7 by 19.7 by 7.9 inches, which changes the outer volume from 1,712 to 3,066 cubic inches. Skip if you need a confirmed floor footprint before buying.
1. PET ARTIST Dog Toy Basket, Large Collapsible, Brown, M: 15"x11"x9" (Collapsible fabric basket with cutout handles)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Capacity: 1650 cubic inches
- Material Type: Cotton
- Item Weight: 10.5 ounces
Pros
- The bullets say its two cutout handles are safer than rope handles for chew dogs
- The listing describes a collapsible shape that folds when not in use
- The specifications give a stated capacity of 1650 cubic inches
Cons
- The title says Large, the size code says M and the bullets say medium dogs
- The stated capacity is about 11 percent above the outer volume of 15 x 11 x 9 inches
Best for: An owner who wants a light fabric basket that folds flat
Skip if: You want metal or wire construction, since the listing describes a cotton-look material
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. BREKX Copper Metal Dog Toy Storage Bin, Indestructible, Large (Large copper metal bin with a side handle)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Item Dimensions L x W x H: 21"L x 14"W x 9"H
- Capacity: 6 gallons
- Material Type: Alloy Steel
Pros
- The bullets describe galvanized metal that is lead free and rust resistant
- The listing gives outer dimensions of 21 by 14 by 9 inches and a side handle
- The bullets say the bin is made for dogs that are aggressive chewers
Cons
- The bullets name galvanized steel while the specifications name alloy steel
- The six-gallon capacity is about half of the outer volume of the dimensions
Best for: An owner with a large toy collection who wants a metal bin
Skip if: You need a lid, since the listing does not mention one
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. Dog Toy Basket – Metal Large Dog Toy Box for Small Dog – Dog Toy Storage Bin for Pet – Personalized (Black powder-coated metal basket with name labels)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Item Weight: 5.65 pounds
- Color: Black
- Finish Types: Powder Coated
Pros
- The bullets say the basket is all metal and comes with labels for a name
- The bullets say it takes less than five minutes to assemble and folds up
- The specifications list a weight of 5.65 pounds
Cons
- The listing gives no outer dimensions and no stated capacity
- The title says Large and for a Small Dog, while the bullets say dogs of all sizes
Best for: An owner who wants a metal basket that can be personalized
Skip if: You need a stated size before ordering
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. Dog Toy Basket, Specially Designed for Dog Toy Storage, Collapsible Dog Toy Box with Handle,Perfect (Grey canvas collapsible basket with a low front)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Item Dimensions L x W x H: 20"L x 11"W x 9"H
- Material Type: Canvas
- Item Weight: 1.28 pounds
Pros
- The bullets say the low front lets a dog see and reach its toys
- The bullets say sturdy support keeps the basket in shape
- The specifications give a weight of 1.28 pounds and a canvas material
Cons
- The bullets give a height of 8.3 inches while the specifications give 9 inches
- The listing states no capacity
Best for: An owner who wants a light canvas basket with a low opening
Skip if: You need one confirmed height before you buy
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. Indestructible Dog Toy basket, Medium Toy Box for Dogs,Pet Toy Bin Dog Metal Basket for Toys, Toy (Black metal medium box with a slanted front)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Item Dimensions D x W x H: 8.5"D x 10.8"W x 8.5"H
- Capacity: 26.24 quarts
- Item Weight: 2.86 pounds
Pros
- The bullets describe lead-free, rust-resistant metal
- The bullets say the slanted design is low enough for dogs of all sizes to pick up toys
- The specifications list a weight of 2.86 pounds and outer dimensions of 8.5 by 10.8 by 8.5 inches
Cons
- The stated capacity of 26.24 quarts is nearly twice the outer volume
- The title calls it indestructible, a claim the pages we opened do not confirm
Best for: An owner who wants a compact metal box for a small toy set
Skip if: Capacity is the deciding factor, since the two figures conflict
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. Optish Dog Toy Basket, 30L Toy Box and Bin for Dog Cat Storage, 19.7" X 11" X 7.9" Large Woven Rope (Woven cotton-rope basket with reinforced handles)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Capacity: 30 liters
- Material Type: Cotton
- Item Weight: 1.85 pounds
Pros
- The bullets say the open top and low height let a dog see and reach toys
- The bullets say the basket is machine washable and keeps its shape
- The listing gives a capacity of 30 liters and dimensions of 19.7 by 11 by 7.9 inches
Cons
- The shape field says round while the dimensions describe a rectangle
- The bullets claim scratch and bite resistance, which we could not confirm
Best for: An owner who wants an open washable basket that also holds blankets
Skip if: You want a box with a lid or hard walls
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
7. Metal Dog Toy Basket, Bone Shaped Dog Toy Bin ,Pet Toy Basket (Bone-shaped open-mesh steel basket)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Item Dimensions L x W x H: 17"L x 13"W x 7"H
- Material Type: Carbon Steel
- Item Weight: 1.57 pounds
Pros
- The bullets say the basket requires no assembly
- The bullets say the mesh openings are small enough that toys do not fall through
- The specifications list dimensions of 17 by 13 by 7 inches and a weight of 1.57 pounds
Cons
- The bullets say iron wire while the specifications say carbon steel
- The listing gives no stated capacity
Best for: An owner who wants an open metal basket with no assembly
Skip if: A stated capacity matters to your decision
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
8. Optish Dog Toy Basket, Foldable Dog Toy Bin with Handles, 19.7" X 11" X 7.9" Large Toy Box (Grey foldable canvas basket with side handles)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Item Dimensions L x W x H: 19.7"L x 19.7"W x 7.9"H
- Material Type: Canvas
- Item Weight: 1.54 pounds
Pros
- The bullets describe a low front opening that lets a dog fetch toys
- The bullets say the inner cardboard is thickened to 2.5 mm for support
- The bullets say reinforced side handles make the basket easy to move
Cons
- The title and bullets give 19.7 by 11 by 7.9 inches while the specifications give 19.7 by 19.7 by 7.9
- The listing does not say how much it holds
Best for: An owner who wants a folding canvas basket for living room toys
Skip if: You need a confirmed floor footprint before buying
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
How we chose
We began with the eight listings recorded on October 21, 2026, from Amazon.com, and we kept all eight. We did not add a listing or drop one, and we did not rank them. The product sections follow the order in which the listings were recorded.
For each listing we read the title, the first five bullets and the specification table. The criteria were the stated outer dimensions, the stated capacity, the stated materials, and any chew or safety wording the listing uses. Where a listing gives two figures for the same measurement, both are shown.
Background came from three pages we opened on October 21, 2026: an Ohio State University Veterinary Medical Center handout on enrichment for dogs, an American Kennel Club article on choosing dog toys, and an ASPCA news article about an ingested toy. We did not open a source that covers toy boxes or storage bins, so the background supports only the toy-safety points in this guide.
Buying checklist
- Measure the space where the box will sit, then compare it with the outer dimensions. If a listing’s title and specifications disagree, ask the seller to confirm the figure before you order.
- Convert every capacity figure to cubic inches before you compare. Use the formulas above, and treat a capacity that conflicts with the dimensions as unconfirmed.
- Choose the material by how your dog uses toys. The listing text is the only evidence for chew resistance in these boxes. For durable toys to store, see our durable dog toys for heavy chewers guide.
- Check the opening height against your dog’s reach. Several listings describe a low front or an open top, and none of the pages we opened gives a height rule for dogs.
- Remove broken toys and small pieces before anything goes back into the box, following the AKC advice about toys that break into small pieces.
- Keep small toys out of reach, as the ASPCA advises. A lid, higher walls or a closed top are options to consider, but no source we opened compares them.
- Treat washing and wiping claims as the seller’s statements. Several listings make them, and none of the pages we opened addresses them.
- If your dog is a teething puppy, read our safe chew toys for teething puppies guide before you fill a box with chew toys.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying by the capacity figure alone. Four listings give both dimensions and capacity, and in each case the two figures differ.
- Treating indestructible as proof. The word appears in the BREKX, Kaiferty and TRUYES text, and it is a seller’s claim, not an outcome anyone has verified here.
- Putting broken toys back in the box. The AKC warns that toys which break into small pieces can be harmful if swallowed.
- Assuming a box keeps a dog away from swallowable objects. The ASPCA case involved a rubber duck, and the article does not link that outcome to storage.
- Trusting a size word in the title. The PET ARTIST title says Large, its size code says M and its bullets say medium dogs. The qeerable title says for a small dog, while its bullets say dogs of all sizes.
- Skipping the check on new toys. The OSU handout says the first use of a new puzzle toy should be monitored, so a new toy should not go straight into the box unchecked.
What we could not verify
- Chew resistance and durability for any of the eight boxes. No opened page covers these products, so every chew word stays the seller’s claim.
- Whether any box reduces chewing or swallowing. We found no source that says so.
- Toy rotation. The OSU handout covers enrichment and monitoring of new toys, but the pages we opened do not cover toy rotation schedules, so this guide makes no rotation claim.
- Outer size and capacity for qeerable, which the listing does not state. Capacity for TRUYES, Mutiearo and Optish canvas is also not stated.
- The conflicting figures: the BREKX and Kaiferty capacities against their dimensions, the Optish woven capacity against its dimensions, the Mutiearo height, and the Optish canvas length and width.
- Metal type for BREKX and TRUYES, where bullets and specifications disagree.
- Load limits. None of the eight listings gives a weight limit, and the TRUYES bullets mention heavy loads without a figure.
- Two Unit Count fields that do not describe a count: the qeerable field reads 80 ounces and the Kaiferty field reads 16 ounces. We did not use those fields.
- The age of the OSU handout. Its copyright year is 2012, and we did not find a later version.
FAQ
What size dog toy box should I buy?
Start with the space where it will sit and the outer dimensions of each listing. Excluding the Optish canvas listing, whose two sets of dimensions conflict, outer volumes run from about 780 to about 2,650 cubic inches. The pages we opened give no size chart for dog toy boxes, so the choice depends on your room and how many toys you keep out.
Is a metal dog toy box chew-proof?
We cannot say so. Several metal listings use the words indestructible or chew-proof, and those words belong to the sellers. The AKC says heavy chewers need durable toys that do not break into small pieces, but it does not discuss storage boxes. Treat any chew claim on a metal box as unconfirmed until the seller supports it.
Should a dog toy box have a lid?
None of the eight listings describes a lid. The Optish woven basket describes an open top, and the TRUYES listing describes an open-top design with a breathable mesh structure. The pages we opened do not say whether a lid helps, so decide based on how your dog reaches its toys and how you keep small pieces out of reach.
How can I keep my dog from swallowing toy pieces?
Monitor each new toy the first time your dog uses it, as the OSU handout advises, and remove broken or small pieces before they go into the box. The AKC warns about toys that break into small pieces, and the ASPCA urges owners to keep small toys out of reach. If your dog stops eating or starts vomiting, contact your veterinarian promptly, because the ASPCA case began with those signs. For hard chew toys, our Kong toys for heavy chewers guide is a separate starting point.
Are canvas dog toy baskets easy to clean?
The listings say so, and we cannot confirm it. The Mutiearo and Optish canvas listings describe wiping with a damp cloth, the PET ARTIST listing describes a damp sponge or cloth, and the Optish woven basket says it is machine washable. Treat those as the sellers’ statements.
Can a dog toy box hold other household items?
Several listings say so. The PET ARTIST bullets mention leashes, collars, blankets and grooming supplies, the Optish woven listing mentions clothes, blankets and towels, and the TRUYES bullets mention bathroom and kitchen use. None of the eight listings states a load limit, so compare the stated dimensions with what you plan to store.
Bottom line
Choose the dog toy box by its outer dimensions, then confirm any capacity figure with the seller, because four listings give figures that do not match their own sizes. Read chew wording as the seller’s claim, and keep broken or small toys out of the box, since both the AKC and the ASPCA point to small pieces as the risk.
Sources
- The Ohio State University Veterinary Medical Center, Behavioral Medicine, “Enrichment for Dogs” (handout), opened 2026-10-21: https://indoorpet.osu.edu/sites/default/files/imce/IndoorPet_EnrichmentForDogs.pdf
- American Kennel Club, “Which Dog Toys Are Right for Your Dog?”, opened 2026-10-21: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/lifestyle/best-dog-toys/
- ASPCA, “Ingested Toy Turns Playtime Into Crisis for Curious Dog” (July 5, 2023), opened 2026-10-21: https://www.aspca.org/news/ingested-toy-turns-playtime-crisis-curious-dog