Chihuahua Harness and Lead
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A Chihuahua harness and lead is usually bought as a matched set, and the hard part is the size, not the style. Amazon calls the lead a leash, and the seven sets here run from XXXS to XS in the tiny sizes, with chest ranges as small as 8.5 inches. Only one of the seven listings, Puppytie, names Chihuahuas in its own text. The rest are small-dog sets sized by chest girth, so you have to measure your dog and match the number. This guide compares the sets by what their pages print: size ranges, closures, leash length and the points where a listing is vague. Specs come from the Amazon pages we opened on 2026-10-18.
Quick answer
- Names Chihuahuas in the listing: Puppytie XXS, for dogs 2.2 to 6 lb, with a leash that adjusts to 49 or 37 inches.
- Widest printed chest range for its size: Ychpaw XS, chest girth 9 to 15 inches, dogs 5 to 9 lbs.
- Smallest chest range found: AIITLE XXXS, chest 8.5 to 10 inches.
- Step-in versus buckles: most are step-in vests; Ychpaw uses three buckles and does not go over the head.
Measure the chest behind the front legs, check it against the printed range, and treat any breed or weight line as a hint rather than a guarantee.
Seven harness and lead sets compared
Chest and weight ranges are the ones the listings print for the size named. A dash means the text we read did not give one.
| Set | Size compared | Printed fit range | Closure and design | Leash length |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Puppytie XXS | XXS | 2.2 to 6 lb | Step-in, one snap buckle, four-point adjustment | 49 in or 37 in (adjustable) |
| Lukovee | XXS | Chest 11.5 to 15 in | Head-through, single snap buckle on the belly | 4 ft (per title) |
| JUFOO | XXXS | Size chart on page; range not in the text read | Hook and loop, double D-ring and buckle, 4 D-rings | Not stated in the text read |
| YIMEIS | X-Small | Neck 9.5 to 10 in, chest 11 to 12.5 in | Step-in, double D-ring, quick-release buckle | Not stated (reflective leash included) |
| Aecllcea | XXS | Measure chest and neck; range not in the text read | Step-in, hook and loop | Not stated in the text read |
| AIITLE | XXXS | Chest 8.5 to 10 in (XXS is 10 to 11.5 in) | Step-in, magic tape, double D-rings | 5 ft |
| Ychpaw | X-Small | Neck 9.5 to 12 in, chest 9 to 15 in, 5 to 9 lbs | Three buckles, no head-through | 4.92 ft |
How to choose a harness and lead for a Chihuahua
Size by chest girth, not by breed
The Aecllcea and AIITLE listings say outright that the size does not correspond to breed or weight, and the JUFOO and YIMEIS pages tell you to measure before ordering. The Lukovee, YIMEIS, AIITLE and Ychpaw pages print chest girth ranges, which is the number to use. YIMEIS adds a method: measure with a soft tape behind the front legs and leave one or two fingers of space. Puppytie is the exception that prints weight bands for each size: XXS is 2.2 to 6 lb, XS is 4.5 to 11 lb, S is 9 to 17.5 lb and M is 16.5 to 31 lb. Chihuahuas vary in build, so a weight band alone is a weaker guide than a tape measure.
Step-in, head-through or three buckles
Step-in vests (Puppytie, YIMEIS, Aecllcea, AIITLE) put the front feet through two holes and close at the back. Lukovee is head-through with a belly buckle. Ychpaw uses a neck buckle and two chest buckles so the harness never has to go over the head, which the listing presents as an ease-of-use feature. If your dog dislikes anything near its face, a step-in or three-buckle design avoids the head. The listings do not compare how easy each one is on a squirming dog, so that is something to judge by the closure description.
What the listings say about escape and pulling
JUFOO says its harness is escape proof when the dog has the correct sizing, and lists hook and loop, double D-ring and buckle. YIMEIS and Lukovee describe a no-pull, no-choke design, with Lukovee pointing to a triangle design that spreads pulling stress. Those are seller descriptions; none of these pages cites a test or a certification. Fit is what actually decides whether a tiny dog can back out, so check the straps with two fingers under them as YIMEIS suggests. If your dog has a neck, throat or breathing condition, ask your vet which style suits.
The lead is part of the buying decision
A short set lead helps a small dog stay close, and a long one gives it room. The printed lengths here are 4 feet (Lukovee), 4.92 feet (Ychpaw), 5 feet (AIITLE) and Puppytie’s adjustable 49 or 37 inches, which is 4.08 or 3.08 feet. Puppytie also says the handle can be opened and fastened to a chair or table. YIMEIS, JUFOO and Aecllcea do not give a length in the text we read.
Reflective strips
YIMEIS describes 360-degree reflective strips and a reflective leash. Lukovee, JUFOO, Aecllcea and AIITLE also describe reflective parts. The listings do not say how bright they are, so treat reflective trim as a bonus, not a substitute for a light on night walks.
Worked example: pick a size from a measurement
Planning example with made-up numbers: your Chihuahua measures 10.5 inches around the chest behind the front legs and weighs 5.5 lb.
- AIITLE XXS covers chest 10 to 11.5 inches, so 10.5 fits inside the range.
- Ychpaw XS covers chest 9 to 15 inches and 5 to 9 lbs, so it fits on both numbers.
- Lukovee XXS starts at 11.5 inches, so a 10.5 inch chest is 1 inch under its smallest range.
- YIMEIS X-Small starts at 11 inches, so the chest is 0.5 inch under its smallest range.
- Puppytie lists 5.5 lb in two bands, XXS (2.2 to 6 lb) and XS (4.5 to 11 lb). Both fit by weight, so the chest measurement and the maker’s size chart break the tie.
The result is that a 10.5 inch chest narrows the choice to two of the seven by printed range, and that is before you add the one or two fingers of room. Redo the arithmetic with your own tape measure.
Where the listings are vague
- Chihuahua fit: only Puppytie names Chihuahuas in its listing text. Mentions of Chihuahuas on the other pages were in customer reviews, which we do not rely on.
- JUFOO and Aecllcea: size selectors list XXXS or XXS up to L, but the text we read gives no chest or weight range, only the instruction to measure.
- Leash length: not stated for YIMEIS, JUFOO and Aecllcea.
- Weight of the harness: Puppytie lists 1.19 ounces for the XXS; the other pages print package dimensions rather than a harness weight, so we do not compare them.
The seven sets, one by one
1. Puppytie XXS Puppy Harness and Leash Set (The only listing naming Chihuahuas)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size compared: XXS, 2.2 to 6 lb
- Other sizes: XS 4.5 to 11 lb, S 9 to 17.5 lb, M 16.5 to 31 lb
- Weight: 1.19 ounces for the XXS harness
- Model: A032
- Design: Step-in, one snap buckle, four-point adjustment
- Leash: Adjustable to 49 or 37 inches; handle can be opened and fastened to a chair or table
- Named breeds: Chihuahua, Yorkshire, Maltese, Toy Poodle
Pros
- Weight bands printed for every size
- Names Chihuahuas in the listing text
- Light and a two-length leash
Cons
- No chest girth range printed in the text we read
- Weight bands overlap between sizes
- The leash is short at its longest
Best for: A tiny Chihuahua or puppy near 5 lb
Skip if: A dog whose chest is bigger than its weight suggests
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Lukovee Small Dog Harness and Leash Set, XXS (Padded straps, head-through)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size compared: XXS, chest 11.5 to 15 in; XS starts at 14 in; five sizes in all
- Model: CWBD-ad1556
- Design: Neck and chest adjustable; head-through with a single snap buckle on the belly
- Padding: Neck and back straps wrapped in flannelette
- Pull design: Triangle design described as no pull and no choke
- Reflective: Reflective straps
- Leash: 4 ft per the title
Pros
- Padded straps
- Chest range printed
- Neck and chest both adjust
Cons
- Smallest chest range starts at 11.5 inches
- Head-through only
- No weight range printed
Best for: A Chihuahua with a chest of at least 11.5 inches
Skip if: A very small puppy or a dog that dislikes things over its head
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. JUFOO XXXS Soft Mesh Harness and Leash Set, Pink (Smallest size label)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size compared: XXXS; sizes run XXXS to L with a size chart on the page
- Model: JFJJSS036
- Fabric: Double-layered soft air mesh
- Closure: Velcro, double D-ring and buckle; 4 D-rings
- Escape note: Listing says it is escape proof when the dog has the correct sizing
- Reflective: Reflective vest harness
- Fit instruction: Measure the widest part of the chest and neck and use the size chart
Pros
- Offers an XXXS
- Mesh described as breathable
- Several D-rings
Cons
- The text we read gives no chest range
- Leash length not stated
- Marketed for small and medium dogs and cats too
Best for: A teacup-size dog where an XXXS is needed
Skip if: A buyer who wants numbers on the page
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. YIMEIS No Pull Dog Puppy Harness and Leash Set, X-Small (Fit method written out)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size compared: X-Small, neck 9.5 to 10 in, chest 11 to 12.5 in
- Sizes: XX-Small and X-Small, plus multi-packs
- Model: XS
- Fabric: Porous air mesh
- Closure: Step-in, double D-ring and quick-release buckle
- Reflective: 360-degree reflective strips and a reflective leash
Pros
- Gives a measuring method and a gap guide
- Chest range printed
- Reflective leash included
Cons
- Narrow neck range (0.5 inch)
- Leash length not stated
- XS may be too big for the smallest Chihuahuas
Best for: A Chihuahua with a 11 to 12.5 inch chest
Skip if: A puppy under about 11 inches of chest
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. Aecllcea Step-in Puppy Harness and Leash Set, XXS Blue (Hook and loop, jacquard mesh)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size compared: XXS; sizes run XXS to L
- Model: ALJJXC029
- Closure: Step-in with hook and loop said not to stick to pet hair
- Fabric: Jacquard mesh
- Reflective: Reflective strip across the body
- Fit instruction: Size does not correspond to breed or weight; measure chest and neck girth
Pros
- Step-in design
- Reflective strip
- Mesh fabric
Cons
- No numeric size range in the text we read
- Leash length not stated
- Marketed for small and medium dogs
Best for: A small puppy whose chest you have measured
Skip if: A buyer who wants a printed size chart
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. AIITLE Breathable Dog Harness and Leash Set, Brown-Beige XXXS (Smallest chest range, 5 ft lead)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size compared: XXXS, chest 8.5 to 10 in; XXS is chest 10 to 11.5 in
- Fabric: Jacquard
- Closure: Magic tape with double D-rings, step-in
- Reflective: Reflective strips and four reflective bands on the sides
- Contents: 1 harness and one 5 ft leash
- Fit instruction: Size does not correspond to breed or weight; measure chest and neck
Pros
- Smallest printed chest range of the seven
- Chest ranges printed for the next size up too
- 5 ft leash
Cons
- Narrow 1.5 inch bands, so measure carefully
- No weight range printed
- Brown-beige only in the title
Best for: A puppy or teacup dog under 10 inches of chest
Skip if: A dog between sizes
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
7. Ychpaw Small Dog Harness and Leash Set, X-Small (Three buckles, no head-through)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size compared: X-Small, neck 9.5 to 12 in, chest 9 to 15 in, dogs 5 to 9 lbs
- Sizes: X-Small, Small, Medium
- Model: Ych001
- Closure: Three buckles (one neck, two chest); four adjustment buckles
- Leash: Color-matched, 4.92 ft, with an anti-tangling clip
- Reflective: Increases visibility on morning and evening walks
Pros
- Wide chest range from 9 to 15 inches
- No head-through
- Weight range printed
Cons
- Wide range means more adjusting to get it snug
- Only three sizes
- More buckles to close
Best for: A Chihuahua that hates a harness over the head
Skip if: A dog under 5 lb
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
How we choose
These seven came from Amazon searches for the keyword on 2026-10-18 and were read from their own listing pages. We kept harness and leash sets sold in the smallest sizes, and we left out collar-only listings, cat harnesses and sets that start at size S. We did not test any of them. Every spec above is from the listing, and where a listing is silent we say so. Check the current price on Amazon before you buy.
Common mistakes
- Ordering by breed name instead of a tape measure.
- Measuring the neck or the belly instead of the chest behind the front legs.
- Choosing the larger size so the dog grows into it. YIMEIS suggests one or two fingers of room, not a loose fit.
- Assuming the leash length is the same across sets; the printed ones range from about 3 to 5 feet.
- Treating no-pull or escape-proof wording as a guarantee.
FAQ
What size harness does a Chihuahua need?
It depends on the chest girth, not the breed. Measure behind the front legs and compare with the printed ranges, for example AIITLE XXXS at 8.5 to 10 inches or Ychpaw XS at 9 to 15 inches.
What is the difference between a lead and a leash?
They mean the same thing. Amazon listings use the word leash, and these sets include a matching one.
How snug should a tiny dog harness be?
The YIMEIS listing says to leave one or two fingers of space when measuring. Other pages tell you to use their size chart.
Which of these names Chihuahuas?
Only the Puppytie listing does: its XXS is for dogs weighing 2.2 to 6 lb, such as a Chihuahua.
Do these sets come with a leash?
Yes. All seven are sold as a set, but YIMEIS, JUFOO and Aecllcea do not print the leash length in the text we read.
Related guides
The nearest-topic live guides on this site are: