Best Metal Dog Kennels for Home and Travel
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A metal dog kennel is a wire or steel enclosure that gives a dog a defined space for rest, training, home use or a car trip, and the right one depends on your dog’s size, how often you will move it, and whether you need doors on one side or two. This guide compares eight listings from our product file: small folding wire crates, a larger caster-mounted cage, an exercise playpen, a hard-sided travel kennel with wire ventilation, and a crate pad that fits inside. We use only each listing’s own stated facts, and where a detail is missing we say so.
Quick answer
- For a small dog at home, the Simple Deluxe 24 inch and the DONORO 24 inch crates are the two listings that pair a metal frame with a leak-proof tray and two doors.
- For a medium to large dog, the LUCKUP 38 inch cage is the largest listing here, with four wheels and a listed 37.5 x 25.5 x 32 inch size.
- For travel, the Amazon Basics hard-sided kennel has metal wire ventilation and a top handle, with a listed maximum weight recommendation of 11.3 kg.
- For open play space rather than a crate, the PETIME 8-panel playpen is a foldable metal pen with a bottom pad.
What “metal dog kennel” means in practice
Shoppers use kennel, crate, cage and pen almost interchangeably. In these listings, a crate is a closed wire box with a door and a tray, meant for sleeping and short confinement. A playpen is an open set of panels you shape into a fence. A travel kennel is a carrier you can lift and put in a car. All of them can be called a metal dog kennel, but they do different jobs, so the first decision is which job you want done.
The second decision is size. Several listings here state a weight range or a breed size, and others only list dimensions. A kennel that is too small cramps a dog; one that is too large is less cozy for a puppy. The listings do not tell you how to size a crate, so measure your dog and compare to the stated interior or overall size, and ask your vet or a trainer if you are unsure about crate use for your dog.
At a glance
| Product | Type | Listed size | Doors | Listed dog size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simple Deluxe 24 inch | Folding wire crate with divider | 24.41 x 16.54 x 18.5 inches | 2 | Small |
| Piskyet 24 inch | Folding crate with divider | 24 x 16.02 x 18.7 inches | 2 | Under 25 pounds |
| DONORO 24 inch | Collapsible crate with cover | 24 x 18 x 20 inches | 2 | Extra small, small |
| DONORO 30 inch | Collapsible crate with cover | 30 x 19 x 21 inches | 2 (bullets) | Small, medium |
| LUCKUP 38 inch | Heavy duty cage on wheels | 37.5 x 25.5 x 32 inches | 2 | Large breeds |
| Amazon Basics hard-sided | Travel kennel | 23.6 x 15.7 x 13 inches | 1 | Cat, dog or small pet |
| PETIME 8 panel | Playpen | Each panel 24 x 24 inches | Not stated | Small to large |
| pobopobo crate pad | Pad for crates | 18 x 12 x 1.5 inches | Not applicable | Extra small |
The picks
Simple Deluxe 24 inch small dog crate with divider
This is a folding metal wire cage with two large doors, one on the front and one on the side, each with dual sliding bolt locks. The listing describes a wire gauge with high tensile strength and says it is ideal for training and transporting well-behaved pets. A divider panel can separate two pets into two spaces, and the bottom has a leak-proof ABS composite tray that pulls out for cleaning.
The listed size is 24.41 x 16.54 x 18.5 inches. The listing calls it a small dog crate, with uses including camping, indoor, outdoor and travel. It requires no tools to set up and folds flat. The listing does not state a weight limit for the dog, so rely on the “small dogs” label and the dimensions.
Best for: a small dog at home that also travels, where two doors help you fit the crate into a corner.
Piskyet 24 inch double door small dog crate with divider and tray
The Piskyet is the only crate here with a stated weight guidance: the listing says it is suitable for dogs under 25 pounds. It measures 24 x 16 x 18.7 inches, has two doors, a removable divider panel to adjust the space as your dog grows, and a leak-proof pan tray. The listing says it uses fine iron wire that is reinforced so the structure is stable and not easy to deform, installs in seconds without tools and folds flat to store under a bed or sofa.
Two cautions. The title calls it a folding metal wire pet kennel, but the spec sheet lists the material as wood and the item type as dog crate furniture, so read the product page carefully if the material matters to you. The spec sheet also lists a 30 day warranty and a cushion among the included components.
Best for: a small dog under 25 pounds, especially in a living space where you want a divider for a growing puppy.
DONORO 24 inch collapsible metal dog crate with cover
This is a kit rather than just a crate. The listing says it includes the double door crate, a brown crate cover made of waterproof 600D Oxford fabric, a carrying handle and a leak-proof removable tray. Each door has two heavy duty slide-bolt latches. The metal construction is described as durable wire, and the cover is hand wash only and attaches with hook and loop tapes.
The 24 inch size measures 24 x 18 x 20 inches and the listing recommends it for small size dogs and cats, with extra small and small as dog sizes. Uses include indoor, outdoor and transport, and the listing says the kit includes a 1 year manufacturer warranty.
Best for: small dogs and puppies whose owners want a cover and a handle in the same purchase.
DONORO 30 inch collapsible metal dog crate with cover
The 30 inch version of the same kit measures 30 x 19 x 21 inches and carries the same bullets: a double door crate, brown cover, carrying handle and leak-proof removable tray, with a 1 year manufacturer warranty. The listing’s dog size entry says medium and small, and the breed recommendation reads “Large, All Breed Sizes,” which is not consistent with that, so use the dimensions and confirm on the product page before ordering for a bigger dog.
The spec sheet lists one door for this size while the bullets describe a double door design, another reason to read the page. The gap size is listed as 1.5.
Best for: a small to medium dog that needs more room than the 24 inch crates.
LUCKUP 38 inch heavy duty metal dog cage on wheels
This is the biggest and heaviest listing in the group. It is made from steel (the spec sheet says alloy steel) with a rust and corrosion-resistant finish, and the listing says it suits most medium and large dogs. There are two doors, two locks with safety buckles meant to stop a dog from opening the door, a removable slide-out plastic tray, and four lockable caster wheels.
The size is listed at 37.5 x 25.5 x 32 inches, the color is dark silver, and the listed use is indoor. The wheels are the main practical difference: you can roll the cage across a floor without lifting it. The listing’s wording around strength is strong, but we treat these as marketing terms, not guarantees. A determined dog can stress any enclosure, and the listing does not offer a tested escape-proof claim.
For more heavy-duty options, see our comparison of metal frame dog crates.
Best for: large dogs at home where a wheeled, two-door steel cage fits the space.
Amazon Basics hard-sided dog and cat kennel with metal wire ventilation
This one is a carrier more than a crate, but it belongs here because the door and side panels are metal wire for ventilation. The body is durable molded plastic, there is one door for front entry with a locking mechanism, and a top handle for carrying. The listing says it fits a cat, dog or other small pet.
The size is 23.6 x 15.7 x 13 inches, the weight is 2.4 kg and the listed maximum weight recommendation is 11.3 kg. The warranty is listed at 1 year, the color is beige, and the closure type is snap. If you are comparing carriers more widely, our guide to soft, hard-sided and kennel carriers goes further.
Best for: small dogs and cats on short trips by car.
PETIME foldable metal exercise pen with bottom pad
The PETIME is a playpen, not a crate. It has 8 connected panels, each 24 inches high and 24 inches wide, in a gray finish, with a bottom pad made of 600D Oxford fabric that has a water-resistant coating. You can shape the panels into different layouts, and the listing says ground stakes fix it in place outdoors. It folds flat and needs no tools.
The item dimensions are listed as 59 x 59 x 24 inches in the octagon layout, and the weight is 17 pounds. The listing says it is rust-preventive and suitable for indoor or outdoor use, and that it works for non-climbing small to medium animals. It lists dog breed size as large, medium and small, but a 24 inch panel height is a fence height to compare with your own dog’s jumping ability. Hand wash the pad and air dry it, per the listing.
Best for: puppies and small dogs that need a play zone rather than a closed crate. Our comparison of metal dog playpens and crates covers similar models.
pobopobo crate pad for metal crates (extra small)
This is not a kennel but a mat for one. The listing describes an ultra soft, anti-slip pad that fits metal crates and cages, with a washable cover, a non-slip base and a reversible design. The size is 18 x 12 x 1.5 inches, it weighs 1.6 ounces, and it is listed for extra small dogs and cats. The material is listed as sponge. The listing also says it folds for travel.
It only makes sense for a very small dog or cat, and only in a crate with a floor space of at least that size. Check how it sits on top of the tray in your crate.
Best for: extra small dogs and cats that need a soft base in a wire crate.
How to choose a metal dog kennel
Size first, then style
Use the listed dimensions, the dog size entry and any weight guidance. The Piskyet states under 25 pounds, the DONORO sizes list extra small to medium, the LUCKUP lists large breeds, and the Amazon Basics lists a 11.3 kg maximum. Where a listing contradicts itself, trust the page text you read in full and not a single field.
One door or two
Two doors, as on the Simple Deluxe, Piskyet, DONORO and LUCKUP, give you a front and a side opening. That helps in a tight room where a front door would hit a wall. A single door is simpler and usually fine for a carrier.
Trays and cleaning
Most of the crates include a leak-proof or removable tray. A slide-out tray makes daily cleanup easier. Fabric covers and pads add cleaning steps, so note the care instructions: the DONORO cover is hand wash only, and the PETIME pad is hand wash and air dry.
Folding and travel
Folding flat is the headline feature on the Simple Deluxe, Piskyet, DONORO and PETIME. If you move often, camp or store under a bed, weight and fold design matter more than frame strength. Wheels, as on the LUCKUP, suit a room-to-room move, not a trip.
Safety and fit
Check that the door latches securely and that nothing on the dog, such as a collar tag, can catch in the wire. Do not leave a dog confined for longer than is comfortable for them. For advice on crate training, ask your vet or a trainer. The listings do not give training guidance.
Common mistakes
- Buying only by title and ignoring the dimensions and size entries.
- Choosing a playpen when you need a closed crate, or the reverse.
- Assuming strong wording means an escape-proof kennel.
- Forgetting the room needed to open a door or move a wheeled cage.
- Skipping a divider when a puppy will grow, where one is offered.
FAQ
What size metal dog kennel do I need?
The listings do not give a sizing formula. Use the listed length, width and height, plus any weight or breed size, and compare to your own dog. If you are not sure, ask your vet or a trainer.
Which metal dog kennel is best for a small dog?
The Simple Deluxe 24 inch, Piskyet 24 inch and DONORO 24 inch are all listed for small dogs. The Piskyet adds a stated under 25 pound guide; the DONORO adds a cover and handle.
Which is best for a large dog?
The LUCKUP 38 inch is the only listing here for large breeds, with two doors, two locks and four wheels.
Is a metal kennel good for car travel?
The Amazon Basics hard-sided kennel is the travel-focused listing, with a locking door, a handle and wire ventilation. The folding wire crates list travel and camping uses, but follow the manufacturer’s guidance for securing any kennel in a vehicle.
Do these kennels fold?
The Simple Deluxe, Piskyet, DONORO and PETIME listings all describe folding or collapsible designs that fold flat. The LUCKUP listing describes easy assembly but does not state folding in the text we have.
Can I use a playpen instead of a crate?
They serve different uses. A playpen gives space to move; a crate gives a closed den. The PETIME listing notes ground stakes and a 24 inch panel height, which you should compare to your dog’s jumping ability.
Bottom line
Start with your dog’s size, then pick the job: a two-door folding crate for a small dog at home, the LUCKUP for a large dog, the Amazon Basics carrier for short trips, and the PETIME for open play. Read the page for any size field that looks inconsistent before you order.






