Best Pet Steps for Beds, Couches and Car Doors

Best Pet Steps for Beds, Couches and Car Doors

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Pet steps let a small or older dog reach the couch or the bed without jumping, and the right pair depends on three numbers: the height of the furniture, the dog’s weight, and the angle your dog is willing to climb. This guide compares the two foam 3-step listings that actually fit the pet steps keyword in our product data, the Aodisman and the Gardner Pet 2-in-1, by what each one states about size, weight, cover and care. Step-in harnesses that turn up in the same search are a different product and are left out.

Quick answer

  • For a gentle ramp-like climb with a washable waterproof cover, the Gardner Pet 2-in-1 lists a TPU waterproof layer and a removable cover.
  • For the lowest footprint at 15.7 inches tall, the Aodisman 3-step is the shorter of the two, with a curved ramp design.
  • For weight, the Aodisman listing gives two figures (a 50 pound recommendation and a 60 pound maximum), and the Gardner lists 40 kg.
  • Measure the furniture height first and pick the step count from the listing, not from the photo.

Why this list has only two products

The product data behind this guide held eight items, but only two of them are pet steps. The other six are step-in dog harnesses, which match the word “step” but have nothing to do with furniture. Rather than pad the list, this guide covers the two that fit and spends the rest of its space on how to choose, since the choice is mostly about measurements. If you are comparing more models, our related guides below cover additional stairs.

How to choose pet steps

Measure the furniture, then the dog

The first number is the height from the floor to the top of the surface your dog wants to reach. Measure to the top of the cushion or mattress, not to the frame. Both listings tie step counts to heights. The Aodisman says 3 steps suit sofas and chairs, 4 steps suit sofas and beds, and 5 steps suit beds and high beds. The Gardner lists a 2-step for chairs and sofas up to 18 inches, a 3-step for couches up to 20 inches, a 4-step for beds up to 25 inches and a 5-step for high beds, windows and cars up to 28 inches.

The second number is weight. Treat the seller’s weight guidance as an upper limit and leave margin below it. If your dog is near the limit, step up a model or ask the seller.

Think about the climb

Short-legged dogs, seniors and dogs with sore joints do better with a low-angle approach. Both listings mention small dogs, and both mention older or mobility-limited dogs. A dog with a joint or mobility problem should be examined by a vet, because stairs help with access but do not treat the cause.

Stability on your floor

Foam steps are light, so grip matters. The Aodisman has a non-slip bottom surface with silicone footprints. The Gardner has rubber dots on the bottom. Both are designed to keep the steps from sliding on carpet or hard floors, but a slick floor is still a risk. Try the steps against the furniture and check that they do not shift when you press on them.

Cleaning

Dogs with muddy paws or leaky seniors will test a cover. The Gardner lists a removable cover with a TPU waterproof layer that can go in the washing machine, and says the foam inside should not be cleaned. The Aodisman lists a corduroy outer cover and does not say how to wash it, so read the product page before buying.

Side-by-side

Feature Aodisman 3-step Gardner Pet 2-in-1 3-step
Listed height 15.7 in 16.5 in
Depth x width 22.4 x 15.7 in 26.7 x 15.7 in
Weight of the product 4.3 lb 4.5 kg
Weight guidance Recommended under 50 lb; maximum listed as 60 lb 40 kg maximum
Material Foam, corduroy cover Polyester cover, polyurethane foam, 35D high-density
Grip Non-slip bottom with silicone footprints Rubber dots on base
Cover care Not stated Removable, machine washable, TPU waterproof layer
Setup Vacuum packed; allow 48 to 72 hours to expand Unbox and use; wrinkles recover in 24 to 48 hours
Warranty field 6 months Contact the seller
Intended pets Small and medium dogs, cats Small, extra small and medium dogs

The two pet steps in detail

Aodisman 3-Step Dog Stairs and Ramp for Small Dogs and Cats

The Aodisman is a foam staircase with a curved ramp side, in grey, covered in corduroy fabric. The listing describes it as designed for small dogs, senior dogs and pets with limited mobility, and it says plainly that the seller recommends it for pets weighing less than 50 pounds. The specs list a maximum weight of 60 pounds, so the two figures disagree. The safe reading is to treat the lower figure as the planning number.

The specs give dimensions of 22.4 inches deep, 15.7 inches wide and 15.7 inches high, and a weight of about 4.3 pounds. The item highlight describes a 15.7 inch tall, non-slip, sturdy design with a curved ramp for senior and short-legged dogs, puppies and cats. The non-slip bottom has silicone footprints, which the listing says keep the steps from slipping on carpet or floors, and the corduroy cover is described as adding friction for paws.

Setup has a quirk. The steps arrive in a vacuum compression bag, and the listing says that after opening they typically need 48 to 72 hours to pop fully open into a staircase shape. Plan ahead: if you open the box the night before you want to use it, the steps may not be ready. The listing also describes variants with 3, 4 and 5 steps, where 3 steps suit sofas and chairs; check you have chosen the model whose height fits your furniture. A 6-month warranty is listed.

Pros from the listing: short overall height, curved ramp design, grip features, suited to cats as well as dogs.
Cons from the listing: conflicting weight figures, no stated cleaning method, a wait for the foam to expand.

View on Amazon

Gardner Pet 2-in-1 Transformable 3-Step Stairs and Ramp

The Gardner Pet model is the more detailed listing. It is a 3-tier stair that the seller says can also work as a gentle ramp, which means two angles of approach in one product. The title gives the height as 16.5 inches and the intended use as a couch of about 13 to 20 inches. The specs list the dimensions as 26.7 inches deep, 15.7 inches wide and 16.5 inches high, a product weight of 4.5 kg and a maximum weight recommendation of 40 kg. The breed recommendation is small, extra small and medium dogs.

The foam is described as 35D high-density, with a low-angle ramp design meant to reduce stress on a dog’s joints, and the listing says it is intended for small and medium dogs, especially those with knee injuries or older pets. As always, that is the seller’s framing. If your dog has a knee or hip problem, a vet should guide how and whether to use stairs.

On materials, the listing states a polyester cover and polyurethane foam, and the title says CertiPUR-US certified foam. The bullets also state OEKO-TEX certified material. Those are statements from the listing, so check the current page if certifications matter to you.

The cover is removable, with a TPU waterproof layer, and the listing says it can go in the washing machine or be hand washed, but the foam should not be cleaned. The base has rubber dots for grip. There is no assembly: you unbox it and use it, though vacuum compression may leave the surface wrinkled for 24 to 48 hours. The seller also offers other step counts, from a 2-step for chairs to a 5-step for high beds, windows and cars, so the same brand covers more heights.

Pros from the listing: two angles in one, waterproof washable cover, stated certifications, a clear weight limit in the specs.
Cons from the listing: a longer footprint at 26.7 inches deep, and the warranty field simply asks you to contact the seller.

View on Amazon

Which one for which situation

A senior dog with sore joints

Both listings mention older dogs. The Gardner is the one that explicitly describes a low-angle ramp mode and cites joint stress, while the Aodisman describes a curved ramp. Neither is a medical device. Ask your vet whether stairs are right for your dog and how steep an approach is safe.

A small apartment

The Aodisman is shallower at 22.4 inches deep versus 26.7. If floor space is tight, that difference matters.

A dog or a home with accidents

The Gardner’s TPU waterproof layer and removable washable cover make it the easier one to keep clean, according to the listings.

A cat and a dog sharing the steps

The Aodisman is listed for both cats and dogs. The Gardner lists the pet type as dog.

A bed or a car

The question is height. A 3-step at about 16 inches is built for couches. For a bed, look at a 4-step or taller. The Gardner listing mentions a 5-step option for high beds, windows and cars. Car doors and vehicle seats raise their own safety questions, so do not use foam steps in a way the seller does not describe.

Training a dog to use steps

Many dogs need a few days to trust new steps. Put them in place, let the dog sniff, and use treats to lead the dog up one step at a time. Keep the first sessions short and calm. If the dog is nervous, go back a step. If the steps slide, stop and fix the placement before the next try. This is general good practice, not a product claim, and a trainer or vet can help a dog that is afraid or in pain.

FAQ

How do I know how many steps I need?

Measure the height from the floor to the top of the furniture and compare it with the listing’s guide. The Gardner lists maximum heights of 18, 20, 25 and 28 inches for 2-, 3-, 4- and 5-step models. The Aodisman lists 3 steps for sofas and chairs, 4 for sofas and beds and 5 for beds and high beds.

What weight can these steps hold?

The Aodisman listing recommends pets under 50 pounds and lists a 60 pound maximum. The Gardner lists 40 kg. Stay well under the limit, and check the current page.

Do foam pet steps slip?

Both have grip features on the base, silicone footprints on the Aodisman and rubber dots on the Gardner. They are lightweight, so test them on your floor against the furniture.

Can I wash pet steps?

The Gardner cover is removable and machine washable, and the foam should not be cleaned. The Aodisman listing does not state a cleaning method.

Why are my new steps flat or wrinkled?

Both are vacuum compressed. The Aodisman listing says to allow 48 to 72 hours to expand, and the Gardner says wrinkles recover in 24 to 48 hours.

Are pet steps good for dogs with arthritis?

Steps can reduce jumping, but they do not treat anything. If your dog has joint pain, a vet should decide what is appropriate.

Related guides on this site

For more stairs, see our best dog stairs roundup. To weigh the Gardner against another brand, read Gardner Pet vs American Kennel Club stairs compared.

Bottom line

Measure the furniture, check your dog’s weight against the limit with room to spare, and choose the step count the listing matches to that height. Between these two, pick the Aodisman for a shorter, shallower step and cat compatibility, or the Gardner for a two-angle design, a washable waterproof cover and a clear weight limit. Ask a vet before using stairs for a dog with joint or mobility problems.

Similar Posts