Best Extra Large Dog Beds for Big Breeds at Home

Best Extra Large Dog Beds for Big Breeds at Home

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

An x large dog bed only works if the listed footprint, the weight limit and the build match the dog who will sleep on it. This guide compares six listings that cover very different ideas of “extra large”: a bolstered orthopedic couch, a flat memory-foam mattress, a small-footprint orthopedic bed, a raised mesh cot, a canopy lounger for outdoors and a thin crate pad. Every number below comes from the product listings, and where a listing says nothing, we say so.

Quick answer

  • For the largest indoor footprint with bolsters, the FUKUMARU couch bed lists 42.5 x 30.7 inches and a fit for dogs around 80 lbs.
  • For a flat, washable-cover mattress with a listed 90 lb limit, look at the JOEJOY 42 x 28 inch bed.
  • For a raised bed that keeps air moving underneath, the Amazon Basics iron-frame cot lists 51 x 31 inches.
  • For a dog who needs shade outdoors, the Saijax canopy bed lists a 110 lb limit.

What “x large” really means on a listing

There is no single standard for the size label. One listing calls a 36 x 27 inch bed “large”, another calls a 42 x 28 inch bed “XL”, and a third sells a 42.5 x 30.7 inch couch as “X-Large”. That is why the length, width and weight figures matter more than the word on the title. Read the dimensions first, then check whether the number is the outside measurement of the bed or the usable sleeping surface. The NANUYA listing is a good example: the outside size is 36 x 27 inches, but the sleeping surface is stated separately as 26 x 22 inches because the bolsters take up the rest.

The weight recommendation is the second number to find. Among the beds here it ranges from 60 pounds (NANUYA) to 110 pounds (Saijax), and the FUKUMARU listing describes its fit as large to x-large dogs around 80 lbs. The crate pad often states no limit at all, so treat a missing limit as an open question rather than a pass.

How to size a bed for a big dog

Measure your dog lying in the position they actually sleep, whether that is stretched out or curled. Add a few inches to the longest measurement. A dog who sprawls on their side needs the full length and width of the surface, while a dog who curls into a donut can use a bolstered bed with a smaller sleeping area. Compare your number to the sleeping surface when a listing gives one, and to the outside size when it does not.

Height is the part owners forget. A bed that is 8.7 inches thick, like the FUKUMARU couch, is a taller step than a 3 inch mattress, which matters for older dogs who step in and out. A flat pad of 0.8 inches, like the BALANCE crate pad, is closer to a mat than a mattress.

The six listings at a glance

Bed Listed size Weight limit Cover or surface Warranty
FUKUMARU couch bed 42.5 x 30.7 x 8.7 in Fits about 80 lbs Chenille and faux rabbit fur 1 year
JOEJOY orthopedic 42 x 28 x 3 in 90 lbs Sherpa 1 year
NANUYA orthopedic 36 x 27 x 6.5 in 60 lbs Velvet 12 months
Amazon Basics elevated 51 x 31 x 8 in 40.8 kg Textilene mesh on iron frame Not stated
Saijax canopy bed 36 x 36 x 30 in 110 lbs Oxford fabric, polyester Not stated
BALANCE crate pad 42 x 28 x 0.8 in Not stated Faux wool top, water-resistant 90 days

FUKUMARU X-Large Thickened Dog Couch Bed

This is the biggest indoor bed in the group on a pure footprint basis: 42.5 inches long, 30.7 inches wide and 8.7 inches thick, with a listed weight of 9.99 pounds. The listing describes a 4 inch high-resilience egg-crate foam core and says it is thicker than the standard 3 inch beds it compares itself to. Raised bolsters run along all sides, so the dog can lean on an edge and curl up.

The cover is chenille with faux rabbit fur, and the listing says it comes off entirely once the armrest inserts and foam core are removed. An inner waterproof layer is described as keeping the foam dry. The listing recommends measuring your dog’s length and weight against its size chart, and names breeds such as Golden Retrievers in the fit line. Dog Breed Size is listed as Giant and Large, the use is indoor, and the warranty is stated as one year.

Best for: a large dog who likes a bolster to lean on and sleeps indoors on a hard floor. Keep in mind: the listing does not give a weight limit beyond the roughly 80 lb fit guidance, so a very heavy giant breed should look at a bed with a stated higher limit.

View on Amazon

JOEJOY XLarge Orthopedic Dog Bed, 42 x 28 inch

JOEJOY sells a flat rectangular mattress with a plush Sherpa top, a non-slip bottom and an L-shaped zipper on a removable, machine-washable cover. The listed size is 42 inches long, 28 inches wide and 3 inches high, and the stated maximum is 90 lbs. The listing calls the fill memory foam and egg-crate foam, and the item weight is 1.69 kg.

One point to read carefully: the bullet text mentions an 11 inch thick foam, while the size line and the dimension fields both say 3 inches. We rely on the 3 inch figure because it appears in the dimensions and the size note, and we suggest you do the same when comparing. The foam itself cannot be washed according to the note, only the cover. The bed arrives vacuum-packed in a box, and the listing asks you to let it lie flat for up to 12 hours so it can expand.

The listing also says the bed can sit in a crate, a pet house or the back of a car or truck. Best for: owners who want a mattress-style bed with a removable cover for a dog up to 90 lbs. Keep in mind: because it has no bolsters, a dog who likes to lean on something may prefer a couch-style bed.

View on Amazon

NANUYA Orthopedic Dog Bed, 36 x 27 inch

The NANUYA bed is the smallest of the orthopedic options and is sold as a bed for large dogs rather than extra large ones, which makes it a useful reference point. The listed outside size is 36 x 27 x 6.5 inches, the sleeping surface is 26 x 22 inches, and the maximum weight is 60 pounds. It has a 3 inch high-density egg-crate foam layer and a three-sided bolster of 3.5 inches.

The cover is velvet with a waterproof layer attached to protect the foam. The listing says the cover has zippers on the top and bottom, and that the foam and bolster fillings must be removed before it goes in the washing machine. It also lists OEKO-TEX Standard 100 for the materials and says the foam is CertiPUR-US certified, with a non-skid bottom and a 12 month warranty. A touch fastener lets you join two beds into a larger one, which is the listing’s own suggestion for extra large dogs.

Best for: a large dog under 60 lbs, or a household willing to pair two beds. Keep in mind: do not buy this one for a dog who stretches out, since the usable surface is much smaller than the outside size.

View on Amazon

Amazon Basics Cooling Elevated Dog Bed, 51 x 31 x 8 inch

The Amazon Basics bed is a raised cot rather than a cushion. The listing describes an iron tube frame with a Textilene mesh surface and says the elevated design promotes airflow and reduces pressure on joints. It is the longest bed in this comparison at 51 inches, with a width of 31 inches and a height of 8 inches. The listed weight is 3.85 kg and the maximum weight recommendation is 40.8 kg.

The listing says it is for medium and large breeds and names Poodles, Huskies, German Shepherds and Boxers as examples. It is listed for indoor and outdoor use, ships with the screws and hex tool needed to assemble it, and is described as easy to clean using tap water only. Care instructions in the specs say hand wash only.

Best for: a dog who runs warm and does not need a soft surface, or an owner who wants a bed that can move between a porch and a room. Keep in mind: the listing does not state a warranty, and the mesh surface is firmer than foam, so a senior dog with stiff joints may want a cushion layer added.

View on Amazon

Saijax Elevated Covered Dog Bed with Canopy

The Saijax is a different kind of x large dog bed: a portable elevated lounger with a removable canopy. The listing gives the dimensions as 36 inches wide, 36 inches high and 30 inches deep and says it holds dogs up to 110 lbs. It is made of Oxford fabric with a polyester fill and cover, and the item is listed at 6.39 lbs in the bullets and 6.7 pounds in the product details.

The listing describes UV and water resistance, a mesh window for airflow, legs it calls “no wobble”, and a simple unfold-and-attach canopy for setup. Included components are the bed, the shade and assembly parts. It is rated for outdoor use and for medium and large breeds.

Best for: camping, the beach or a shaded corner of a yard. Keep in mind: the listed sleeping area is only about 36 by 30 inches, so a very long dog may not be able to stretch out fully.

View on Amazon

BALANCE Dog Crate Pad for X-Large Dogs

This is the thin option: a foam crate mat of 42 x 28 inches and only 0.8 inches thick, with a faux wool surface and a polyester cover. The listing emphasizes an anti-slip base, a water-resistant top fabric and fixed stitching that keeps the foam in place through machine washing. It says the fabric is OEKO-TEX certified and lists a 90 day manufacturer warranty. The breed recommendation is X-Large and the dog size is Giant, but no weight limit is stated.

The listing suggests many uses, including as a crate mat, kennel pad or flat bed, and the recommended use is crate lining. Best for: lining a large crate or adding a washable layer on a hard floor. Keep in mind: at 0.8 inches it will not cushion joints the way a thick foam bed does.

View on Amazon

Things that look like beds but are not

Two products often show up in searches for an x large dog bed and are not beds. One is a replacement cover made for Furhaven mattress-style beds measuring 40 x 32 x 4 inches, which refreshes an existing insert and does not include one. The other is a waterproof blanket in four sizes, the largest being 85 x 57 inches, that protects furniture and does not replace a bed. Both can be handy additions, but check that you are buying a full bed when the goal is a place to sleep.

Choosing by situation

A senior dog or a dog with sore joints

Look for the thickest foam and a low step-in edge. The FUKUMARU lists 4 inch egg-crate foam and the NANUYA lists 3 inches. The listings mention joint support, but they are product claims and not medical advice, so ask your vet what suits a dog with a diagnosed problem.

A dog who has accidents or drools

Choose a waterproof layer and a cover that unzips. FUKUMARU and NANUYA both list an inner waterproof layer under a removable cover, and JOEJOY lists a washable cover with foam that cannot be washed.

A hot climate or a patio

A raised mesh cot such as the Amazon Basics bed or the Saijax lounger lets air move under the dog. Neither is a soft surface, so some dogs will want a blanket on top.

A crate

Measure the crate floor first. The BALANCE pad at 42 x 28 inches and the JOEJOY at the same footprint are the two that match a typical big-dog crate floor by size on paper.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying from the title alone. Read the dimension line and weight limit in the details.
  • Confusing the outside size with the sleeping surface on bolster beds.
  • Assuming a washable cover means a washable bed. Several listings say the foam must be removed first.
  • Ignoring vacuum-packed delivery. The JOEJOY listing asks for up to 12 hours of lay-flat time.
  • Skipping the warranty line. It ranges from 90 days to 12 months among these listings, and some state nothing.

For more context on joint-friendly foam, see our guide to the best orthopedic bed for extra large dogs, and for a side-by-side of two foam models see two orthopedic large dog beds compared by size and material.

FAQ

How big is an x large dog bed?

The listings here range from 36 x 27 inches to 51 x 31 inches, so the label alone does not tell you. The FUKUMARU lists 42.5 x 30.7 inches and the JOEJOY lists 42 x 28 inches, which are typical of beds sold as XL. Use your dog’s measured length in their sleeping position as the deciding number.

What weight can these beds hold?

The stated limits are 60 lbs for NANUYA, 90 lbs for JOEJOY, 40.8 kg for Amazon Basics and 110 lbs for Saijax. FUKUMARU lists a fit for dogs around 80 lbs. The BALANCE crate pad states no limit.

Is orthopedic foam worth it for a big dog?

Thicker foam spreads weight over a larger area, and that is what the listings promote. Whether it helps a particular dog’s joints is a question for your veterinarian, and the listings do not offer medical proof.

Can I wash the whole bed?

Usually only the cover. NANUYA says to remove the foam and bolster fillings before washing, JOEJOY says the foam cannot be washed, and the Amazon Basics cot is cleaned with tap water by hand.

Which is best for outdoors?

The Saijax canopy bed and the Amazon Basics raised cot are the two listed for outdoor use. The Saijax adds UV and water resistance and shade.

Do I need a crate pad if I already have a bed?

Only if the dog sleeps in a crate. A thin pad such as the BALANCE adds a washable layer in a crate, while a thick bed may not fit through the door.

Bottom line

Pick the bed whose stated length and weight limit both clear your dog’s measurements, then choose the style: bolstered couch for leaners, flat mattress for sprawlers, raised cot for hot spots, canopy for outdoors. If a listing leaves out the weight limit, assume the question is open and choose one that states it.

Similar Posts