XL Dog Cooling Pad
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
An XL dog cooling pad is a flat, unpowered mat, so the first questions are about size and surface, not technology. The seven mats compared here are all sold as XL or extra large, yet their printed sizes run from about 41 x 27 inches to 55 x 39 inches, and the biggest has almost twice the floor area of the smallest. Every cooling claim in these listings rests on a seller-printed number called Q-Max, and none of the pages explains how it was measured. This guide sticks to what the listings print: dimensions, thickness, weight, backing, cleaning rules and the points where a listing disagrees with itself. Specs come from the Amazon pages we opened on 2026-10-18.
Quick answer
- Most floor space: APPKER 55 x 39 inch, 55.12 x 39.37 inches by the product details, about 15.1 square feet.
- Thickest printed: QOKO 43 x 31 inch and the Apollo-made 41 x 27 inch crate pad, both 1 inch by the product details.
- Only listing with a dog weight range: PAWRUSH, which says its 44 x 32 inch size fits dogs 40 to 90 lbs.
- Lightest to carry: Nacaro at 1.06 pounds, but its size is confusing (see the conflicts below).
Choose by the length your dog needs lying stretched out, then by the backing and the washing rule you can live with. Ignore the XL word in the title; it is not a standard.
Seven XL cooling pads compared
Footprint is length times width in inches, divided by 144. It uses the product-details dimensions, except for Nacaro, where the details show a packed size and the title size is used instead.
| Pad | Size in the details (in) | Footprint (sq ft) | Thickness (in) | Weight (lb) | Q-Max as printed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rywell Cooling Mat 2.0 | 43.31 x 31.5 | 9.5 | 0.79 | 1.87 | Above 0.5 (title) |
| PAWRUSH XL | 44 x 32 | 9.8 | 0.8 | 2.16 | Above 0.5 (title) |
| FunFurry 44 x 32 | 44 x 32 | 9.8 | 0.5 | 1.43 | Above 0.5 |
| APPKER 55 x 39 | 55.12 x 39.37 | 15.1 | 0.79 | 2.6 | Above 0.45 (title) |
| QOKO 43 x 31 | 43 x 31 | 9.3 | 1 | 1.48 | 0.5 (bullet) |
| Apollo / ZOMISIA 41 x 27 crate pad | 41 x 27 | 7.7 | 1 | 1.34 | Above 0.5 (title) |
| Nacaro 39.4 x 27.6 | Title: 39.4 x 27.6 | 7.6 | Not stated | 1.06 | Above 0.45 (title), 0.5 (bullet) |
What to check on an XL cooling pad
XL covers a 14 inch spread
The seven listings agree on the label and little else. The smallest printed size is 41 x 27 inches, the largest 55.12 x 39.37 inches. That is 14 inches of length. A dog that sleeps curled up fits any of them; a dog that sprawls on its side needs the length of the dog plus room for the legs. Treat the dimensions as the spec and the size word as marketing.
Q-Max is a number the seller prints
All seven titles or bullets print a Q-Max figure, either above 0.5 or above 0.45, and the QOKO bullet says Q-Max 0.5. The Nacaro listing prints both 0.45 in the title and 0.5 in a bullet. None of the pages we read explains the test method or the lab behind the number, so it cannot be used to rank one mat above another. What the listings do describe is a fabric that feels cool when a dog first lies down, which is a sensation claim, not a measurement.
Thickness is a trade between comfort and cooling
The printed thickness ranges from 0.5 inch (FunFurry) to 1 inch (QOKO and the 41 x 27 inch pad). PAWRUSH says its 0.8 inch padding is twice that of leading competitors, which is the seller’s own comparison. A thicker mat puts more cushion under hips; a thin one is easier to fold into a bag. The listings do not state which one stays cooler for longer, so do not assume.
Backing and waterproofing
Rywell, PAWRUSH and QOKO describe a waterproof layer or base. APPKER describes a cool-touch fabric on the front with waterproof oxford cloth on the back, so it is two-sided. FunFurry, Apollo and Nacaro describe a non-slip bottom, and Nacaro adds rubber dots. If your dog is a drooler or has accidents, the waterproof layer matters more than the thickness.
Cleaning rules disagree
PAWRUSH says to machine wash in cold water, wash separately and air dry only. Rywell says machine wash in cool water. FunFurry says fully machine washable and dryer safe, and the Apollo page says it can be tumble dried on low heat. So the same type of mat comes with opposite drying advice. Read the rule on the page for the exact mat you buy and follow it; the listings do not say what a hot dryer does to the cooling fabric.
Chew claims
Rywell calls its materials chew-resistant and describes reinforced stitching. No mat is indestructible, and a dog that chews fabric should be supervised on any cooling pad. Take such wording as the seller’s, not as a durability rating.
Worked example: how much mat for a stretched-out dog
Planning estimate, not a rule: a dog measures 40 inches from nose to base of tail when lying stretched out, and you want about 4 inches spare at the legs. That means a mat at least 44 inches long. Of the seven, the Rywell at 43.31 inches and the QOKO at 43 inches fall just short, PAWRUSH and FunFurry at 44 inches match it, and APPKER at 55.12 inches clears it by 11 inches. The 41 inch pad is only 1 inch longer than the dog, and the 39.4 inch Nacaro is 0.6 inch shorter than the dog, so those two suit crates and curled-up sleepers better.
Now the floor. APPKER’s 55.12 x 39.37 inches is 2,170 square inches, or 15.1 square feet. Nacaro’s 39.4 x 27.6 inches is 1,087 square inches, or 7.6 square feet. 15.1 divided by 7.6 is about 2.0, so the biggest mat covers twice the floor of the smallest. In a car footwell or a crate, that difference decides the purchase before any cooling feature does.
Listing conflicts to know before you buy
- Nacaro: the title says 39.4 x 27.6 inches (100 x 70 cm), but the product dimensions read 21 x 7 x 3 inches, which looks like a folded or packed size. We use the title size and say so.
- Nacaro Q-Max: the title prints above 0.45 and a bullet prints 0.5.
- Apollo / ZOMISIA: the Amazon page title that loaded shows the name ZOMISIA, while the manufacturer field says Apollo. We call it by the manufacturer field and give the ASIN so you can match it.
- APPKER: a bullet lists three sizes (28 x 19, 39 x 28 and 55 x 39 inches) but the size selector on the page shows four labels (S, M, L and XL).
- Rywell: the title says 44 x 32 inches, the product details say 43.31 x 31.5 inches. The difference is under an inch.
The seven pads, one by one
1. Rywell Dog Cooling Mat 2.0, Ocean Blue, 44 x 32 (Color-changing, waterproof interior)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Item dimensions: 43.31 x 31.5 x 0.79 in
- Weight: 1.87 pounds
- Model: PE-PM-0004-BU-RY-XL-A
- Cooling claim: Arc-Chill layer, Q-Max above 0.5 in the title; surface shifts from deep blue to lighter as it absorbs heat
- Backing: Non-slip bottom; waterproof interior
- Care: Wipe clean or machine wash in cool water
- Sizes: Medium, Large, X-Large, XX-Large
Pros
- Color change gives a visual cue the mat is absorbing heat
- Waterproof interior
- Foldable and described as light
Cons
- Listing does not state a dog weight limit
- Does not state a drying rule
- Title size and detail size differ slightly
Best for: A big dog that sleeps on a bed or in a car and an owner who wants a waterproof layer
Skip if: You want the thinnest possible mat
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. PAWRUSH Cooling Mat for Dogs XL, 44 x 32 (Only one with a stated dog weight range)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Item dimensions: 44 x 32 x 0.8 in
- Weight: 2.16 pounds
- Model: PAW-CDMG-XL01
- Cooling claim: Color-changing fabric activated by body heat, no water or power needed; Q-Max above 0.5 in the title
- Fit: XL 44 x 32 in, listed for dogs 40 to 90 lbs
- Backing: Waterproof, non-slip dotted base
- Care: Machine wash cold, wash separately, air dry only
Pros
- States a dog weight range
- One of the thicker mats printed at 0.8 inch
- Waterproof dotted base
Cons
- Air dry only
- 0.73 pound heavier than FunFurry
- Padding comparison is the seller’s own claim
Best for: An owner who wants a weight range printed on the page
Skip if: You want to use a dryer
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. FunFurry Cooling Mat for Dogs, 44 x 32, Light Grey (Thinnest and lightest of the 44 inch mats)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Item dimensions: 44 x 32 x 0.5 in
- Weight: 1.43 pounds
- Model: CMD01
- Cooling claim: High-density weave fabric, Q-Max above 0.5
- Material notes: Unprinted, odor-free fabric described as pet-safe; quilted stitching with even fill
- Sizes: 30 x 20, 36 x 27, 44 x 32 and 59 x 40 in
- Care: Non-slip bottom; fully machine washable and dryer safe
Pros
- Lightest 44 inch option
- Dryer safe per the listing
- A bigger 59 x 40 inch size is sold
Cons
- Only 0.5 inch thick
- No weight range printed
- No waterproof layer mentioned in the text we read
Best for: Travel, crates and car use where a thin mat folds easily
Skip if: You want padding for stiff hips
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. APPKER Cooling Mat for Extra Large Dogs, 55 x 39 (Biggest footprint)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Item dimensions: 55.12 x 39.37 x 0.79 in
- Weight: 2.6 pounds
- Model: Dog Cooling Mat-XL
- Cooling claim: Arc-Chill technology, Q-Max above 0.45 in the title
- Construction: High-density filling, reinforced quilting; cool-touch fabric on the front, waterproof oxford cloth on the back
- Sizes: 28 x 19, 39 x 28 and 55 x 39 in per a bullet
- Care: Wipe the waterproof back clean; machine washable
Pros
- Largest area of the seven, about 15.1 square feet
- Two-sided with a waterproof back
- Light for its size at 2.6 pounds
Cons
- Takes a lot of floor
- Size selector labels do not match the bullet
- No dog weight range printed
Best for: A giant breed or two dogs sharing one mat
Skip if: A small space or a standard crate
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. QOKO Cooling Mat for Dogs Extra Large 43 x 31, Cryo Ice Blue (Ice silk fabric, 1 inch thick)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Item dimensions: 43 x 31 x 1 in
- Weight: 1.48 pounds
- Model: YD-COOLING MAT-XL
- Cooling claim: Ice silk fabric, Q-Max 0.5
- Fill: High-density cotton, described as joint support (seller wording)
- Backing: Waterproof inner layer
- Use: Car, kennel or sofa; reinforced stitching
Pros
- 1 inch thick, the thickest printed
- Waterproof inner layer
- Light at 1.48 pounds
Cons
- No washing or drying rule in the text we read
- No weight range printed
- Thickness may be bulky to carry
Best for: A dog that wants cushion under a cool surface
Skip if: You need a fold-flat travel mat
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. Apollo (ZOMISIA) Dog Cooling Mat for Extra Large Dogs, 41 x 27 Crate Pad (Crate-sized)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Item dimensions: 41 x 27 x 1 in
- Weight: 1.34 pounds
- Manufacturer field: Apollo
- Cooling claim: Q-Max above 0.5; lightweight airy fabric with fiber filling
- Certification claim: OEKO-TEX STANDARD 100, as stated by the seller
- Sizes: 29 x 18 (Medium), 35 x 22 (L-Crate), 41 x 27 (XL-Crate), 47 x 29 (XXL-Crate)
- Care: Non-slip dotted bottom; machine washable; tumble dry on low
Pros
- Sized to a crate, with a 47 x 29 inch XXL-Crate size above it
- Dryer rule is stated
- Light at 1.34 pounds
Cons
- Smallest of the group apart from Nacaro
- Brand and manufacturer names differ on the page
- The certification is a seller statement; we did not see a certificate
Best for: A crate or kennel floor and an owner who dries on low heat
Skip if: A large dog that sprawls
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
7. Nacaro Extra Large Dog Cooling Mat, 39.4 x 27.6 (Lightest, with a size conflict)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Title size: 39.4 x 27.6 in (100 x 70 cm)
- Product dimensions field: 21 x 7 x 3 in (reads like a packed size)
- Weight: 1.06 pounds
- Cooling claim: Self-cooling ice silk; Q-Max above 0.45 in the title, 0.5 in a bullet
- Construction: Puncture-resistant fabric, welded seams; non-slip backing with rubber dots
- Care: Described as washable and foldable
Pros
- Lightest at 1.06 pounds
- Rubber-dot backing
- Foldable
Cons
- Title and details disagree on the size
- Q-Max printed two ways
- No thickness stated
Best for: A small crate or a travel bag where weight matters
Skip if: You need to be certain of the finished size
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
How we choose
These seven came from an Amazon search for the keyword on 2026-10-18 and were read from their own listing pages. We kept pads that call themselves XL or extra large and are a flat mat rather than a cooling bed, vest or bandana. We did not test any of them. Every spec above is from the listing, and when a listing disagrees with itself we say so instead of picking one number. Check the current price on Amazon before you buy.
Common mistakes
- Reading the XL label instead of the printed size.
- Taking a Q-Max number as proof that one mat cools better than another.
- Machine drying a mat whose page says air dry only.
- Buying a 55 inch mat for a crate or a car seat that is 41 inches long.
- Treating a mat as a replacement for shade, water and airflow. For heat questions about your own dog, ask your vet.
FAQ
What size is an XL dog cooling pad?
On these listings the printed sizes run from about 41 x 27 inches to 55.12 x 39.37 inches. The XL label is not a standard, so use the dimensions.
Do cooling pads need water or power?
The PAWRUSH page says no water or power is needed, and the Rywell page says no recharging. The others describe fabrics that feel cool on contact. None of the listings explains the cooling mechanism in detail.
Can I put a cooling pad in the dryer?
It depends on the mat. FunFurry says dryer safe, the Apollo pad says tumble dry on low, and PAWRUSH says air dry only. Follow the page for the mat you buy.
What does Q-Max mean on these listings?
It is a number the sellers print, such as above 0.5 or above 0.45. The pages we read do not explain the test, so we do not use it to rank the mats.
Which pad is for a dog over 80 pounds?
Only PAWRUSH prints a weight range, and it is 40 to 90 lbs for the 44 x 32 inch size. For a heavier dog, ask the seller of any mat for a written limit.
Related guides
There is no cooling mat article live on this site yet. The nearest-topic live guides are: