Best Dog Conditioner: Eight Options Compared by Form, Size and Use
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
No single best dog conditioner suits every dog, so this guide compares eight options by the facts their listings state. The eight products come from eight brands and are the products in our research file for this keyword, checked on 22 October 2026. We do not rank them. Where a listing makes a skin, allergy or ingredient claim, we report it as the listing’s own wording and do not treat it as a finding.
Quick answer
- Check the use line first. Only the Warren London listing says to apply the product to a dry coat and leave it in. BioSilk describes use during washing, and Bio-Groom says its supplies rinse out quickly.
- Check the size before you buy. The two 128 fluid ounce listings, from Lillian Ruff and Bio-Groom, are the largest bottles here. Bark2Basics is a 1 gallon concentrate, and its bullets say it makes 16 gallons.
- None of the eight listings says it is medicated. Several carry allergy or skin wording, which this guide reports without treating it as proof. Ask a veterinarian about any skin problem.
- Choose a product labelled for dogs. The AKC and the ASPCA both advise using products formulated for dogs.
Comparison of the eight listings
The table uses only the fields each listing states. “Not stated” means the research file’s specification fields do not give that detail.
| Product | Size stated | Item form | Scent | Use stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lillian Ruff PRO Formula Oatmeal | 128 fluid ounces, gallon with pump | Liquid | Lavender Coconut | Dog grooming, bathing, dry skin and coats |
| Warren London Hydrating Butter | 8 fluid ounces (240 ml) | Lotion | Guava and Mangosteen | Conditions, moisturizes and deodorizes; apply to a dry coat and leave in |
| DOUXO SPA Oatmeal | 16 fluid ounces | Gel | Unscented | Conditioning, detangling, moisturizing, nourishing |
| Veterinary Formula Ultra Oatmeal | 17 fluid ounces | Spray | Raspberry Tea | Moisturizing |
| BioSilk for Dogs Silk Therapy | 12 fluid ounces | Liquid | Unscented | Grooming |
| TropiClean Kiwi and Cocoa Butter | 20 fluid ounces | Cream | Kiwi and Cocoa Butter | Conditioner, detangling, moisturizing |
| Bio-Groom Silk Creme Rinse | 1 gallon (128 fluid ounces) | Cream | Lavender | Moisturizing |
| Bark2Basics Oatmeal | 1 gallon concentrate; bullets say it makes 16 gallons | Not stated | Not stated; bullets name coconut fragrance | Not stated |
The Bark2Basics specification table has five fields, and none of them is an item form, a scent or a target species. The TropiClean item type field reads “Shampoo,” which the last section covers.
Size and volume check
Only the listed sizes give a volume, so each calculation below uses a listed figure and states its formula.
- Formula: 128 divided by 8 equals 16. The gallon size holds 16 times the 8 fluid ounce Warren London bottle.
- Formula: 128 divided by 16 equals 8. The gallon size holds eight times the 16 fluid ounce DOUXO bottle.
- Formula: 16 divided by 128 equals 0.125. A 16 fluid ounce bottle is one-eighth of a gallon.
- Formula: 1 times 16 equals 16. For the Bark2Basics 1 gallon concentrate, this matches the bullet that reads “Makes 16 Gallons of Conditioner.”
- Dilution check: the same listing says it can be diluted “16 parts water to 1 part conditioner.” Read literally, 1 + 16 equals 17 parts of mixed product, not 16. The listing does not explain the gap, so this guide shows both figures and does not choose one.
Product picks
The products appear in the order of the research file, which is not a ranking. Each section says who the product suits, what its listing states, one strength, one limit and a skip condition. The purchase links sit in the product cards at the end of this section.
Lillian Ruff PRO Formula Oatmeal Dog Conditioner, Gallon With Pump
This product suits owners who want a large pump bottle and a lavender coconut scent. The listing states a liquid form, 128 fluid ounces, a Lavender Coconut scent, and a 30 day money back guarantee. Its recommended uses are dog grooming, bathing, and dry skin and coats. The bullets describe a calming scent from lavender and coconut extracts, and they say the product is made in the USA.
Strength: the bullets say it detangles hair and leaves the coat soft and shiny, and they say it is for puppies and mature dogs.
Limit: the title and bullets use allergy and skin wording, which the last section lists. The pet type field says dog, while the target species field says dogs and cats.
Skip if: you need a small bottle, or you want a listing with no skin wording in its title.
Warren London Hydrating Butter Leave in Pet Conditioner for Dogs, Guava 8oz
This product suits owners who want a leave-in lotion for use between baths. The listing states 8 fluid ounces (240 ml), a lotion, and a Guava and Mangosteen scent. The item type field reads Leave-in Conditioner, and the use line says to apply it to a dry coat and leave it in. The bullets say it works on all coats and leaves the fur shiny and smooth without oily residue.
Strength: the bullets say it also detangles, and they describe it as gentle enough for use on a puppy.
Limit: at 8 fluid ounces it is the smallest bottle in this set. The bullets also warn that the strong fragrance can be a concern for some dogs, which the last section covers.
Skip if: you want to rinse the product out on bath day.
DOUXO SPA Oatmeal Dog Conditioner, 16 fl oz
This product suits owners who want an unscented gel in a 16 fluid ounce bottle. The listing states a gel form and no scent, and its special ingredient field names oatmeal. The material field reads paraben free, phthalate free and sulfate free. The target species field says dog, and the manufacturer field names Ceva Animal Health.
Strength: the bullets say the conditioner safely detangles while helping smooth and condition the coat, which the listing says makes brushing easier.
Limit: the bullets use wording such as “#1 TOPICAL BRAND RECOMMENDED BY VETS” and “HYPOALLERGENIC,” which the sources we opened do not confirm. The item type field also misspells the name as Oatmeal Dog Conditoner.
Skip if: you want a scented conditioner.
Veterinary Formula Ultra Oatmeal Conditioner, for Dogs and Cats, 17 fl oz
This product suits owners who want a raspberry tea scent. The listing states 17 fluid ounces and an item form of spray. Its special ingredients are colloidal oatmeal, jojoba oil and pomegranate extract, and its material field reads dye free and sulfate free. The pet type field lists cat, dog, horse and small animal, while the target species field says dog. The manufacturer field names Synergy (RDT Business Enterprises Inc).
Strength: the bullets describe a long-lasting raspberry tea and pomegranate fragrance, supported by what they call patented fragrance extenders.
Limit: the bullets say the conditioner will not wash away topical spot-on flea and tick treatments, and we did not verify that statement. The item form says spray, but the bullets do not explain how to apply it.
Skip if: you want an unscented product, or you need written application steps.
BioSilk for Dogs Silk Therapy Detangling Conditioner, 12 fl oz
This product suits owners whose main goal is easier detangling during grooming. The listing states 12 fluid ounces, a liquid form and an unscented product, with grooming as the recommended use. Its special ingredients are silk proteins, botanical extracts, herbs and UV filters. The allergen field reads apple free, and the material field reads sulfate free and paraben free. The item type name reads Biosilk Detangling.
Strength: the bullets say to apply it during washing to help condition the coat and support easier detangling after rinsing, and they describe loosening knots and mats.
Limit: the bullets make general claims, such as salon-inspired coat care, without figures. At 12 fluid ounces it is one of the smaller bottles in the set.
Skip if: you want a product to leave in between baths.
TropiClean Kiwi & Cocoa Butter Dog Conditioner, 20 oz
This product suits owners who want a cream with a kiwi and cocoa butter scent in a 20 fluid ounce bottle. The listing states a cream form, 20 fluid ounces and the scent. Its use line reads conditioner, detangling and moisturizing, and its special ingredient is vitamin E. The manufacturer recommended age is 1 month and up, and the manufacturer is Cosmos Corporation.
Strength: the bullets say the conditioner helps soften and detangle the coat and reduces brushing time, and the title describes it as puppy safe.
Limit: the item type field reads “Shampoo,” while the title and use line describe a conditioner. The allergen field lists cashews.
Skip if: the cashew entry matters for your dog. Ask a vet first in that case.
Bio-Groom Silk Creme Rinse Dog & Puppy Conditioner, 1 Gallon
This product suits owners who want a gallon-size cream with a lavender scent. The listing states 1 gallon, which its unit count gives as 128 fluid ounces, a cream form and a lavender scent. The special ingredient field names coconut, and the use line reads moisturizing. The item highlight includes “Made in USA.”
Strength: the bullets say its supplies rinse out quickly, and they describe the brand as family owned since 1971.
Limit: the item type field reads “BIO DERM LABORA (Bio-groom)” and the department field reads “Home,” so the category fields do not describe a dog product. The material feature field reads “Biodegradable Warning” with no explanation.
Skip if: you need the item type field to say conditioner.
Bark2Basics Oatmeal Dog Conditioner, 1 Gallon Concentrate, 16:1
This product suits owners who are comfortable measuring a concentrate and want a larger total volume from one bottle. The title and bullets describe a 16 to 1 concentrate, and the bullets say it makes 16 gallons. The specification table gives product dimensions of 6 by 6 by 12 inches, a weight of 8.82 pounds, a UPC and a model number, and it names Senproco, Inc. as the manufacturer.
Strength: the concentrate gives a choice of strength, since the bullets say it “can be diluted 16 parts water to 1 part conditioner or used at full strength if desired.”
Limit: the dilution wording and the “Makes 16 Gallons” line do not match when read literally, as the size check shows. The bullets also say it is safe for use on cats, which we did not verify.
Skip if: you want a ready-to-use bottle with no mixing.
1. Lillian Ruff PRO Formula Oatmeal Dog Conditioner – Nourishing & Calming Relief for Allergies (Gallon pump bottle with a lavender coconut scent)
Pros
- The listing states a 128 fluid ounce size in a gallon with pump
- The bullets say it detangles, softens and adds shine
- The listing states a 30 day money back guarantee
Cons
- The title and bullets carry allergy and skin wording that the sources we opened do not cover
- The pet type field says dog while the target species field says dogs and cats
Best for: Owners who want a large pump bottle and a lavender coconut scent
Skip if: You need a small bottle or a listing with no skin wording
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Warren London Hydrating Butter Leave in Pet Conditioner for Dogs | Lotion for Skin and Coat | Aloe (Leave-in lotion for use between baths)
Pros
- The listing says to apply it to a dry coat and leave it in, with no rinse needed
- The bullets say it works on all coats and leaves the fur without oily residue
- The listing gives 8 fluid ounces, or 240 ml
Cons
- At 8 fluid ounces it is the smallest bottle in this set
- The bullets warn about a strong fragrance
Best for: Owners who want a leave-in product to apply between baths
Skip if: You want a conditioner to rinse out on bath day
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. DOUXO SPA Oatmeal Dog Conditioner, 16 fl oz (Unscented oatmeal gel in a 16 fluid ounce bottle)
Pros
- The listing states a gel form with no scent
- The bullets say it safely detangles while helping smooth and condition the coat
- The listing states paraben free, phthalate free and sulfate free materials
Cons
- The bullets use wording such as #1 topical brand recommended by vets, which the sources we opened do not confirm
- The item type field misspells the name as Oatmeal Dog Conditoner
Best for: Owners who want an unscented gel with a detangling focus
Skip if: You want a conditioner with a scent
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. Veterinary Formula Ultra Oatmeal Conditioner, for Dogs & Cats, 17 fl oz (Raspberry tea spray with a long-lasting fragrance)
Pros
- The listing states a raspberry tea scent and an item form of spray
- The bullets describe a long-lasting fragrance with patented fragrance extenders
- The listing states dye free and sulfate free materials
Cons
- The bullets say it will not wash away topical spot-on flea and tick treatments, which we did not verify
- The bullets do not explain how to apply a spray
Best for: Owners who want a scented conditioner that the listing says lasts after bath time
Skip if: You want an unscented product or written application steps
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. BioSilk for Dogs Silk Therapy Detangling Conditioner, 12 Fl Oz (Detangling conditioner used during washing)
Pros
- The bullets say to apply it during washing to support easier detangling after rinsing
- The listing states a liquid form, an unscented scent and a 12 fluid ounce size
- The bullets say it is formulated for dogs and suited to routine grooming
Cons
- The bullets make general claims, such as salon-inspired coat care, without figures
- At 12 fluid ounces it is one of the smaller bottles in the set
Best for: Owners whose main goal is easier detangling during grooming
Skip if: You want a product to leave in between baths
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. TropiClean Dog Conditioner, Easy Detangling & Moisturizing Conditioner, Puppy Safe, Made in (Kiwi and cocoa butter cream in a 20 fluid ounce bottle)
Pros
- The listing states a cream form, 20 fluid ounces and a kiwi and cocoa butter scent
- The bullets say it softens and detangles the coat and reduces brushing time
- The listing states a manufacturer recommended age of 1 month and up
Cons
- The item type field reads Shampoo while the title describes a conditioner
- The allergen field lists cashews, which the sources we opened do not address
Best for: Owners who want a cream conditioner with a kiwi scent
Skip if: The cashew entry in its allergen field matters for your dog
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
7. Bio-Groom Silk Creme Rinse Dog & Puppy Conditioner, 1 Gallon (Gallon cream rinse with a lavender scent)
Pros
- The listing states a 1 gallon size, or 128 fluid ounces, in a cream form
- The bullets say its supplies rinse out quickly
- The listing states a lavender scent and coconut as a special ingredient
Cons
- The item type field reads BIO DERM LABORA (Bio-groom) and the department field reads Home
- The material feature field reads Biodegradable Warning with no explanation
Best for: Owners who want a gallon of cream with a lavender scent
Skip if: You need the item type field to say conditioner
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
8. Bark2Basics Oatmeal Dog Conditioner for Itchy Skin Relief, 1 Gallon, 16:1 (Concentrate that makes a larger total volume)
Pros
- The bullets describe a 16 to 1 concentrate that can be diluted or used at full strength
- The bullets name a coconut fragrance and say the product is made in the USA
- The specification table gives product dimensions of 6 by 6 by 12 inches and a weight of 8.82 pounds
Cons
- The dilution wording and the line that it makes 16 gallons do not match when read literally
- The specification table has five fields and no item form, scent or target species
Best for: Owners who will mix a concentrate and want a larger total volume
Skip if: You want a ready-to-use bottle with no mixing
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
How we chose
The research file defines this set. It holds eight products from eight brands, and each has a specification table. This article does not add or remove products, and it does not rank them. We did not rank by price, rating, sales or reviews, because the research file holds none of those figures and this article does not state them.
The file records a check of Amazon.com listings on 22 October 2026, made through Chrome. Each product description here uses only the title, the bullets and the specification fields recorded in that file. Listings change, so check the live listing for size, item form and use before you buy.
Buying checklist
- Confirm the label says it is for dogs. The AKC advises: “Use only products formulated specifically for dogs.” The ASPCA says: “Be sure to only use grooming products that are meant for use on dogs.”
- Decide between rinse-out and leave-in. Warren London’s use line says to leave the lotion in. BioSilk describes use during washing and rinsing, and Bio-Groom says its supplies rinse out quickly. For the other five, the use line does not say.
- Pair the conditioner with a dog shampoo. For shampoo choices, see our dog shampoo guide.
- Plan the brushing step. For brush choices, see our loose hair brush guide and our dog brush kit guide.
- Read the item type and department fields. TropiClean’s item type reads Shampoo, and Bio-Groom’s fields do not describe a conditioner.
- Check the size against your bathing routine, using the size check above, including the formula for the Bark2Basics concentrate.
- Plan the drying step as a separate purchase. Our grooming dryer guide and absorbent towel guide cover those options.
- Ask a vet before choosing a product for a skin problem, itching or an allergy. No product in this guide is recommended for a skin condition.
Mistakes to avoid
- Using a product made for people. The VCA page says: “No, dogs should only be bathed with shampoo formulated for use on dogs.” The AKC advises: “Most important, do not use a shampoo meant for people.”
- Bathing too often. The AKC says: “You should bathe your dog regularly, but not too often.”
- Treating listing wording as a finding. Words such as “relief,” “calming” and “soothing” are listing wording, and none of the sources we opened says any of the eight products treats a condition.
- Choosing a leave-in by accident. Only one listing says to leave the product in, so read the use line before you buy.
- Trusting one field alone. Check the item type and department fields as well as the title, as the TropiClean and Bio-Groom examples show.
- Mixing a concentrate without reading the directions on the bottle. The Bark2Basics bullets give a dilution and a total volume that do not match when read literally.
- Using a dog product on a cat without asking a vet first.
What we could not verify
The points below mark the limits of this guide. Listing wording is quoted as the listing’s own words, and we did not verify it.
- Skin, allergy, itch and infection wording. No listing in the research file uses the word medicated. Several listings carry the wording below, which we report but do not confirm:
- Lillian Ruff title: “Nourishing & Calming Relief for Allergies & Sensitive Skin.” Its bullets say “Safe for all skin types” and describe “relief from dryness, itching, and hot spots.”
- DOUXO bullets: “HYPOALLERGENIC DOG CONDITIONER WITH A COAT-SOFTENING FORMULA” and “#1 TOPICAL BRAND RECOMMENDED BY VETS.”
- Veterinary Formula bullet: “pH balanced for your pet’s sensitive skin.”
- Bark2Basics title: “Oatmeal Dog Conditioner for Itchy Skin Relief.” Its bullets say it “gently calms dry, itchy, and irritated skin.”
- Warren London bullet heading: “Dog Leave In Conditioner for Dry Itchy Skin & Dandruff.” Its bullets say the strong fragrance “can cause irritation to dogs with sensitive skin” and suggest a small patch check for allergy first.
- TropiClean allergen field: “Cashews.”
- Bio-Groom bullet: “free of parabens, silicones, & common allergens.”
A veterinarian is the right person to ask about any skin problem. This guide does not recommend any of these products for a skin condition.
- Flea and tick wording. Veterinary Formula says its conditioner “will not wash away topical spot-on flea and tick treatments.” Bark2Basics says it “will not wash off flea and tick topical products if used per manufacturer’s directions.” We did not verify either statement.
- Ingredient claims. Listings describe products as “naturally derived” (TropiClean and Bark2Basics), “vegan” (Lillian Ruff), “97% natural origin ingredients” (DOUXO) and “hypoallergenic” (DOUXO). Four listings describe pH balance: Lillian Ruff, Veterinary Formula, TropiClean and Bark2Basics. We did not verify any of these claims.
- Conditioner timing. None of the sources we opened gives a schedule for conditioner. The bath frequencies in the FAQ are for bathing.
- Dog size and weight. None of the eight listings gives a dog size or weight range. Their only size figures are product sizes, and the age and breed wording is general.
- Cat use. Bark2Basics says “This product is also safe for use on cats.” The Lillian Ruff target species field lists “Dogs, Cats.” The sources we opened do not cover bathing cats.
- TropiClean item type. The field reads “Shampoo” while the title and use line describe a conditioner. The file does not show why the field differs.
- Bio-Groom fields. The item type field reads “BIO DERM LABORA (Bio-groom),” the department field reads “Home,” and the material feature field reads “Biodegradable Warning” with no explanation.
- Bark2Basics figures. Its specification table has five fields. The dilution wording and “Makes 16 Gallons” do not reconcile when read literally, as the size check shows.
- Lillian Ruff manufacturer. The manufacturer field names “Premium Shoppe,” not the brand, and the file does not explain the relationship.
- Price, stock and ratings. The research file holds none of these, so this guide gives none.
- Listing text beyond the file. Anything on a live listing that the research file does not record is outside this guide.
FAQ
Is any of these conditioners medicated?
No listing in the research file says it is medicated. Several listings describe skin, itch or allergy topics, which this guide reports without confirming. A veterinarian can tell you whether a product suits a skin problem your dog has.
How often should I condition my dog?
None of the sources we opened gives a conditioner schedule, but they do give bath frequencies. The ASPCA recommends bathing your dog at least once every three months, and VCA says non-shedding breeds with no health issues typically need a bath about every six to eight weeks. AKC says bath frequency depends on how much time your dog spends outdoors. Ask your vet or groomer for a routine that fits your dog.
Can I use a dog conditioner on a cat?
The Bark2Basics bullets say the product is “also safe for use on cats,” and the Veterinary Formula pet type field lists cat as well as dog. We did not verify either statement, and the sources we opened do not cover bathing cats. Ask a veterinarian before you use a dog product on a cat.
Should I brush before or after the bath?
Before the bath. VCA says to brush “burrs and tangles from the coat before bathing,” because tangles can become impossible to remove after a bath. AKC says to brush your dog thoroughly before washing to remove loose hair, dirt and other debris.
Do I rinse a conditioner out?
It depends on the product, and the listings do not all say. Warren London says to apply the lotion to a dry coat with no rinse needed. BioSilk says to apply it during washing, and its detangling support comes after rinsing. Bio-Groom says its supplies rinse out quickly. For the other five, read the label before you buy.
What should I do if my dog has itchy or sensitive skin?
Talk to a veterinarian first. This guide does not recommend any of the eight products for a skin condition, and the skin and allergy wording on the listings appears in the section above as the listings’ own words.
Bottom line
Start with the use line, then the size, then the item type field. Confirm the label says it is for dogs, and treat the skin and allergy wording on any listing as that listing’s own claim. For any skin problem, ask a veterinarian before you buy.
Disclosure: this guide contains affiliate links, and we earn from qualifying purchases made through them.
Sources
- AKC, “How to Groom Your Dog at Home: Easy Tips for Everyday Care” (updated Sep 02, 2026), opened 2026-10-22: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/grooming/how-to-groom-a-dog/
- AKC, “It’s Bath Time! Towels, Brushes, Dog Shampoo, and More” (updated Mar 10, 2026), opened 2026-10-22: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/health/its-bath-time-towels-brushes-dog-shampoo-and-more/
- ASPCA, “Dog Grooming Tips”, opened 2026-10-22: https://www.aspca.org/pet-care/dog-care/dog-grooming-tips
- VCA Animal Hospitals, “Grooming and Coat Care for Your Dog”, opened 2026-10-22: https://vcahospitals.com/know-your-pet/grooming-and-coat-care-for-your-dog