Best dog gates

Best Dog Gates

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A pet gate only works if it fits the opening, stands tall enough for your dog and mounts the way your doorway allows. Listings make this harder than it should be: many “dog gates” are baby gates whose listing adds dogs as a target, widths come with gaps where a gate does not fit, and heights run from 23 to 34 inches. This guide covers six dog gates whose Amazon listings were read on 2026-10-17: a pressure-mounted doorway gate, an extra-wide one, one with a cat door, an auto-close gate, a retractable mesh gate and a freestanding folding panel. Each card gives the width range, height, mounting type and any conflict in the listing. We have not tested any of these gates.

Quick answer

For a standard doorway up to 40 inches with a small to medium dog: the MYPET Paws Portable Pet Gate. Its listing says it fits openings 26 to 40 inches wide, is 23 inches tall, pressure mounts with no tools and is suited to all breed sizes. Skip it if your dog is a jumper or you need a gate taller than 23 inches.

For a taller gate (30 to 34 inches): the keny auto-close gate (29 to 42.5 inches, pressure or hardware mounted), the Babelio with a cat door (29 to 43 inches), the Regalo extra-wide (30.5 to 58 inches with extensions) or the PRObebi retractable (0 to 54 inches, 34 inches tall, wall mounted). If you cannot drill or press against the frame, the PETMAKER 72 x 24 inch folding panel is freestanding. Check the current price on Amazon for each.

How we chose

We searched Amazon on 2026-10-17 for “pet gates” and “dog gate for house” and opened the product pages. A gate made the list if the title or listing names dogs, the listing gives its width range and height, and it is a gate rather than a playpen or a door kit. We left out cat-only gates, outdoor fencing, and pet doors that fit into a wall or a door. We aimed for six different designs, not six versions of one gate.

Five questions set the order: how wide an opening does it fit, how tall is it, how does it mount, how does the door close, and what does the listing say about the dog it is for. Listings do not state a jump height, a breed guide (except MYPET, which says all breed sizes) or a safety test result in plain terms. All specs come from the listings, checked 2026-10-17.

Comparison table

Figures are as listed on each Amazon page. “Not stated” means the text we read does not give the figure.

Gate (ASIN) Fits (in) Height (in) Mounting Closure Weight Material
MYPET Paws (B095XD61JX) 26 to 40 23 Pressure mount Not stated 4.8 lb Plastic
keny auto-close (B0CGWJ87QM) 29 to 42.5, with gaps 30 Pressure or hardware Auto-close 12.12 lb Metal
Babelio CatPrivilege III (B0BXX269JD) 29 to 43 30 Pressure (screws also included) Latch, with cat door 14.3 lb Metal, plastic
Regalo extra wide (B087ZGBMX7) 30.5 to 58, with gaps 30 Pressure mount Latch 13 lb Metal
PRObebi retractable (B0CJXC7YTC) 0 to 54 34 Wall mount Retractable mesh 3.69 lb Aluminum, metal
PETMAKER 4-panel (B0CHZ98T1C) 45 to 60 recommended (72 in long open) 24 Freestanding Folding panels 7.95 lb Metal, wood

The six gates

1. MYPET Paws Portable Pet Gate, 26 to 40 in: best for a standard doorway

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-17): 40 in wide at full extension and 23 in tall, 4.8 pounds, plastic in fieldstone gray, pressure mount with no tools, 1 year warranty, model 8874, made in the USA per the listing. The listing says rubber bumpers sit higher than on other gates to clear up to 4 in of molding, and that it will not work in a doorway wider than 40 in. The target species field says dog and the breed field says all breed sizes.

Pros: light, easy to take down and move between rooms. Cons: 23 in is the shortest gate here, and the listing does not describe a latch or door.

Best for: a calm small to medium dog and a doorway with baseboard molding. Skip if: your dog can jump or climb a 23 inch barrier.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. keny 29 to 42.5 in Auto Close Gate: a walk-through gate that shuts itself

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-17): 42.5 in wide and 30 in tall, 12.12 pounds, steel, pressure mounted or hardware mounted. The listing says the door closes automatically when opened less than 90 degrees, swings in two directions and opens one-handed, with a double lock design. It fits openings from 29 to 42.5 in using 4.5 in and 6.9 in extension kits, and says it does not fit openings between 31.8 and 33.4 in or between 38.7 and 40.3 in. Age range 6 to 24 months and target species babies and dogs.

Pros: auto-close means you cannot forget to shut it, and both mounting options. Cons: two width gaps where it will not fit, so measure twice.

Best for: a household that walks through the gate many times a day. Skip if: your opening is in one of the two gaps.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Babelio Dog Gate with Adjustable Cat Door, 29 to 43 in: for a home with a cat

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-17): 43 in wide and 30 in tall, 14.3 pounds, metal and plastic, model CB-M-101. It ships with 1 gate, two 2.7 in extensions, one 5.5 in extension, 4 tension bolts and wall cups for pressure mounting, plus 4 screws and drywall anchors for hardware mounting. The cat door measures 7 x 5.8 in with three adjustable settings. The listing says the door auto-closes or stays open, has a triple-lock design and that the steel gate can withstand up to 210 pounds of heavy impact, which is the manufacturer’s statement.

Pros: the cat door lets a cat roam while a larger dog stays put. Cons: at 14.3 pounds it is heavy to move, and a puppy or small dog may fit through a 7 x 5.8 in door, so measure your dog against it.

Best for: a medium or large dog plus a cat. Skip if: you have a small dog who could use the cat door.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Regalo Extra Wide Gate, 30.5 to 58 in: for wide openings, with fit gaps

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-17): 58 in wide and 30 in tall, 13 pounds, metal, pressure mount, latch, model 0390 BR, 6 month limited warranty. The listing says it needs wall cups to stay in place, and warns never to use it at the top of stairs. It lists fits of 30.5 to 31 in with no extension, 36.5 to 39 in with a 6 in extension, 42.5 to 44.5 in with a 12 in extension and so on up to 58 in with all three, and says it does not fit 31 to 36.5 in, 39 to 42.5 in or 45 to 48 in, among others.

Conflict: the age range field says 6 to 24 months and the bullet says “small to medium pets”, while the target species field says dog. It is a baby gate that also lists pets. Cons: many width gaps.

Best for: a wide hallway or the bottom of stairs, with a small to medium dog. Skip if: your opening is 31 to 36.5 in.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. PRObebi Retractable Gate, 0 to 54 in wide, 34 in tall: no bottom rail

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-17): 54 in wide and 34 in tall, 3.69 pounds, aluminum and metal, wall mounted with 9 anchors and 9 long and 9 short screws included, model SG025A23. The mesh rolls away when not in use, there is no bottom rail to trip over, and the lower bracket slides to fit baseboards. The listing says it has a two-step double lock “press down and rotate” and one-hand operation.

Pros: the tallest gate here, and it disappears when open. Cons: it needs drilling into the wall, and the listing does not state how much force the mesh can take from a heavy dog.

Best for: a narrow hallway or an open-plan space where you want the opening clear. Skip if: you are renting and cannot drill, or your dog chews fabric-like barriers.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. PETMAKER 4-Panel Foldable Gate, 72 x 24 in: freestanding, no installation

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-17): 72 in wide and 24 in tall, 7.95 pounds, metal and wood, black, freestanding, model PET6206. It folds to 18 x 4 x 24 in. The listing recommends it for openings 45 to 60 in wide and says it is sturdy enough to barricade a small dog, puppy or cat, without drilling.

Conflict: the listing says it can be used at the top or bottom of stairways, but a children’s health site says freestanding gates belong in doorways and at the bottom of stairs (see “Gates and stairs” below). It has no door, so you step over it or move it. Cons: 24 in tall and light.

Best for: a small dog or puppy and a wide opening where drilling is not possible. Skip if: your dog is large, or you need a gate at the top of stairs.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Gates and stairs

KidsHealth, a children’s health site, says pressure-mounted and freestanding gates can be used in doorways between rooms or at the bottom of stairs, and recommends a hardware-mounted gate that attaches to the door frame at the top of stairs. That is guidance for children, not for dogs, and we did not open a dog-specific source. It lines up with the Regalo listing, which says never to use it at the top of stairs. Of the six gates here, only the keny (hardware option), the Babelio (screws included) and the PRObebi (wall mount) offer a mounting that screws into the wall. Read each manual before using any gate on stairs.

Worked example: a 36-inch doorway

This is a made-up opening used to show the method. Measure the doorway at its narrowest point, including any baseboard, and check the width against each listing’s range and its gaps.

  • Fits at 36 in: MYPET Paws (26 to 40 in), Babelio (29 to 43 in), PRObebi (0 to 54 in), and keny, because 36 in is not inside its 31.8 to 33.4 in or 38.7 to 40.3 in gaps.
  • Does not fit: Regalo, because 36 in falls inside its 31 to 36.5 in gap; and PETMAKER, because 36 in is 9 in under its 45 in minimum.

Next, height: a 36 in opening that suits a small dog may call for the 30 in Babelio or keny, or the 34 in PRObebi, if the dog is bigger. The listings give no breed height guide, so measure your dog’s shoulder height and compare.

More gates to compare

Three more listings, read on 21 October 2026 from their Amazon pages:

  • Dog Gate 32 in tall foldable: a 6-panel bamboo freestanding gate. The listing gives a height of 32 inches, a width range of 18 to 110 inches and an item weight of 27.4 lb. It stands on its own feet, so it needs no mounting.
  • Carlson 29 to 36.5 in walk-through gate: a metal, pressure-mounted gate, 30 inches tall, with a 16.5 inch walk-through opening and a patented small pet door. The listing says it does not fit openings between 32 and 34 inches, so measure first. Its item weight is 9.98 lb.
  • Carlson 22 to 38 in Lil Tuffy gate: a metal, pressure-mounted step-over gate, 18 inches tall, with a 7.5 by 7.75 inch small pet door. The listing aims it at puppies and small breeds. Its item weight is 5 lb.

Check each listing for its current fit range and weight before you buy. These are the figures read on the date above.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Measuring only the center. Doorways are often narrower at the trim. Measure the narrowest point, then check the gaps.
  • Ignoring the height. The gates here run from 23 to 34 in tall. None of the listings states a dog jump height.
  • Using a pressure gate on stairs. See the stairs section above.
  • Trusting “dog gate” in a title. Several of these are baby gates with dogs added to the listing. Read the age range and the target species fields.

Who should skip buying a gate

If your dog clears a 34 inch barrier, chews through mesh, or you only need a room closed once in a while, a closed door or a playpen may do the job. A gate also does not solve separation anxiety or barrier frustration; talk to your vet or a trainer if the dog panics behind it.

FAQ

What is the best dog gate for a doorway?

For a doorway up to 40 inches, the MYPET Paws is the one whose listing says it suits all breed sizes, but it is 23 inches tall. For a 30 inch gate with a door, the keny (29 to 42.5 inches) and Babelio (29 to 43 inches) cover more widths. Match the width first.

Are baby gates and pet gates the same thing?

Often, yes. The keny, Regalo and PRObebi listings say they are baby gates and also name dogs. Check the age range and target species fields on each page.

Can I use a pressure-mounted gate at the top of stairs?

The Regalo listing says never to use it at the top of stairs. KidsHealth says pressure-mounted and freestanding gates are for doorways between rooms or the bottom of stairs, and recommends hardware-mounted gates at the top. Read the manual of any gate before using it on stairs.

What size gate do I need for a big dog?

No listing here gives a breed guide, so measure your dog’s shoulder height and compare it with the gate height: 23 inches for the MYPET, 24 for the PETMAKER, 30 for the keny, Babelio and Regalo, and 34 for the PRObebi. The MYPET lists all breed sizes, while the PETMAKER names small dogs and puppies, and the Regalo names small to medium pets.

Can a cat get through a dog gate?

Only the Babelio is built for that, with a 7 x 5.8 inch cat door that has three adjustable settings. Measure your dog against that opening, because a puppy or small dog might fit through.