Best Dog Grooming Bag: Four Options Compared by Size
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
The best dog grooming bag is the one that holds the tools your dog’s coat needs, in slots or pockets sized for them, and that you can carry the way you work. This guide compares the four listings in our research file using only what each listing states about size, storage, closure, carrying, material and care. It does not rank them, because the listings disagree with themselves on several figures and the sources we opened do not compare grooming bags.
Quick answer
- Start with the tools, not the bag. The AKC lists clippers, stripping knives, rakes and dog-specific hairdryers as tools for “certain coat types,” so a bag built around scissors and combs may not suit every kit.
- For scissors, combs and clippers, the BABEYER listing has the most specific fit: seven elastic slots that its bullets say are sized for 7-inch grooming scissors. Its material is disputed, so confirm it first.
- For towels and bottles as well as tools, the Brabtod listing describes a large main compartment, but its title and specification table disagree on how many compartments it has.
- For a grooming vacuum, the Modoker listing is the only one of the four that names one, and its first bullet also says “Bag Only.”
What a grooming bag has to hold
The AKC’s grooming guide lists the common tools: pin brushes for many longhaired dogs, bristle brushes for short-, medium- and some long-coated breeds, slicker brushes for removing mats and dead hair, rubber curry combs for polishing smooth coats, and clippers, stripping knives, rakes and dog-specific hairdryers for certain coat types. A bag is most useful when it fits the tools your dog’s coat actually calls for.
A Texas A&M veterinary technician says that “Grooming tools are not one size fits all,” and advises owners to “Choose the most comfortable option for your dog and their specific coat type.” The coat is also the starting point for how much brushing a dog needs. The ASPCA says that how you brush a dog and how often “will largely depend on his or her coat type,” and the AKC says that “Grooming frequency depends on your dog’s breed and coat type.”
Side-by-side from the listings
The first table gives the size each listing states and the box volume that size produces. To work it out, multiply the three sides to get cubic inches, then multiply cubic inches by 0.01639 to get liters. The result is the outside box, not the usable room inside. The BABEYER listing is the only one that states a capacity, and it does not say how that capacity is measured.
| Listing | Size as stated | Box volume | Capacity as stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| BABEYER | 11 x 9.1 x 11.4 inches (specification and bullets agree) | 1,141.1 cubic inches, about 18.7 liters | 11 liters |
| Brabtod | 7.87 x 14.96 x 7.87 inches (specification); 15 x 10 x 7 inches (bullets) | 926.6 cubic inches, about 15.2 liters (specification); 1,050 cubic inches, about 17.2 liters (bullets) | Not stated |
| Modoker | 14.8 x 9.9 x 10.2 inches (bullets) | 1,494.5 cubic inches, about 24.5 liters | Not stated |
| SMYV | 11.8 x 9.4 x 11.8 inches (specification) | 1,308.9 cubic inches, about 21.4 liters | Not stated |
The second table sets out what each listing says about storage, closure, carrying and material. Where a listing does not say something, the cell says so.
| Listing | Storage described | Closure | Carrying | Material |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BABEYER | 7 elastic slots, a top zippered clear pocket and 4 interior pockets | Zipper (specification) | Soft leather handle and shoulder straps of 35 to 61 inches | Leather (specification); polyester (bullets) |
| Brabtod | 3 large compartments and 8 pockets (bullets); 11 compartments (specification); 3 compartments (title) | Not stated | Handles | Felt |
| Modoker | Front compartment with tool holders, a clear zippered pocket under the lid and mesh pockets | Not stated | Reinforced handles and an adjustable shoulder strap | Not stated; outer fabric described as water-repellent |
| SMYV | Multiple compartments, with no count; clear zippered pockets | Not stated | Tote straps or crossbody straps | Oxford fabric and polyester (bullets) |
Closure is stated for one listing and capacity for one. Where a listing gives two figures that disagree, the tables show both and do not choose between them. Care instructions are thinner still. The Brabtod bullets give a damp cloth with mild soap and say not to use a dryer or direct heat, the Modoker bullets say the surface is easy to wipe clean, and the BABEYER and SMYV bullets give no care line at all.
Product picks
Each section below states what its listing says and marks where the listing disagrees with itself. The order follows the research file. It is not a ranking.
BABEYER: purple tote with seven elastic slots
It suits an owner who keeps scissors, combs, nail clippers and a flea comb in fixed places. The bullets say the slots are designed for 7-inch grooming scissors, nail clippers, combs and a flea comb. The main limit is the material. The specification table says leather, while the bullets say the tote is made of high quality and durable polyester. The stated capacity of 11 liters also does not match the box volume from the stated size. Skip if your scissors are longer than 7 inches, or if you need the material confirmed before you buy.
Brabtod: grey felt organizer with a large main compartment
It suits a groomer or owner who carries shampoo, towels and small tools together and wants a felt bag with a textured finish. The bullets describe large compartments for shampoo, conditioner, spray and towels, plus eight pockets for smaller tools such as brushes, combs and nail clippers. The limits are its own conflicts. The title says 3 compartments and the specification table says 11. The bullet footprint of 15 x 10 x 7 inches also does not match the specification size of 7.87 x 14.96 x 7.87 inches. Skip if you plan to dry the bag in a dryer, or if you need the compartment count confirmed before you buy.
Modoker: kit organizer with room for a grooming vacuum
It suits someone who carries a grooming vacuum with clippers and brushes. The first bullet says the bag gives “spacious storage for a grooming vacuum, clippers, brushes, combs and pet grooming supplies,” and the front compartment opens wide and has multiple tool holders. By its stated size it is the largest box of the four, at 14.8 x 9.9 x 10.2 inches. The main limit is what the listing leaves out. The first bullet ends with “Bag Only,” and the specification table gives only a package size and a manufacturer. Skip if you need a material, closure or capacity figure before you buy, because the listing does not state one.
SMYV: grey tote with clear zippered pockets
It suits an owner who wants to see tools at a glance and carry the bag by tote or crossbody strap. The bullets say the clear zippered pockets help you find grooming tools easily, and they name oxford fabric and durable polyester. The specification table gives an item size of 11.8 x 9.4 x 11.8 inches. The limits are the color and the count. The title and specification say grey, but two bullets say purple. The bullets mention multiple compartments without a number, and no closure is stated. Skip if the color matters to you, or if you need the number of pockets before you buy.
1. Pet Grooming Bag, Dog Grooming Supplies Organizer Tote Bag, Perfect for Pet Grooming Tool Kit (Seven-slot tote for scissors, combs and clippers)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Closure Type: Zipper
- Strap Type: Shoulder
- Item Weight: 1.39 pounds
- Capacity: 11 liters
Pros
- Seven elastic slots that the bullets say are designed for 7-inch grooming scissors, nail clippers, combs and a flea comb
- A soft leather handle and shoulder straps of 35 to 61 inches, according to the bullets
- A top zippered clear pocket for small tools, plus four interior pockets
Cons
- The material is disputed: the specification table says leather and the bullets say polyester
- The stated capacity of 11 liters does not match a box calculation from the stated size
Best for: An owner who keeps scissors, combs, nail clippers and a flea comb in fixed slots
Skip if: Your scissors are longer than 7 inches, or you need the material confirmed before buying
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Felt Dog Grooming Bag,Portable Tote Bag for Dogs Cats,Dog Storage Organizer for Grooming Tool Kit,3 (Grey felt organizer with a large main compartment)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Material Type: Felt
- Maximum Weight Recommendation: 15 pounds
- Other Special Features of the Product: Stain Resistant, Durable
- Item Weight: 1.39 pounds
Pros
- Large compartments that the bullets describe for shampoo, conditioner, spray and towels
- Eight pockets that the bullets describe for smaller tools such as brushes, combs and nail clippers
- Felt that the bullets call soft yet sturdy, and a specification field that lists stain resistant
Cons
- The compartment count is disputed: 3 in the title and 11 in the specification table
- The size is disputed: 15 x 10 x 7 inches in the bullets and 7.87 x 14.96 x 7.87 inches in the specification table
Best for: A groomer or owner who carries shampoo, towels and small tools in one felt bag
Skip if: You plan to dry the bag in a dryer, or you need the compartment count confirmed before buying
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. Modoker Dog Grooming Vacuum Bag, Pet Grooming Kit Organizer Bag (Kit organizer with room for a grooming vacuum)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Package Dimensions: 15.31 x 10.98 x 2.87 inches; 1.48 pounds
- Manufacturer: MODOKER
Pros
- Room for a grooming vacuum, clippers, brushes and combs, according to the first bullet
- A front compartment that opens wide and has multiple tool holders
- Water-repellent outer fabric that the bullets say helps protect stored gear from light splashes
Cons
- No material, closure or capacity is stated in the listing
- The first bullet says Bag Only, so no vacuum or tools come with the bag
Best for: An owner who carries a grooming vacuum together with clippers and brushes
Skip if: You need a material, closure or capacity figure before buying, since the listing does not state one
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. SMYV Pet Grooming Bag for Dog Grooming Supplies, Dog Tote Travel Bag for Pets Grooming Tools Kit (Grey tote with clear zippered pockets)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Item Dimensions LxWxH: 11.8 x 9.4 x 11.8 inches
- Item Weight: 1.57 pounds
- Target Audience Keyword: Cats, Dogs
Pros
- Clear zippered pockets that the bullets say help you find grooming tools easily
- Tote straps or crossbody straps, according to the bullets
- Oxford fabric and durable polyester, according to the bullets
Cons
- The color is disputed: the title and specification table say grey, while two bullets say purple
- The bullets mention multiple compartments but give no count, and no closure is stated
Best for: An owner who wants tools visible in clear pockets and a choice of tote or crossbody carry
Skip if: The color matters to you, or you need the number of pockets before buying
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
How we chose
We worked from the research file for this keyword, which holds four listings from four brands and was checked on 22 October 2026. For each listing we read the title, the feature bullets and the specification table. The criteria are the points a buyer can check on a listing: the size it states, its storage, its closure, how it carries, its material and its care line. We kept all four products in the file and did not add any. The order of the picks follows the research file, so it is not a ranking. We did not open three other listings with a similar “Dog Grooming Vacuum Bag” title, or a fourth whose page did not finish loading, and nothing in this guide comes from them. The research file holds no prices or ratings, so this guide does not compare them.
For the grooming background, we opened four pages on 22 October 2026: the AKC’s grooming guide, the ASPCA’s dog grooming tips, a Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine article on shedding, and the AKC’s guide to dog brushes. None of them covers these four bags, so the pages are used only for general points about tools and coat care.
Buying checklist
- Write down the tools you use on your dog’s coat, and measure the longest one. The BABEYER bullets name 7-inch scissors as the size its slots are built for, so start there.
- Check the material on the product page before you buy. The BABEYER specification and bullets disagree, and so do the Brabtod title and specification on compartments.
- Work out the box size you need. Multiply the three sides as the table does, then compare the result with the bag you are considering, remembering that the box is the outside size.
- Look for a closure. Only the BABEYER listing states one, a zipper.
- Check how it carries. BABEYER gives shoulder straps of 35 to 61 inches, Modoker has an adjustable shoulder strap, SMYV offers tote and crossbody straps, and Brabtod says only that it has handles.
- Read the care line. Brabtod asks for a damp cloth with mild soap, and Modoker says its surface is easy to wipe clean.
- Ask a vet or groomer which tools suit the coat, since the AKC advises talking to one before buying grooming supplies.
For the tools themselves, see the dog brush kit guide, the undercoat brush guide, the grooming scissors guide and the nail grinder guide for thick nails.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying by the title. Two listings disagree with themselves on this. The SMYV title and specification say grey while its bullets say purple, and the Brabtod title says 3 compartments while its specification says 11.
- Trusting a capacity figure without a calculation. The BABEYER listing gives 11 liters, but its stated size works out to about 18.7 liters as a box, and the listing does not say how its capacity is measured.
- Reading water-repellent as waterproof. The Modoker bullets say the outer fabric is water-repellent and helps protect stored gear from light splashes and everyday moisture. None of the four listings says waterproof, odor-proof or hygienic.
- Drying a felt bag. The Brabtod bullets warn: “Do not use a dryer or expose it to direct heat, as this may cause the felt to shrink or lose its shape.”
- Assuming one bag fits every tool. The AKC lists rakes, stripping knives, clippers and hairdryers as tools for certain coat types, so a slot sized for scissors may not hold them.
- Pressing hard with a slicker brush. The AKC brush guide says to “Maintain a light touch when using slicker brushes, as pressing down hard could cause your dog discomfort.” Its grooming guide adds that brushing should work “all the way down to the skin using gentle strokes.”
- Skipping the check on the dog. The AKC says to “Check regularly for burrs, plant material, mats, cuts, scrapes, or other abnormalities.” A full bag does not do that check for you.
What we could not verify
- BABEYER material. The specification table says “Leather” for both material and handle type, while the bullets say the tote is made of polyester. Both figures are shown here, and neither is chosen.
- Brabtod compartments. The title says 3, the bullets say 3 large compartments and 8 pockets, and the specification table says 11 compartments. This guide does not resolve the conflict.
- Brabtod size. The specification table gives 7.87 x 14.96 x 7.87 inches, and the bullets give a footprint of 15 x 10 x 7 inches. The listing does not say which is the outside size.
- SMYV color. The title and specification table say grey, and the bullets say purple. This guide does not resolve it.
- BABEYER capacity. The listing states 11 liters, which does not match the box volume from its stated size, and no measuring method is given.
- Modoker detail. No material, closure or capacity is stated. The title calls it a vacuum bag, and the first bullet says “Bag Only.”
- Brabtod’s “Stain Resistant” and “Durable.” These appear only in the specification table. The bullets say only that the felt is “soft yet sturdy,” and none of the pages we opened checks the stain claim.
- Brabtod’s maximum weight recommendation of 15 pounds. The listing does not say whether the limit covers the bag, its contents or the tools.
- Water and odor. No listing says waterproof, odor-proof or hygienic, and this guide makes no such claim.
- Coverage of the grooming pages. The four pages we opened describe tools and coat care in general. None of them rates or compares these four bags.
- Excluded listings. Three listings with a similar “Dog Grooming Vacuum Bag” title, and one whose page did not finish loading, were not opened. Nothing from them is used.
- Date. The listing data were read on 22 October 2026. Listings change, so the figures may differ on the live page.
FAQ
Which bag fits the most tools?
Compare the stated sizes rather than the titles. The Modoker bullets give the largest box of the four, at 14.8 x 9.9 x 10.2 inches, which works out to about 24.5 liters. The BABEYER bullets give the most specific fit, with seven elastic slots. Measure the longest tool you carry and check it against the slot or pocket it would use, because the size of the whole box says nothing about a single slot.
Does the bag keep out water or odor?
No listing says that. The Modoker bullets say its outer fabric is water-repellent and “helps protect stored grooming gear from light splashes and everyday moisture.” That describes light splashes and everyday moisture only. The listings do not say the bags are waterproof, odor-proof or hygienic, and this guide does not claim that they are.
Can I carry a grooming vacuum in one of these bags?
The Modoker bullets say the bag gives “spacious storage for a grooming vacuum,” and the first bullet ends with “Bag Only.” The listing does not say a vacuum is included, and it does not say which vacuum sizes fit. Compare the vacuum’s own dimensions with the 14.8 x 9.9 x 10.2 inch size in the bullets before you buy.
Which brush goes in the bag?
That depends on the coat, and every page we opened points to the coat first. Texas A&M’s technician recommends “brushes with metal or plastic-tipped wire pins and combs for short-haired dogs,” and for curly-coated dogs says a slicker-style brush “would work better.” For undercoat rakes, the AKC says “you must choose the correct pin length for your dog’s coat length.” A rake and a comb need different slots, so check the bag’s slot size against the tool.
How often should I brush my dog?
It depends on breed and coat. The AKC says that “Most dogs only need a few brushing sessions a week, though long-coated breeds often do best with daily brushing.” A Texas A&M veterinary technician writing about shedding suggests “brushing your dog at least three to four times a week for 5 to 10 minutes” to reduce the hair that is shed. The two pages start from different points, so use the one that matches your dog’s coat.
Who should I ask about the right tools?
Ask a vet or a groomer. The ASPCA says to “Ask your veterinarian or groomer to recommend a specific type of brush or comb that will work best for your dog’s hair type.” That question is the one to bring to the appointment, and it is more useful than any single bag listing.
Bottom line
Choose the bag after you choose the tools. If you carry scissors, combs and clippers, the BABEYER slots have the most specific stated fit, but confirm the material first. If you carry a grooming vacuum, only the Modoker listing names one, and it says “Bag Only.” Where a listing disagrees with itself, check the figure on the product page before you buy.
Affiliate note: the Amazon links on this page are affiliate links, and we earn from qualifying purchases made through them.
Sources
- AKC, “Dog Grooming at Home: Brushing, Bathing, and Nail Care”, opened 2026-10-22: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/grooming/how-to-groom-a-dog/
- ASPCA, “Dog Grooming Tips”, opened 2026-10-22: https://www.aspca.org/pet-care/dog-care/dog-grooming-tips
- Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Pet Talk, “Brushing Up For Shedding Season”, opened 2026-10-22: https://vetmed.tamu.edu/news/pet-talk/reduce-dog-shedding
- AKC, “Dog Brushes: How to Choose the Right Dog Brush for Your Pet”, opened 2026-10-22: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/health/types-dog-brushes-shedding/