Best dog poop bag dispenser

Best Dog Poop Bag Dispenser: 5 Bag Packs Compared by Count and Size

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

By Ken

The person typing best dog poop bag dispenser wants a holder that stays on the leash or harness, so one hand can tear off a bag while the other keeps hold of the dog. This guide compares five bag packs whose listings name a dispenser that attaches to gear you already carry. It works out bag count and bag size from the listing figures, and it marks what the listings leave out. The disposal advice comes from an extension service, an EPA fact sheet and AKC, all opened for this guide.

Quick answer

  • Choose the pack whose dispenser attaches to gear you already use. Four of the five listings say what it clips to: a leash, a harness, a pair of pants, or a belt loop.
  • Count the days before you buy. For one dog at two bags a day, the 1200-bag pack lasts 600 days and the 300-bag pack lasts 150 days.
  • Put used bags in the trash. Penn State Extension and AKC both name the trash as the simplest route, and AKC warns against leaving the bag on the ground.
  • A bag labeled biodegradable is not a promise of fast breakdown. AKC makes that point directly, and the Reli listing hedges its own claim.

Why a dispenser matters on a walk

A dispenser has one job: keep a bag within reach of the hand that holds the leash. The EPA’s pet care fact sheet describes refillable bag dispensers that can attach right to a dog’s leash. A bag kept in a pocket works, but the owner has to stop, dig and open a bag before each pickup. A dispenser on the leash removes that step.

A dispenser has to do three things on a walk. It has to hold bags where you can reach them, release one bag at a time, and stay attached. Each listing in this group makes a claim about at least one of these points. Downtown Pet Supply describes perforated rolls that tear with one hand. Gorilla Supply describes a hook that pulls one bag from the roll and a strap that attaches to a harness or pants. AmazonBasics describes a carabiner that clips the dispenser onto a leash, with the leash sold separately. Reli describes a clip-on dispenser included in the pack. These are the listings’ own descriptions. This guide has no performance data for any of them, so each claim below is the listing’s, not a result we observed.

The five packs by bag count

The table repeats each pack’s bag count, bag size and roll count as the listing states them. The last column divides the bag count by two. That assumes one dog and two bags a day. The assumption is ours; no listing states it.

Pack Bags in pack Bag size (inches) Rolls and bags per roll Days for one dog at two bags a day
Downtown Pet Supply, 500 count 500 12.5 x 8.5 Roll count not stated 500 divided by 2 equals 250
Gorilla Supply, 1000 count 1000 9 x 13 50 rolls times 20 bags equals 1000 1000 divided by 2 equals 500
AmazonBasics, 900 count 900 13 x 9 60 rolls times 15 bags equals 900 900 divided by 2 equals 450
AmazonBasics, 300 count 300 13 x 9 20 rolls times 15 bags equals 300 300 divided by 2 equals 150
Reli, 1200 count 1200 9 x 13 80 rolls; 1200 divided by 80 equals 15 bags per roll 1200 divided by 2 equals 600

Three of the five listings give both a roll count and a bags-per-roll figure, and the two multiply back to the pack total. Gorilla’s 50 rolls times 20 bags equals 1000 bags. AmazonBasics’s 60 rolls times 15 bags equals 900 bags, and its 20 rolls times 15 bags equals 300 bags. The Reli listing gives a total and a roll count, so its bags per roll follow from the division in the table. The Downtown listing gives a total only, so no roll arithmetic is possible for it.

For planning, one dog walked twice a day uses 730 bags a year, since 2 times 365 equals 730. A household that keeps the 300-bag pack stocked for that dog restocks about every five months. The 1200-bag pack lasts a little over a year and a half for the same dog.

Two dogs change the arithmetic. At four bags a day, the 1200-bag pack lasts 1200 divided by 4 equals 300 days, and the 300-bag pack lasts 300 divided by 4 equals 75 days. The Gorilla pack lasts 1000 divided by 4 equals 250 days, and the Downtown pack lasts 500 divided by 4 equals 125 days. A multi-dog home should work from the second set of numbers, not the first.

Bag size and what the arithmetic shows

Three bag sizes appear in this group. Downtown lists 12.5 by 8.5 inches, which its listing calls roughly one-gallon capacity per bag. Gorilla and Reli list 9 by 13 inches. AmazonBasics lists 13 by 9 inches, the same size turned the other way.

Bag face area is one simple way to compare them. 12.5 x 8.5 equals 106.25 square inches for the Downtown bag, and 9 x 13 equals 117 square inches for the other three sizes. 117 minus 106.25 equals 10.75, so the 9 by 13 bag has 10.75 more square inches of face, about a tenth more than the Downtown bag.

Face area is not volume, and it says nothing about thickness. None of the five listings gives a bag thickness, so area is the only size measure this guide can calculate. Gorilla’s bullets say its bags have enough room for all sizes of dogs, which is a claim about fit rather than a number that can be compared.

Where the used bag goes

The dispenser solves the problem of getting a bag out. It does not decide where the bag ends up, and that part matters as much.

Penn State Extension says the simplest method is usually to collect waste in a bag and toss it in the trash. AKC calls the trash the most convenient option and says it balances environmental contamination with ease. AKC also warns against leaving the bag on the ground or hanging it from a tree.

The EPA fact sheet covers the water side. It treats animal waste as a stormwater pollution problem, and it says dog waste should never go into a storm drain. The same fact sheet notes that many parks have courtesy bags and disposal boxes for dog waste, and it suggests asking your town for one at a park you use.

AKC adds a practical point. On walks, many parks provide dedicated poop receptacles, and when none is nearby, the waste can be carried home in a bag. A dispenser helps with the carrying, but it does not solve the case of a park with no bin, and that is where the carry-home option matters.

How often a roll runs out

A dispenser is refilled one roll at a time, so the bags per roll matter as much as the pack total. Gorilla’s rolls hold 20 bags. At two bags a day, 20 divided by 2 equals 10 days per roll. The AmazonBasics and Reli rolls hold 15 bags, so 15 divided by 2 equals 7.5 days per roll. The Downtown listing gives no roll count, so its roll interval cannot be calculated from the listing.

The number of roll changes follows from the same division. The 1200-bag Reli pack has 80 rolls, and at two bags a day it lasts 600 days, so it needs 600 divided by 7.5 equals 80 roll changes. The 1000-bag Gorilla pack needs 1000 divided by 20 equals 50 roll changes at the same rate.

At four bags a day, every roll lasts half as long. Gorilla’s rolls then last 20 divided by 4 equals 5 days, and the 15-bag rolls last 15 divided by 4 equals 3.75 days. A multi-dog home should expect to change a roll every four to five days. The Downtown bullets say the bone-shaped dispenser holds spare rolls, which matters when a roll runs out in the middle of a walk and the next pack is at home.

Biodegradable on the label

Reli’s listing uses the word biodegradable, and its own bullets hedge the claim. They say the extent and speed of degradation depend on the surrounding environment and the product formulation, and they describe the bag as oxobiodegradable. Gorilla’s listing gives a breakdown window of 12 to 36 months under sunlight and names a standard, but its bullets do not explain how that window was reached. Neither figure is a promise for a bag in a landfill.

AKC makes the general point. It says biodegradable bags do not necessarily break down at a fast rate or in an environmentally friendly way, and it still calls them a greener option when they go in the trash. Read the breakdown wording in each listing as a direction, not a timeline.

Choosing the leash the dispenser clips to

The AKC leash training guide tells owners to avoid retractable leashes and to use a lightweight six-foot leash instead. AKC’s retractable page adds that a retractable leash rewards pulling, and it advises a standard six-foot leash until the dog walks politely. A dispenser on a standard leash stays close to the hand that needs the bag. The mechanism inside a retractable handle is covered in inside a retractable dog leash.

The five listings tie the dispenser to different things. Downtown names a leash, a harness or a belt loop. AmazonBasics names a leash, sold separately. Gorilla names a harness or pants. Reli names no item at all. Choose the pack whose attachment matches the gear you already use, and if you walk with a harness, look for a dispenser that names a harness. For harness choices, see the dog harness to wear all the time.

What to check on a listing before you buy

Four checks take a few minutes and remove most of the guesswork in this group.

First, the attachment. Find the sentence that names what the dispenser clips to. If the listing names nothing, the dispenser may still work, but the listing does not promise it.

Second, the count and the roll figures. Divide the bag count by the number of bags you use a day. A household with two dogs uses the same pack in half the time, because the bags per day double.

Third, the bag size. Bag size changes how much of the bag is free to hold a single pickup. Gorilla and Reli state 9 by 13 inches, and AmazonBasics states 13 by 9 inches. Downtown states 12.5 by 8.5 inches. The difference is about a tenth of face area, so choose by how the bag handles in your hand on your own walks.

Fourth, the breakdown wording. If a listing uses biodegradable, degradable or oxobiodegradable, read the sentence that follows it. Those sentences tell you what the listing does and does not promise.

The five packs, one card each

1. Reli. Biodegradable Dog Poop Bags w/Holder (1200 Count – 80 Rolls Bulk) (1200 bags in 80 rolls, with a clip-on dispenser included)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Unit Count: 1200 Count
  • Color: Green
  • Item Dimensions: 9.9 x 7.8 x 4.92 inches
  • Material Feature: Biodegradable, Disposable, Scent Free

Pros

  • Clip-on dispenser included in the pack, per the listing
  • Perforated bags with a Tear Here print, per the bullets
  • 1200 bags across 80 rolls works out to 15 bags a roll

Cons

  • The listing says breakdown depends on the surrounding environment and the product formulation
  • The listing names a clip-on dispenser but not the item it clips to

Best for: Multi-dog homes that want the largest count in this set
Skip if: You need a fixed breakdown time, since the listing gives none

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. GORILLA SUPPLY 1000 Dog Poop Waste Bags with Dispenser and Leash Tie, 9″ x 13″, Blue, 1000 Count (1000 bags in 50 rolls, with a hook dispenser and a strap)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Unit Count: 1000 Count
  • Color: Blue
  • Item Dimensions: 9 x 13 inches
  • Item Weight: 3.4 pounds

Pros

  • A hook removes one bag from the roll automatically, per the listing
  • A strap on the dispenser attaches to a harness or pants, per the listing
  • 50 rolls of 20 bags, which the listing says lasts more than a year

Cons

  • The 12 to 36 month breakdown range is the listing's own sunlight figure
  • At 3.4 pounds per the specifications, it is heavier than the Downtown and Reli packs

Best for: Owners who want a large count and a dispenser that rides on a harness
Skip if: You want a 12.5 by 8.5 inch bag or a pack small enough for a jacket pocket

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Amazon Basics Dog Poop Leak Proof Bags with Dispenser and Leash Clip, Unscented, 13″ x 9″, 900 (900 bags in 60 rolls, with a carabiner for a leash)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Unit Count: 900 Count
  • Item Dimensions: 13 x 9 inches
  • Scent: Unscented
  • Material: High Density Polyethylene, Polypropylene

Pros

  • Carabiner clips the dispenser onto a leash, per the listing
  • 60 rolls of 15 bags, adding up to 900
  • Unscented, and the bullets call the bags leakproof

Cons

  • The leash is not included, so you need one with a suitable clip point
  • The bullets give no bag thickness figure

Best for: Owners who already own a leash and want a large refill with a carabiner dispenser
Skip if: You want a dispenser that attaches to a harness strap or a belt loop instead of a leash

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Downtown Pet Supply Poop Bags for Dogs with Dispenser, 500 Count – Leak-Proof Dog Waste Bags (500 bags, 12.5 by 8.5 inches, with a bone dispenser that clips on)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Unit Count: 500 Count
  • Color: Rainbow with Paw Prints
  • Item Dimensions: 9.2 x 8.8 x 1.5 inches
  • Scent: Unscented

Pros

  • Bags measure 12.5 by 8.5 inches, which the listing calls roughly 1-gallon capacity
  • The bone-shaped dispenser clips to a leash, harness or belt loop, per the listing
  • Perforated rolls that tear with one hand, per the bullets

Cons

  • The roll count is not stated, only the 500-bag total
  • The listing gives no bag thickness, so leak resistance rests on its wording

Best for: Single-dog homes that want a 500-bag refill with a dispenser that clips on
Skip if: You want a 9 by 13 inch bag, the larger size in this set

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. Amazon Basics Dog Poop Leak Proof Bags with Dispenser and Leash Clip, Unscented, 13″ x 9″ Large (300 bags in 20 rolls, with the same leash carabiner)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Unit Count: 300 Count
  • Item Dimensions: 13 x 9 inches
  • Scent: Unscented
  • Material: High Density Polyethylene, Polypropylene

Pros

  • Same carabiner dispenser as the 900-bag pack, in a smaller count
  • 20 rolls of 15 bags, adding up to 300
  • Unscented, per the listing

Cons

  • At two bags a day, 300 bags last 150 days, so it runs out first of the five
  • The count is the lowest in this set, so a multi-dog home refills often

Best for: A first purchase, or a household where one dog walks once or twice a day
Skip if: You walk more than one dog every day or want fewer refills per year

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

How we chose

We began with 12 listings from the research pool. We kept a listing when its own text names a dispenser or holder that attaches to a leash, harness, handle or belt loop, or when the pack includes one. Five passed, and the cards run from the largest bag count to the smallest.

Seven did not. Four are plain bag packs whose bullets name no dispenser in the pack: Codirom, which says its rolls fit standard leash-attached dispensers; Wowflash; PET N PET; and DREAM&GLAMOUR. One is a retractable leash with a built-in bag holder (LULUPET). Its main product is the leash, so we did not count it as a dispenser pack. One is a harness and leash set with a poop bag holder (MAISON MALIBU), where the holder is an extra. The last is a 1140-bag pack (Lifegogo) whose listing includes a reusable bone-shaped dispenser but does not say how it attaches. We left it out for that reason. A reader who wants that pack should check its listing for the attachment before buying.

What we could not verify

  • Bag strength. The listings give no bag thickness, film strength or tear-resistance figure, and the pages we opened do not compare bags across brands. Whether any of these packs leaks on a wet walk is outside what this guide can answer.
  • Fit with your leash. No listing gives the width or clip size that its dispenser accepts, so check your leash or harness hardware before ordering.
  • Breakdown time in real conditions. The Reli and Gorilla listings give breakdown language that depends on conditions, and the pages we opened give no time for these plastic-based packs.
  • Price, customer ratings and stock. This guide does not use them, and they change after publication.

FAQ

Do I need a dispenser if I carry a roll in my pocket?

A roll in a pocket works. The EPA fact sheet describes refillable dispensers that attach to the leash, and the advantage is the same: the bag stays within reach without a stop. Four of the five packs here are built around that idea, so the real choice is which attachment suits your gear.

Does a dispenser fit every leash?

No listing says it fits every leash. Downtown names a leash, a harness or a belt loop, and AmazonBasics names a leash with the leash sold separately. Check the clip point on your own leash or harness before buying a pack for it.

Which bag size should I choose, 9 by 13 inches or 12.5 by 8.5?

Four of the five packs use the 9 by 13 size, or 13 by 9 turned around. That size has about a tenth more face area than the Downtown bag, as the calculation above shows. The listings do not say which size suits which dog, so match the size to the bag you can open with one hand on your own walks.

Are biodegradable bags a better choice for the trash?

They may be the greener option, but the label is not a promise of fast breakdown. AKC says biodegradable bags do not necessarily break down quickly or in an environmentally friendly way, and it still calls them a greener option when they go in the trash. Read the breakdown wording in each listing and treat it as a direction rather than a timeline.

How many bags does one dog need?

That depends on how often you walk. At two bags a day, one dog uses 730 bags a year, and a 300-bag pack lasts 300 divided by 2 equals 150 days. Divide your own bags per day into the pack count to get your own number.

Does a multi-dog home need a different pack?

Usually yes, because the count is what runs out first. At four bags a day, the 1200-bag pack lasts 300 days and the 300-bag pack lasts 75 days. A multi-dog home should compare packs at that rate and pick the pack that lasts the season it needs.

Bottom line

Choose the dispenser that clips to the gear you already use, then pick the bag count that matches how many days one pack should last. Read the breakdown wording as a direction, and read the bag size as a question of fit for your own hand.

Sources

Similar Posts