Best No Pull Harness For Large Dogs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The person typing “no pull dog harness for large dogs” wants a harness that stops a strong dog from dragging them down the street, and that fits a large chest and neck. This guide compares five large-size no-pull harnesses using only the size charts, materials and features each Amazon listing states, so you can match one to your dog’s measurements before you buy.
Quick answer
- Best for a large, strong puller who needs a front clip: WINGOIN Tactical Dog Harness for Large Dogs. Its listing gives a 45 to 80 lb range and chest girth of 27 to 37 inches.
- Best if you want a broader listed weight range: Beebiepet Tactical No Pull Dog Harness, Large. The listing states 30 to 100 lb.
- Best for night walks: Joytale No Pull Light Up Dog Harness, Large, with LED and reflective trim.
- Best for a well-known front-clip design: PetSafe Easy Walk Harness, Large.
- Best for medium-to-large breeds with two leash rings: rabbitgoo Dog Harness, Large, which the listing says suits “Medium to Large Dogs”.
Why a large dog needs a different kind of no-pull harness
A large dog pulls with more force than a small one, so the harness has to spread that force across the chest and back rather than the throat. Most no-pull designs use one of two ideas. A front chest clip turns the dog’s forward pull toward the side, so the dog cannot lean straight into the leash. A martingale or loop design tightens gently when the dog lunges. Both only work if the harness fits the chest and neck measurements, which is why the size chart matters more than the product photo.
The listings in this comparison describe their no-pull features in different ways. Some say the front clip “reduces pulling”. Others only describe two leash rings and do not explain how the harness changes the dog’s direction. This guide reports what each listing says and does not add claims the listing does not make.
How to measure your dog before you buy
Use a soft tape. Measure the chest at the widest point just behind the front legs, measure the neck where the collar normally sits, and measure the back from the base of the neck to the tail. Compare these numbers with the chart on each listing, not with the size name alone. The WINGOIN listing gives chest girth of 27 to 37 inches and neck girth of 19 to 25 inches for its Large size. If your dog’s neck is 26 inches, that harness will not fit even if the chest measurement is in range.
Size names are not standard across brands. A “Large” from one seller can fit a different body from a “Large” from another. Always check the measurements, and if your dog falls between two sizes, choose the size whose chest range fits and check the adjustment straps before you choose the bigger size.
Coverage and fit comparison
| Harness | Size and fit data stated in the listing | Weight range stated | Main no-pull feature |
|---|---|---|---|
| WINGOIN Tactical, Large | Chest 27 to 37 in, neck 19 to 25 in | 45 to 80 lb | Leash attachment with two-layer nylon body; four quick-release buckles |
| Beebiepet Tactical, Large (2 count) | Four adjusters on neck and chest; two chest buckles | 30 to 100 lb | Two triangular rings; Molle strips on both sides |
| Joytale Light Up, Large | Three buckles; chest width stated as 25 in | Not stated in the listing | Front chest D-ring; rear D-ring for relaxed walks |
| PetSafe Easy Walk, Large | Adjustable comfort straps; quick-snap shoulder buckles | Not stated in the listing | Martingale loop; front chest leash attachment |
| rabbitgoo, Large | Three overhead buckles; two fast-release buckles | Not stated in the listing | Two metal leash rings; chest attachment clip |
The table only lists numbers the listings state. Where a listing gives no weight range, the cell says so instead of guessing from the size name.
How we chose
We limited the list to harnesses whose listing names a Large size, because the question is about large dogs. We then looked at three things in each listing: the size or measurement chart, the no-pull feature described in the listing, and whether the listing names its materials and closure type. Products that were marked as small, medium or cat-only were removed, even when they appeared in the same search. We did not rank the harnesses by reviews, ratings or sales rank, because this site does not use that data.
What we could not verify
- None of the listings in this comparison publish a load test for the harness or its leash rings. The listings describe the materials, but they do not say how much force the harness can take.
- The PetSafe and rabbitgoo listings do not state a weight range in the data we reviewed, so their suitability for very heavy dogs cannot be confirmed from the listing alone.
- The Joytale listing describes LED modes and a 1-year warranty, but it does not say how long the battery lasts on a single charge.
- Whether any harness stops a particular dog from pulling depends on the dog, the handler and training. No listing here makes a training claim we can confirm.
Product picks
WINGOIN Tactical Dog Harness for Large Dogs
This harness gives the most specific size data in the group. The listing states a Large size with chest girth of 27 to 37 inches, neck girth of 19 to 25 inches, and a weight range of 45 to 80 lb. It has a two-layer nylon body with a 1000D nylon outer layer, and the listing says it uses four quick-release buckles so the harness can be put on from the side of the neck rather than over the head. The listing describes a front chest attachment, but it does not say how much the design reduces pulling.
Skip if: your dog’s neck is outside the 19 to 25 inch range, or your dog weighs more than 80 lb, because the listing does not describe a larger size in the data we reviewed.
Limitation: the listing says hand wash only, so it is not a good fit for owners who want a machine-washable harness.
Beebiepet Tactical No Pull Dog Harness with Leash, Large
This two-count set is labelled for large dogs, with a weight range of 30 to 100 lb stated in the listing, which is the widest range in this group. The body is nylon with reinforced stitching, and the listing describes two triangular rings on the back and a set of Molle strips on both sides. The Molle strips let the dog carry a pouch, which some owners need for service or outdoor work. Four size adjusters on the neck and chest allow a wide range of fits.
Skip if: you want a harness with a front chest clip, because the listing describes its rings but not a front-clip design.
Limitation: the listing describes it as a tactical-style harness, which may look heavier than a plain walking harness for everyday use.
Joytale No Pull Light Up Dog Harness, Large
This harness is built for night walks. The listing describes a light-up module with a steady glow, a slow flash and a seven-colour cycle, plus reflective trim that stays visible when the LED is off. It has three buckles, so it can be put on from the neck side without going over the ears, and a front chest D-ring for guiding forward pulling. The listing also mentions a holder for an AirTag, which is useful for owners who track their dog.
Skip if: you do not walk after dark, because the LED and charging cable are features you would not use.
Limitation: the listing gives a chest width of 25 inches but no neck or chest girth range, so measure your dog before ordering.
PetSafe Easy Walk Harness for Dogs, Large
The PetSafe Easy Walk is the best-known design in this group. The listing describes a martingale loop that applies gentle pressure when the dog lunges, and a front chest leash attachment that guides the dog toward the handler. It is nylon, with a 1-year limited warranty stated in the listing, and it has color-coded fit points and quick-snap shoulder buckles. The listing says it has been trusted by vets and trainers since 2004, but it does not name which vets or trainers.
Skip if: you want a harness with a padded body, because the listing describes a breathable design with less coverage.
Limitation: the weight range is not stated in the listing we reviewed, so check that the chest measurement matches your dog before you buy.
rabbitgoo Dog Harness, Large
The rabbitgoo listing says it suits “Medium to Large Dogs”, including breeds such as Labradors and German Shepherds. It has two metal leash rings, which the listing says allows a chest clip for pulling and a back clip for everyday walks. Two fast-release buckles and an overhead design let you slip the harness on and off quickly. The listing says the harness is polyester.
Skip if: your dog has a deep chest or a thick neck that the overhead design would not fit, because the listing does not give a chest or neck measurement range.
Limitation: the listing does not state a weight range, so a very heavy dog should be checked against the size chart before buying.
FAQ
Does a no-pull harness stop a dog from pulling?
A harness changes where the pull goes. A front chest clip turns the dog’s forward pull to the side, which makes it harder to lean into the leash. It does not teach the dog to walk well. Training and consistent walks do most of that work, so a good harness is a tool to use alongside training, not a replacement for it.
Is a front clip or a back clip better for a large dog?
The front clip is the design that the listings describe as reducing pulling. A back clip is simpler for everyday walks and for dogs that already walk well. Many owners use the front clip for training and the back clip for relaxed walks, which the rabbitgoo and Joytale listings both describe.
How do I know if the harness fits my large dog?
Measure the chest and neck and compare them with the listing’s chart. Then check that you can fit two fingers under each strap, and that the harness does not slide when the dog moves. If the fit is wrong, return the harness and choose the size that matches your measurements.
Can a harness hurt my dog?
A harness that is too tight, too loose or worn can rub the skin or restrict breathing. Check the fit each time you put it on, and stop using a harness that shows rubbing or frayed webbing. If your dog has a neck or spine problem, ask your vet which type of harness is suitable before buying.
Should I use a harness or a collar?
A harness puts the pulling force on the chest and body, while a collar puts it on the neck. For a large, strong dog, many owners choose a harness for walking and keep a collar for ID tags. Your vet can advise if your dog has a neck or throat condition.
Are these harnesses machine washable?
The listings differ. The WINGOIN listing says hand wash only. Check the care line on each listing before you buy, because washing instructions are stated by the seller and are not the same across the group.
Bottom line
If your large dog’s chest and neck fit a listed size chart, choose the harness whose listing states both the measurements and the weight range that match your dog. WINGOIN gives the clearest size data, and Beebiepet gives the widest weight range.
For related buying guides, see HDP Big Dog Soft No-Pull Harness: Picks for Large Dogs and Best Small Dog No-Pull Harness for Daily Walks.
Sources
- https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/training/ (opened: 2026-10-25) — used for general training context only; no product claim depends on it.
- https://www.aspca.org/pet-care/dog-care (opened: 2026-10-25) — used for general dog care context only.
- https://vcahospitals.com/know-your-pet/dogs (opened: 2026-10-25) — used for general dog health context only.