Best Outdoor Dog Gates: 7 Metal Options Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The best outdoor dog gates are sturdy metal gates with a closure that stays shut and a height that suits your dog. This comparison covers seven metal gates, all listed for indoor and outdoor use or for outdoor areas. Each entry uses only listing fields recorded on 2026-10-21, plus guidance from the three sources at the end. It is a comparison, not a ranking.
No listing gives a weather rating, so outdoor use is a claim you should check against your own yard, not a figure we can confirm. Read the closure, height and width first, then the ground contact and mounting. Where a field is missing, the table says not stated.
Quick answer
- Outdoor is a listing claim. All seven titles say indoor and outdoor use, or outdoor use. None gives a weather rating or coating specification.
- Height. Five gates are 32 inches tall and two are 30 inches. AKC says bigger breeds or jumpers will probably need at least 30 inches, so the 30-inch gates sit exactly at that minimum.
- Closure. Five listings describe a double lock. The two No Pawblems listings do not, so check the latch before you buy.
- Width. The widths run from 40 inches to 156 inches, and the item-width fields do not all mean the same thing. Multiply panel width by panel count before you order.
What outdoor means in these listings
All seven titles mention indoor and outdoor use, or outdoor use. Lezbanz repeats outdoor areas in its bullets. The listings do not say how the metal, finish or hinges handle rain, sun, frost or damp ground. Only one listing, the Lezbanz 32-inch gate, uses the words rust-resistant finish. Its wording is not a standard, and the listing does not say how the finish was made or for how long.
AKC’s dog gate guide says metal gates are usually the most durable and chew-resistant. That is a general statement, not a rating for any gate here. A gate that is durable indoors is not automatically weatherproof outdoors, so the outdoor question has to be answered by the seller or the maker’s care notes.
Height, jumping and climbing
AKC’s dog gate guide says that bigger breeds or jumpers will probably need a gate at least 30 inches high, and that the gate should be tall enough that the dog cannot jump over it. The same guide says to consider nearby furniture a climber could use. AKC’s yard escape guide adds that anything near the fence that a dog could climb should be removed, such as wood piles, benches or garbage cans.
Formula: listed height minus 30 inches gives the margin over that minimum. Malier, Paulmele (96-inch title), Snuowu, Lezbanz and the 80-inch Paulmele each list 32 inches, so the margin is 2 inches. The two No Pawblems gates list 30 inches, so the margin is 0. The listings do not state a jump height, a climbing rating or a bar layout, so no height in this table is a guarantee for any dog.
None of the seven listings says whether its panels have horizontal bars. AKC’s dog gate guide says to avoid gates with horizontal bars for a dog known to climb, because those can give footholds. If your dog climbs, ask the seller about the bar layout before you order.
Latches, locks and closures
AKC’s yard escape guide says to make sure every latch on a gate stays secure. It also says to add a lock or a hook-and-eye closure to a gate that blows open or a latch that does not stay shut. Its double-gate advice describes an airlock: a person goes through one gate, closes it, and only then opens the second. Those are the closure habits to build around these gates.
| Product (ASIN) | Closure as stated | Door as stated |
|---|---|---|
| Malier (B0F5B53LST) | Double lock (bullet) | 180-degree swing, opens both directions |
| Paulmele 96 in (B0CTQ7R44Z) | Dual locking system (bullet) | Walk-through door |
| Snuowu 80 in (B0D8PWVSTY) | Latch (spec); double lock (bullet) | Walk-through door, opens both directions |
| No Pawblems 78 in (B0F7L85KR5) | Hinged (spec); no lock stated | Walk-through door, opens both directions |
| No Pawblems 156 in (B0DMT2RYNR) | Not stated; no lock stated | Walk-through door on the 4 and 6 panel versions |
| Lezbanz 80 in (B0FH9XN274) | Double-lock system (bullet) | 180-degree two-way swing |
| Paulmele 80 in (B0CTH4GWSW) | Latch (spec); dual-locking mechanism (bullet) | Walk-through door |
The table shows where the listings are silent. The two No Pawblems listings describe a door that opens both ways but do not describe a lock. Ask the seller how the latch holds against a dog that pushes, because none of the listings gives a push or load figure.
Width, panels and the item-width field
Formula: total open width equals panel width times panel count. Three listings in this set give four panels in the title and an item width that is one panel. Lezbanz at 80 inches has an item width of 20 inches, and 20 times 4 equals 80. Paulmele at 80 inches has an item width of 20 inches, and 20 times 4 equals 80. Paulmele at 96 inches has an item width of 24 inches, and 24 times 4 equals 96, which matches its title.
Snuowu is different. Its item width is 80 inches, and that can only be the total width, because 80 inches per panel would make the total 320 inches. No Pawblems at 156 inches is listed as a six-unit set, so 156 divided by 6 is 26 inches per panel if 156 is the total. Malier lists an item width of 40 inches with a unit count of 2, and the listing does not say whether 40 inches is one gate or two combined. Measure your opening, then ask which width the seller means.
Stability on your ground
Five listings add non-slip or anti-slip pads to metal support feet: Malier, both Paulmele 4-panel gates, Snuowu and Lezbanz. The two No Pawblems gates describe metal support feet without pads. None of the seven gives a slope limit, soil or anchoring method, or a figure for how far the gate moves when a dog leans on it.
AKC’s fence guide says a fence needs a particularly strong gate, and that fence height and strength both matter. Set the gate up on the ground you plan to use, because none of the listings describes slope or soil.
For wall mounting, the No Pawblems six-unit listing says its wall hardware excludes screws and wall anchors. You will need to buy those yourself. The Paulmele 80-inch listing says it includes wall-mount hardware, and the No Pawblems 30-inch listing says it comes with wall hardware. Neither listing states what the screws or anchors are rated for.
How we chose
The set is seven gates, with listing text recorded on 2026-10-21. A gate was included when the listing states indoor and outdoor use, or outdoor areas, and the gate is metal. All seven meet that test, so none was dropped. Two No Pawblems gates are 30 inches tall. Height was not part of that test, so both stay in, and the height section and FAQ flag that they sit on the AKC minimum.
Two other tall gates, Vantas and Mumeasy, do not state indoor or outdoor use, so they are not in this comparison. The order follows the order the listings were recorded, not quality. We did not rank the gates and do not claim that one outperforms another. The outdoor claims come only from listing titles and bullets.
What we could not verify
- Weather performance. No listing gives a weather rating or coating specification, beyond the single rust-resistant finish named by Lezbanz.
- Ground contact. No listing gives a slope limit, a soil or anchoring method, or how far the gate moves when a dog leans on it.
- Latch strength. No closure has a push or load figure, so the latch rating for a pushing dog is unknown.
- Width meaning. The item-width field is one panel in some listings and the total in others. The Malier unit count of 2 is not explained.
- Jump height. No listing gives a jump rating, and the sources we opened give no jump height for any dog.
- Bar layout. None of the seven says whether its panels have horizontal bars, which AKC flags for climbing dogs.
- Self-closing gates. The sources we opened do not address self-closing gates.
- Mounting hardware. The wall-mount listings do not state screw or anchor ratings.
- Snuowu height. The title and item fields show 32 inches, while the bullets also mention 24 inches, and the listing does not say which height ships.
Buying checklist
- Confirm the closure. Look for a double lock or latch in the listing, and add a lock or hook-and-eye if the latch does not hold.
- Check the height against your dog. Thirty inches is the AKC minimum for bigger breeds or jumpers, so 32 inches leaves 2 inches of margin.
- Compute the open width as panel width times panel count, and confirm it with the seller.
- Decide the mounting. Freestanding gates rely on the feet and pads, and the wall-mount options need screws and anchors that some listings do not include.
- Remove any climbing aid near the gate or fence, as AKC’s yard escape guide advises.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying the 30-inch gate for a jumper. Thirty inches is the AKC minimum for bigger breeds or jumpers, and both 30-inch listings sit exactly on it.
- Trusting the title width. The Paulmele 96-inch title and its 24-inch item width agree, but Snuowu’s 80-inch item width is a total. Read the field and the title together.
- Assuming a lock is included. The two No Pawblems listings describe a door but no lock, so check before you buy.
- Treating weight as strength. Malier is the lightest at 12.62 pounds, but AKC notes that lighter construction may not stand up to a large dog.
- Leaving climbing aids in place. AKC’s yard escape guide says a dog uses whatever is near the fence to climb over it.
Products in this comparison
1. Malier metal freestanding dog gate, 40 inches wide
Listing fields: metal; item 40 inches wide by 32 inches high; 12.62 pounds; unit count of 2; double lock; door swings 180 degrees and opens in both directions; foldable with 360-degree hinges; non-slip sheets and metal support feet; black or white; described for puppies, small and medium dogs. The title says outdoor and indoor dog fences.
Why it is here: It is the lightest gate in the outdoor set at 12.62 pounds, with a 32-inch height and a stated double lock.
Limit: The unit count of 2 is not explained, so the 40-inch width may describe one gate or two combined.
Skip if: your opening is wider than 40 inches, since 40 inches is the only width the listing states.
2. Paulmele heavy duty metal gate with door, 96 inches wide
Listing fields: all-metal; 4 mm thick wire in the bullets; item 24 inches wide by 32 inches high; 25.7 pounds; title says 96 inches extra wide and 32 inches tall with four panels; dual locking system; walk-through door; rear anti-slip rubber pads and metal support feet; indoor and outdoor use in the title and bullets.
Why it is here: Its title and item width agree: four panels at 24 inches each make 96 inches. It is also the only outdoor-set listing that states its wire thickness.
Limit: The bullets say the gate works reliably indoors and outdoors, but no weather rating or finish spec is given.
Skip if: you need to shorten the gate for a narrower gap, since the listing does not say whether a panel can be removed.
3. Snuowu full metal freestanding gate with door, 80 inches wide
Listing fields: metal; item 80 inches wide by 32 inches high; 21.5 pounds; closure type latch; double lock in the bullets; walk-through door opening both ways; 360-degree hinges for Z or U shapes; metal feet with rubber pads; 2-, 4- and 6-panel options; 24-inch and 32-inch heights mentioned; indoor and outdoor in the title; described for puppies, small and medium dogs.
Why it is here: It is the only outdoor-set listing whose bullets name both a 24-inch and a 32-inch height, so the height choice is visible on one page.
Limit: The title and item dimensions show 32 inches, while the bullets also mention 24 inches, and the listing does not say which height is supplied.
Skip if: your dog jumps and you have not confirmed with the seller which 32-inch version the listing describes.
4. No Pawblems freestanding dog gate, 30 inches tall, 78 inches wide
Listing fields: alloy steel; full metal in the bullets; item 78 inches wide by 30 inches high; 19.46 pounds; mounting type hardware mount in the spec, freestanding in the bullets; closure type hinged in the spec; door opens both ways; wall-mounting hardware included; 2-, 3-, 4-, 6- and 8-piece sets; indoor and outdoor in the title.
Why it is here: It is the only 30-inch gate in the set that is 78 inches wide, and its title says indoor and outdoor use.
Limit: The spec says hardware mount while the bullets describe a freestanding gate, and the listing does not say which applies.
Skip if: your dog jumps, because 30 inches is exactly the AKC minimum for bigger breeds or jumpers.
5. No Pawblems freestanding dog gate, 30 inches tall, 156 inches wide
Listing fields: alloy steel; item 156 inches wide by 30 inches high; 34.3 pounds; unit count of 6; pressure mount and wall mount; the 4- and 6-panel versions include wall hardware, which excludes screws and wall anchors; door opens both ways; indoor and outdoor in the title.
Why it is here: It is the widest gate in the outdoor set at 156 inches as listed, and it is the only listing that says plainly what the wall hardware leaves out.
Limit: At 30 inches it sits on the AKC minimum for bigger breeds or jumpers, and its weight of 34.3 pounds is the heaviest in the set.
Skip if: you need a single narrow gate, because the listing describes a six-unit set with a 156-inch width.
6. Lezbanz full metal freestanding gate, 4 panels, 80 inches wide
Listing fields: metal; item 20 inches wide by 32 inches high; 13 pounds; title says 80 inches wide and 32 inches tall with four panels; rust-resistant finish in the bullets; double-lock system with a 180-degree two-way swing door; 32- or 36-inch heights and 2 to 8 panels in the bullets; outdoor areas named in the bullets; described for puppies, small and medium-sized dogs.
Why it is here: It is the only outdoor-set listing that names a rust-resistant finish, and its 20-inch item width times four panels matches the 80-inch title.
Limit: The listing does not state what the finish is or how it is applied, and it describes puppies, small and medium-sized dogs.
Skip if: you need a gate described for large dogs, since this one is not.
7. Paulmele heavy duty metal gate, 4 panels, 80 inches wide
Listing fields: metal; item 20 inches wide by 32 inches high; 25.6 pounds; title says outdoor and indoor use, 80 inches wide and 32 inches tall with four panels; freestanding or wall mount; latch in the spec; dual-locking mechanism in the bullets; individual panels cannot be detached; wall-mount hardware included; reinforced metal feet with rear anti-slip rubber pads.
Why it is here: It is the only outdoor-set listing that says individual panels cannot be detached, so the set you buy is the set you get, and it includes wall-mount hardware for a fixed setup.
Limit: The spec lists the age range as Baby, even though the title and bullets describe a dog gate.
Skip if: you need to shorten the gate, since its panels cannot be detached.
FAQ
Are these gates weatherproof?
None of the listings gives a weather rating. All seven say indoor or outdoor use, and one names a rust-resistant finish. Ask the seller about the finish and the care notes, and bring the gate in or cover it if the maker advises it.
Do I have to screw an outdoor gate into the ground or a wall?
Not in every case. Several listings are freestanding with metal feet and pads. The two No Pawblems gates include wall hardware, and the six-unit listing says screws and anchors are not included. AKC advises that a gate be sturdy enough for the dog’s size and temperament, so watch how your own dog pushes on a freestanding gate before you rely on it.
How tall should an outdoor dog gate be?
AKC’s dog gate guide says bigger breeds or jumpers will probably need a gate at least 30 inches high. Every listing in this set is 30 or 32 inches, so 32 inches gives a 2-inch margin. Remove climbing aids near the gate, because a dog that climbs will use anything nearby.
Should an outdoor gate have a lock or a self-closing latch?
AKC advises making sure every latch stays secure, and adding a lock or hook-and-eye to any gate that blows open or a latch that does not hold. A double-gate airlock keeps the dog in when people come and go. Our sources do not address self-closing gates, so check that feature on the listing.
Which outdoor gate is lightest?
Malier is the lightest at 12.62 pounds, and Lezbanz at 13 pounds is next. AKC notes that lighter construction may not stand up to a large dog or a determined one, so weight alone does not show strength.
Bottom line
Choose the gate whose listing names a closure that holds, a height of 32 inches or more, and a width that matches your opening after you multiply panel width by panel count. If your dog jumps or climbs, skip the 30-inch gates and remove the climbing aids near the fence. If the listing does not name a lock, plan one.
For the indoor doorway and stair side of this search, see our general dog gate guide. For a yard shelter once the gate is set, see our heavy duty dog house picks for large dogs. For summer use in the yard, see our cooling mats for big dogs.
Sources
- AKC, What Type of Dog Fence Should I Have? (page updated Jan 12, 2026; opened 2026-10-21): fence strength, gate strength and height considerations.
- AKC, How to Help Prevent Your Dog From Escaping the Yard (page updated Oct 17, 2022; opened 2026-10-21): latch security, lock or hook-and-eye closures, airlock gates and climbing aids.
- AKC, Dog Gates 101: Choosing the Right Dog Gate for Your Home (page updated Aug 10, 2026; opened 2026-10-21): 30-inch guidance for bigger breeds or jumpers, sturdiness and lighter gates.
Affiliate disclosure: this site participates in the Amazon Associates program and earns from qualifying purchases made through the links above.