Best Dog Bags for Walks, Travel and Gear Storage

Best Dog Bags for Walks, Travel and Gear Storage

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A dog bag is not one product but three: a bag that carries your dog’s supplies, a bag that carries a small dog, and a bag that carries a bed or a kit with it. Search results mix them all, which is why the right dog bag for you starts with a question about what is going inside. This guide sorts seven listings by job, gives the listed sizes and weight limits, and tells you where each one stops being useful.

Quick answer

  • For supplies on a road trip or flight, the Rubyloo Original Doggy Bag is the one built around bowls, food containers, dividers and a poop bag dispenser.
  • For a small dog you carry, compare the BAGSMART tote (up to 13 lbs), the ONECUTE purse carrier, the PetAmi backpack (up to 18 lbs), and the Top tasta and ZaneSun carriers.
  • For a camping bed that ships with its own carry bag, the Coolaroo kit is the listing that includes one.
  • Always match the listed weight limit and interior size to your dog before you look at style.

Three kinds of dog bag, and which one you need

1. The supply bag

This bag never holds the dog. It holds food, bowls, a leash, wipes and waste bags so that you are not digging through a trunk. The point of a good supply bag is organization: dividers, separate food containers, pockets you can reach with one hand. Of the seven listings, only the Rubyloo is built as a pure supply bag, and its listing describes pockets, adjustable dividers, travel bowls, food containers and a built-in poop bag dispenser.

2. The carrier bag

A carrier bag holds a small dog. The listings here describe purse styles, a tote, a backpack and two soft-sided carriers. What matters is the weight limit, interior dimensions, ventilation, and the safety tether that clips to the dog’s collar or harness. Because the interior size is listed in inches, you can compare a bag against your dog’s length and height before ordering. Note that several of these listings are written for cats as well as small dogs, and the ZaneSun and Top tasta listings list their target species as cat in the spec data. They are included because their bullets also describe small dogs and puppies.

3. The bag that comes with another product

Some bags are part of a bundle. The Coolaroo On-The-Go kit is an elevated travel bed that comes with a matching carry bag. It is not a dog bag in the ordinary sense, but if your plan is camping or a beach day, the bed-plus-bag kit solves a problem a loose tote does not.

How to choose a dog bag

Weight and size come first

For carriers, the listed weight limits are the clearest filter. ZaneSun says it fits pets lighter than 8 lbs. BAGSMART says up to 13 lbs. Top tasta recommends up to 15 lb, and PetAmi says up to 18 lbs. ONECUTE gives dimensions of 13.6 by 6.5 by 10 inches in its title but no weight limit in the text I could read, so confirm that on the product page. The Top tasta listing adds a useful tip: do not choose a carrier by weight alone, look at your pet’s length and height too. The same logic applies to every carrier.

A safety tether is not optional

The BAGSMART, ONECUTE and PetAmi listings each describe an internal safety strap or tether, and the Top tasta lists an anti-escape safety buckle. A tether does not make a carrier a seat belt, but it is a basic way to stop a nervous dog from jumping out when the zipper is open. If a carrier lacks one, treat that as a reason to look elsewhere.

Structure and support

A carrier that collapses on the dog is miserable. The BAGSMART listing describes a built-in rigid frame and a solid polypropylene bottom plate. The PetAmi lists a structured frame. The ONECUTE has a hard bottom, and the Top tasta is supported by a steel ring. The ZaneSun is a lighter, foldable bag at 1.17 pounds. Heavier structure usually means a bag that holds its shape, and a lighter bag packs smaller.

How it is carried

Think about your hands and your back. A backpack such as the PetAmi spreads weight with padded straps and chest and waist buckles. The BAGSMART has soft puffy shoulder straps and a rear luggage belt that slides over a rolling suitcase handle. The Top tasta has an adjustable shoulder strap and a handle, and its two attachment loops can work as a dual harness or luggage strap per the listing. The Rubyloo slides over luggage handles as well.

Airline rules

Several listings use the phrase airline approved or TSA-ready. Treat that as the seller’s description. The PetAmi listing itself says to always confirm your airline’s current requirements before flying, which is the right instinct for any bag. Airlines set their own under-seat dimensions, and a listing cannot change them. If your dog has health or travel concerns, ask your vet before a flight.

Comparison table

Bag Type Listed size Listed pet limit Safety tether
Rubyloo Original Doggy Bag Supply bag 15 L x 13 H x 7 W inches Not applicable Not applicable
BAGSMART tote Tote carrier 16.5 x 11.8 x 7.9 inches Up to 13 lbs Yes, internal
ONECUTE purse carrier Purse carrier 13.6 L x 6.5 W x 10 H inches Not stated Yes, internal rope
PetAmi backpack Backpack carrier 12.5 L x 10.2 W x 16.3 H inches Up to 18 lbs Yes, strap and clip
Top tasta carrier Soft-sided carrier 17 x 11 x 11 inches Up to 15 lb Anti-escape buckle
ZaneSun carrier Soft-sided carrier 15.7 L x 7.5 W x 10.2 H inches Lighter than 8 lbs Not stated
Coolaroo On-The-Go kit Bed with carry bag Not stated Bed supports up to 150 lbs Not applicable

The seven dog bags, one by one

Rubyloo Original Doggy Bag: best supply bag for travel

The Rubyloo listing describes a travel bag for supplies measuring 15 by 13 by 7 inches, sized to fit under most airplane seats and to slide over luggage handles. Inside are adjustable dividers, pockets and a built-in poop bag dispenser. It comes with two BPA-free collapsible bowls (7 by 3 inches, 24 oz capacity) and two leak-proof food containers (7 by 5 inches) that each hold up to 8 cups of food. The material is water-resistant Oxford fabric with extra strong zippers. The listed recommended uses include camping, car trips, vet visits, daycare and an emergency go bag. It is the right pick if the problem you are solving is the crumpled grocery bag of dog gear in your trunk. If you also need waste bags, our look at bags to pick up dog poop and how long a pack lasts covers the refill side.

View on Amazon

BAGSMART Dog Purse Carrier: best structured tote for suitcase trips

This is a tote carrier for small pets up to 13 lbs, listed at 16.5 by 11.8 by 7.9 inches and 1.6 lbs. The listing describes a quilted fabric, a built-in rigid frame and solid PP bottom plate meant to stop sagging, anti-escape locking zippers and an internal safety tether. There are two zippered front pockets and an open side pocket for treats, leash and wipes, plus a rear luggage belt that fits over a rolling suitcase handle. The cushioned pad inside is removable and washable and can be used alone as a portable mat. An adjustable peek window lets you see or touch your dog. It comes in six muted colors per the listing. Choose it if your dog is truly small and you want a bag that looks like an ordinary tote.

View on Amazon

ONECUTE Dog Purse Carrier: best for pockets and a cotton feel

The ONECUTE is a cotton carrier with a collapsible shape, listed at 13.6 by 6.5 by 10 inches. The listing highlights five oversized pockets for travel essentials, a breathable mesh pocket design, a hard bottom for support, and an internal safety rope that threads through a chest or neck collar to prevent jumping out. It is aimed at small dogs, and the spec data names rabbits and cats too. The listing does not give a weight limit in the text I could read, so before you order, compare the size with your dog’s length and check the product page for the limit. For other carrier options sorted by weight and fasteners, see our guide to dog carrier bags for small dogs.

View on Amazon

PetAmi Dog Backpack Carrier: best for hands-free carrying

The PetAmi is the only backpack in the group. Listed at 12.5 by 10.2 by 16.3 inches, it is described as fitting large cats and small-to-medium dogs up to 18 lbs, and the spec data gives its weight as 2 pounds. The listing mentions a structured frame, two-way side entry, reinforced zippers, an interior safety strap with a buckle clip, a reflective strap and a sherpa-lined bed. Padded shoulder straps with chest and waist buckles spread the load, and side pockets hold treats, leash and waste bags. A collapsible bowl is included, and the carrier folds flat for storage. The listing tells buyers to measure before ordering and to confirm airline requirements before flying. It is a good fit for a walk or a hike where you need your hands free, and the highest pet limit among the carriers listed here.

View on Amazon

Top tasta Soft-Sided Carrier: biggest interior among the soft carriers

At 17 by 11 by 11 inches, this carrier is the roomiest of the soft-sided options. The listing recommends pets up to 15 lb and says it suits large and medium cats and small dogs. It describes polyester fabric on a steel ring support, nylon mesh on three sides and the top, metal zippers at the top and side entrances, an anti-escape safety buckle, and a detachable hand-washable wool bed. An adjustable shoulder strap and a handle are included, and two attachment loops can serve as a dual harness or luggage strap. The spec data lists a two-year warranty. Its target species field says cat, so read the size carefully if you are buying for a puppy, but the bullets do name small dogs.

View on Amazon

ZaneSun Soft-Sided Carrier: lightest and smallest

The ZaneSun listing gives 15.7 by 7.5 by 10.2 inches and a weight of 1.17 pounds, and says it fits pets lighter than 8 lbs, including puppies and small pets. It is made of 600D Oxford, which the listing calls waterproof and breathable, with a side pocket for toys, carrying handles and an adjustable padded shoulder strap. The travel bed is removable for washing, and the carrier folds. It is the narrowest bag here, so it suits a very small dog or a young puppy rather than a stocky small breed. Its spec data lists the target species as cat.

View on Amazon

Coolaroo On-The-Go Elevated Dog Bed Kit: the bed that comes with its own bag

This one is a bed, but the carry bag is part of the package, and that is why it earns a place when the question is gear storage. The listing describes a pop-up cot that folds in seconds, weighs 10.1 lbs and has a powder-coated steel frame. The knitted mesh is listed as supporting pets up to 150 lbs. A second cover in Pacific Blue is included. It will not carry food or leashes, but for camping, RVs, beach days and road trips it is a bundled solution, and it works as a companion to a supply bag like the Rubyloo.

View on Amazon

Which bag should you pick

  • Dog over about 18 lbs: none of the carriers here is listed for you. Choose the Rubyloo supply bag and let your dog walk.
  • Tiny dog or puppy under 8 lbs: ZaneSun, or any of the larger carriers if the interior suits your dog.
  • Small dog 8 to 13 lbs: BAGSMART, with ONECUTE as the alternative once you have checked its limit.
  • Small dog 13 to 18 lbs: PetAmi for the stated 18 lb limit, Top tasta for 15 lb.
  • Hiker or commuter: PetAmi for the backpack straps; BAGSMART if you want suitcase compatibility.
  • Camper: Coolaroo kit plus Rubyloo supply bag.

One listing in the data was left out on purpose: a two-compartment cat condo from porayhut. Its listing is written for a cat cage that folds into a shoulder bag, not for walks or dog gear.

Common mistakes with dog bags

  • Choosing by style first and weight limit second.
  • Forgetting that listing weights describe the pet, not the pet plus gear. Keep the bag light when carrying your dog.
  • Skipping the tether. Clip it every time before you open the zipper.
  • Assuming every airline accepts every bag. Check your airline’s current size rules before you travel.
  • Carrying a dog for long stretches in a bag it does not fit. If your dog cannot turn around or lie down, the bag is too small.
  • Using a carrier as a substitute for exercise. Carriers are for transport, not for a full day of confinement.

FAQ

What is the best dog bag for travel?

It depends on whether you are carrying supplies or your dog. For supplies, the Rubyloo bag has dividers, bowls, food containers and a waste bag dispenser. For a small dog, the PetAmi backpack, BAGSMART tote and Top tasta carrier each list a pet limit and a safety tether or buckle.

How do I know which size dog bag to buy?

Look at the listed interior size and the stated pet limit together. Measure your dog’s length and height, as the Top tasta listing advises, and do not rely on weight alone. If your dog is near the limit, size up or choose a different type of bag.

Can a dog bag go under an airplane seat?

Several listings say their bag fits under most seats, but airlines set their own rules. Confirm your airline’s current requirements before you fly, and talk to your vet if your dog has health concerns about travel.

Are purse-style dog carriers safe?

The listings describe features such as internal safety tethers, locking zippers and rigid bases. Those features help, but they do not remove all risk. Use the tether, keep the zipper closed while moving, and never leave a dog unattended in a bag or in a hot car.

Do I need a separate bag for poop bags and treats?

Not always. The Rubyloo has a built-in waste bag dispenser, and the carriers list side pockets for treats, leash and waste bags. If you only need a dispenser, see our comparison of poop bag dispensers by count and size.

Can I use these bags for a large dog?

The carriers here are listed for pets up to 18 lbs at most. For a larger dog, use a supply bag for gear and a cot or bed for rest, and ask your vet about safe ways to travel.

Bottom line

Decide what goes in the bag first. Gear goes in the Rubyloo, a small dog goes in a carrier whose listed weight limit and interior size fit, and a camping bed comes with the Coolaroo kit. Whatever you pick, use the tether, check your airline’s rules, and confirm any number the listing leaves out on the product page.

Similar Posts