Best Dog Carrier Backpacks for Hikes and Trips

Best Dog Carrier Backpacks for Hikes and Trips

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A dog carrier backpack lets you take a small or medium dog on a trail, a train or a plane cabin while keeping your hands free. Not every pack is built the same way. Some are enclosed bags with mesh windows, some leave the dog’s front legs and head open, and one clips to a bicycle. This guide compares eight listings using only the measurements, weight limits and features each listing states, and it points out where a listing leaves something out so you can check it before you buy.

Quick answer

  • For small pets up to 18 lb in an enclosed bag: the PetAmi and Petsfit listings.
  • For an open-front pack for medium dogs: LITTLE CHONK Maxine One or FoxFocus.
  • For a pack that doubles as a gear bag for your own trail day: the Kurgo G-Train.
  • For bike rides: the BABEYER bike basket that also converts to a backpack.
  • Always measure your dog and compare to the listing, and confirm airline rules before flying.

How to choose a dog carrier backpack

Enclosed or open-front?

Enclosed carriers zip the dog inside a ventilated shell. They suit nervous dogs, cabin travel and crowded places because the dog is contained. Open-front packs hold the dog in a harness-style pouch with the head, front legs or both outside. The LITTLE CHONK and FoxFocus listings are of this second type. They can give a dog more view and legroom, but they ask for more careful measuring and fitting, and they depend on straps and buckles rather than a closed zipper.

Weight and size limits

The most important number is the one the listing gives for your dog. The PetAmi and Petsfit enclosed bags list up to 18 pounds. The Texsens listing says up to 15 pounds for dogs and up to 18 pounds for cats. FoxFocus lists dogs under 28 pounds, and LITTLE CHONK gives back length and chest girth ranges rather than a weight. BABEYER lists a 15 pound maximum. The Kurgo listing, in the text provided, does not state a weight limit, so check the page before relying on it.

Measure first

Measure your dog’s back length, chest girth and, for open-front packs, neck size. LITTLE CHONK lists a back length of 14 to 19 inches and chest girth of 19 to 30 inches. FoxFocus lists a back length of 18 to 19.5 inches, chest girth up to 29 inches and neck size of 13 to 16 inches. Do not guess from breed alone, as both listings warn.

Ventilation and visibility

Look for mesh panels, windows and a way to check on your dog. The Kurgo lists breathable mesh sides and roll-up mesh windows, the PetAmi lists multiple mesh panels with a top window, and BABEYER lists four mesh windows.

Safety tether and closures

Internal safety leashes that clip to your dog’s collar or harness are listed on the PetAmi, Petsfit, BABEYER and FoxFocus products. Lockable or reinforced zippers are listed on the PetAmi and Petsfit bags. These features help prevent a dog from jumping out when the bag is opened.

Carrying comfort for you

Padded shoulder straps, chest buckles and hip or waist support spread the load. The Kurgo lists supportive hip belts and a ventilated back panel, Petsfit lists a waist support design plus shoulder and chest buckles, and Texsens lists chest buckles to keep the straps from slipping.

Comparison table

Listing Style Pet size noted Listed dimensions Notable features
Kurgo G-Train Enclosed hiking pack Not stated 19.69 x 17.32 x 4.33 in Laptop compartment, hip belt, armorsole base
PetAmi expandable (navy) Enclosed, expandable Up to 18 lb 12.5 x 10.2 x 16.3 in Expandable back panel, poop bag dispenser
PetAmi (black) Enclosed, structured Up to 18 lb 12.5 x 10.2 x 16.3 in Two-side entry, sherpa bed
Petsfit Enclosed, structured Up to 18 lb 13.5 x 12.5 x 17.5 in Waist support, side pockets
LITTLE CHONK Maxine One Open-front Back 14-19 in, chest 19-30 in 14.5 x 5 x 22.5 in Rigid back, four grab handles, tail port
Texsens bubble Enclosed, mesh Dogs to 15 lb, cats to 18 lb 12.6 x 11.4 x 16.5 in Three PVC mesh sides, chest buckles
BABEYER bike basket Handlebar basket / backpack Small dogs, up to 15 lb 12.5 x 10.5 x 12.5 in Four doors, four mesh windows
FoxFocus Open-front Under 28 lb 13.3 x 9.4 x 24.4 in Water-resistant 900D Oxford, belly buckle

The eight listings in detail

Kurgo G-Train Pet Carrier Backpack: the one that carries your gear too

The Kurgo G-Train is the outlier in this group because it is designed around the human’s hike as much as the pet’s. The listing describes a spacious pet compartment alongside a padded laptop compartment, so it can serve for commuting as well as trails. For comfort it lists supportive hip belts, a ventilated back panel and breathable mesh sides. The base is described as a waterproof armorsole, and the pack adds roll-up mesh windows, two water bottle sleeves and stow-away straps.

Kurgo advertises a lifetime warranty on its products, which is worth reading about on the page. The text provided does not give a weight limit or a pet size, and the pet type field lists both cats and dogs, so confirm the capacity before you buy. If you hike with a small dog and want one bag for everything, this is the most hiking-oriented option here.

View on Amazon

PetAmi Expandable Backpack Carrier (navy): extra room when you need it

This PetAmi listing is built for small to medium pets up to 18 pounds, with an interior of 12.5 by 10.2 by 16.3 inches. The back panel expands to give more space, and the listing says this can reduce anxiety on long trips. It lists multiple mesh panels with a top front window, secure buckle locks, an internal safety leash and reflective straps. It also lists a built-in poop bag dispenser, a front storage pocket and a collapsible design. Sherpa-lined bedding is included.

The listing calls the bag airline approved. Airlines set and change their own rules, so use that as a starting point and confirm size limits with your carrier. A good fit for a small dog that will ride in a car, on public transit or in a cabin.

View on Amazon

PetAmi Dog Backpack Carrier (black): structured frame, two-way entry

The second PetAmi has the same stated interior dimensions and the same 18 pound limit, but it takes a different approach. A structured frame keeps the bag from collapsing, and dual side-entry zippers let you load and unload your dog from either side in tight spaces like a car seat or airplane cabin. The listing mentions reinforced zippers, an interior safety strap with a buckle clip, a thick sherpa-lined bed and 600D polyester construction. The bag folds flat when you are not using it, and the listing gives the weight as 2 pounds.

Choose this one over the expandable version if you prefer firm sides and the convenience of side entry. It also suits cats, as the listing says large cats and small-to-medium dogs fit.

View on Amazon

Petsfit Dog and Cat Backpack Carrier: waist support for longer carries

Petsfit lists a slightly larger interior at 13.5 by 12.5 by 17.5 inches, again for pets up to 18 pounds (8 kg). The newer version highlights a decompression design with an upgraded back and increased waist protection, along with shoulder straps and waist and chest buckles. The shell is described as reinforced so it will not collapse on the pet, and the zipper is lockable with a built-in safety belt. It uses 600D Oxford cloth, includes a removable mat and has double side pockets. It is listed at 3.73 pounds, which is notably heavier than the PetAmi bags.

If you plan to walk with the bag for longer stretches, the waist strap is the key difference. The extra weight and size are the price of that structure.

View on Amazon

LITTLE CHONK Maxine One: the rigid open-front carrier for medium dogs

The Maxine One is sized by measurement, not by weight. The listing gives a maximum back length of 14 to 19 inches and chest girth of 19 to 30 inches, and suggests breeds similar in size to Cocker Spaniels, Beagles, Shiba Inus, Miniature Schnauzers and small terriers. A rigid construction is said to keep the dog’s back straighter. There are tubular grab handles on all four sides, a tail port, and a soft reinforced neck collar with reflective detail that attaches to the dog’s own collar. Listed size is 14.5 by 5 by 22.5 inches at 2.22 pounds.

This is the right type if you want your dog facing forward with the head outside the pack. The listing also tells you to measure and check the size guide, which is good advice for any open-front design.

View on Amazon

Texsens Innovative Traveler Bubble Backpack: mesh sides for visibility

Texsens lists dimensions of 12.6 by 11.4 by 16.5 inches and says it is for dogs up to 15 pounds or cats up to 18 pounds, which is a lower dog limit than the PetAmi and Petsfit. Three sides are PVC mesh, aimed at airflow and visibility, and chest buckles are meant to keep the straps from slipping. A removable mat makes cleaning easier, and the listing calls the carrier scratch-resistant and sturdy. The pet type field in the text provided lists cats, so this is a pack that suits both species but is more clearly a cat-and-small-dog design.

It is a reasonable pick for a lightweight small dog or a cat that you also plan to carry. Skip it if your dog is near 18 pounds.

View on Amazon

BABEYER Dog Bike Basket: the bike-first option

BABEYER is the only listing designed to mount on a bicycle. A quick-buckle system and strong Velcro on the back are said to fix the carrier to the handlebar, and an inside safety tether clips to the dog’s harness. It has four doors that open from four directions, four mesh windows for ventilation, a bottom fleece pad, a side that expands for extra room and a pocket on the left. A top flap can cover the dog if it rains. The listing also says it can work as a carrier backpack, with shoulder straps included.

The listing gives a maximum weight of 15 pounds, a size of 12.5 by 10.5 by 12.5 inches and a warranty of half a year, so it suits small dogs only. Choose it if bicycle rides are the main use and the backpack mode is a bonus.

View on Amazon

FoxFocus Waterproof Dog Backpack Carrier: open-front with a weather coating

FoxFocus lists a size of 13.3 by 9.4 by 24.4 inches and is designed for dogs under 28 pounds with a back length of 18 to 19.5 inches, chest girth up to 29 inches and a neck size of 13 to 16 inches. Safety features include an internal safety leash that connects to the collar, an adjustable belly buckle and a double zipper closure. The open-front layout is described as giving the dog leg room, with breathable mesh and 5mm pearl cotton for airflow and comfort. The padded back panel and adjustable straps spread the weight.

The body is 900D Oxford fabric with a scratch-resistant and water-resistant coating, and the listing says it shields the dog from rain. Note the difference between water-resistant and fully waterproof, and read the page if rain is a concern. At about 2.03 pounds, it is lighter than Petsfit and designed for a larger dog than the 18 pound bags.

View on Amazon

Who each style suits

Cabin travel and city transit

Enclosed bags such as the two PetAmi models and the Petsfit give you containment and padding. Check your airline’s current carrier requirements before buying, since the listing text is not a guarantee.

Hiking

The Kurgo is the one built around a hiking pack format, with hip belts, water bottle sleeves and a ventilated back. For larger dogs that would otherwise need to be carried only occasionally, the FoxFocus and LITTLE CHONK open-front packs offer a different carry.

Cycling

BABEYER is the only listing built for a handlebar mount, with a tether and a rain flap. Because the dog’s stability matters on a bike, make sure the dog is comfortable in the basket before a ride.

Dogs that get nervous

An enclosed bag with a top window or mesh sides lets a nervous dog see out without being fully exposed. Introduce the bag at home first, with treats, and keep early trips short.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Choosing by breed name. Use the measurements and weight the listing asks for.
  • Skipping the safety tether. Use the internal leash when the bag has one.
  • Carrying a dog at the very top of the listed limit for hours. Plan breaks.
  • Assuming “airline approved” means every airline. Verify with yours.
  • Buying an open-front pack without a fit check at home.

Related reading

If a pack is not right for your dog, look at our guide to the dog sling carrier. A cushion helps too, and our comparison of a dog carrier pad covers liners by listed size.

FAQ

What size dog fits in a carrier backpack?

That depends on the listing. The enclosed bags here list pets up to 15 to 18 pounds, and FoxFocus lists dogs under 28 pounds. LITTLE CHONK uses back length and chest girth instead of a weight.

Can my dog ride in a backpack on a plane?

Some listings call themselves airline approved, but airlines have their own rules and these change. Check the current size and pet policy of your airline before you fly.

How do I get my dog used to a carrier backpack?

Leave it open at home with treats inside, then practice short sessions. Increase the time slowly. If your dog shows signs of distress, ask a trainer or your vet.

Is an open-front pack safer than an enclosed bag?

Neither is automatically safer. Open-front packs depend on correct sizing and strap fit, while enclosed bags depend on zippers and a secure tether. Follow the measuring guidance on the listing.

Can I use a carrier backpack while hiking?

Yes, some are designed for it, such as the Kurgo G-Train. Make sure your dog is a good size for the pack, plan breaks, and let your dog walk when possible.

Can a backpack carrier be used on a bike?

Only the BABEYER listing is described as a handlebar basket. Other backpacks should not be assumed to attach to a bicycle.

Bottom line

Start with your dog’s measurements and weight, then pick the style that matches how you travel. Enclosed bags like the PetAmi and Petsfit models suit small pets up to 18 pounds, the Kurgo suits hikers who want a multi-purpose pack, the LITTLE CHONK and FoxFocus suit medium dogs in open-front carriers, and the BABEYER suits cyclists. If a listing does not state a limit, check it on the page before you buy.

Similar Posts