Long Line Dog Leash: 8 Listings Compared by Length
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A long line dog leash is a training line, longer than a standard leash, that lets a dog range while you hold the other end. For recall practice, the AKC describes a path from a 6-foot leash to a 20-foot or 30-foot longline. The size each listing gives for its pick runs from 15 to 32 feet.

This guide suits an owner who wants a line for recall work in open ground. It covers what each listing states, what the pages we opened say about control and safety, and what the listings leave out. The listing figures were recorded on 2026-10-21, and Amazon listings can change after that date.
Quick answer
- For recall practice, the AKC says to start on a 6-foot leash, then move to a 20-foot or 30-foot longline and add distance slowly.
- Keep the line in your hand. The AKC says the line is for control, not for reeling the dog in, so gather the slack as you walk up and cue again.
- All eight listings state a size of at least 15 feet in their title or size fields. None was dropped, and none is ranked above another.
- Do not leave a dog on a long line unattended. None of the pages we opened supports that use, and one listing title names a tie-out use this guide does not endorse.
What the pages we opened say
Three pages were opened for this guide on 2026-10-21. None covers long lines in full, so each one supports only the point it makes.
Recall steps: AKC
The AKC recall guide, updated March 30, 2026, starts with recall indoors and then moves outside on a 6-foot leash. Only after that does it introduce a 20-foot or 30-foot longline training leash, and it says to give more distance slowly over time.
The page also says the line is not there to reel the dog in when the dog ignores you. It says to gather the leash as you walk closer and try the cue again. That control point is the one this guide relies on.
The same guide warns against letting the dog roam free once training moves outside, and it says to let the dog off leash only in a safe environment. Read those warnings alongside the longline steps, because they cover the same stage of training.
Gear and identification: ASPCA
The ASPCA’s walking tips, dated June 18, 2024, say to always use a leash and collar, with proper identification on the dog, including a microchip. That page does not mention long lines, so it supports the basic gear, not the length.
Pulling and ice: Cornell
Cornell’s winter safety page shows no publication date. It suggests a front-clipping harness if a dog pulls on leash, and it refers pulling questions to a veterinarian or an experienced positive-reinforcement trainer. It also says to avoid expandable leashes on icy ground because of the slip risk. The page does not discuss long lines, so that warning covers expandable leashes, not the lines in this guide.
None of the three pages gives a length for a dog’s size, a breaking strength for a line or clip, or guidance on a long line left on a dog while you are away. Those gaps set the limits of this guide.
Length, width and weight
Length is the number that matters most. Each listing gives one length in a size or item-length field, and several titles name more lengths. This guide treats each pick as its own size, the one in that listing’s size or item-length field. Where a listing names more lengths, the pick says so and does not give those lengths a separate pick.
Converting feet to inches
Feet multiplied by 12 gives inches. A 30-foot line is 360 inches, which is the item length the Hi Kiss listing gives for its 30-foot size.
How far a line reaches
Hold a line at one point and the dog can reach a circle whose radius equals the line length, if nothing blocks the way. The area of that circle is pi, about 3.1416, times the length squared. A 15-foot line gives about 707 square feet, a 30-foot line about 2,827, and the 32-foot Dog and Field line about 3,217.
These are ideal figures for open ground with the handler standing still. Trees, fences, a moving handler and a dog that does not stay taut all change the real area. Treat the numbers as a way to compare lengths, not as a promise of coverage.
The listed specs, side by side
| Pick | Length | Width | Material | Closure | Item weight | Breed-size field | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hi Kiss | 30 ft (title lists 15, 20, 30, 50 and 100 ft) | 0.75 in | Nylon | Snap | 5.3 oz | Medium | not stated |
| NIMBLE (recall lead) | 30 ft (listing names 5, 10, 16, 30 and 50 ft) | 0.5 in | Polyvinyl chloride (bullets: flex poly-coated nylon) | Snap | 14.4 oz | Small | not stated |
| NIMBLE (hook and loop) | 30 ft (listing names 5, 10, 15, 30 and 50 ft) | 0.4 in (a bullet gives about 0.6 in) | PVC (bullets: PVC coated nylon webbing) | Hook and loop | 1.04 lb (16.6 oz) | All | One month |
| Tairro | 30 ft (title lists 6, 10, 15, 30 and 50 ft) | not stated | Metal, nylon, stainless steel, zinc | Hook and loop | 1.26 lb (20.2 oz) | All | not stated |
| Viper | 15 ft (1/2 in x 15 ft; item length 180 in) | 0.5 in | Brass (field); Biothane coated webbing (bullets) | Snap | 10.8 oz | Small | not stated |
| Joytale | 30 ft (size and item length) | 0.38 in | Metal, neoprene, nylon | Snap | 1.23 lb (19.7 oz) | Medium | not stated |
| Taglory | 30 ft (title lists 15, 30, 50 and 66 ft) | 0.31 in | Nylon | Hook and loop | 1.03 lb (16.5 oz) | Large, Medium, Small | not stated |
| Dog and Field | 32 ft (item length; size field reads 5 to 10 meters) | not stated | Super soft nylon (title: soft braided nylon rope) | Snap | 9.3 oz | Small | not stated |
Cells say not stated where the listing gives no value. Each figure is the listing’s own. Where a listing gives two values, both appear in the cell or in the limit of the pick, and the conflicts section explains them.
Ounces per foot
Ounces per foot is the item weight in ounces divided by the listed length in feet. Pounds multiplied by 16 gives ounces. The figure shows how much each listed foot of line weighs. It does not show breaking strength or how the line feels in the hand. The Tairro listing bundles a poop bag and does not say whether its weight includes that bag, so its leash-only figure could be lower.
| Pick | Length (ft) | Item weight (oz) | Ounces per foot | Idealized circle at that length (sq ft) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hi Kiss | 30 | 5.30 | 0.18 | 2,827 |
| NIMBLE (recall lead) | 30 | 14.40 | 0.48 | 2,827 |
| NIMBLE (hook and loop) | 30 | 16.64 | 0.55 | 2,827 |
| Tairro | 30 | 20.16 | 0.67 | 2,827 |
| Viper | 15 | 10.80 | 0.72 | 707 |
| Joytale | 30 | 19.68 | 0.66 | 2,827 |
| Taglory | 30 | 16.48 | 0.55 | 2,827 |
| Dog and Field | 32 | 9.30 | 0.29 | 3,217 |
Idealized circle area is pi times the length squared, in square feet. Both columns are arithmetic on the listed figures.
Width
Listed widths run from 0.31 inch on the Taglory line to 0.75 inch on the Hi Kiss line. Width does not tell you how much a line will hold. Tairro gives no width, and the Dog and Field item dimensions field reads 11.81 by 7.87 inches, which is not a rope width.
How we chose
The eight listings below were recorded on 2026-10-21. The rule for keeping one was simple: its title or size fields had to show a line of about 10 feet or more. All eight passed, so none was dropped.
Two picks come from the same brand, NIMBLE. They are separate listings with separate codes, and neither listing says it is a length variant of the other. For that reason they are two picks, and each pick discusses only its own listing’s lengths.
The picks are not a ranking. The order below follows the order in which the listings were recorded.
Product picks
Each pick gives its reason, a skip condition and one limit, all drawn from its own listing. The link opens the listing on Amazon, where the current size and details are final.
1. Hi Kiss 30 ft nylon training leash
Why it made the list. The size field reads 30 feet and the item length reads 360 inches. The line is nylon, 0.75 inch wide, with a snap closure and a swivel clip that the listing says resists twisting. At 5.3 ounces it is the lightest of the eight per foot, at about 0.18 ounce.
Skip if: Skip if you want a padded handle or reflective stitching, because the listing names neither.
Limit: The listing gives no load limit, so the strength of its snap and webbing is not established here.
2. NIMBLE 30 ft waterproof recall lead with snap closure
Why it made the list. The size field reads 30 feet, and the listing names 5, 10, 16, 30 and 50 feet as options. It is 0.5 inch wide with a snap closure, and the listing says sand does not cling to it. At 14.4 ounces it works out to about 0.48 ounce per foot.
Skip if: Skip if you need reflective material, because the listing says nothing about visibility.
Limit: Its breed-size field reads Small, while the title says it fits large, medium and small dogs.
3. NIMBLE 30 ft waterproof training leash with hook and loop closure
Why it made the list. Both the size and item-length fields read 30 feet, and the listing names 5, 10, 15, 30 and 50 feet. The closure is hook and loop, and the bullets describe PVC coated nylon webbing. The item weighs 1.04 pounds, about 0.55 ounce per foot. It is the only one of the eight with a stated warranty, which is one month.
Skip if: Skip if you need a snap closure, or one width you can rely on, because this listing gives two.
Limit: Its item dimension field reads 60 inches long, which contradicts its 30-foot size, so confirm the length on the product page before buying.
4. Tairro 30 ft reflective rope training leash
Why it made the list. The title lists 6, 10, 15, 30 and 50 feet, and the size field reads 30 feet. The listing says the line has reflective stitching along its length and swivel hooks that turn 360 degrees. Its materials are metal, nylon, stainless steel and zinc. The item weighs 1.26 pounds, about 0.67 ounce per foot.
Skip if: Skip if you need a stated width or a snap closure, since the listing gives neither.
Limit: The listing does not say whether its weight includes the poop bag it bundles, so the leash-only figure per foot could be lower.
5. Viper Biothane 15 ft working tracking lead
Why it made the list. The size field reads 1/2 inch by 15 feet, and the item length reads 180 inches, the shortest of the eight. The bullets describe Biothane coated webbing with brass hardware, and the listing says the line is made in the USA. At 10.8 ounces it weighs about 0.72 ounce per foot, the highest of the set.
Skip if: Skip if you need more than 15 feet of line for recall practice, or any tie-out use.
Limit: The listing says the line is not chew-proof and must not be used for tie-out.
6. Joytale 30 ft padded-handle yard and recall leash
Why it made the list. The size and item-length fields read 30 feet. The highlights name a removable padded handle, a locking carabiner and reflective webbing. The bullets describe 3/8 inch rope, and the width field reads 0.38 inch. Materials are metal, neoprene and nylon, and the item weighs 1.23 pounds, about 0.66 ounce per foot.
Skip if: Skip if your plan is a yard tie-out with nobody nearby, because the title names a tie-out use and none of the pages we opened supports leaving a dog that way.
Limit: Its length fields disagree: one bullet describes 15 to 65 feet of space, and the product dimensions field reads 393.7 inches.
7. Taglory 30 ft padded-handle reflective training leash
Why it made the list. The size field reads 30 feet, and the title lists 15, 30, 50 and 66 feet. The width field reads 0.31 inch, which matches the 5/16 inch in the bullets. The listing describes reflective stitching, a foam handle and a metal hook that turns 360 degrees. It is nylon and weighs 1.03 pounds, about 0.55 ounce per foot.
Skip if: Skip if you need a snap closure, since this listing names hook and loop.
Limit: Its target species field reads Pig, a listing error for a dog product, so this guide relies on its other fields.
8. Dog and Field 32 ft 2-in-1 long line
Why it made the list. The item length reads 32 feet, the longest of the eight. The listing says the line can be shortened to a 16-foot slip leash, and it names a trigger clip. The title describes a soft braided nylon rope. At 9.3 ounces it is about 0.29 ounce per foot, the second-lightest per foot in the set.
Skip if: Skip if you need a rope width or diameter, since the listing states neither.
Limit: Its size field reads 5 to 10 meters, while the title and item length say 32 feet, so confirm the length before buying.
Using a long line with supervision
The AKC progression depends on a handler in charge. Start on a 6-foot leash, then move to a 20-foot or 30-foot longline, and add distance gradually. The page describes the longline as one stage of training that comes after the 6-foot leash, not as a stand-in for supervision. For the shorter everyday stage, our Joytale 6-foot reflective leash post covers one 6-foot option.
The ASPCA’s gear advice, a leash and a collar with proper identification and a microchip, applies on any walk, including a long line walk. A longer line does not replace any of it.
Pulling is a separate problem. The Cornell page suggests a front-clipping harness for a dog that pulls and points to a veterinarian or a trainer for direct help. Nothing in the pages we opened says a longer line stops pulling, so do not expect the length to fix it. If you are weighing a fixed line against a retractable one, our retractable dog leash picks by dog size cover the other side of that choice.
Tie-outs and unattended use are the gap in every page we opened. The Joytale listing title names a yard tie-out, and the Viper listing says its line is not to be used for tie-out. None of the three pages says a dog can be left on any line while you are away, so this guide does not recommend that use. If your plan includes time out of sight, ask a veterinarian or certified trainer whether your dog is suited to it.
Buying checklist
- Length. Use the size or item-length field, not the title list. If the title names several lengths, confirm which one you are buying on the product page.
- Width. Take the width from the listing. Tairro and Dog and Field give none, so confirm the rope or webbing size before buying.
- Closure and clip. Snap or hook and loop, as the field says. Check that the clip suits the collar or harness you already own.
- Handle. Padded handles are named for Joytale and Taglory. Other listings describe a grip or handle in general terms, or none.
- Reflective material. Named for Tairro, Joytale and Taglory. None of the listings gives a visibility distance.
- Weight. Compare ounces per foot from the table, and remember that it is arithmetic on the listing, not a strength test.
- Warranty. Only the NIMBLE hook-and-loop listing states one, a one-month warranty. Treat the rest as not stated.
- Breed size. Read the breed field next to the bullets. Three fields disagree with their titles or bullets, so confirm the fit on the product page.
Mistakes to avoid
- Skipping the 6-foot stage. The AKC starts recall on a 6-foot leash before any longline, so a 30-foot line on day one skips the step the page describes first.
- Treating the title’s length list as the product. The Taglory title lists 15, 30, 50 and 66 feet, but its size field reads 30 feet.
- Reading width as strength. The thinnest listed line is 0.31 inch, and the listings give no breaking strength to compare, only two pull-force claims that this guide does not confirm.
- Using a line as a tie-out. The Viper listing says not for tie-out, and the Joytale title names a yard tie-out, which none of the pages we opened supports for unattended use.
- Treating a chew claim as a promise. The Viper listing says its line is not chew-proof, and the NIMBLE recall lead says it is not a chew item.
What we could not verify
Several gaps limit what this guide can say. Each one is listed here, not filled in with an estimate.
- Breaking strength and clip strength. Only the two NIMBLE listings give a pull-force figure, 600 to 750 pounds in one and 600 pounds in the other. The pages we opened give no test method for those figures, so this guide does not confirm them.
- Length fields that disagree. The NIMBLE hook-and-loop listing has a 60-inch item dimension against a 30-foot size. The Joytale listing has a 393.7-inch product dimension against a 30-foot item length. The Dog and Field listing has a 5 to 10 meter size field against 32 feet.
- Other conflicting fields. The Viper material field reads brass while the bullets describe Biothane. The Taglory target species field reads pig.
- Breed-size fields. Three fields disagree with their titles or bullets: the Hi Kiss, NIMBLE recall lead and Joytale listings.
- Reflective visibility. Three listings say they are reflective. None of the pages we opened says how far a reflective line can be seen, so visibility is not confirmed.
- Unattended and tie-out use. No page we opened supports either use.
- Length by dog size. No page gives a line length for a given dog weight, and the breed-size fields vary from listing to listing.
- Durability. Durability and chew claims are the listings’ own, and no page we opened confirms any of them. For a related look at chewing and leashes, see our dog leash and chewing guide.
FAQ
Which length should I start with?
Start on a 6-foot leash, repeat the steps there, and then graduate to a 20-foot or 30-foot longline, as the AKC describes. Of the eight picks, the 30-foot and 32-foot lines match the longer step, and the 15-foot Viper line is shorter than either.
Can I leave my dog on a long line while I step away?
No page we opened supports that. The AKC describes the line as a way to keep control while you train, and it says to let the dog off leash only in a safe environment. Keep the line in your hand, and ask a veterinarian or certified trainer whether your dog is suited to any tie-out.
How much ground does a 30-foot line cover?
In an idealized circle with the handler standing still, a 30-foot line reaches about 2,827 square feet, using pi times the radius squared. Trees, fences and a moving handler change the real area, so the figure shows scale and is not a promise of coverage.
Does a thinner long line mean a weaker one?
The listings do not say. The thinnest listed width is 0.31 inch on the Taglory line, but width does not show how much a line will hold. Only the two NIMBLE listings give a pull-force figure, and this guide does not confirm it.
What should I do if my dog pulls on a long line?
The Cornell page suggests considering a front-clipping harness for a dog that pulls, and it points to a veterinarian or an experienced positive-reinforcement trainer for direct help. None of the pages we opened says a longer line stops pulling.
Bottom line
For recall practice, follow the AKC steps: a 6-foot leash first, then a 20-foot or 30-foot longline, with distance added slowly. Among these eight listings, the 30-foot and 32-foot picks give the most reach, and the 15-foot Viper line is the shortest. Check the size, width and closure on the listing before you buy, keep the line in your hand, and do not leave a dog on it unattended.
Sources
- AKC: How to Train Your Dog to Come When Called: Step-by-Step Recall. Updated March 30, 2026. Opened 2026-10-21.
- ASPCA: 9 Tips to Get the Most Out of Walks with Your Dog!. Dated June 18, 2024. Opened 2026-10-21.
- Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, Riney Canine Health Center: Winter safety tips. No publication date shown. Opened 2026-10-21.
This page contains Amazon affiliate links. We earn from qualifying purchases made through them.