lip lead dog leash

Slip Lead Dog Leash: 8 Listings Compared by Size and Fit

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A slip lead dog leash suits a well-trained dog that will not slip out of a loop, and the eight listings compared here differ in length, width and dog size. It is a single leash that becomes a collar when the loop goes over the dog’s head or neck, with no separate collar. The AKC describes it as a loop collar combined with a leash. This guide compares the listings using only the specifications each one states, so you can check length, width, closure and dog size before you buy. The listings do not state a loop size, and that gap is covered below. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.

Quick answer

  • The AKC calls a slip lead handy in many situations, but only for well-trained dogs that are not likely to back out of the loop.
  • Check the dog size field and any stated weight range first. Only two listings give a weight range: Mendota says 50 pounds and under, and iYoShop says 35 to 120 pounds.
  • No source we opened says a slip lead is safe to leave on a dog that nobody is watching, so this guide advises removing the loop whenever the dog is unsupervised.
  • Several listings disagree with themselves on length, width, material or dog size. Confirm the figure on the item page before you order.

What a slip lead is and how the loop works

For this guide, a slip lead is a loop leash that tightens over the head or neck without a clip. Each listing describes a loop that slips on and off the dog. Three listings say the loop tightens when the dog pulls, and two of them add that it loosens when the behavior is corrected. Those are claims made by the listings. The AKC and university pages we opened do not confirm that tightening behavior for any specific product.

Purdue Extension’s collar leaflet draws a line that matters here. It says a martingale collar’s loop reduces the chance of choking or trachea damage, while a choke collar has no mechanical barrier to choking. Purdue is writing about choke chains and pinch collars, not rope or nylon loops, so this guide does not treat the two as the same. No source we opened compares a nylon or rope slip lead with a chain choke collar directly.

Some listings describe a stopper. The Pawtocol listing says its leather stopper holds the loop in place to prevent over-tightening. The HOWGO listing describes an aluminum stopper and an adjustable rubber stopper that, it says, removes any looseness in the rope. Those are listing claims. The sources we opened do not address stopper design, so this guide cannot say whether any stopper limits how tight a loop can get.

Listed specs side by side

Every figure below comes from the listing’s specification fields unless the cell says otherwise. A cell that reads not stated means the listing gives no figure for that item. Item weight is the weight of the leash itself. None of the eight listings gives a breaking strength or load limit, so the weight column should not be read as a strength figure.

Listing ASIN Stated length Stated width Item weight Closure type Dog breed size field Stated weight range Material field
Mendota Pet, tan B000LQ62Y6 72 in (6 ft) 0.38 in 2.39 oz Buckle Small 50 lb and under (bullet) Polypropylene
Lynxking, black B07D7P78SM 60 in (5 ft) 0.5 in 4.6 oz Snap Large not stated Polypropylene
Lynxking, blue B07D7V2G1J 60 in (5 ft) 0.5 in 5.3 oz Snap Large not stated Polypropylene
Pawtocol, pink B0HDSGWW48 5.9 ft (size field); 0.98 in (dimension field) 0.75 in (dimension field); 1/2 in (title) 6.2 oz Buckle Small not stated Nylon
Pawtocol, black B0HDS17JMN 5.9 ft (size field); 0.98 in (dimension field) 0.75 in (dimension field); 1/2 in (title) 6.4 oz Buckle Small not stated Nylon
HOWGO, black B0D6G27DNH 70.78 in; 66 in (display field); 5.5 ft (size field) 0.3 in 3.52 oz Pull-On Large, Medium, Small not stated Aluminum, Nylon
BOOEUDI, black B09T3KS313 72 in (6 ft) 0.5 in 5.9 oz Snap Small not stated Nylon
iYoShop, black B07PKGSM95 72 in (6 ft) 0.5 in 7.4 oz Pull-On Medium 35 to 120 lb (size field) Metal, Nylon

Formula. Length in feet equals listed inches divided by 12. Mendota: 72 ÷ 12 = 6.0 ft. Lynxking: 60 ÷ 12 = 5.0 ft. HOWGO: 66 ÷ 12 = 5.5 ft, which matches its title and size field, while 70.78 ÷ 12 = 5.9 ft does not. Weight in pounds equals ounces divided by 16, so the 7.4-ounce iYoShop weighs 0.46 pound (7.4 ÷ 16).

Where a listing’s own fields disagree, this guide shows both figures and does not pick one. The conflicts are:

  • HOWGO gives 70.78 inches in one field, 66 inches in another, and 5.5 feet in its size field.
  • Pawtocol’s title says 1/2 inch wide, but its dimension field gives 0.75 inch. Its title says large dogs, while its breed field says Small.
  • The blue Lynxking bullet describes a 6-foot leash, while its size field and its 60-inch specification describe 5 feet.
  • Three listings name polypropylene in the material field, but their bullets describe braided nylon rope or leather splices. Those are Mendota, Lynxking black and Lynxking blue.

Safety basics for a loop leash

The four sources listed at the end are the basis for this section. None of them covers rope or nylon slip leads in full, so read the points below as nearby guidance, not as a verdict on any listing.

The AKC leash guide says a slip lead suits dogs with solid training that will not back out of the loop. It also describes using a slip lead as a doubled-up backup leash for a dog that has a history of slipping its collar.

Purdue Extension’s collar leaflet covers choke and pinch collars, which it calls training tools only. It says these collars “should not be left on after training,” because a dog can easily injure itself if it becomes caught on something. The leaflet also says choke and pinch collars can seriously injure a dog when used improperly, and that owners without training should pick a different collar type.

The University of Illinois veterinary handout on training collars says choke collars put dogs at risk of damage to the esophagus or trachea. It also says prong collars can scratch or puncture the skin around the neck.

Our reading of this advice is conservative. A loop that tightens around the neck should come off whenever no one is watching the dog. No source makes that statement about slip leads specifically, but none of the sources supports leaving one on an unsupervised dog, and this guide does not recommend it.

For dogs with tracheal collapse, Cornell’s College of Veterinary Medicine lists switching from neck collars to harnesses among the lifestyle adjustments. The page does not discuss slip leads. Whether a change like that suits a particular dog is a decision for the vet.

The listings that say the loop tightens when a dog pulls describe a feature, not a training method. The AKC guide limits slip leads to well-trained dogs, and none of the sources we opened shows that tightening a loop stops pulling. If pulling is the problem, a certified trainer can judge what fits.

Fit and sizing checks

Start with the length, since the listings give it in three different ways. Use the formula in the specs section. A 72-inch leash is six feet, and a 60-inch one is five. If a title and its specification fields give different lengths, treat the length as unconfirmed until the item page settles it.

Width is the second check. The listings give widths from 0.3 inch to 0.75 inch, and four of the eight give 0.5 inch in their specification fields. Width is a stated figure, not a measure of strength, and none of the listings explains how width affects a dog’s comfort or control.

The weight range is the third check. Only two listings give one. Mendota’s 3/8-inch sizes are listed for dogs 50 pounds and under, and iYoShop’s size field gives 35 to 120 pounds. For the other six, the breed size field is the main size guide. In two of them, the Pawtocol pink and black listings, the title and the field disagree, and the BOOEUDI bullets name a wider range than its Small field.

Use the dog size field, the title and your dog’s own measurements together, and do not assume one is right when they differ. The listings do not state a loop size, so there is no neck measurement to compare against. The Purdue sizing rule for choke collars does not transfer to these loops.

Night walks and visibility

If you walk a dog at night close to a road, the AKC leash guide says a leash with reflective material is the safer option, and it notes that thin retractable cords are hard to see in the dark. Three listings describe reflective material on a slip lead. BOOEUDI says reflective line runs along the length of its rope. HOWGO describes double-sided reflective stitching. iYoShop describes luminous reflective threading. None of the listings gives a visibility distance, and this guide does not rank them.

How we chose

We did not rank these listings. Each one was screened against three criteria, and all eight passed.

  1. The title or the specification fields must show a slip lead, meaning a loop leash that tightens over the head or neck without a clip. All eight name or describe a slip lead in the title, the specs or both. Three list a Snap closure, which can mean a clip. The listings do not say where that snap sits, and their titles and bullets describe a loop that slides over the dog. We kept those three and flagged the snap in each card.
  2. The listing must give enough numbers to compare: a length, a width, and either a dog size field or a weight range.
  3. The listing text must be read for conflicts, and conflicts are shown rather than resolved.

We considered eight listings, which form six product lines because two lines come in two colors each. We dropped none. The listing text was recorded on 2026-10-21, and listings can change after that date. This post relies only on the specifications each listing states, so the order of the cards is not a ranking.

What we could not verify

  • Loop size. No listing states the circumference of its loop or the neck range it fits. Purdue gives a sizing rule for choke collars: measure the neck and add three inches. That rule is written for choke collars, so this guide does not apply it to these listings.
  • Stopper performance. Pawtocol, Lynxking and HOWGO describe stoppers, and Pawtocol says its stopper prevents over-tightening. The sources we opened do not address stopper design, so this guide cannot confirm any of those claims.
  • Material. Three listings name polypropylene in the material field while their bullets describe other materials. The listings do not say which description is right.
  • Snap location. Three listings give a Snap closure without saying whether the snap sits on the loop or on the handle.
  • Reflectivity. Three listings describe reflective material, but the sources we opened do not say how visible any particular leash is, and this guide does not rank them.
  • Warranty. Two Lynxking listings give two years from the manufacturer, Mendota says no warranty, HOWGO’s field reads “no,” and four listings have no warranty field. The sources we opened do not cover warranties, so those statements are the listings’ own.
  • Unattended use. None of the sources we opened says a slip lead is safe to leave on a dog that is not supervised. This guide does not say it is.
  • Your dog. Whether a slip lead suits a dog with a neck, trachea or breathing condition is a question for a vet. Whether it suits a dog’s training level is a question for a certified trainer.

Product picks

Each card below uses only the figures the listing states, and each names one limit.

Mendota Pet Slip Leash, tan, 3/8 in by 6 ft (B000LQ62Y6)

Listing says: 72 inches long and 0.38 inch wide, with a Buckle closure field, a Small breed field and a Polypropylene material field. Its bullets say the loop works as a collar and that the 3/8-inch sizes suit dogs 50 pounds and under.

Why it is here: It is the only listing that puts a weight limit in its bullets, and its title says small or medium breeds, so the fit statement is clear.

Skip if: Your dog weighs more than 50 pounds, which is the limit the listing states.

Limit: The material field says polypropylene, while the bullets describe oil-tanned leather splices and metal hardware, and the listing does not say which part is which.

View on Amazon

Lynxking braided slip lead, black or blue (B07D7P78SM, B07D7V2G1J)

Listing says: A 1/2-inch width and 60 inches (5 feet) in the specs for both colors. Both carry a Large breed field and a Snap closure field. The bullets describe a built-in stopper, a metal ring and a padded handle, and they say the loop tightens when the dog pulls.

Why it is here: Both colors share most of their bullets and the same width, so the choice comes down mostly to color. The black bullets state no length, so they carry no length conflict, while its title lists 5, 6 and 8 feet.

Skip if: You need one confirmed length, because the title lists 5, 6 and 8 feet and the blue bullet describes a 6-foot leash while its specs say 5 feet.

Limit: The Snap closure does not say where the snap sits, and the material field says polypropylene while the bullets say braided nylon rope.

View on Amazon
View on Amazon

Pawtocol Slip Lead Dog Leash, pink or black (B0HDSGWW48, B0HDS17JMN)

Listing says: The size field reads 5.9 FT and the title says 1/2 inch wide. Both colors list a Buckle closure, Nylon material and a Small breed field, while the title says large dogs. The bullets describe a built-in leather stopper that holds the loop in place and prevents over-tightening.

Why it is here: Its listing names an over-tightening control in plain words, a claim none of the other seven listings makes. This guide cannot verify that claim, but it is stated directly, and the nylon material and closure type are both listed.

Skip if: Your dog is large and you need the breed field to match the title, because the title says large dogs and the field says Small.

Limit: The dimension field gives 0.98 by 0.75 inches, which does not match a 5.9-foot leash, and the title’s 1/2-inch width does not match that field’s 0.75 inch.

View on Amazon
View on Amazon

HOWGO slip lead with 360-degree swivel, black (B0D6G27DNH)

Listing says: A Pull-On closure, a 0.3-inch width in its width field, and three breed sizes (Large, Medium and Small). The material field lists aluminum and nylon. The bullets describe two padded handles, an 8-shaped swivel and double-sided reflective stitching.

Why it is here: It covers the most breed sizes of any listing here. The 66-inch display figure matches its title and size field, and the bullets give a 0.3-inch rope diameter that matches its width field.

Skip if: You need one length you can rely on, because the listing gives 70.78 inches, 66 inches and 5.5 feet in different places.

Limit: The listing gives no weight range.

View on Amazon

BOOEUDI 6 ft dog leash with padded handle, black (B09T3KS313)

Listing says: 72 inches long, 1/2 inch wide, a Snap closure, a Small breed field and nylon material. The title says Dog Leash, and the highlight field calls it a slip leash with reflective threads. Its bullets describe use for small, medium and large dogs.

Why it is here: Its 72-inch length and 1/2-inch width match the title and the size field, and the bullets describe a loop slipped over the neck with no separate collar.

Skip if: You want the title itself to say slip lead before you buy, because the title only says Dog Leash.

Limit: The Snap closure does not say where the snap sits, and the listing gives no weight range.

View on Amazon

iYoShop Durable Slip Lead Dog Leash, black (B07PKGSM95)

Listing says: 72 inches long, 1/2 inch wide, a Pull-On closure, a Medium breed field, and a size field reading 1/2 x 6 FT (35 to 120 lbs.). The bullets describe a padded handle and luminous reflective threading.

Why it is here: It is the only listing that puts a weight range in its size field, and 35 to 120 pounds is the only range here with both a lower and an upper bound.

Skip if: Your dog weighs under 35 pounds, the lowest weight the listing states.

Limit: The material field lists metal and nylon, while the bullets describe a rope and do not say where the metal is.

View on Amazon

Buying checklist

  1. Confirm that the title and at least one specification field both name a slip lead.
  2. Check the length in three places: the title, the size field and the dimension field. If they differ, do not buy until the item page settles it.
  3. Match the dog size field, any stated weight range and your dog’s own weight. Use a stated weight range when one is given.
  4. For any Snap closure, find out where the snap sits before you buy, because the listing does not say.
  5. Look for a loop size or neck range. None of the eight gives one, so read the item page closely for any measurement.
  6. Plan to remove the loop whenever the dog is not supervised.
  7. Ask a certified trainer or your vet if your dog has a neck, breathing or training concern.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying by title alone. The BOOEUDI title reads Dog Leash and never uses the words slip lead. Its highlight field and first bullet use the words, so read past the title before you buy.
  • Trusting one length. HOWGO’s listing gives 70.78 inches, 66 inches and 5.5 feet across its fields, and those figures do not agree.
  • Ignoring a stated limit. Mendota says its sizes are for dogs 50 pounds and under. A larger dog is outside the listing’s own statement.
  • Leaving the loop on. Our conservative reading of the Purdue advice on training collars is the reason this guide says to remove a tightening loop when no one is watching.
  • Treating a stopper as proven. Pawtocol says its leather stopper prevents over-tightening. That is the listing’s claim, and no source we opened confirms it.

Related reading

If you are still deciding between a loop and a harness, read Is a Collar or Harness Better for a Dog?. For a small dog with a collapsed trachea, see Harness for a Small Dog With a Collapsed Trachea before deciding on any neck-worn leash. If you want a collar and leash pair instead of a loop, compare the leash and collar sets in the leash and collar set comparison.If you are weighing a retractable leash, the size-based comparison in the retractable leash guide for dog size is the next step.

Frequently asked questions

Is a slip lead safe to leave on my dog?

None of the sources we opened says a slip lead is safe to leave on a dog that nobody is watching, and this guide does not say it is. Take the loop off whenever the dog is unsupervised. Purdue’s warning about training collars points the same way.

What size dog is a slip lead for?

The listings give different answers. Mendota lists its 3/8-inch sizes for dogs 50 pounds and under, while the iYoShop size field runs from 35 to 120 pounds. The other six give a breed size field of Small, Medium or Large and no weight range. Where a weight range is stated, use it. Where none is stated, ask a certified trainer or your vet to help you decide.

Can a slip lead help with a dog that pulls?

Three listings say the loop tightens when the dog pulls. The AKC leash guide limits slip leads to well-trained dogs, and its slip lead section does not describe the loop as a fix for pulling. For a dog that pulls, a certified trainer can judge whether a slip lead belongs in the training plan.

Is a slip lead the same as a choke chain?

No source we opened compares a rope or nylon slip lead directly with a chain choke collar. Purdue’s warnings concern choke chains and pinch collars, including the lack of a mechanical barrier to choking on a choke collar. The listings describe rope or nylon loops. This guide does not treat the two as the same, and it does not call a rope slip lead safe for unattended use.

My dog has a collapsed trachea. Should it wear a slip lead?

Cornell’s College of Veterinary Medicine lists switching from neck collars to harnesses among the lifestyle adjustments for dogs with tracheal collapse. The Cornell page does not discuss slip leads. Whether a slip lead, a harness or a collar suits your dog is a decision for your vet, and this guide does not give medical advice.

Bottom line

Buy a slip lead only when the title, the length and the dog size fields agree, and remove the loop whenever the dog is unsupervised.

Sources

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Similar Posts