Best Pet Ramps for Cars
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A pet ramp is the simplest way to stop a dog from jumping into a car, onto a couch or up to a high bed, but the right one depends on where the dog needs to go. A long folding aluminum ramp suits an SUV or truck, a compact foam ramp suits a sofa, and a few products sit somewhere between. This guide covers eight listings, from a 63-inch car ramp to a 3-step foam staircase, and every number comes straight from the listing text. Where a listing leaves something out, we say it is not stated.
Quick answer
- For cars, SUVs and trucks, the two long folding options are the HerCcreta wigge 63-inch aluminum ramp and the PetSafe Happy Ride at 62 inches; the VEVOR is a four-step folding unit with an adjustable height of about 24 to 25.4 inches.
- For couches and beds, the foam options are the Aodisman 3-step, the Gardner Pet 2-in-1 3-step, the MEJYJEM 5-step and the wooden MEWANG 3-in-1.
- For a dog that cannot walk far, the Beberoad is a stroller with a built-in ramp rather than a ramp on its own.
- Always compare the stated weight guide with your dog, and the stated height with the surface you need to reach.
Ramp, stairs or both: how the listings use the words
Sellers use “ramp”, “stairs” and “steps” almost interchangeably, so read the dimensions rather than the title. A true ramp is one long incline. A stair has risers. A slope-stair, like the foam products here, has a gentle curve that sits between the two. The Gardner Pet and MEWANG listings both describe a 2-in-1 or 3-in-1 design that switches between stairs and a ramp, which is useful if you want to try both on one piece of furniture.
For vehicles, length controls the angle. A longer ramp rises more gently for the same height. The HerCcreta wigge listing makes that argument directly, saying the 63-inch length gives a smoother angle between the ramp and the car. The PetSafe is nearly as long at 62 inches. The VEVOR is shorter, at 30.9 to 41.5 inches depending on the angle you set, and is built as a step unit with a steeper climb at its normal setting.
Comparison table
| Product | Best use per listing | Size (as listed) | Stated weight guide | Main material |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HerCcreta wigge folding ramp | Car, SUV, truck, couch, high bed | 63 x 17.3 in open; folds to 17.5 x 17 x 5.5 in | 250 lb | Aluminum with carpet-style surface |
| PetSafe Happy Ride | SUV, van, car, truck | 62 x 16 x 4 in | 150 lb | Plastic |
| VEVOR 4-step car steps | Car trunk, SUV, truck, bed, sofa, grooming table | 41.5 x 16.9 x 24 in at the low angle | 150 lb in the bullets; 68.04 kg in the specs | Aluminum frame, polyester cover |
| MEJYJEM 5-step foam stairs | High beds | 35.4 x 16 x 28.7 in | 50 lb | Foam, corduroy cover |
| Gardner Pet 2-in-1 3-step | Couch, 13 to 20 in | 26.7 x 15.7 x 16.5 in | 40 kg | Polyurethane foam, polyester cover |
| Aodisman 3-step | Sofas and chairs | 22.4 x 15.7 x 15.7 in | 60 lb in specs; under 50 lb in bullets | Foam, corduroy cover |
| MEWANG wooden 3-in-1 | Sofa to tall bed, about 19.5 in | 24.8 x 17.2 x 19.5 in open | 220 lb in bullets; 110 lb in specs | Solid birch wood |
| Beberoad R8 stroller with ramp | Mobility-limited medium and large dogs | 27.5 x 18.5 x 24.8 in | 100 lb in the title; 25 kg in specs | Aluminum frame, Oxford cloth |
The vehicle options
HerCcreta wigge Dog Ramp for Car, 63 inches
This is the longest ramp in the group at 63 inches long and 17.3 inches wide. The frame is aluminum, and the listing says an internal load-bearing crossbar supports up to 250 pounds. The listing also shows a 270-pound figure in its feature line, so the 250-pound number in the bullets and load capacity field is the safer one to use. The surface is described as a non-slip gray carpet made of dense plastic fibers, with anti-slip rubber-like tops on each step.
It folds four times to a stated 17.5 x 17 x 5.5 inches and weighs 13.5 pounds, with a padded foam handle for carrying. A safety rope and stainless steel buckles are included, according to the listing. The listing names cars, SUVs, trucks, couches and high beds as uses. That makes it the most flexible long ramp here, though at 13.5 pounds it is heavier to lift than the PetSafe.
Best for: a big dog or a tall vehicle where a gentle angle matters.
Watch out for: the 13.5-pound weight, and the mismatch between the 250 and 270 pound figures.
PetSafe Happy Ride Folding Dog Ramp
The PetSafe listing is lighter on detail but clear on essentials. It measures 62 x 16 x 4 inches, weighs 10 pounds, and is rated for small, medium and large dogs up to 150 pounds. The listing says it is designed to fit most SUV, van, car and truck models. It has high-traction treads, side rails and rubber feet, and it folds in half and locks with a safety latch. The material field says plastic, and the listing says it is made in the USA.
Side rails are a feature the aluminum folding ramps here do not mention, and they matter for a nervous dog that tends to drift sideways. The listing does not state how thick or tall the folded ramp is.
Best for: owners who want a lighter two-fold ramp with side rails for a car or SUV.
Watch out for: the 150-pound guide is lower than the HerCcreta, and the folded size is not stated.
VEVOR 4-Step Dog Car Steps
The VEVOR is a folding aluminum step unit with a polyester surface. The listing says the height adjusts between 24 and 25.4 inches, with a length of 30.9 inches at the normal stretch angle and 41.5 inches at a lower angle. The uses listed are car trunks, side doors, SUVs, small vans, trucks, beds, sofas, and grooming or vet tables. It has foam handles, safety tether clips and bottom non-slip pads, and arrives fully assembled. The item weighs 9 pounds, with a one-year warranty listed.
Check the weight figures. The bullets say it supports pets up to 150 pounds, while the title says up to 250 pounds. The specification field gives 68.04 kg, which is 150 pounds, so the lower figure is the one that matches two places. The breed size field says small, which also suggests this is more of a step unit for smaller or older dogs than for a giant breed.
Best for: small and older dogs that need a short climb into a trunk or SUV.
Watch out for: the conflicting weight numbers, and the steeper climb at the shorter setting.
The couch and bed options
MEJYJEM 5-Step Dog Stairs, 28.7 inches high
This is the tallest foam staircase in the group, built for high beds. The listing gives the size as 35.4 inches long, 15.7 inches wide and 28.7 inches high, and says it is taller than normal five-step stairs at 23 or 24 inches. The surface is a 35-degree curved slope, which the listing says is easier to climb than right-angled steps. The corduroy cover is described as non-slip, removable and machine washable.
The foam arrives vacuum compressed and takes about 22 to 44 hours to rebound fully, depending on temperature. The weight guide is under 50 pounds, and the listed breeds are Corgi, Dachshund and other small breeds. The item weighs 7 pounds and carries a one-year warranty.
Best for: small and short-legged dogs that need to reach a tall mattress.
Watch out for: the 50-pound limit, and the footprint, which at 35.4 inches long needs floor space beside the bed.
Gardner Pet 2-in-1 Dog Stairs, 16.5 inches high
The Gardner listing is a three-step staircase that converts into a ramp. It is sized for couches between 13 and 20 inches high, at 26.7 inches deep, 15.7 inches wide and 16.5 inches tall. The foam is described as 35D high-density, with a low-angle ramp mode. The cover is 100 percent polyester over 100 percent polyurethane foam, with a removable TPU waterproof layer that can go in the washing machine or be hand washed. The listing adds that the foam interior should not be cleaned.
The listing says the material is OEKO-TEX certified. It also publishes a size ladder: 2-step for chairs and sofas up to 18 inches, 3-step for couches up to 20 inches, 4-step for beds up to 25 inches, and 5-step for high beds, windows and cars up to 28 inches. The weight guide is 40 kg, the item weighs 4.5 kg, and the base has rubber dots. No assembly is needed, though the vacuum compression can leave the surface wrinkled for 24 to 48 hours.
Best for: small and medium dogs that need to get on a couch, with a cover that handles accidents.
Watch out for: the foam core cannot be washed, only the cover.
Aodisman 3-Step Pet Stairs
The Aodisman is the smallest foam unit here at 22.4 inches deep, 15.7 inches wide and 15.7 inches high, with an item weight of 4.3 pounds. The listing says 3 steps suit sofas and chairs, 4 steps suit sofas and beds, and 5 steps suit beds and high beds. It has a corduroy outer cover for paw friction and silicone footprints on the bottom to keep it from sliding on carpet or floor.
The weight figures differ: the bullets recommend it for pets under 50 pounds, while the specification table lists a 60-pound maximum. Use the lower number if your dog is close. It is packed under vacuum compression and takes 48 to 72 hours to fully open up. The listing says it suits small dogs, senior dogs and pets with limited mobility, and it also names cats.
Best for: small dogs and cats reaching a chair or low sofa.
Watch out for: the slow unfold time, and the 50 versus 60 pound mismatch.
MEWANG Wooden 3-Step Foldable Ramp
The MEWANG listing is the only wooden one. It is made of solid birch with an anti-slip polyester surface and metal locks. It works in three modes: stairs, ramp and a folded storage position. Open as a three-step stair it measures 24.8 x 17.2 x 19.5 inches and suits surfaces around 19.5 inches high. A single step is 15.6 x 9.3 x 5.9 inches, and folded it is 31 x 17.2 x 3.15 inches.
The weight limit is stated two ways: 100 kg or 220 pounds in the bullets, and 110 pounds in the specification table. The item weighs 6.78 kg. The listing says it is designed for small and medium dogs and cats with a waist width of 12.6 inches or less, and it names Corgis and short-legged breeds. It also notes that the weight of natural wood can change with humidity.
Best for: a household that wants a fold-flat wooden unit that stores behind furniture.
Watch out for: the two different weight limits, and the waist-width limit for wider dogs.
A different approach: the ramp stroller
Beberoad R8 Dog Stroller with Built-in Ramp
This one is not a standalone ramp. It is a four-wheel stroller with a built-in ramp, aimed at medium and large dogs that have trouble walking. The listing describes it as one-button foldable, with windows on all sides except the chassis and back, a large storage bag, two bottle holders and a rain cover. It can convert to a bike trailer, according to the listing.
The frame is aluminum, the fabric is Oxford cloth, and it weighs 43.3 pounds with a folded size of 31.5 x 13.8 x 7.9 inches. The title says it carries large dogs up to 100 pounds, but the maximum weight field lists 25 kg, so confirm with the seller before relying on the higher figure. If your dog’s mobility is a health concern, ask a vet what level of exercise and assistance is right.
Best for: owners who want to move a dog that can ride but not walk far.
Watch out for: the weight of the unit itself, and the conflict between the title and the specs.
How to choose
Start with the height you need to cover
Measure from the ground to the surface the dog needs to reach: a car cargo floor, a couch seat, a mattress top. Compare that with the heights in the listings. Foam stairs here run from 15.7 inches up to 28.7 inches, the MEWANG covers about 19.5 inches, and the car ramps cover vehicle heights by length.
Then check the weight guide
The guides range from 40 kg and 50 pounds on the small foam units to 150 and 250 pounds on the car ramps. Several listings list two different numbers, so treat the lower one as the real limit.
Think about surface and grip
Car ramps list carpet-style or high-traction treads, and the foam units use corduroy or polyester fabric. A dog that hesitates on slick surfaces needs to see grip. Rubber feet or non-slip pads at the bottom matter just as much.
Consider storage and carrying
The PetSafe weighs 10 pounds and folds in half. The HerCcreta weighs 13.5 pounds and folds four ways. The VEVOR weighs 9 pounds and arrives assembled. Foam units are light but take floor space.
Introduce it slowly
Most listings do not cover training. A new ramp is easier for a dog to accept when it is first placed flat on the floor and the dog is invited to walk over it before it is used at height. If the dog has a joint or mobility problem, ask your vet before relying on any ramp.
Mistakes to avoid
- Choosing a couch staircase for a car. The foam units are sized for furniture, and the listings for vehicles are the long aluminum ramps and the VEVOR steps.
- Ignoring the rebound time. Vacuum-packed foam units take 22 to 72 hours to open fully, depending on the listing.
- Trusting only the title. Several titles and specification tables disagree about weight limits.
- Buying too steep. A longer ramp or a lower-angle setting is gentler on a dog that is hesitant.
- Skipping the cleaning line. Foam cores in these listings are not washable, so the removable cover matters.
FAQ
What is the difference between a pet ramp and pet stairs?
A ramp is a single incline, and stairs have risers. Several products here, such as the Gardner Pet and MEWANG, switch between the two. The MEJYJEM is a curved slope-stair that falls between them.
Which pet ramp is best for a large dog and an SUV?
Of the eight listings, the HerCcreta wigge has the highest stated weight figure at 250 pounds and the longest length at 63 inches, and the PetSafe lists 150 pounds at 62 inches. The best pick depends on your dog’s weight and how heavy a ramp you can lift.
Can I use a car ramp on a couch?
The HerCcreta wigge listing names couches and high beds as uses, and the VEVOR lists beds and sofas. Both are long, so you need floor space.
Are the foam stairs washable?
The covers are. The MEJYJEM cover is listed as removable and machine washable, and the Gardner cover can be machine washed or hand washed, but the Gardner listing says the foam interior should not be cleaned.
Is a stroller a replacement for a ramp?
It does a different job. The Beberoad carries a dog that cannot walk far and includes a ramp to load it. Ask a vet if your dog’s mobility has changed.
How long do foam stairs take to expand?
The listings say 22 to 44 hours for the MEJYJEM, 24 to 48 hours for the Gardner, and 48 to 72 hours for the Aodisman.
Bottom line
Choose by destination first and weight second: a long folding ramp for vehicles, a foam or wooden staircase for furniture, and a stroller only for dogs that cannot walk far. When two numbers conflict in a listing, plan around the lower one.
Related reading
For indoor use, see our guide to the best dog ramp for a couch, or the comparison of doors, gates and ramps.






