Rabbitgoo Dog Harness Review: Fit, Comfort and Value
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The rabbitgoo dog harness is an overhead, vest-style harness with two metal leash rings, padded air mesh and reflective strips, sold in several sizes and in a separate escape-proof version with a lift handle. This review goes through the classic no-pull design in its large size, then covers the medium, the extra-large and the lift-handle harness as alternatives. Everything here comes from the product listings, so where a listing does not state something, such as a weight range for one size, this review says so instead of guessing.
Quick answer
- The large listing recommends medium to large dogs and lists a weight range of 15 to 45 kg; the medium listing lists 10 to 25 kg.
- All three classic sizes use two leash rings: a chest clip for training and a back ring for casual walks.
- The classic design has four adjusting straps, two on the neck and two on the chest.
- The lift-handle version is a different harness, with five adjustment points, a padded handle and three straps across the chest and belly.
- Care is hand wash only on every listing in this review.
What the harness is
The classic rabbitgoo harness is an overhead design. You slide it over the dog’s head, buckle two fast-release buckles, and tighten the straps. The listing describes it as a vest, made of polyester Oxford fabric padded with soft cushioning, with breathable air mesh and reflective strips. The sizes in this review are all black. The large size weighs 10.58 ounces on the product dimensions line, the medium weighs 8.82 ounces, and the extra-large 8.64 ounces.
The structure is simple, and that is part of the appeal. There is no zipper, no complicated chest plate, and no pull-on elastic. The fit is controlled by the four adjusters and the two buckles. The trade-off is that a harness this adjustable only works if you spend a few minutes setting it up and checking it, and it is only as safe as that fit.
The two leash rings
The main design point is the pair of metal rings. The listing says the harness is a “no pull, no choke” design with two metal leash rings. The chest attachment clip is the one the listing recommends for training and for dogs who tend to pull, and the back one is described as better for casual walks, jogging and hiking. This is the same logic used by most front-clip harnesses. When a dog pulls against a leash attached at the chest, the harness turns the dog slightly to the side instead of letting it drive forward.
The listing does not claim that the harness will stop pulling on its own, and it should not be read as doing so. A front clip is a tool, not a training plan. If pulling is a serious problem, ask a trainer and look at our guide on the best no-pull harness for large dogs for other designs with the same idea.
A practical tip from the listing’s own wording: use the back ring when the dog walks calmly and the chest ring when you are working on leash manners. Switching between them gives you both modes without changing equipment.
Fit and adjustment
The listing describes four easy adjusting straps around the body: two neck straps and two chest straps. The idea is that you can reach a close fit with some room for growth. It also says the harness will not slip or choke when fitted properly. The listing asks buyers to measure the dog’s neck and check the girth carefully before ordering, and the same advice repeats on every size.
That instruction is not decoration. Because these harnesses are sold by size, the size chart and your tape measure matter more than the label on the box. Measure around the neck where a collar sits and around the widest part of the chest behind the front legs, then compare with the chart on the listing. After the first fitting, check that you can slide two fingers under each strap but that the harness cannot slide over the dog’s head or shoulders.
Large size, in detail
The large harness is the main size covered here. The listing recommends it for medium to large dogs and names Siberian huskies, Labradors, German shepherds, Akitas, Chow Chows, giant Schnauzers and American pit bull terriers as examples. The specs list a weight range of 15 to 45 kilograms and a breed recommendation of German shepherd, Labrador and Siberian husky. Its product dimensions are 0.59 by 9.09 by 14.21 inches and it weighs 10.58 ounces. The specs also list a warranty described as a full warranty for quality issues and an included instructions sheet.
The weight range is wide. A dog at the low end of 15 kilograms is much smaller than one at 45 kilograms, and the fit on the same size will be very different. For a dog near either edge, the adjusters have to do a lot of work, and the neighbouring size may fit better. Rely on measurements first and the weight range second.
Comfort and materials
The listing says the harness is made of sturdy polyester Oxford with soft padding to protect the skin, plus breathable air mesh to keep the dog cool. It also says it is lightweight and easy to clean, but the care line is more specific: hand wash only, and keep dry before wearing. That means no washing machine, and a fully dry harness before each use.
The listing does not give the thickness of the padding, the width of the straps, or the type of buckles beyond “fast-release,” so do not expect those details. What it does state clearly is the combination of padding, mesh and reflective trim. The reflective strips are described as super bright to help with visibility during evening walks. Reflective trim helps drivers see a dog, but it is not a replacement for a light, and you should stay alert near roads.
Handle and control
The classic harness includes a top handle. The listing describes it as “additional control,” meaning you can grab it when you need to hold the dog briefly at a curb or near another dog. It is described as a control handle, not a lifting handle, and the listing makes no weight claim for lifting. For a handle designed to support lifting, see the escape-proof version below.
Size comparison
| Version | Size stated | Weight range in specs | Breeds named | Weight of harness |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Classic, medium | Medium | 10 to 25 kg | Bulldog, Shiba Inu, Border Collie, Chow Chow, Schnauzer Standard | 8.82 ounces |
| Classic, large | Large | 15 to 45 kg | Siberian Husky, Labrador, German Shepherd, Akita, Chow Chow, Giant Schnauzer, American Pit Bull Terrier | 10.58 ounces |
| Classic, extra-large | X-Large | Not stated | Golden Retriever, Anatolian Shepherd, Newfoundland, Labrador, German Shepherd | 8.64 ounces |
| Escape-proof with lift handle | Large | Not stated | Large | 11.2 ounces |
The other versions
rabbitgoo Dog Harness, Medium
The medium has the same design and feature list as the large, with a different size: the listing recommends medium dogs such as Bulldog, Shiba Inu, Border Collie, Chow Chow and a standard Schnauzer, and the specs give 10 to 25 kilograms. It weighs 8.82 ounces. Everything else, including the two rings, four straps, fast-release buckles, reflective strips and hand-wash instruction, is the same.
Notice that the medium and large weight ranges overlap between 15 and 25 kilograms. Dogs in that overlap should be measured on both charts, and the girth number should decide. For dogs at the upper end of the small group, our post on the best rabbitgoo no-pull adjustable dog harness picks shows more of the range.
rabbitgoo Dog Harness, Extra-Large
The extra-large listing names golden retrievers, Anatolian shepherds, Newfoundlands, Labradors, an Alaskan type and German shepherds. The specs list no weight range, so the breed examples and the size chart are the only guidance. The listing gives the harness weight as 8.64 ounces and lists the same features as the other sizes: two metal rings, four adjusting straps, fast-release buckles, a top handle, padded polyester Oxford fabric, air mesh and reflective strips.
Because no weight range is stated, measure carefully and ask the seller if you are unsure. A large dog that falls between sizes is a good reason to read the size chart twice.
rabbitgoo Escape Proof Dog Harness with Lift Handle (Large)
This is a different harness, not just a bigger one. The listing describes a padded carrying handle that offers protection and instant grip, and says it can help a dog over obstacles and assist older or disabled dogs on stairs and in and out of cars. It has five adjustment points, three around the neck and two around the chest and belly, quick-release buckles, breathable padded air mesh, a sealed back D-ring, heavy-duty polyester webbing and reflective strips. The escape-proof claim comes from three straps on the chest and belly that the listing says hold the dog in place.
The specs give 11.2 ounces, a large size, black, and a care instruction of hand wash with mild soap, not machine washable, and air dry completely. There is a single back D-ring, so this is a back-clip design, not a front-clip training harness. If you want a front clip, use the classic. If you want a handle for support, or have a dog that slips out of harnesses, this version is the one the listing describes for that.
A lift handle is not a substitute for veterinary or mobility advice. If your dog needs help on stairs or into the car, ask a vet. We compare handle designs in our guide to the best large dog harness with a lifting handle.
The main large harness, in short
For the review’s main subject, the large classic harness, these are the facts the listing gives. It has two metal leash rings. It has four adjusting straps. It uses two fast-release buckles. It has padded polyester Oxford fabric with air mesh and reflective strips. It has a control handle. It is rated by the specs for 15 to 45 kilograms and recommended for medium to large dogs. It is hand wash only. It has a full warranty for quality issues according to the specs.
View the large rabbitgoo harness on Amazon
Strengths and limits
Strengths
- Two rings give you a choice between a training clip on the chest and a back clip for easy walking.
- Four adjusting straps and two buckles allow a custom fit and quick on and off.
- Padding, air mesh and reflective trim cover comfort and evening visibility.
- Several sizes and an escape-proof variant mean owners can stay in one brand across dogs.
Limits
- Hand wash only. If you want to throw the harness in the washing machine, this is not the one.
- The listings do not state strap width, buckle material or a tested load, so they cannot be used to judge strength.
- The extra-large listing has no stated weight range.
- The medium and large ranges overlap, so some dogs need careful measuring.
- A harness does not train a dog. It is a piece of equipment that works with training.
Value, without prices
We do not quote prices because they change, but value can still be judged from what you get. The classic harness gives you a two-ring design, a handle, padding, mesh and reflectivity in a lightweight package of under 11 ounces in every size. The lift-handle harness adds an extra adjustment point, chest and belly straps and a strong grab handle, at the cost of a single back ring. If your dog is a puller, the classic’s chest ring is what you are paying for. If your dog escapes or needs support, the lift-handle version is the one that targets that.
Who should buy which
- Dog pulls on walks: the classic harness in the correct size, clipped at the chest.
- Dog walks calmly and you want easy on and off: the classic, clipped at the back.
- Dog slips out of regular harnesses: the escape-proof version with three chest and belly straps.
- Older dog that needs a hand on stairs or into the car: the lift-handle version, after checking with your vet.
- Dog wearing a coat: see our post on the dog coat with built-in harness if you want one layer instead of two.
FAQ
What size rabbitgoo harness should I buy?
Measure the neck and the chest girth, then use the size chart on the listing. The specs list 10 to 25 kilograms for medium and 15 to 45 kilograms for large. The extra-large listing gives breed examples and no weight range.
Is the rabbitgoo harness really no pull?
The listing calls it a no-pull, no-choke design and says to use the chest clip for training and for dogs who tend to pull. It does not promise the pulling will stop. Training and a well-fitted harness work together.
Can I machine wash it?
No. The care lines on all four listings say hand wash only, and the escape-proof version says it is not machine washable and should air dry completely.
Which ring do I clip the leash to?
The chest ring is for training and pulling dogs; the back ring is for casual walks, jogging and hiking, per the classic listing. The escape-proof version has only a back D-ring.
Does the handle lift my dog?
The classic harness handle is described as extra control. The escape-proof harness handle is described as a padded carrying handle that can help a dog over obstacles and on and off stairs and cars. Ask a vet if your dog needs lifting help.
Is it safe to leave on all day?
The listings do not address that. Take the harness off when the dog is resting or unsupervised, and check the skin for rubbing after walks. If you see redness or sores, stop using it and ask a vet.
Bottom line
The rabbitgoo harness is a straightforward, adjustable vest with two rings, padding, mesh and reflective trim. Pick the size by measurement, use the chest ring when you are working on pulling, and expect hand-wash care. Choose the escape-proof lift-handle version only if you need the extra straps or a grab handle. For a dog that does well with either, the classic large is the easiest place to start.






