Best Dog Door for Wall Mount: Thickness Ranges Compared

Best Dog Door for Wall Mount: Thickness Ranges Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

If you searched for best dog door for wall mount, the first measurement is the thickness of the wall or door where the opening will go, not the dog. Of the six listings compared here, one is sold as a pet door for a wall, three say their sizing covers doors or walls, and two are written for exterior doors. Read the listed thickness range before anything else, because a dog door with a good flap size still fails if its frame cannot fit the wall you have.

Quick answer

  • For a true wall installation, the Baboni listing is the only one sold as a wall pet door. Its telescoping tunnel covers walls from 4.75 to 7.25 inches thick.
  • If your opening is a door panel, the WANGXINGREN and PetSafe listings describe door thicknesses that are much thinner, so check your panel before you buy.
  • The PETCOMING and VOSOIR ranges top out at 2.36 and 2.08 inches, so neither one will fit a wall thicker than that.
  • Use the dog’s shoulder height and widest point, as the listings suggest, and treat the flap size as a second check after the thickness.

Wall or door: what the listings describe

The listings do not all describe the same kind of installation. The Baboni listing is written for a wall. Its title says “Pet Door for Wall,” its bullets say it installs in all types of interior and exterior walls, and it includes a cut-out template and step-by-step instructions. That is the clearest match for a wall mount in this set.

Three listings say their sizing covers doors or walls. The PETCOMING listing says its plastic door is suitable for doors or walls with a thickness of 1.02 to 2.36 inches. The VOSOIR listing describes expandable channels that fit doors or walls from 1.26 to 2.08 inches thick, even though its title says exterior door. The Petoasis listing says its design suits various types of doors or walls, but it does not give a minimum thickness.

Two listings are written for exterior doors. The WANGXINGREN listing fits standard exterior doors from 1 3/16 to 2 1/4 inches thick, and its bullets also mention interior doors. The PetSafe listing says it installs in most exterior doors, including paneled, wood, PVC and metal doors from 1 1/2 to 2 inches thick. Neither listing describes a wall install.

The AKC describes dog doors as secured entrances built into existing doors. That description fits the door-panel listings. A wall installation is a different job, with a larger cut and a tunnel sized to the wall’s thickness, so the listings for walls and for doors should be compared on different terms.

Measure the thickness before anything else

Thickness is the number that decides fit, so measure it first. Measure the wall or door at the spot where the opening will go, not at the edge, and check the thickness in two or three places. Then compare that number with the listed range, not with the flap size or the dog.

The table below shows each listed range and the span between its minimum and maximum. The span tells you how much adjustment room the tunnel or channel provides. It does not tell you whether your wall falls inside the range, which is why the measurement comes first.

Listing Listed thickness range (in) Span (in) Source of the range
Baboni, wall pet door 4.75 to 7.25 2.5 (7.25 – 4.75 = 2.5) Telescoping tunnel, bullets and specifications
WANGXINGREN, exterior door 1 3/16 to 2 1/4 (about 1.19 to 2.25) 1.06 (2.25 – 1.19 = 1.06) Bullets
VOSOIR, door or wall 1.26 to 2.08 0.82 (2.08 – 1.26 = 0.82) Bullets and specifications
PETCOMING, door or wall 1.02 to 2.36 1.34 (2.36 – 1.02 = 1.34) Bullets and specifications
Petoasis, door or wall Maximum 2.4; minimum not stated Not calculable Specifications
PetSafe, exterior door 1.48 to 2 0.52 (2 – 1.48 = 0.52) Specifications and bullets

Our planning estimate from the table: the Baboni span is about 1.9 times the next widest span (2.5 / 1.34 = 1.87), and it is the only listing in this set whose range starts above 4 inches, which is why it is the only one that suits a wall of about 5 to 7 inches. The thinner door ranges stop well before that, so a wall of that thickness would not fit them.

Keep in mind that the listings give ranges in inches, while some bullets give fractions. The WANGXINGREN range is written as 1 3/16 to 2 1/4 inches. The VOSOIR range is written as decimals. When two numbers look close, convert both to decimals before you compare them.

Size the opening for your dog

The size of the flap matters after thickness. The AKC advises basing a dog door on the size of the largest dog in the home, because a door that is too small could be frightening or even dangerous if the dog gets stuck going in or out. The same reasoning applies to a wall opening, because a cut is harder to change than a flap.

The listings give flap sizes in different ways. Baboni lists a flap opening of 10 1/4 inches wide by 16 1/4 inches high, and WANGXINGREN lists 10.2 by 16.5 inches. PETCOMING lists 17.3 by 9.45 inches, and the orientation is not stated in the bullet. VOSOIR lists 18.7 by 9.92 inches without saying which number is the width. Petoasis and PetSafe do not give flap dimensions in the fields we read.

The WANGXINGREN bullets tell buyers to measure the dog’s widest point and shoulder height, and the PETCOMING bullets ask buyers to measure a puppy’s shoulder width and height against a guideline in the listing’s pictures. Use the same method for an adult dog. Measure the dog standing, then compare the widest point and the shoulder height with the flap opening, and leave room for a dog that moves quickly.

When the flap dimension is unlabeled, as with VOSOIR, ask the seller which number is the width before you rely on it. A flap that is taller than it is wide is a different shape from one that is wider than it is tall, and the dog’s movement depends on that shape.

Flaps, insulation and weather claims

All six listings use either two or three flaps. The Baboni, WANGXINGREN, Petoasis and PetSafe listings describe three flaps, with the middle layer described as insulation in several of them. The PETCOMING listing describes two magnetic flaps. The VOSOIR listing describes double magnetic flaps and a translucent panel that the bullets say protects against UV rays.

The insulation and energy claims are the listings’ own statements. The PetSafe listing says its insulation blocks three times more thermal energy than a standard pet door. The VOSOIR listing says its panel isolates hot and cold air more than traditional flaps by more than 50 percent. The Petoasis listing says its middle layer blocks extreme weather. The data does not say how any of these figures were measured, so treat them as the seller’s claims.

The sources we opened do not compare flap types or insulation levels across brands, so we cannot rank the listings on weather performance. If a draft or a cold room matters to you, treat the flap count and the insulation statement as a reason to check the seller’s specifications, not as a result.

Locks, closing panels and security

Each listing includes some form of closing panel or lock, but the designs differ. WANGXINGREN describes a built-in lock and a sliding lock panel. PETCOMING includes a metal latch. VOSOIR describes a slide-in closing panel with aluminum locks on both sides, and its bullets say the panel cannot be opened from the outside when it is locked from the inside. PetSafe describes a slide-in closing panel that controls access and keeps stray animals out.

A closing panel is useful when the door is not in use, and the listings are clear that it is part of the set. The security statements are the listings’ words. The data does not say how well any lock resists forced entry, so do not treat the lock as a security rating.

Consider where the door will sit and what is on the other side of it. A closing panel helps only when it is closed, so decide in advance who will set it and when.

Cutting a wall opening

A wall mount is a larger project than a door install, and the Baboni listing shows what that involves. Its cut-out is listed at 12 inches wide by 17 3/4 inches high, and its frame is listed at 14 1/4 inches wide by 21 1/16 inches high. Those numbers are the listing’s, so check the template in the box against the figures before you cut.

Plan the cut before you buy the door. Mark the opening from the template, check for wiring, pipes and studs inside the wall, and confirm the thickness at the spot you chose. The listing says the tunnel telescopes to fit walls from 4.75 to 7.25 inches thick, which means the tunnel length must match the wall. If the wall is thinner or thicker than the range, do not force the fit.

The listings do not describe how each door is fixed to a wall, what backing it needs, or how to handle a wall that is not solid. Those points are construction questions, so ask a qualified installer or your building contractor if the wall is part of a structure you do not know well.

Fire stickers and emergency notices

The PETCOMING bullets say two pet fire rescue stickers come with the door. The listing does not say how the sticker works or how a responder would see it, so the bullet is a product feature, not a safety guarantee. Fire departments and city programs handle these stickers in different ways, and the sources we opened do not establish a national rule.

The City of Calgary’s Animal and Bylaw Services department provides a vinyl window sticker that tells emergency responders a dog or cat may be inside. The city’s guidance says to place it on a main-floor window close to the front entrance, and it tells residents never to attempt to enter the home to rescue a pet in a fire. A window sticker and a door feature do different jobs, and neither replaces a smoke alarm or an emergency plan.

Some fire officials have doubted pet decals. A 2009 Tampa Bay Times archive article reports that firefighters say they pay no heed to the decals. That report is more than a decade old, so treat it as a reminder that stickers are not a substitute for a working plan, rather than as current practice.

Training after installation

A new dog door takes time. The AKC says you should never push your dog to use the dog door or scold and punish it for not using it. Work at the dog’s pace and build positive associations with the flap. For a wall opening, the same rule applies, and the tunnel length may make the first passage feel different to the dog.

Start with the door open, let the dog walk through with treats or a toy on the other side, and close the flap only when the dog is comfortable. Check the flap and the frame after the first few weeks for wear, and make sure the flap closes fully when no one is using it. Those checks are routine, and the listings do not give a schedule.

If you are also comparing other barriers for the same room, our Regalo and MyPet comparison and our Regalo and Cumbor comparison cover a different set of products, and the thickness and fit checks above apply to any door or wall you are working with.

1. Baboni Pet Door for Wall,3-Flap,Steel Frame and Telescoping Tunnel, Aluminum Lock, Double Flap Dog (Only listing sold as a wall pet door)

Pros

  • Title and bullets name a wall installation, with a telescoping tunnel for 4.75 to 7.25 inch walls
  • Three-flap design with a steel frame and aluminum lock, per the listing
  • Includes a cut-out template and step-by-step instructions, according to the bullets

Cons

  • Requires a 12 by 17 3/4 inch cut in the wall, as the listing states
  • Bullets make general safety and after-sales claims that the data does not verify

Best for: Pet owners who want a dog door set into a wall of about 5 to 7 inches thick
Skip if: Your wall is thinner than 4.75 inches or thicker than 7.25 inches, or you do not want a large cut

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. 3-Flaps Extreme Weather Dog Door for Exterior Door, Aluminum Frame and Telescoping Tunnel (Exterior door panel with sliding lock)

Pros

  • Listing gives a flap opening of 10.2 by 16.5 inches and a 75-pound weight limit
  • Sliding lock panel and insulated middle flap named in the bullets

Cons

  • Written for exterior doors, so the listing does not describe a wall installation
  • Door-thickness range of 1 3/16 to 2 1/4 inches does not reach wall thicknesses

Best for: Owners fitting a dog door into a standard exterior door panel for a medium or large dog
Skip if: You are cutting a wall rather than a door panel, or your dog weighs more than 75 pounds

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. All Aluminum Dog Door for Exterior Door, Large Doggy Door, Heavy Duty Pet Door, Double Magnetic (Aluminum door-or-wall channel with lock)

Pros

  • Listing gives a 110-pound limit and an all-aluminum frame
  • Expandable channels named for doors or walls from 1.26 to 2.08 inches thick

Cons

  • Thickness range tops out at 2.08 inches, which is thin for a wall
  • Flap dimensions are not labeled as width or height in the bullet

Best for: Doors that are about 1.3 to 2.1 inches thick and dogs up to 110 pounds
Skip if: Your wall or door is thicker than 2.08 inches

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Plastic Dog Door, Large Doggy Door for Door (Plastic door with two magnetic flaps)

Pros

  • Two magnetic flaps and a metal latch, per the bullets
  • Flap opening of 17.3 by 9.45 inches and a 100-pound maximum

Cons

  • Plastic frame, where the other listings in this set use aluminum or steel
  • Thickness range of 1.02 to 2.36 inches is narrow for a wall

Best for: Doors or thin walls up to 2.36 inches thick for a dog up to 100 pounds
Skip if: Your wall is thicker than 2.36 inches, or you want an aluminum frame

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. [Petoasis] 3-Flaps Heavy-Duty Dog Door, Rust Proof Aluminum Alloy Frame (Aluminum three-flap door or wall design)

Pros

  • Aluminum alloy frame and three flaps named in the bullets, with a middle insulation layer
  • Bullets say the design suits various types of doors or walls, in black or silver white

Cons

  • Minimum thickness is not stated, so the thin end of the fit cannot be checked
  • Specification label reads Mattress Thickness, which the listing does not explain

Best for: Owners with a door or wall up to 2.4 inches thick who want an aluminum three-flap door
Skip if: You need a confirmed minimum thickness before you buy

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. PetSafe Extreme Weather Aluminum Dog Door, 3-Flap Insulated, X-Large (Insulated exterior door with one-year warranty)

Pros

  • Three insulated flaps with a magnetic seal, and a closing panel named in the bullets
  • Listing describes a one-year warranty and a 220-pound weight capacity in its specifications

Cons

  • Written for exterior doors, with a thickness range of 1.48 to 2 inches
  • The 220-pound weight capacity is unusually high for a flap door, and the data does not explain it

Best for: Exterior doors of about 1.5 to 2 inches thick where insulation is the main concern
Skip if: You are cutting a wall, or your door is thinner than 1.48 inches

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

How we chose

We started with the six listings in the catalog set for this keyword and did not add or drop any of them. For each one we read the title, the bullets and the specification fields, and we recorded the thickness range, the flap dimensions, the weight limit, the frame material, the closure type and the installation wording.

The selection criteria were straightforward. A listing counted as a wall fit if its own text named a wall installation, and it counted as a conditional fit if its text named doors or walls without giving wall-specific install steps. A listing counted as a skip for a wall mount if its text named exterior doors only and gave a door-thickness range that did not extend to wall thickness. We also recorded a limitation for each listing, because a pick without one does not help a reader decide.

The catalog data contains no price, rating or review count, and we did not use any. The order of the picks follows the wall-or-door fit described above, not a score.

What we could not verify

The Petoasis listing does not give a minimum thickness, so its fit at the thin end cannot be calculated. The PetSafe specifications list a weight capacity of 220 pounds, but the data does not say what that figure means for a flap door, and the breed-size field is the only size guidance.

The VOSOIR flap dimensions are not labeled, so the width and height cannot be confirmed from the data. The Petoasis and PetSafe flap dimensions are not given in the fields we read.

The Petoasis specification labels its thickness figure as “Mattress Thickness.” The number matches its maximum compatible thickness, but the listing does not explain the label.

The insulation, energy and UV figures in the bullets are the listings’ own claims. The data does not describe how any of them was measured, and the sources we opened do not compare these products with one another.

The fire-sticker bullet for PETCOMING does not describe how a responder would see the sticker, and the data does not say whether the sticker meets a local program. The Calgary guidance applies to that city, not to every area.

Warranty and after-sales terms are stated in some bullets but not in others. The PetSafe listing gives a one-year warranty, and the Petoasis listing describes three years of after-sales service. The sources we opened do not establish how those terms compare, and we have not checked any of them.

FAQ

What thickness do I need for a dog door in a wall?

Measure the wall where the opening will go, and compare that thickness with the listed range. The Baboni listing covers walls from 4.75 to 7.25 inches thick, which is the only range in this set written for a wall. Ranges for the door-panel and door-or-wall listings top out at 2.36 inches or less.

Can I use an exterior-door dog door in a wall?

Only if the listing says it fits your wall thickness and gives a wall installation. The WANGXINGREN and PetSafe listings describe exterior doors, and their thickness ranges top out at 2.25 and 2 inches, well short of the 4.75-inch minimum that the Baboni listing gives for a wall. Check the listing’s own range and the seller’s sizing chart before you decide.

How do I choose the flap size for my dog?

Measure the dog’s widest point and shoulder height, as the WANGXINGREN and PETCOMING bullets suggest. Compare those figures with the flap opening. The AKC advises sizing for the largest dog in the home, because a flap that is too small can frighten a dog or leave it stuck.

Are the insulation claims proven?

The insulation and energy figures in the listings are the sellers’ own statements. The data does not say how they were measured, so treat them as product claims. If insulation matters for your room, compare the listed flap structure and the seller’s specifications, and expect the real effect to depend on the rest of the wall and the weather.

What should I do before I cut a wall?

Confirm the thickness in more than one spot, check the template against the listed cut-out size, look for wiring and pipes inside the wall, and confirm that the tunnel length matches the wall. If the wall is part of a structure you do not know well, ask a qualified installer before cutting.

Bottom line

If your opening is a wall, choose the Baboni listing only if your wall is between 4.75 and 7.25 inches thick and you are ready for a larger cut. If your opening is a door panel, check the listed range against the door before you consider any of the others. Measure the thickness first, then the dog, and treat the claims about insulation and fire stickers as the seller’s words until you can confirm them.

Sources

Similar Posts