est locks for dog crates

Dog Crate Locks: 5 Replacement Latches Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are searching for the best locks for dog crates, start by deciding whether you need a replacement latch or a new crate. The five listings below are replacement latches and clips, not complete crates. Each one names a different use, size or pack count, and none gives a compatibility chart for a specific crate model. This guide shows what each listing says, how to count the parts you need, and where the listings stop.

Quick answer

  • Buy a replacement latch only when it matches your crate’s door. None of the five listings names a crate model it fits.
  • The MidWest Homes for Pets listing recommends 2 latches for crates over 36 inches. No other listing in this set gives a per-crate count.
  • The ITROLLE and ZYAMY clips both say they are not recommended for large pet cages. Neither listing says where large begins.
  • Two search listings were left out because their own descriptions point to birdcage or DIY cage-panel work. The reasons are under the listings we left out.

Replacement parts, not locks built into a crate

All five items are sold as replacement or add-on hardware. The MidWest Homes for Pets item is titled “Replacement Dog Crate Locking Latch, Plastic, Black, LATCHPL-1″. The ZCLGOOD set uses the same wording, “Replacement Dog Crate Locking Latch.” These parts swap in for a worn latch or a missing clip. None of the listings describes a complete lock system for a crate, and none says it works on a crate that has no latch at all.

The sources we opened do not cover latch hardware. The AKC and Cornell pages describe what a crate should give a dog, and the ASPCA pages cover travel. Neither the sources nor the listings say how a replacement latch holds up under a dog’s force. Read this guide as a way to match parts and count them, not as a verdict on strength.

The five listings side by side

The table uses only what each listing states. A “not stated” cell means the listing does not give that item.

Listing Type as the listing describes it Dimensions as listed Item weight as listed Pieces Use or warning the listing names
MidWest Homes for Pets, LATCHPL-1 Plastic replacement locking latch, black 2.17 x 0.87 x 0.16 inches 0.22 ounces Not stated Wire dog crate; 2 latches recommended for crates over 36 inches
ZCLGOOD, 12PCS Plastic locking pin and wire cage hook clip, black Package 5.12 x 3.54 x 0.63 inches 1.76 ounces 12 Dog crate in title; bullets also name rabbit, bird and cat enclosures
ITROLLE, 10PCS Plastic cage side connector with buckle, black 2.1 x 0.78 x 0.17 inches 1.62 ounces 10 Dog crate in title; listing warns against large pet cages
ZYAMY, 10PCS Plastic locking pin with pull handle, black 2.1 x 0.78 x 0.5 inches 1.76 ounces 10 Dog crate in title; listing warns against large pet cages
NYTGAH, 10 Pack (manufacturer named as Rose-cha) Metal spring latch hook with pull ring Package 5.71 x 3.98 x 0.43 inches; about 2.95 inches long 4 ounces 10 Dog crate in title; also rabbit, cat, parrot, guinea pig and squirrel

Two gaps show up in the table. None of the listings says which dimension is the thickness of the part, so these numbers cannot tell you whether a latch fits a given wire. None of them gives the door opening, the wire diameter or a crate model it fits.

How many do you need

Use a simple count. Crates covered by one pack equals the pieces in the pack, divided by the latches each crate needs. The MidWest count of 2 is the only per-crate figure in this set, and it applies to crates over 36 inches. Using that figure:

  • ZCLGOOD, 12 pieces: 12 ÷ 2 = 6 crates
  • ITROLLE, ZYAMY or NYTGAH, 10 pieces each: 10 ÷ 2 = 5 crates

This result assumes each crate needs two latch points. That is the MidWest recommendation for its own part on crates over 36 inches, and the other four listings do not say it. For a crate that is 36 inches or shorter, no listing gives a count. Ask the crate maker, or count the latch points on your own door before you buy a pack.

Large crates and the clip-style listings

The ITROLLE listing says “Note! It is not recommended for use in large pet cages.” The ZYAMY listing says “Attention! It is not recommended for use in large pet cages.” Both use the same warning, and neither defines large by length, width or weight. The only size threshold in this set is the MidWest rule for crates over 36 inches.

So on a large crate, the two clip-style listings are the ones to skip. The ZCLGOOD listing carries no such warning, but it gives no crate size either, and the NYTGAH listing gives none. If you are choosing a larger enclosure rather than a latch, the heavy duty dog houses for large dogs guide covers that question.

Materials and chewing

AKC says: “Metal dog crates are best for dogs who tend to chew through other materials.” That sentence is about crate materials, not about latches. The NYTGAH listing is the only metal latch in the set, and it describes itself with “Durable Metal Build.” The four plastic listings use words such as “not easy to break or deform,” which appears in the ITROLLE listing. Those are the listing’s own words. None of the sources we opened says whether a plastic latch resists a chewing dog.

Cornell makes a related point about soft crates: “they are not very durable, and puppies or chewers may destroy the material.” That is about soft crates, not latches, but it shows why material matters for a dog that chews.

Moving a crate with a latch

If a crate with a new latch travels in a car, the ASPCA’s advice applies first. Its December 30, 2025 travel article says: “Never use a wire or collapsible crate when transporting your pet, they can collapse or break open causing serious injuries or death in the event of an accident.” Its travel safety page adds: “Secure the crate so it will not slide or shift in the event of an abrupt stop.” None of the five listings mentions transport, so a new latch does not answer that question.

Buying checklist

  • Count the latch points on your door, and check the crate maker’s part list for your model. No listing here gives a model list.
  • Compare the listed part size with the latch you are replacing. The listings give part sizes, not the opening they fit.
  • If your crate is large, drop the two clip-style listings from the list before you read anything else. Both warn against large pet cages.
  • Work out the pack count with the formula above before you buy. A 12-piece pack covers 6 crates at 2 latches each, and a 10-piece pack covers 5.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying a clip-style latch for a large crate, even though the ITROLLE and ZYAMY listings both say they are not recommended for large pet cages.
  • Treating a replacement latch as a repair. The listings describe replacement parts only, and none says it fixes a bent door or a damaged frame.
  • Assuming a birdcage latch fits a dog crate. The Fayelume set is titled for a dog crate lock, but its bullets describe birdcage door buckles.
  • Buying a pack before you count. The per-crate count is stated only for the MidWest part on crates over 36 inches.

Product picks

Each pick below repeats only the specs its listing states. The picks are not ranked. Each one carries a limit that matters for a dog crate.

1. MidWest Homes for Pets Replacement Dog Crate Locking Latch, Plastic, Black, LATCHPL-1

Listing specs:

  • Product dimensions: 2.17 x 0.87 x 0.16 inches
  • Item weight: 0.22 ounces
  • Model: LATCHPL-1
  • Manufacturer: MidWest Homes for Pets
  • First available: December 9, 2023

Why it is here: It is the only listing in the set that names a wire dog crate and gives a count for crates over 36 inches.

Skip if: Your crate uses a different latch style, or it is not a wire crate. The listing names no crate model.

Limit: The listing does not say which dimension is the thickness, or which crate models the part fits.

View on Amazon

2. ZCLGOOD 12PCS Replacement Dog Crate Locking Latch, Black Plastic Wire Cage Hook Clips

Listing specs:

  • Package dimensions: 5.12 x 3.54 x 0.63 inches
  • Item weight: 1.76 ounces
  • Part number: P0130
  • Color: Black
  • Pieces: 12

Why it is here: It is the largest pack in the set. By the count above, one pack covers 6 crates at 2 latches each.

Skip if: You want a metal latch, or you have a large crate, because the listing gives no size for the crate it fits.

Limit: The bullets call it multi-purpose and name rabbit hutches, bird aviaries and cat enclosures, so dog crate fit is not described on its own.

View on Amazon

3. ITROLLE 10PCS Black Replacement Dog Crate Locking Latch Hook

Listing specs:

  • Product dimensions: 2.1 x 0.78 x 0.17 inches
  • Item weight: 1.62 ounces
  • Model: 57013-PCRBA-10
  • Manufacturer: ITROLLE
  • Pieces: 10

Why it is here: It is a plastic clip with a built-in handle, and its title names a dog crate.

Skip if: Your crate is a large pet cage. The listing says it is not recommended for use in large pet cages.

Limit: The listing asks you to confirm the product size before buying, but it gives no fit chart.

View on Amazon

4. ZYAMY 10PCS Plastic Locking Pins Dog Crate Fence Lock Latch Hook

Listing specs:

  • Product dimensions: 2.1 x 0.78 x 0.5 inches
  • Item weight: 1.76 ounces
  • Model: 64473-BRDCL-10
  • Manufacturer: ZYAMY
  • Pieces: 10

Why it is here: It has a pull handle for switching the clip on and off. Its third listed dimension is 0.5 inch, where the ITROLLE listing gives 0.17 inch.

Skip if: Your crate is a large pet cage, for the same reason as the ITROLLE clip.

Limit: The title lists chicken, rabbit, hamster and pigeon cages alongside the dog crate.

View on Amazon

5. NYTGAH 10 Pack Multi-Functional Metal Finger Spring Latch Hook

Listing specs:

  • Package dimensions: 5.71 x 3.98 x 0.43 inches
  • Item weight: 4 ounces
  • Total length: about 2.95 inches, with a loop of about 0.78 inch
  • Pieces: 10
  • Manufacturer: Rose-cha; brand field: NYTGAH

Why it is here: It is the only metal latch in the set, and it has a pull ring for quick opening.

Skip if: You want a plastic part, or you need a size statement for a large crate, which the listing does not give.

Limit: The brand and manufacturer fields give two different names, and the bullets describe rabbit, bird and chicken cages more than dog crates.

View on Amazon

Listings we left out

We left out two of the seven listings in the search set. The Runseaway 20-piece wire cage clip set is described mainly as a connector for DIY assembly and repairs on cages, fences and yard gates. The Fayelume 12-piece set is titled as a dog crate lock, but its bullets describe birdcage door buckles and bird escape prevention. On their own descriptions, neither is primarily a dog crate latch.

How we chose

The criteria were three. The listing describes a latch, lock, clip or door buckle for a crate or a cage door. The listing gives at least one stated size. The listing names a dog crate or a closely matching use. We considered seven listings from the search set and kept five. Cost, customer feedback and sales position were not inputs, and the picks are not ranked. The listing details were recorded on 2026-10-21.

What we could not verify

  • Which crate models any latch fits. None of the listings gives a model list, and the sources we opened do not cover latch hardware.
  • Door opening size, wire diameter and thickness. The listings give part sizes only, and none labels which dimension is the thickness.
  • How long any latch lasts, or whether it resists a chewing dog. The listings use phrases such as “not easy to break or deform,” with no standard or number behind them.
  • What “large pet cage” means in the ITROLLE and ZYAMY listings.
  • Whether the MidWest two-latch rule applies to crates from other makers.

FAQ

Do I need a new crate or a replacement latch?

A replacement latch replaces only the latch. The listings describe replacement parts, and none of them says it repairs a bent door, a damaged frame or a broken wire. If the rest of the crate is sound and only the latch is worn, a matching replacement may be the right part. Confirm the fit with the crate maker first. If your dog slips out of gear rather than through a crate door, see the harness guide for small dogs that escape.

How many latches does a large crate need?

For a crate over 36 inches, the only figure in this set is the MidWest listing’s two latches. Use the counting rule above, and check the crate maker’s part list for the number of latch points on your model.

Can a plastic latch stop a dog that chews?

The sources we opened do not say that any latch stops a chewer. AKC says metal dog crates are best for dogs who tend to chew through other materials. Cornell says soft or mesh crates may be destroyed by chewers. If your dog chews through gear, talk with your vet or a certified trainer about the chewing, and check the latch area for wear. For chew-focused toys, see the guide to durable dog toys for heavy chewers.

Will a birdcage latch work on a dog crate?

Do not assume it will. The Fayelume set is titled for a dog crate lock, but its bullets describe birdcage door buckles, so we left it out. The kept multi-animal listings name dog crates in their titles, but they do not describe fit for a specific crate, so check the size and latch style yourself.

Is it safe to move a crate with a new latch in a car?

The ASPCA says “Never use a wire or collapsible crate when transporting your pet.” It also says a crate should be secured so it will not slide or shift in the event of an abrupt stop. A latch listing does not change that advice. For questions about how your dog handles travel, ask your vet.

Bottom line

Buy a replacement latch when it matches your crate’s door and you can confirm the fit with the crate maker. For a crate over 36 inches, the MidWest listing’s two-latch rule is the only count in this set. On a large crate, skip the two clip-style listings, because both say they are not recommended for large pet cages.

Decision rule: if the latch is worn and your crate is a wire crate, start with a matching replacement and count pieces with the formula above. If your dog chews, AKC’s point about metal crates is about the whole crate, not one latch, so talk with your vet about the chewing before you rely on a latch alone.

Sources

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Similar Posts