ouble handle dog leash

Double Handle Dog Leash: 8 Listings Compared by Specs

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A double handle dog leash has a second, shorter handle near the clasp, and all eight listings below show two handles in their titles or specs. Six of them call that second handle a traffic handle, meant for closer control in crowded areas or on busy sidewalks. Each listing gives a length, a weight and a dog size field, and seven of the eight give a width. None states a weight limit, and the sources we opened do not cover how well a second handle works on a walk.

Quick answer

  • A double handle dog leash has a standard handle at the end and a second, shorter handle for close control. Six listings name a traffic handle; the other two say dual or two handles.
  • All eight listings show two handles in their title or specs, so none was dropped.
  • Listed weights run from 5 ounces to 8.8 ounces. Width is 1 inch in six listings and 0.5 inch in one, and Amazon Basics does not state a width.
  • No listing states a weight limit. Two listings give a dog size field that differs from their own title, so read both before you buy.

What the second handle is for

The listings describe the second handle in similar terms. Joytale, Plutus, Max and Neo, CLCKUMTU, Fida and Hikiko each name a traffic handle for quick control in crowded areas, on busy sidewalks, or in an emergency. The standard handle at the far end is for everyday walking. Plutus describes its standard handle for casual walks and loose-leash walking, and Hikiko calls its standard handle suitable for relaxed walking.

Where the second handle sits is not stated in most listings. Joytale and Fida say the traffic handle sits near the dog’s collar. Max and Neo gives the only stated distance in the set: its second handle sits 18 inches from the clasp. For the other five listings that name a traffic or dual handle, the position is not stated, so the text does not tell you how far down the leash that grip falls.

Every listing describes its handles as padded. Five of them say neoprene padding, and the other three say padded or cushioned. These are the listing’s own claims about comfort, and none of the sources we opened addresses handle padding.

How to read the listed specs

Leash listings use fields that do not always agree, so it helps to know which field you are reading. Size and Item Length give the length. Item Width and Item Weight give the width and the weight. Dog Breed Size is a catalog field that tells you which dogs the seller has in mind. It is not a fit guarantee and it is not a weight rating.

Max and Neo also lists a Product Dimensions value of 8.5 by 3 by 1.5 inches. That value cannot be the length of a 72-inch leash, and the listing does not say what it measures. This post uses the Item Length field for length wherever the listing gives one.

Weights are the listing’s stated figures. None of the listings says whether the weight includes packaging, so do not assume either way.

The listed specs side by side

The table uses only the fields each listing states. A cell that reads not stated means the listing gives no figure for that field.

Listing (ASIN) Length (listed) Width Item weight Dog Breed Size (field)
Amazon Basics (B0FWBSBJC7) 6 ft (Size field) not stated 5 oz All
Joytale (B0C2PTSL6H) 72 in (Item Length) 1 in 5.9 oz Medium
Plutus Pet (B07D4BB737) 72 in (Item Length); 84 in (Product Dimensions) 1 in 6.4 oz Giant, Large, Medium
Roam Gear (B0BRBVRM39) 71 in (Item Length) 0.5 in 8.8 oz Large
Max and Neo (B019YPYG38) 72 in (Item Length) 1 in 6 oz Large
CLCKUMTU (B0GDWVXQ6G) 70.87 in (Item Length) 1 in 5.6 oz All
Fida (B09DG1LZNS) 48 in (Item Length, 121.92 cm) 1 in 5.9 oz Small
Hikiko (B0DNMP57NM) 6 ft (Item Length) 1 in 5.6 oz Large, Medium

The Plutus row shows a conflict inside one listing. Its Item Dimensions field gives 72 inches and its Product Dimensions field gives 84 inches, and the listing does not say which one describes the leash. The calculations below use 72 inches and show the 84-inch result alongside.

Derived figures and the formulas

Two figures are calculated from the listed numbers. Length in feet equals the listed length in inches divided by 12. Weight per foot equals the listed item weight in ounces divided by the length in feet, rounded to two decimals. Weight per foot is a ratio of two listed numbers. It says nothing about strength, so a heavier leash is not shown to be a stronger one.

Listing Length in feet (formula) Weight per foot, oz (formula)
Amazon Basics 6.00 (Size field) 5 ÷ 6.00 = 0.83
Joytale 72 ÷ 12 = 6.00 5.9 ÷ 6.00 = 0.98
Plutus Pet 72 ÷ 12 = 6.00 (84 in gives 7.00) 6.4 ÷ 6.00 = 1.07 (84 in gives 0.91)
Roam Gear 71 ÷ 12 = 5.92 8.8 ÷ 5.92 = 1.49
Max and Neo 72 ÷ 12 = 6.00 6 ÷ 6.00 = 1.00
CLCKUMTU 70.87 ÷ 12 = 5.91 5.6 ÷ 5.91 = 0.95
Fida 48 ÷ 12 = 4.00 5.9 ÷ 4.00 = 1.48
Hikiko 72 ÷ 12 = 6.00 5.6 ÷ 6.00 = 0.93

On these figures, Amazon Basics has the lowest weight per foot at 0.83 ounces, and Roam Gear has the highest at 1.49 ounces. Roam Gear’s figure reflects its 8.8-ounce item weight, the highest weight in the set, on a leash just under 6 feet long. The traffic handle distance is stated only once. On Max and Neo, 18 inches from the clasp on a 72-inch leash puts the handle at 25 percent of the length (18 ÷ 72 = 0.25).

Where the listing figures disagree

Four listings contain figures that disagree with another figure in the same listing. Each conflict is shown below with both figures, so you can check the listing yourself before you buy.

  • Joytale dog size: the title says the leash is for large dogs that pull, but the Dog Breed Size field reads Medium. A bullet says the 1-inch version suits medium or large dogs.
  • Fida dog size: the title says medium and large dogs, but the Dog Breed Size field reads Small. A bullet says the leash suits large, medium and some small breeds.
  • Plutus length: 72 inches in Item Dimensions and 84 inches in Product Dimensions.
  • Roam Gear dog size: the Dog Breed Size field reads Large, while a bullet describes the leash for large breed dogs, medium pups and even smaller pets.
  • Fida warranty: the warranty field reads 1 year, while a bullet describes a 30-day money-back promise. These are two different commitments, and the listing does not explain how they relate.

Dog size and fit

None of the eight listings states a weight limit, so the Dog Breed Size field is the only size guidance they give. Amazon Basics and CLCKUMTU say All. Roam Gear and Max and Neo say Large. Hikiko says Large and Medium, and Plutus says Giant, Large and Medium. Joytale says Medium and Fida says Small. The Joytale and Fida fields are the two that differ from their titles, as shown above.

The listings do not say which dog weight or build each leash was made for, so a size field alone does not settle the question. A vet or certified trainer can help you judge whether a given leash suits a large or strong dog. For one Joytale leash on its own, see our Joytale 6-foot reflective leash review.

Night walks and reflective details

Seven of the eight listings state reflective threads or strips. Amazon Basics, Joytale, Plutus, Roam Gear, Max and Neo, CLCKUMTU and Fida all name reflective stitching, threads or strips. Hikiko does not mention reflective material, so do not assume it has any.

The sources give the same guidance for dark walks. Cornell University’s Riney Canine Health Center advises wearing something reflective and carrying a flashlight, so drivers can see you and your dog. Penn State Extension’s safe-walk advice is written for people on foot, and it applies to dog walkers too. It recommends walking in a well-lit area in the dark or at dusk, wearing bright clothing or a reflective vest, and carrying a flashlight.

A reflective leash covers one part of that advice. The listings describe the threads, but none gives a distance at which they can be seen. We could not verify visibility, and the sources we opened do not rate any leash.

Walking safety from the sources

The ASPCA’s general dog care page says to keep your dog on a leash whenever you are outside, unless you are in a secured, fenced area. The same page says to attach the license to the collar, and that an ID tag with an implanted microchip or tattoo can help bring a lost dog home.

Penn State Extension covers the other side of the walk: loose dogs. Its advice is to watch for unleashed dogs, stay calm, not turn your back, and avoid direct eye contact if a free-roaming dog comes toward you. It attributes that advice to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. A second handle gives you a closer grip on your own dog, but it does not change what a loose dog does, so the same advice applies on every walk.

If you are still deciding how a leash should clip on, our guide to whether a collar or a harness is better for a dog covers that choice. For hands-free walks while biking, see our bike riding leash picks.

Retractable and expandable leashes

None of the eight listings describes itself as retractable or expandable. All of them are fixed-length leashes. That matters because the sources treat those designs with caution. AKC advises avoiding retractable leashes and suggests a lightweight 6-foot leash instead. Cornell University’s winter safety page advises against expandable leashes on icy ground to prevent accidental slips.

To see how a retractable leash works inside, read our explainer on what is inside a retractable dog leash. For retractable options sorted by dog size, see our retractable leash comparison.

Buying checklist

  • Confirm the second handle in the title or specs. All eight listings pass this check.
  • Choose a length you can manage. Listed lengths run from 48 inches to 72 inches, and AKC suggests a lightweight 6-foot leash over a retractable one.
  • Read width and weight together. Six listings are 1 inch wide, Roam Gear is 0.5 inch, and Amazon Basics states no width.
  • Compare the Dog Breed Size field with the title. Joytale and Fida need this check most.
  • Check the closure. Six listings say snap, Roam Gear says carabiner, and Amazon Basics describes a 360-degree metal clasp in its bullets without a closure field.
  • For night walks, look for reflective threads or strips. Seven listings state them, and Hikiko does not.
  • Read the warranty field. Amazon Basics states a 1 year limited warranty, Fida states a 1 year warranty, the CLCKUMTU field reads NO, and the other five do not state one.
  • For a large or strong dog, ask a vet or certified trainer before you rely on any of these, because no listing states a weight limit.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Trusting the title alone for dog size. The Joytale title says large dogs, but its field reads Medium. The Fida title says medium and large dogs, but its field reads Small.
  • Assuming one length. Plutus gives 72 inches in one field and 84 inches in another, and that difference moves the weight-per-foot figure from 1.07 to 0.91 ounces.
  • Reading no pull as a result. One Roam Gear bullet uses that phrase, but the listing gives no method or test behind it.
  • Counting the Fida 30-day money-back promise as a warranty. The promise is in a bullet, and the warranty field reads 1 year.
  • Treating a reflective leash as enough for night walks. The sources advise reflective clothing or a vest, a flashlight and well-lit routes, and the leash is only one item.
  • Assuming the second handle sits in a set place. Only Max and Neo gives a distance, 18 inches from the clasp, and five listings state no position.
  • Assuming a heavier leash is a stronger one. Roam Gear is the heaviest listing at 8.8 ounces, but no listing states a strength figure.

How we chose

The rule for this list was narrow. A listing had to show two handles in its title or specs. All eight listings in the research set passed, so none was dropped. We did not rank them, and the order of the cards below follows the research file, not a score. The figures are the listing’s stated numbers as recorded on 2026-10-21, and the calculated figures show their formulas.

This is a set of eight listings, not a survey of the whole market. We did not search for other two-handle leashes, so a listing that is missing here may still suit you. Each card names the dog size, length and width the listing states, and each gives a reason to skip.

What we could not verify

Several things a leash buyer wants to know are not in the listing text or in the sources we opened.

  • Durability. The listings use words such as heavy duty, tear-resistant, durable and rust-proof. None gives a strength figure, a test standard or a certificate for those words.
  • Visibility at night. Seven listings say reflective, but none gives a distance at which the threads can be seen.
  • Recycled content in Amazon Basics. The bullet states 69 percent GRS certified recycled polyester. The listing gives no certificate number, and the sources we opened do not cover that certification.
  • The rescue donation in the Max and Neo listing. The bullets describe one leash donated to a rescue for each sale. We cannot confirm how that program works from the sources we opened.
  • The thickness and comparison claims. Plutus gives a 2.8 mm thickness, and Fida says it is nearly 2X thicker and stronger than a standard leash. Neither figure names a basis or a baseline.
  • Weight limits. None of the eight states one.
  • Handle position. Five listings do not state where the second handle sits.
  • Whether the weight figures include packaging. The listings do not say.

Product picks

Each card below repeats the listing’s stated figures for that product, with the dog size it names. Read the Skip if line before you click through.

Amazon Basics Dog Leash, 6 ft, Dual Padded Handles

Listing says: 6 ft (Size field); item weight 5 oz; Dog Breed Size All; 360-degree metal clasp (bullet); polyester rope (bullet); highly reflective threads (bullet); 69 percent GRS certified recycled polyester (bullet); 1 year limited warranty; width not stated; weight limit none stated.

Why it is here: It is the only listing in the set that states both a 1 year limited warranty and a recycled-content figure, and its size field covers all dogs.

Skip if: you need a width figure before you buy, or a size range narrower than All.

Limit: the bullets name a certification without a certificate number in the listing fields.

View on Amazon

Joytale Dog Leash, Double Handle, 6 FT

Listing says: 72 in (Item Length); width 1 in; item weight 5.9 oz; Dog Breed Size Medium; snap closure; metal and nylon; traffic handles near the dog’s collar (bullet); reflective stitching on both sides (bullet); heavy-duty stitching inside the handle (bullet); warranty not stated; weight limit none stated.

Why it is here: It is one of two listings that place the traffic handle near the collar, and its bullets describe a 1-inch width for medium or large dogs.

Skip if: you need the size field to match the title’s large-dog wording, since it does not.

Limit: the title says large dogs that pull, and the size field says Medium.

View on Amazon

Plutus Pet Double Handle Dog Leash, 6 FT

Listing says: 72 in (Item Dimensions) and 84 in (Product Dimensions), which disagree; width 1 in; thickness 2.8 mm (bullet); item weight 6.4 oz; Dog Breed Size Giant, Large and Medium; snap closure; neoprene and nylon; reflective thread on both sides (bullet); warranty not stated; weight limit none stated.

Why it is here: It is the only listing whose size field names Giant dogs, and its bullets give a thickness figure in millimeters.

Skip if: you need one length you can rely on before buying, since the listing gives two.

Limit: the 2.8 mm figure is the listing’s own, with no basis given.

View on Amazon

Roam Gear 6 Foot Dog Leash, Two Padded Handles

Listing says: 71 in (Item Length); width 0.5 in; item weight 8.8 oz, the highest in the set; Dog Breed Size Large; carabiner closure; nylon; 360-degree swivel clasp (bullet); reflective nylon threads (bullet); warranty not stated; weight limit none stated.

Why it is here: It is the only listing with a 0.5-inch width and a carabiner closure, which suits a buyer who wants a narrower leash with a clip.

Skip if: you want a 1-inch width or a snap closure.

Limit: the bullets use the words no pull and weatherproof, and the listing gives no method behind either.

View on Amazon

Max and Neo Double Handle Traffic Dog Leash, Blue, 6 FT

Listing says: 72 in (Item Length); width 1 in; item weight 6 oz; Dog Breed Size Large; snap closure; nylon; padded soft neoprene handles (bullet); second handle 18 inches from the clasp (bullet); reflective stitching (bullet); warranty not stated; weight limit none stated.

Why it is here: It is the only listing that gives a distance for its traffic handle. On a 72-inch leash, 18 inches is 25 percent of the length (18 ÷ 72 = 0.25).

Skip if: your dog is medium-sized, since the size field says Large.

Limit: the date first available is December 30, 2015, and the rescue donation in the bullets is the seller’s own statement.

View on Amazon

CLCKUMTU Heavy Duty Dog Leash, 6 FT, Black

Listing says: 70.87 in (Item Length); width 1 in; item weight 5.6 oz; Dog Breed Size All; snap closure with a chrome-plated alloy clasp (bullet); nylon with neoprene padding (bullet); full-length reflective strips (bullet); warranty field reads NO; date first available February 8, 2026; weight limit none stated.

Why it is here: Its size field says All, and its date first available, February 8, 2026, is the second most recent in the set.

Skip if: you need a warranty, since the field reads NO and gives no period.

Limit: rust-proof and tear-resistant are the listing’s own words, and no test or standard is named.

View on Amazon

Fida Heavy Duty Dog Leash, 4 FT, Dual Padded Handles

Listing says: 48 in (Item Length, 121.92 cm); width 1 in; item weight 5.9 oz; Dog Breed Size Small; snap closure; nylon; soft neoprene padded handles; traffic handle near the dog’s collar (bullet); reflective threads (bullet); 1 year warranty (field); 30-day money-back promise (bullet); weight limit none stated.

Why it is here: It is the only listing under 5.9 feet in the set, and it is one of two that place the traffic handle near the collar.

Skip if: you want a 6-foot leash, or your dog fits the title’s medium and large wording better than the Small field.

Limit: the title says medium and large dogs, and the 30-day promise is not a warranty.

View on Amazon

Hikiko 6FT Dog Leash, Padded Double Handle

Listing says: 6 ft (Item Length, 72 in per Product Dimensions); width 1 in; item weight 5.6 oz; Dog Breed Size Large and Medium; snap closure; neoprene and nylon; floral pattern; standard and traffic handles (bullet); reflective material not stated; warranty not stated; weight limit none stated.

Why it is here: Its size field names both Large and Medium, and its item type name is double handle dog leash, the phrase this post covers.

Skip if: you need reflective material, since the listing does not mention any.

Limit: the listing gives no position for the traffic handle.

View on Amazon

Frequently asked questions

What is a double handle dog leash?

It is a leash with two handles. The standard handle sits at the end for everyday walking. The second, shorter handle sits along the leash, usually described as a traffic handle, for closer control in crowded or busy places. Six of the eight listings call it a traffic handle, and the other two describe dual or two handles without that term.

Does a second handle stop a dog from pulling?

None of the eight listings says it does. One Roam Gear bullet uses the phrase no pull, but that listing gives no test or method behind the wording. Cornell University’s winter safety guidance suggests a front-clipping harness for a dog that pulls. For a dog that pulls hard, ask your vet or a certified trainer which gear fits the problem.

What length should I buy?

The listed lengths run from 48 inches to 72 inches. Seven of the eight listings are between 5.9 and 6 feet long, and Fida is the 4-foot option. AKC advises a lightweight 6-foot leash rather than a retractable one. The listings do not say which length suits which dog, so choose the length that matches how you walk.

Is a double handle leash safe for a large dog?

The listings give no weight limit, so the Dog Breed Size field is the only size guide they offer. Roam Gear, Max and Neo, Plutus and Hikiko name Large in that field, and Amazon Basics and CLCKUMTU say All. Compare the clasp, the closure type and the handle position, since the listings give different detail on each. The sources we opened do not rate any leash for a large dog, so ask a vet or certified trainer before you rely on one.

Do I need a reflective leash for night walks?

Seven of the eight listings state reflective threads or strips, and Hikiko does not mention reflective material. Cornell University advises wearing something reflective and carrying a flashlight on dark walks, and Penn State Extension advises well-lit routes, bright clothing or a reflective vest, and a flashlight. A reflective leash covers one part of that advice, and none of the listings gives a distance at which its threads can be seen.

Bottom line

If you need a second handle within reach for busy walks, pick the listing whose title, size field and length agree, and check the handle position before you buy, because five listings do not state it. If the size field conflicts with the title, or the listing names no weight limit and your dog is large or strong, ask a vet or certified trainer first.

Sources

  • American Kennel Club, “Leash Training: How to Train a Dog or Puppy to Walk on a Leash,” last updated April 8, 2026. https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/training/teach-puppy-walk-leash/ (opened 2026-10-21)
  • ASPCA, “General Dog Care.” No date shown on the page. https://www.aspca.org/pet-care/dog-care/general-dog-care (opened 2026-10-21)
  • Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, Riney Canine Health Center, “Winter safety tips.” No date shown on the page. https://www.vet.cornell.edu/departments-centers-and-institutes/riney-canine-health-center/canine-health-topics/winter-safety-tips (opened 2026-10-21)
  • Penn State Extension, “Take a Safe Walk,” dated September 19, 2022. https://extension.psu.edu/take-a-safe-walk (opened 2026-10-21)

This page contains affiliate links. We earn from qualifying purchases made through them.

Similar Posts