Best Elevated Dog Bowls for Comfortable Meals
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
An elevated dog bed is a raised cot with a mesh or fabric sleeping surface stretched over a frame, and the best one for your dog depends on size, the weight limit the listing states, and where the bed will live. This guide compares seven elevated dog bed listings by their own numbers: dimensions, frame material, fabric, stated capacity and weight. Sizes run from 34 inches long for a medium dog to 49 inches for a large one, and the stated capacities do not always agree with each other, so the details below are worth reading.
Quick answer
- Largest sleeping surface: the Veehoo bed is 47 by 32 inches with a headrest and guardrails, and the Bedsure bed is 49 by 31.5 inches.
- Most portable: the Coolaroo On-The-Go kit has a carry bag and pops up, and the 34-inch bed in this group weighs under 3 pounds.
- Highest stated capacity: K&H lists 200 pounds in its specs, but its bullet recommends the bed for dogs up to 80 lbs, so plan around the lower figure.
- Medium dogs: the 34 by 26 inch cot and the Coolaroo Original at 42 by 25.5 inches are the medium-size listings.
What an elevated dog bed does
Every listing in this guide describes the same basic design: a metal frame holds a taut cover off the ground, which lets air move underneath and keeps the dog away from damp grass, hot pavement or a cold floor. Sellers describe this as cooling, and several use the phrases 360 degree airflow or breathable mesh. These are the sellers’ claims about airflow; none of the listings gives a temperature test result in the pack, except Coolaroo’s statement of its fabric reflecting heat and feeling up to 15 degrees Fahrenheit cooler.
Sellers also say a raised bed relieves pressure on joints. That is a general description, not a medical claim this guide can make. If your dog has joint pain, limps or struggles to get up, ask a vet what kind of bed is appropriate.
How to choose an elevated dog bed
Size: measure the dog lying down
Measure nose to tail base while the dog is stretched out, then add a few inches. The listings give outer dimensions: 34 by 26 inches for the medium cot, 42 by 25.5 inches for the Coolaroo Original, 42 by 30 inches for K&H, 36 by 36 inches for the Coolaroo On-The-Go, 43.3 by 31.9 inches for the black cot, 47 by 32 inches for Veehoo and 49 by 31.5 inches for Bedsure. Veehoo adds that it suits pets up to 44 inches in length.
Check the capacity, then check it again
Capacity figures vary and sometimes conflict. K&H lists a 200 pound maximum but recommends the bed for dogs up to 80lbs. Bedsure lists 85 pounds. Coolaroo Original lists 75 pounds. Coolaroo On-The-Go says it supports pets up to 150 lbs. Veehoo lists 50 kg. The black 43.3 inch cot lists a maximum weight of 15 pounds in its specs field, which cannot be right for a bed sold for large dogs; read its product page before relying on it. The medium cotton cot does not state a pound figure.
Frame and fabric
K&H uses a metal frame with a polyester mesh cover. Veehoo uses powder-coated steel with Teslin mesh. The Bedsure bed uses an iron frame and Teslin mesh. The black 43.3 inch cot uses coated steel and Textilene mesh and lists chew resistance as a special feature. The medium cot uses a stainless steel frame with a soft, breathable cotton fabric. The Coolaroo beds use powder-coated steel with high-density polyethylene fabric, which the brand calls 100 percent recyclable.
Feet and floor
A raised bed that slides is a problem. Veehoo, the medium cot and the black 43.3 inch cot all mention non-slip rubber or silicone feet. K&H, Bedsure and Coolaroo list a non-skid bottom.
Assembly and cleaning
Most listings say no tools. Veehoo and the black cot say snap-on assembly, the medium cot says plug-in connectors in less than 15 minutes, and Bedsure says a few minutes. For cleaning, K&H says the removable mesh cover is machine washable and hose-friendly. Bedsure, Veehoo and the black cot say wash or rinse the mesh with water. Coolaroo says hose off or wipe clean.
Elevated dog bed comparison table
| Listing | Size (L x W x height) | Frame | Cover | Stated capacity | Item weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| K&H Outdoor Large | 42 x 30 x 7 in | Metal | Polyester mesh | 200 lbs spec, 80 lbs bullet | 5.1 pounds |
| Coolaroo On-The-Go Large | 36 x 36 in | Alloy steel, powder-coated | HDPE HeatShield | 150 lbs | 10.1 lbs per bullet |
| Medium cotton cot | 34 x 26 x 6.5 in | Stainless steel | Cotton | Not stated | 2.96 pounds |
| Veehoo | 47 x 32 x 12 in | Powder-coated steel | Teslin mesh | 50 kg | 4.6 kg in specs |
| Black 43.3 in cot | 43.3 x 31.9 x 7.9 in | Coated steel | Textilene mesh | Unclear in listing | 7.83 pounds |
| Bedsure 49 in | 49 x 31.5 x 8 in | Iron | Teslin mesh | 85 pounds | 7.72 pounds |
| Coolaroo Original Medium | 42 x 25.5 x 8 in | Powder-coated steel | HDPE | 75 pounds | 6 pounds |
The listings, one by one
K&H Outdoor Elevated Dog Bed, Large
K&H sells a large cot that is 42 by 30 inches and 7 inches high, intended for medium and large pets. The listing names Labrador Retrievers, German Shepherds and Golden Retrievers as examples. It describes 360 degree airflow, a strong metal frame with reinforced corners, a durable mesh sleeping surface and a lightweight collapsible design with tool-free assembly. The removable mesh cover is machine washable and hose-friendly, and replacement covers are mentioned. The warranty is a one year limited manufacturer warranty. The item weighs 5.1 pounds.
Why pick it: an established brand description, a removable washable cover and a light frame.
Watch for: the specs list a 200 pound maximum, while a bullet recommends it for dogs up to 80lbs. Use the lower number.
Coolaroo On-The-Go Elevated Dog Bed Kit, Large
This is the travel one. The listing describes a pop-up design that folds in seconds, a carry bag, and an extra cover in Pacific Blue, so you can swap while one is washed. Coolaroo says its HeatShield fabric reflects the sun’s heat and can feel up to 15 degrees Fahrenheit cooler, on a powder-coated steel frame with knitted mesh that supports pets up to 150 lbs. It measures 36 by 36 inches, and a bullet says the whole bed weighs 10.1 lbs. The fabric is washable HDPE, said to be free of lead and phthalates. Warranty: 5 years for the fabric against UV degradation and 1 year for the frame.
Why pick it: the carry bag, the spare cover and the stated 150 lb capacity.
Watch for: a square 36 by 36 inch shape, so check it against your dog’s lying length.
Raised outdoor dog bed for medium dogs (cotton, stainless steel)
This listing is for a medium cot at 34 by 26 by 6.5 inches. The sellers describe a soft, breathable cotton fabric with moisture absorption, a stainless steel frame, no-slip rubber feet and plug-in connectors with a graphic manual so assembly takes under 15 minutes. It comes apart for compact storage. It is available in small, medium and large sizes, and the medium weighs 2.96 pounds, the lightest in this group. The warranty is listed as 1 year.
Why pick it: the smallest and lightest, and it takes apart for storage.
What the listing does not state: a weight capacity in pounds.
Veehoo Cooling Elevated Dog Bed with guardrail and headrest
Veehoo is the only bed here with raised edges. The listing describes a 47 by 32 by 12 inch cot with a sloping headrest and guardrails, so dogs do not roll off, and says it suits pets up to 44 inches in length, such as Labradors, Rottweilers, Boxers and Border Collies. The Teslin mesh is said to allow airflow and water to pass through, the steel frame is powder-coated, and the feet are non-slip. It snaps together without tools and the bed lifts the dog 8.2 inches off the ground. Capacity is listed as 50 kg.
Why pick it: the headrest and rails and the most generous surface length.
Watch for: the specs list two different sizes (47 by 32 inches, and 43.7 by 30.31 inches in another field), so confirm before you buy.
Raised outdoor dog cot for large dogs, black, 43.3 inches
This listing is for a black cot at 43.3 by 31.9 by 7.9 inches. It is coated steel with Textilene mesh and silicone feet that the listing says improve grip. It snaps together with no tools. The mesh is described as rinsable, wipe-clean and quick-drying, with UV resistance, and the specs list chew resistance as a special feature. The item weighs 7.83 pounds.
Why pick it: a simple frame, a mesh that is easy to rinse and a 7.9 inch height that the listing says suits puppies to seniors.
Watch for: the weight capacity field says 15 pounds, which does not match a large-dog cot, so read the product page.
Bedsure Outdoor Elevated Cooling Dog Bed, 49 inches
Bedsure’s cot is 49 by 31.5 inches and 8 inches high, with an iron frame and heavy-duty Teslin mesh that the seller says holds up to scratching and chewing and spreads pressure evenly. It is described as weather resistant, for indoor or outdoor use, and the listing mentions a patio, a porch, poolside and camping. The maximum weight recommendation is 85 pounds. Cleaning: rinse the mesh with tap water or a hose, or use a mild soap and rinse. It weighs 7.72 pounds. The listing says set up takes a few minutes.
Why pick it: the longest bed in the group and a stated 85 pound recommendation.
Watch for: the specs show two widths, 31.5 and 35.4 inches, in different fields.
Coolaroo Original Elevated Dog Bed, Medium
The Coolaroo Original is a 42 by 25.5 by 8 inch bed for medium dogs. It uses a powder-coated steel frame and high-density polyethylene fabric the brand calls 100 percent recyclable and free from harmful toxins, lead and phthalates. The listing describes continuous 360 degree airflow, moisture resistance and an easy clean: hose off or wipe. The special features include a non-skid bottom, UV resistance and odor control. Weight is 6 pounds, the maximum weight recommendation is 75 pounds, and the warranty is one year against UV degradation. The brand also sells a replacement cover for this size, with a 5 year fabric warranty, if the fabric wears out before the frame.
Why pick it: a medium size with a stated 75 pound limit and a replaceable cover.
Trade-off: it is narrower at 25.5 inches than the large cots.
Which one for which situation
- A patio or yard: Bedsure and the black cot mention weather resistance and UV resistance; Coolaroo Original mentions moisture resistance and UV.
- Travel and camping: Coolaroo On-The-Go with its carry bag, or the 2.96 pound medium cot that comes apart.
- A large breed: Veehoo at 47 inches or Bedsure at 49 inches, after checking capacity.
- A dog that rolls or needs a headrest: Veehoo, the only listing here with guardrails.
- A medium dog: the 34 by 26 inch cot or Coolaroo Original at 42 by 25.5 inches.
If you landed here looking for raised food and water stands instead, we have a separate page on elevated dog bowls for large dogs, and a comparison of four elevated bowl stands from small to large.
Mistakes to avoid
- Sizing from the dog’s weight alone. Length matters as much. Measure your dog stretched out.
- Taking the highest capacity figure at face value. K&H shows two different numbers on one listing. When in doubt, go with the smaller.
- Assuming mesh is chew-proof. Bedsure and the black cot describe mesh that resists scratching or chewing, but no listing here claims a dog cannot damage it. Remove a bed if your dog is pulling at the fabric.
- Using outdoors without a plan for sun and rain. Even the beds that call themselves outdoor beds are mesh on a frame. Weather resistance on a listing is not a guarantee against everything.
- Skipping the vet for joint problems. A raised bed is furniture. For stiffness or pain, ask your vet.
FAQ
What is an elevated dog bed?
It is a cot-style bed where a fabric or mesh surface is stretched over a metal frame. The surface sits several inches off the floor so air can flow beneath it.
Are elevated dog beds only for hot weather?
The sellers market them for cooling, but several, including Veehoo and Coolaroo, say they work in every season. The Bedsure listing calls it a bed for all-season comfort. That is the seller’s description.
How do I clean one?
Most listings say rinse or wipe the mesh. K&H says the removable cover is machine washable. Coolaroo says hose off or wipe clean. Bedsure suggests a mild soap and thorough rinse.
How do I know which size to get?
Measure your dog’s lying length and compare with the listed length. Then check the stated capacity, using the lower figure when a listing shows two.
Can I take one camping?
K&H, Coolaroo On-The-Go, Bedsure and the medium cot all mention travel or camping. The On-The-Go kit has a carry bag, and the medium cot is the lightest at 2.96 pounds.
Do these help dogs with arthritis?
Some listings say a raised bed eases pressure on joints. That is a general statement from the seller, not medical advice. Ask a vet about your own dog.
Bottom line
Pick the bed by the dog’s length and the lower of any stated weight limits, then by where it will live. For a large dog at home, start with Veehoo or Bedsure; for trips, start with the Coolaroo On-The-Go kit; for a medium dog, the medium cot or Coolaroo Original. Check each product page for the final dimensions and capacity before ordering.






