Gifts for Dog Owners: Useful Gear for Their Dogs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Gifts for dog owners work best when they solve a job the owner already has: brushing a heavy shedder, trimming nails, serving meals without a mess, walking at dusk, keeping a chewer busy, or driving with the dog in the back seat. This guide covers nine items from our product store that fit those jobs. Each pick shows only what its Amazon listing states, and each section says where the listing or our sources are silent.
Quick answer
- Heavy shedder: a deshedding brush with stated materials and a stated size. Check the dog’s coat before you buy.
- Nail trims: a grinder if the owner can take the time to build up the dog’s tolerance. The LuckyTail listing states 30 dB; the Dremel listing adds a guard and four speed settings.
- Mealtime: a bamboo bowl the listing sizes at 41 fluid ounces, an 18.5 by 11.5 inch silicone mat, or a bin rated for 50 pounds of food.
- Walks and chews: a harness only once the dog’s chest size is known, and any chew run through Tufts’ three questions before it is wrapped.
What a gift for a dog owner has to do
The person typing gifts for dog owners wants something the dog will actually use, not a present with a dog on the label. The useful check is simple: does the gift make a weekly chore easier for the owner, or make the dog’s day better in a way the owner can see? Items with a stated size, a stated capacity or a stated use pass that check more often than items that rely on a slogan.
A gift can go wrong in three ways. It can be the wrong size, which is the most common problem with harnesses, beds and car covers. It can rest on claims nobody can check, such as an award or a health benefit. Or it can be a chew the owner has to take away after a few days. The picks below avoid all three by pairing each item with a stated figure or a plain note about what the listing leaves out.
Before you buy, ask the owner, or a friend who knows the dog, three things: the dog’s weight, the chest measurement if the gift is worn, and how the dog treats chew items. Those answers settle most of the choices in this guide. Owners of older dogs have other needs as well, and our guide to beds for senior dogs covers a different kind of gift.
Grooming: a brush and a nail tool
A deshedding brush for a heavy shedder
Shedding is the easiest problem for a gift to solve, and a brush is the easiest item to get wrong. A veterinary technician at Texas A&M’s veterinary school recommends “brushing your dog at least three to four times a week for 5 to 10 minutes” to soften the coat and reduce the hair that is shed. The same article says “dogs with thicker coats would benefit from brushes specifically made for deshedding,” and that “Grooming tools are not one size fits all.”
The SleekEZ brush is a deshedding tool with stainless steel bristles and a poplar wood handle, and the listing puts it at 5 inches long and 4 ounces. Its bullets say it “Works on all coat types and animal breeds.” The Texas A&M article recommends pin-style brushes and combs for short-haired dogs and says thicker coats would benefit from deshedding brushes, so treat the all-coat wording as the seller’s claim and ask what coat the dog has before you buy. Our dog brush for shedding guide looks at coat types in more depth.
Nail trims: a grinder or a clipper
Nail trims are a routine chore, and a grinder is a common gift for owners who struggle with clippers. The VCA hospital guide says “Most dogs need to have their nails trimmed approximately once a month,” and it gives a simple check: look at whether the nails touch the ground. For clipping, the goal is to “cut approximately 2–3 mm away from the quick” so the dog does not feel pain. With dark nails you cannot see the quick, so VCA says to “trim just the very tip off the nail.”
VCA’s notes on grinding are more balanced than a sales page. It says grinding gives “less risk of damaging your dog’s quick with this method,” and that some dogs “that have an aversion to clipping are more tolerant of nail grinding.” It also names two risks: a spinning file can catch on long hair, and a slip can cause “a severe skin burn.” It adds that nail dust can irritate people, so grinding may be best done outdoors. VCA suggests a dog moving to a grinder should start small, with one or two nails and frequent food rewards.
Two grinders in our product store show how listings differ. The LuckyTail listing states a 30 dB noise level, a USB-C charge that takes one hour, a run time of over four hours, two LED lights and a diamond grinding head. The Dremel PawControl 7760-PET listing states a nail guard with a 45 degree paw guide, nine sanding bits, four speed settings and a two-year manufacturer warranty. The Dremel listing lists “Quiet” among its features but gives no decibel figure. The sources we opened do not cover noise or battery life, so those figures remain the sellers’ claims.
For the grinder choice, use the owner’s knowledge of the dog as the guide. If the dog reacts to loud sounds, a stated decibel figure is worth more than a design claim. If the owner wants a guard and a choice of speeds, the Dremel listing is the one that states them. Our guides to grinders for thick nails and nail grinder versus clipper cover the same choice in more detail.
Feeding and water: a bowl, a mat and a storage bin
A medium bamboo bowl with a stable base
The Loving Pets Dolce Bamboo bowl is listed as a medium size with a capacity of 41 fluid ounces. Dividing by eight gives about 5.1 cups, which fits the listing’s own range for its three sizes: the bullets say the bowls “hold from 18 to 76 ounces (2.25 to 9.5 cups)” of food or water. The listing gives the outside measurements as 6.75 by 6.75 by 2.75 inches, names bamboo and ceramic as the materials, and says the bowl is dishwasher safe. The bullets describe a skid-free rubber base.
The listing does not describe the bowl as raised or elevated, so do not buy it expecting a feeding stand. Owners who want a raised dish need a different item, and our guide to bowls for fast eaters covers that choice.
A silicone mat for messy eaters
The GORILLA GRIP Dog Food Mat measures 18.5 by 11.5 inches. The listing describes it as 100 percent waterproof silicone with a slip-resistant top, raised edges of one-eighth inch, and machine-washable care. The raised edge holds spills only up to its height, and the listing does not say how much liquid that is. The bullets say the mat “keeps bowls in place,” which is the seller’s claim, and they say it can sit under cat fountains, raised feeders and litter boxes.
The bullets also say the mat is a “winner of the 2025 Pet Innovation Award”. The sources we opened do not confirm that, so we treat it as a listing claim and leave it out of the reasons to buy.
A 50-pound airtight bin for dry food
The Vittles Vault storage container is listed at 50 pounds of capacity, with outside measurements of 14 by 14 by 20.2 inches. The listing gives an item volume of 181.21 cups and an empty weight of 5.9 pounds, and it includes a scoop. The bullets describe food-grade HDPE plastic and say the bin is made in the USA. The care line says hand wash only.
The two capacity figures need a check before you rely on the 50-pound rating. Dividing 50 pounds, or 800 ounces, by 181.21 cups gives about 4.4 ounces per cup. That assumes the 181.21 cups is the full interior volume and that the lid and scoop take up no space, and the listing does not say either. If the owner’s kibble weighs less than about 4.4 ounces per cup, the bin will hold less than 50 pounds by weight. Weigh one cup of the food before you rely on the rating.
Walks: a harness that needs a measurement
The Joytale No Pull Light Up Dog Harness is the walking item in this guide, and it shows why size matters. The size field reads L. The spec table also lists two conflicting values: “Large” as the dog breed size and “All Breed Sizes” as the breed recommendation. The fields we read give no weight range and no chest measurement. Before you order, get the chest measurement from the owner and compare it with the size information on the listing page.
The harness has three buckles, a front chest D-ring that the listing calls a “Pull-Reducing Front Clip,” and seven LED colors in three modes. It has reflective trim and a built-in holder for an Apple AirTag, which the listing says is sold separately. The listing says the padding is EVA and gives a one-year warranty. The care line says hand wash only, so this is not the item for an owner who wants a washing machine to handle everything.
If the dog is small, the choice changes. Our guide to no-pull harnesses for small dogs covers that size range, and it is the better link to send with a gift for an owner of a small dog.
Chewing: check the chew before you wrap it
A chew is the gift most likely to become a problem, and the label on the package does not settle the question. The Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University is direct on the first point: “Bones of any kind are a big no-no.” The article says the odds of a dog breaking a tooth on many butcher-shop bones and store-bought animal chews are “very high.” Its check is three questions: “Can you bend or flex it?” “Can you press your thumb nail into it and make a dent?” and “Can you dissolve it in water?” The article then says “If the answer is no, then don’t buy it!”
The same article lists chews to avoid: “antlers, cow hooves, Himalayan yak chews or hard Nylon bones.” Check any chew on a gift list against that list before you buy.
The SPOT Bam-Bones Plus is a six-inch T-bone for dogs in the 30 to 60 pound range, made of bamboo fiber and nylon, with beef flavor. The listing says it “stands up to moderate to heavy chewing,” and that the T-bone shape is “easy for dogs to hold with their paws.” Tufts names hard nylon bones on its avoid list, and the listing does not say whether a thumbnail can dent it. This pick therefore comes with a check before it is wrapped, not after. We did not open a source that covers supervision during chew time, so ask your vet how closely to watch a dog with any chew.
For more choices, see our guide to chew toys for close, supervised play, our heavy chewer guide by material and size, and our notes on what chew toys are safe for puppies.
Car: a seat cover protects the seat, not the dog
The URPOWER Dog Car Seat Cover is a back-seat cover with side flaps and a 600D Oxford fabric, which the listing describes as waterproof. The listing says it is a universal fit and that the standard size fits sedans, SUVs, and compact and mid-size trucks. Before ordering, buyers are asked to confirm that the back seat is close to 54 inches long. The cover has zippered side flaps, adjustable headrest and seat anchors, two Velcro openings and a six-month warranty.
The listing describes the cover as protection for the seat and the car door against scratches and hair. It also says the anchors and two Velcro openings are there “to keep your dog in place.” The listing does not say the product is crash tested, and the sources we opened do not cover car restraint. This card therefore makes no safety claim for the cover. If the owner wants a travel restraint, ask a vet to recommend one. For other car seat cover choices, our guides to car seat covers that repel dog hair and dog car seat covers with seat belt holes look at other listings.
Comparison table
The table below shows only fields the listings state. “Not stated” means the listing we read does not give that field, and no cell is filled from memory or from a different listing.
| Pick | Dog size or weight the listing states | Size or capacity stated | Key spec stated | Care note stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SleekEZ brush | Works on dogs of all sizes | 5 in long; 4 oz | Stainless steel bristles; poplar wood handle | Not stated |
| LuckyTail grinder | Not stated | Maximum speed 10,000 rpm | 30 dB; USB-C; one-hour charge | Not stated |
| Dremel PawControl 7760-PET | Not stated | 8,000 to 25,000 rpm | Guard; nine sanding bits; four speeds; two-year warranty | Not stated |
| Dolce Bamboo bowl | Medium | 41 fluid ounces; 6.75 x 6.75 x 2.75 in | Bamboo and ceramic; skid-free rubber base | Dishwasher safe |
| GORILLA GRIP mat | Not stated | 18.5 x 11.5 in | 100 percent waterproof silicone; 1/8 in raised edges | Machine wash |
| Vittles Vault bin | Not stated (food rated to 50 lb) | 14 x 14 x 20.2 in; 181.21 cups | Food-grade HDPE; airtight; scoop included | Hand wash only |
| Joytale harness | Conflicting: Large and All Breed Sizes | Size L; no chest figure stated | Three buckles; seven LED colors; AirTag holder (AirTag sold separately) | Hand wash only |
| SPOT Bam-Bones Plus | 30 to 60 lb | 6 in long | Bamboo fiber and nylon; beef flavor | Not stated |
| URPOWER seat cover | Not stated (back seat close to 54 in) | 16 x 15 x 1.5 in | 600D Oxford; waterproof; anchors | Not stated (six-month warranty) |
How we chose
We started with 323 active product records in our product store and read the 170 records in the brush, grinder, bowl, mat, storage, harness, chew and seat-cover groups. The listing fields for the nine picks were last checked between 2026-10-11 and 2026-10-12. We kept nine picks, one or two for each job in the introduction. We did not rank them, and the order follows the sections of this guide.
We used four rules to narrow the list. First, the listing had to state a figure a buyer can check, such as a size, a capacity or a weight range. Second, the product had to solve a task that owners face regularly. Third, any claim that could be read as a health or safety claim had to be either sourced or quoted as the listing’s own words. Fourth, we kept one or two items for each job, not three brushes or three bowls. Items whose main claim was medical or calming were not included, because the sources we opened do not cover those claims.
What we could not verify
- Noise: the LuckyTail listing gives 30 dB, and the Dremel listing lists Quiet with no figure. The sources we opened do not cover grinder noise.
- Battery life: LuckyTail’s over four hours of run time and its one-hour charge are listing figures. The Dremel listing states a 4-volt battery but no run time.
- Harness sizing: the Joytale listing states both Large and All Breed Sizes, and it gives no weight range or chest measurement.
- Chew hardness: the SPOT listing does not say whether a thumbnail can dent the chew.
- Bowl claims: the Dolce listing describes its materials as “renewable and sustainable resources,” and its bullets claim spill and noise prevention. The sources we opened do not cover either claim.
- Mat award: the mat listing says it is a winner of the 2025 Pet Innovation Award. We could not confirm that.
- Car restraint: the URPOWER listing does not say the cover is crash tested, and the sources we opened do not cover car restraint.
- Brush coverage: the SleekEZ listing says it works on all coat types, which the Texas A&M article does not support.
- Storage capacity: the 50-pound rating depends on food density, and the listing does not state the density it assumed.
The picks
Each card shows what the listing states, when the item fits, when it does not, and one limitation.
1. SleekEZ Dog Brush for Shedding
The listing says: stainless steel bristles, a poplar wood handle, 5 inches long, 4 ounces, works on dogs of all sizes, and a patented deshedding blade.
Good for: a dog with a thicker coat that sheds heavily, brushed a few times a week at home.
Skip if: the dog has a short, thin coat, because the Texas A&M article recommends pin brushes and combs for short-haired dogs.
One limitation: the all-coat claim is the seller’s wording, and the Texas A&M article does not support it.
2. LuckyTail Dog Nail Grinder
The listing says: 30 dB noise level, USB-C charging in one hour, over four hours of run time, two LED lights, a diamond grinding head and a maximum speed of 10,000 rpm.
Good for: an owner whose dog reacts badly to loud tools and who wants a decibel figure on the page.
Skip if: the owner wants a nail guard or several speed settings, which the listing does not mention.
One limitation: the noise and run-time figures are the seller’s, and the sources we opened do not measure either.
3. Dremel PawControl 7760-PET Nail Grinder
The listing says: a nail guard with a 45 degree paw guide, nine sanding bits, four speed settings, a 4-volt lithium-ion battery, a USB charger and a two-year manufacturer warranty. It also lists Quiet among its features.
Good for: an owner who wants a guard, speed control and a cordless kit.
Skip if: the dog is noise sensitive and the owner needs a stated decibel figure before buying.
One limitation: the word Quiet carries no measurement on the listing page.
4. Loving Pets Dolce Bamboo Medium Bowl
The listing says: medium size, 41 fluid ounces, 6.75 by 6.75 by 2.75 inches, bamboo and ceramic, a skid-free rubber base, dishwasher safe, in Oat, Slate and Coffee.
Good for: an owner of a medium dog who wants a bowl that goes in the dishwasher.
Skip if: the dog is large, since the listing sizes this bowl as medium, or the owner wants a raised feeder.
One limitation: the spill and noise claims and the renewable and sustainable wording are seller claims.
5. GORILLA GRIP Dog Food Mat
The listing says: 18.5 by 11.5 inches, 100 percent waterproof silicone, raised edges of one-eighth inch, a slip-resistant top, machine washable, and use under cat fountains and litter boxes.
Good for: a dog that scatters kibble or drips water on the floor at mealtime.
Skip if: the dog’s bowl is wider than the mat, because the listing gives only the mat’s size.
One limitation: the listing says the mat is a winner of the 2025 Pet Innovation Award, which we could not confirm.
6. Vittles Vault Airtight Pet Food Storage Container
The listing says: 50 pounds of capacity, 14 by 14 by 20.2 inches, a 5.9-pound empty weight, 181.21 cups of volume, food-grade HDPE, an airtight lid and a scoop.
Good for: an owner with a large bag of dry food who wants the bag kept in its own sealed container.
Skip if: the owner needs a machine-washable container, because the listing says hand wash only.
One limitation: the 50-pound rating depends on how heavy the food is per cup, as the storage section above explains.
7. Joytale No Pull Light Up Dog Harness
The listing says: size L, three buckles, a front chest D-ring, seven LED colors in three modes, reflective trim, an AirTag holder (AirTag sold separately), EVA padding and a one-year warranty.
Good for: an owner who walks after dark and already knows the dog’s chest measurement.
Skip if: the chest measurement is unknown, or the owner wants a harness that can go in the washing machine.
One limitation: the size fields conflict, and the fields we read give no weight range.
8. SPOT Bam-Bones Plus T-Bone Chew
The listing says: six inches long, made for dogs of 30 to 60 lb, bamboo fiber and nylon, beef flavor, and a T-bone shape with a 4.38 inch base.
Good for: a medium dog in the stated weight range that chews hard, after the checks below.
Skip if: the dog is outside the stated weight range, or the owner cannot run Tufts’ three questions before giving it.
One limitation: Tufts names hard nylon bones on its avoid list, and the listing does not say whether a thumbnail can dent it.
9. URPOWER Dog Car Seat Cover for the Back Seat
The listing says: universal fit, a standard size for sedans, SUVs and compact and mid-size trucks, 600D Oxford, waterproof, zippered side flaps, seat and headrest anchors, two Velcro openings, a six-month warranty, and a back seat close to 54 inches.
Good for: an owner who wants to protect a back seat and the car door from scratches and hair.
Skip if: the back seat length is well off the 54 inch guidance, or the owner needs a travel restraint.
One limitation: the listing does not say the cover is crash tested, and the sources we opened do not cover car restraint.
Buying checklist
- Get the dog’s weight and, for anything worn, the chest measurement. The Joytale listing gives no weight range or chest figure in the fields we read.
- For a brush, confirm the coat type with the owner. The Texas A&M article separates thicker coats from short ones.
- For a grinder, decide whether noise or a guard matters more. The LuckyTail listing states a decibel figure, and the Dremel listing does not.
- For a storage bin, weigh one cup of the owner’s food and compare it with the listing’s 181.21 cups.
- For a chew, if you can handle it before you buy, run Tufts’ three questions: bend it, press a thumbnail into it, and try to dissolve it in water.
- For a car cover, measure the back seat length, since the listing asks buyers to confirm it is close to 54 inches.
Mistakes to avoid
Four mistakes are easy to make with these gifts, and each one follows from a fact in this guide.
- Ordering a harness without the chest measurement. The Joytale size fields conflict, so the size on the page cannot settle the question.
- Treating a seat cover as a restraint. The listing describes protection for the seat and door, and it does not say the cover is crash tested.
- Assuming a grinder is quiet because its listing says so. The LuckyTail listing gives 30 dB, while the Dremel listing lists Quiet without a figure.
- Giving a chew without the three checks. Tufts says bones of any kind are a big no-no, and it names hard nylon bones on its avoid list.
- Counting on the bin’s full 50 pounds. At 181.21 cups, the rating holds only if the food weighs about 4.4 ounces per cup or more.
Frequently asked questions
Which brush should I give an owner whose dog sheds a lot?
Start with the coat. The Texas A&M article says dogs with thicker coats would benefit from brushes made for deshedding, and it suggests brushing three to four times a week for 5 to 10 minutes. The SleekEZ listing says it works on all coat types, but the sources we opened do not support that, so ask the owner which coat the dog has.
Is a nail grinder easier than clippers for a first-time owner?
Not automatically. VCA says grinding gives less risk of damaging the quick, but it also names entangled hair and a possible severe skin burn as risks. It advises a gradual start, with one or two nails at a time and frequent food rewards.
Is a bone or hard chew a safe gift for a chewer?
Tufts says bones of any kind are a big no-no, and it lists antlers, cow hooves, Himalayan yak chews and hard nylon bones to avoid. Run any chew through its three questions, and ask your vet which chew suits your dog’s size and chewing habits.
Do I need the dog’s measurements before I buy a harness?
Yes. The Joytale listing states a size of L, but its spec table also says both Large and All Breed Sizes, and the fields we read give no weight range or chest measurement. Get the chest measurement from the owner before you order.
Does a car seat cover keep a dog safe in a crash?
The sources we opened do not cover car restraint, and the URPOWER listing does not say the cover is crash tested. Treat the cover as protection for the seat and door, and ask a vet about travel restraints.
Bottom line
Choose the gift that solves a job the owner already has, and buy only the size or capacity the listing states. When the dog’s measurement is unknown, pick something that does not depend on it, such as the food mat, and leave wearable gear until you have the measurement.
Affiliate links in this guide earn us a commission on qualifying purchases.
Sources
- VCA Animal Hospitals, “How to Trim a Dog’s Nails”. https://vcahospitals.com/know-your-pet/how-to-trim-a-dogs-nails (opened 2026-10-20)
- Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, “Brushing Up For Shedding Season”. https://vetmed.tamu.edu/news/pet-talk/reduce-dog-shedding/ (opened 2026-10-20)
- Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine, Tufts University, “Pet Dental Health: Fact or Fiction?”. https://vet.tufts.edu/news-events/news/pet-dental-health-fact-or-fiction (opened 2026-10-20)